Skip to main content

Spironolactone

Potassium-Sparing Diuretic

Also sold as Aldactone, CaroSpir.

Findings for this medication

Research about this medication, graded for how strongly each finding can be attributed to it. Nothing here describes your own levels.

Spironolactone is a direct, competitive antagonist at the aldosterone receptor in the distal convoluted renal tubule. Its own FDA label states the mechanism plainly: it "causes increased amounts of sodium and water to be excreted, while potassium is retained." That single sentence inverts the usual drug-nutrient-depletion frame. This is not a drug that wastes electrolytes through renal tubular loss the way a loop or thiazide diuretic does; it is a drug whose defining, best-documented safety signal is excess potassium retention (hyperkalemia), with a real but more bounded retention signal for magnesium in heart-failure patients and a dose-dependent sodium-loss (hyponatremia) signal specific to cirrhosis and ascites care. Two real, dose-related endocrine effects — gynecomastia and menstrual irregularity, from spironolactone's anti-androgenic activity — are documented in the trial literature (RALES: 10% vs 1% placebo) but are clinical outcomes, not nutrient deficiencies, and are excluded from grading here per protocol.

ATC C03DA01 · also sold as Aldactone and Carospir · reviewed 2026-09-05, expanded September 11, 2026. This describes research about the medication. It does not say anything about your own levels or health.

How to read the evidence grades

These colours describe how strongly a finding can be attributed to the medication in the research. They are not a severity score and they say nothing about your own health.

Grades describe how strongly a finding can be attributed to Spironolactone in the research — not how common it is, how serious it would be, and not anything about you personally.

Red — Severe
severe: 2+ independent Tier A sources with this drug in the studied cohort, the nutrient directly measured, consistent direction, clinically meaningful magnitude, a named mechanism, and no substantial contradicting Tier A evidence.
Orange — Moderate
moderate: at least one Tier A source with this drug in the cohort, showing a real but bounded effect — a defined exposure window, subgroup, dose threshold, or low frequency.
Yellow — Low
low/theoretical: mechanistic-only (Tier B) evidence, or class-level extrapolation (Tier C) with no drug-specific human data, or an interaction running in the opposite direction from a depletion claim.
Not graded — disclosed evidence gap
Nothing has been measured here, so this finding cannot be graded. That does not establish either safety or harm, and it is not the same as a White result.Source definition: Not gradeable under the rules above because nothing has been measured. Published as a documented gap, never as reassurance that there is no effect.

What the research found

Potassium

Red — Severe

See study details

Spironolactone does not waste potassium, it retains it: the well-documented, label-mandated risk is hyperkalemia, the mechanistic mirror image of a deficiency, not a deficiency itself.

Full detail and limits

What the grade means here: severe: 2+ independent Tier A sources with this drug in the studied cohort, the nutrient directly measured, consistent direction, clinically meaningful magnitude, a named mechanism, and no substantial contradicting Tier A evidence. RED · excess risk

Limits on what this shows

  • Key negative/null findings: RALES's own trial population showed a low, statistically non-significant between-arm difference in serious hyperkalemia (on the order of ~2% vs ~1%). Later analyses attribute this null result to the trial's exclusion of patients with elevated baseline potassium or creatinine and its built-in monitoring protocol, not to an absent mechanism — a distinction confirmed by the much larger real-world signal in less-selected, less-monitored populations (Juurlink; Secora).
  • At-risk subgroups: Impaired renal function; concomitant ACE inhibitors, ARBs, NSAIDs, potassium supplements, potassium-containing salt substitutes, heparin/low-molecular-weight heparin, or trimethoprim (all named in the label as compounding risk). Heart-failure and cirrhosis/ascites populations carry their own baseline RAAS activation and renal impairment independent of the drug (confounding by indication, addressed directly in the population-evidence studies above via monitoring protocols and propensity/target-trial-emulation designs).

Regulatory status

FDA label: "ALDACTONE can cause hyperkalemia," contraindicated in patients with baseline hyperkalemia, and mandates serum-potassium monitoring within 1 week of initiation or up-titration and periodically thereafter, more frequently with renal impairment or concurrent hyperkalemia-causing drugs.

Population evidence

RALES (Pitt et al., NEJM 1999; n=1,663 severe heart failure, NYHA III–IV, LVEF<35%, all on ACE inhibitor plus loop diuretic; spironolactone 25–50mg vs placebo): 30% relative mortality reduction (RR 0.70, 95% CI 0.59–0.82, P<0.001); no significant between-arm difference in serious hyperkalemia within the tightly monitored trial itself. Juurlink et al. (NEJM 2004; >1.3 million Ontario adults aged 66+ on ACE inhibitors with recent heart-failure hospitalization, 1994–2001): hyperkalemia-associated hospitalization rose from 2.4 to 11.0 per 1,000 patients (P<0.001) and associated mortality from 0.3 to 2.0 per 1,000 (P<0.001) as real-world spironolactone prescribing rose from 34 to 149 per 1,000 following RALES's publication. Secora et al. (Mayo Clin Proc 2020; n=17,110 heart-failure patients on loop diuretics, 3,229 initiating spironolactone, Geisinger Health System, target-trial-emulation design): HR 1.69 (95% CI 1.35–2.10, P<.001) for hyperkalemia associated with adding spironolactone to loop-diuretic therapy.

Mechanism

Named and direct: competitive antagonism at the aldosterone-dependent sodium-potassium exchange site in the distal convoluted tubule blocks potassium (and hydrogen) secretion while promoting natriuresis — the label's own mechanism-of-action language.

Counter-evidence held on record

RALES's own randomized population found no significant in-trial difference in serious hyperkalemia, as detailed above — this is not omitted, it is the reason the real-world cohort data (Juurlink, Secora) carry the weight of this grade rather than the trial's raw AE table. Secora et al. compared spironolactone added to background loop-diuretic therapy against loop diuretics alone, not against no diuretic at all; the finding is about incremental risk from adding spironolactone to an already-diuretic population, not absolute risk from a diuretic-naive baseline. This is an excess/retention risk, not a deficiency, and it must never be framed as one. Potassium supplements and salt substitutes should be avoided, not encouraged, in anyone taking spironolactone; questions about potassium intake belong with a prescriber or pharmacist, and this database issues no dosing guidance in either direction.

Magnesium

Orange — Moderate

See study details

The same aldosterone-blocking mechanism that retains potassium plausibly conserves magnesium too, and the one randomized human trial located agrees — but it is a single, modestly sized trial, and the drug's own label muddies the picture by listing hypomagnesemia as a possible effect.

Full detail, limits and 1 references

What the grade means here: moderate: at least one Tier A source with this drug in the cohort, showing a real but bounded effect — a defined exposure window, subgroup, dose threshold, or low frequency. ORANGE · excess, bounded

Limits on what this shows

  • Key negative/null findings: The label's own hypomagnesemia listing runs counter to the retention mechanism and to the one RCT located. The most defensible reading is that the label reflects real-world combination-diuretic regimens (loop or thiazide co-therapy, both genuinely magnesium-wasting) and GI/nutritional losses common in heart-failure and cirrhotic populations, rather than spironolactone's own isolated single-agent effect — but this dossier flags the tension rather than resolving it by assumption.
  • At-risk subgroups: Heart-failure patients on combination diuretic regimens, where net direction depends on which co-administered drug dominates; the single-agent trial data point toward retention when spironolactone is the only diuretic present.

Regulatory status

The FDA label does not describe a hypermagnesemia/retention risk; it instead lists hypomagnesemia among possible adverse reactions alongside hyperkalemia, hyponatremia, hypocalcemia, and hypochloremic alkalosis, without incidence data or mechanism attribution.

Population evidence

Randomized controlled trial, n=116 patients with congestive heart failure, spironolactone 20mg/day vs placebo added to conventional therapy for 6 months (Gao et al., PMID 17448413): plasma and erythrocyte magnesium concentrations increased in the spironolactone arm relative to placebo, with decreased erythrocyte magnesium efflux in treated patients.

Mechanism

Aldosterone-sensitive magnesium reabsorption in the distal nephron is antagonized by the same receptor-blockade mechanism that retains potassium. Comparative pharmacology work (Murdoch et al., Br J Clin Pharmacol 1993) is titled as describing spironolactone and amiloride as magnesium-sparing relative to kaliuretic diuretics; this dossier could not independently verify that paper's full text and cites it only to note the literature exists, not to draw numbers from it.

Counter-evidence held on record

The FDA label's own hypomagnesemia listing is the most direct counter-signal on record and is not omitted. No second independent Tier A human trial isolating spironolactone monotherapy's effect on magnesium was located during this review, which is why this entry is graded orange rather than red. Even though the mechanism and the one located trial point toward retention, this must not be read as license to add magnesium supplements. Where combination diuretic therapy is genuinely driving measured magnesium loss in a given patient, that determination and any supplementation decision belongs to the prescriber, not this database.

Sodium

Orange — Moderate

See study details

In cirrhotic patients on combination diuretic therapy for ascites, higher spironolactone doses carry a real, dose-dependent hyponatremia signal — bounded to that population and to a combination-therapy regimen, not a general finding.

Full detail and limits

What the grade means here: moderate: at least one Tier A source with this drug in the cohort, showing a real but bounded effect — a defined exposure window, subgroup, dose threshold, or low frequency. ORANGE · excess loss, bounded

Limits on what this shows

  • Key negative/null findings: Every patient in this cohort received furosemide simultaneously; there is no spironolactone-monotherapy arm, so the result describes incremental dose-response within combination therapy, not an isolated spironolactone effect from a diuretic-naive baseline. Furosemide dose itself was not associated with a comparable risk gradient in the same cohort, which argues for spironolactone as the operative variable but cannot fully exclude a furosemide interaction effect.
  • At-risk subgroups: Cirrhosis/ascites patients, spironolactone doses ≥100mg/day, combination diuretic regimens. Confounding by indication: cirrhotic patients carry baseline hyponatremia risk from hepatorenal physiology independent of any diuretic exposure.

Regulatory status

FDA label lists hyponatremia among electrolyte disturbances requiring periodic monitoring, with no dose threshold specified in the label text itself; separately advises starting cirrhotic patients at the lowest initial dose with slow titration.

Population evidence

Retrospective multicenter cohort, n=206, cirrhosis with ascites newly started on combination furosemide plus spironolactone (Mass General Brigham system): 37% developed at least moderate hyponatremia (Na <130 mEq/L) within one year. High-dose spironolactone (≥100mg/day) carried significantly higher risk than low dose: moderate hyponatremia 46% vs 31% (P=.03); profound (<125 mEq/L) 23% vs 9% (P=.006); extreme (<120 mEq/L) 11% vs 3% (P=.03). Adjusted hazard ratio for moderate hyponatremia with high-dose spironolactone: 2.4 (95% CI 1.01–5.5, P=.05). High-dose furosemide showed no comparable difference (40% vs 35%, P=.56).

Mechanism

Aldosterone-receptor blockade increases natriuresis; in cirrhosis, impaired free-water handling and disease-driven RAAS activation compound the drug's own natriuretic effect, producing a dilutional/excess-loss picture rather than a dietary deficiency.

Counter-evidence held on record

No spironolactone-monotherapy arm exists in this dataset. Furosemide dose was not itself associated with hyponatremia risk in the same cohort, which somewhat isolates spironolactone as the dose-responsive driver, but a furosemide-spironolactone interaction effect cannot be fully excluded with this design. This is a monitoring flag specific to cirrhosis/ascites care at higher combination-therapy doses. It does not extend to patients taking spironolactone alone at typical lower doses for hypertension, edema, or acne, and it is not a reason to increase sodium or fluid intake without medical guidance.

Calcium

Yellow — Low

See study details

The FDA label lists hypocalcemia among spironolactone's possible electrolyte effects, but no incidence figures, comparator data, or dedicated human study quantifying this could be located — a regulatory flag, not a demonstrated effect size.

Full detail and limits

What the grade means here: low/theoretical: mechanistic-only (Tier B) evidence, or class-level extrapolation (Tier C) with no drug-specific human data, or an interaction running in the opposite direction from a depletion claim. YELLOW · theoretical

Limits on what this shows

  • Key negative/null findings: None available to review either way; the absence of any supporting study behind a Tier A label mention is itself the notable finding here.
  • At-risk subgroups: Not established in any source located.

Regulatory status

FDA label states spironolactone "can cause... hypocalcemia" alongside hyperkalemia, hyponatremia, hypomagnesemia, hypochloremic alkalosis, and hyperglycemia (a Tier A regulatory source), with no incidence rate, subgroup, or supporting study cited in the label text itself.

Population evidence

None identified beyond the label listing. No spironolactone-specific interventional or observational study quantifying a change in calcium status was located in this review.

Mechanism

Plausible but not established: aldosterone signaling has some cross-talk with distal-nephron calcium handling in the broader physiology literature, but no named, spironolactone-specific mechanism for hypocalcemia was found in the pharmacology sources searched.

Counter-evidence held on record

No counter-evidence was located because no primary supporting evidence beyond the label listing was found either; there is simply nothing to weigh this claim against yet. This must not be presented to consumers as an established deficiency risk. It is a label-listed possibility awaiting supporting data, and no calcium supplementation guidance should be attached to it.

The five body-system areas

Each finding is counted once, in a single area. Where a study is mentioned in a second area it is context only.

Mitochondrial Burden

Each finding below is counted once, in this area only.

Mitochondrial Burden

Yellow — Low

See study details

The only drug-specific evidence located shows spironolactone restoring, not damaging, mitochondrial membrane potential and reducing mitochondrial superoxide under induced oxidative injury — the opposite of a mitochondrial burden, and evidence at the mechanistic (Tier B) level only.

Full detail, limits and 2 references

What the grade means here: low/theoretical: mechanistic-only (Tier B) evidence, or class-level extrapolation (Tier C) with no drug-specific human data, or an interaction running in the opposite direction from a depletion claim. YELLOW · context flag

Limits on what this shows

  • Key negative/null findings: Only one study (Park 2026) directly administered spironolactone and measured mitochondrial parameters; no independent replication in a second Tier B or any Tier A source was located. The finding describes restoration toward control/baseline levels under an induced-damage condition, not enhancement of mitochondrial function above normal baseline, and the cell line is a mouse osteoblast line, not human or cardiac/renal tissue.
  • At-risk subgroups: None established; no human data of any kind exists to define a subgroup. The in vitro model used a diabetes-mimicking oxidative stressor, so any eventual human relevance, if established, would plausibly concentrate in patients with hyperglycemia-driven oxidative stress rather than the general spironolactone-treated population.
  • Dose/duration: 100µM spironolactone, single in vitro exposure window (Park 2026). No animal or human dosing data exists for this specific mitochondrial-membrane-potential endpoint. This dossier makes no dosing recommendation of any kind.

Regulatory status

The FDA label does not mention mitochondria, mitochondrial function, or mitochondrial toxicity anywhere in its text (confirmed by direct review of the 2025 label already cited in this dossier as the FDA source).

Population evidence

No human population study was located. The only direct, drug-specific data is an in vitro study: MC3T3-E1 mouse pre-osteoblast cells exposed to 2-deoxy-D-ribose (dRib) to induce diabetes-like oxidative/mitochondrial damage, with and without spironolactone (Park et al., Exp Ther Med 2026; PMID 41858771). dRib raised mitochondrial superoxide to 148.0±8.2% of control; 100µM spironolactone reduced it to 105.1±5.8%, and the same paper reports recovery of mitochondrial membrane potential and ATP alongside it (ATP figures are counted separately under the ATP production entry below; see Overlap map).

Mechanism

Named at the Tier B level: spironolactone reduced dRib-induced mitochondrial superoxide production and restored mitochondrial membrane potential in this cell model. A separate line of animal work in aldosterone-infused rats (Kamalov et al., Am J Physiol Heart Circ Physiol 2009; PMID 19915175) documents that aldosterone itself drives mitochondrial H2O2 production, 8-isoprostane formation, and mitochondrial permeability transition pore (mPTP) opening in cardiac myocytes — a pathology that paper states was prevented by spironolactone cotreatment in earlier work, though spironolactone was not itself an arm of this specific paper (see Overlap map; cited here for mechanistic background only, not counted as primary evidence).

Counter-evidence held on record

No contradicting evidence was found, but neither was any second independent confirmation; this is a single in vitro study, not a body of literature, and the Kamalov aldosteronism paper cited for mechanistic context did not itself test spironolactone. This is exactly the kind of thin, single-study evidence base the yellow tier exists to flag rather than overstate. This must never be presented as spironolactone protecting or improving mitochondrial health in a person, or as license to skip mitochondrial-support supplementation for unrelated reasons. It is a single cell-culture finding under an induced-injury model, not a human mitochondrial-health claim, and it must not be inverted into a claim that spironolactone depletes or damages mitochondria either — the located evidence runs the other way.

Oxidative Stress

Each finding below is counted once, in this area only.

Oxidative Stress

Yellow — Low

See study details

Two independent randomized trials in kidney-transplant recipients found spironolactone lowered oxidative-stress markers relative to placebo — real Tier A, drug-specific evidence, but running opposite to a depletion or burden claim, which is why it is flagged yellow rather than colored as a positive finding this dossier has no tier for.

Full detail and limits

What the grade means here: low/theoretical: mechanistic-only (Tier B) evidence, or class-level extrapolation (Tier C) with no drug-specific human data, or an interaction running in the opposite direction from a depletion claim. YELLOW · context flag

Limits on what this shows

  • Key negative/null findings: The same meta-analysis that supports the oxidative-stress finding reports that across its pooled transplant trials, mineralocorticoid-receptor antagonists (spironolactone and eplerenone together) showed no significant difference from placebo in GFR (P=.13), serum creatinine (P=.32), systolic/diastolic blood pressure (P=.33/.44), albuminuria/proteinuria (P=.71/.18), or graft fibrosis (IFTA) scores (P=.32-.39) — meaning the oxidative-stress benefit in these small trials did not translate into a measured hard-outcome benefit in the same pooled data, which bounds how much clinical weight the oxidative-stress finding alone should carry. The same meta-analysis also found a roughly 4-fold increase in hyperkalemia risk (RR 4.06, P=.007) with MRA use in this population; this is not a new finding, it is the same hyperkalemia signal already graded red under the existing Potassium entry above, and is not double-counted here (see Overlap map).
  • At-risk subgroups: Kidney-transplant recipients specifically; both trials were conducted in this population, and confounding by indication (transplant-related ischemia-reperfusion injury and immunosuppressant-driven oxidative stress) is presumed rather than excluded, since neither trial's own methods for isolating spironolactone's independent contribution were reviewed by this dossier directly.
  • Dose/duration: Not specified in the meta-analysis summary reviewed; trial durations were 5 days (Ojeda-Cervantes, acute pilot) and 36 months (Morales-Buenrostro, longer-term). No dose figures are stated here because none were independently verified, and none should be read as a recommendation regardless.

Regulatory status

The FDA label does not mention oxidative stress, reactive oxygen species, or any related biomarker anywhere in its text (confirmed by direct review of the 2025 label already cited in this dossier).

Population evidence

Two randomized controlled trials, both in kidney-transplant recipients, identified with their design, sample size, and direction confirmed via a 2025 systematic review and meta-analysis of mineralocorticoid-receptor-antagonist trials in transplant patients (PMC12330037, opened directly): Morales-Buenrostro et al. 2019 (living donor kidney transplantation, n=19 spironolactone vs 25 placebo, 36 months; "spironolactone reduces oxidative stress in living donor kidney transplantation"); Ojeda-Cervantes et al. 2013 (renal transplant recipients, n=10 vs 10, 5 days; "mineralocorticoid receptor blockade reduced oxidative stress in renal transplant recipients"). Both trials' own primary full texts returned access errors on direct fetch (see Sources); the design, sample sizes, durations, and direction reported here come from the meta-analysis that reviewed both trials directly, not from this dossier's own reading of either primary paper.

Mechanism

Not fully named at the molecular level in the sources reviewed for this dossier; the transplant literature frames the effect as aldosterone-receptor blockade reducing renal and vascular oxidative injury in the transplant setting, without a single confirmed molecular pathway independently verified by this dossier.

Counter-evidence held on record

This dossier could not independently open either primary trial; both are cited through a secondary meta-analysis rather than direct verification of the original text, and that limitation is disclosed rather than papered over. The same pooled data shows no benefit on GFR, creatinine, blood pressure, proteinuria, or graft fibrosis, and a real hyperkalemia signal already graded elsewhere — the oxidative-stress finding should not be read as evidence of overall benefit from spironolactone in this population. This is not a wellness or antioxidant-supplementation claim and must never be marketed as one. It describes a laboratory biomarker change in a specific surgical/transplant population under trial conditions, not a general protective effect, and it is not a reason to add or withhold any antioxidant supplement without a prescriber's guidance.

Copper and Iron Balance

Copper and iron are assessed separately. Nothing here is counted twice.

Iron

Yellow — Low

See study details

Spironolactone suppresses hepcidin transcription through aldosterone-linked signaling in human liver cells and mice, a mechanism that would be expected to increase iron availability, not deplete it — a real, drug-specific Tier B finding with no human clinical iron-status data behind it.

Full detail and limits

What the grade means here: low/theoretical: mechanistic-only (Tier B) evidence, or class-level extrapolation (Tier C) with no drug-specific human data, or an interaction running in the opposite direction from a depletion claim. YELLOW · context flag

Limits on what this shows

  • Key negative/null findings: No human in vivo confirmation exists; the entire evidence base is Huh7 cells, primary hepatocytes, and mice. No study was located testing whether long-term spironolactone use measurably changes ferritin, transferrin saturation, or hemoglobin in humans, and the authors explicitly flag this gap themselves.
  • At-risk subgroups: None established in humans. The paper's own clinical framing centers on patients who already have pathologically elevated hepcidin (hereditary hemochromatosis, anemia of inflammation), where hepcidin suppression would be a sought-after effect rather than a risk; conversely, any theoretical iron-overload risk from combined hepcidin suppression would apply most to patients already predisposed to iron loading (the paper's own context includes imatinib-treated patients with iron loading, with spironolactone studied as a co-suppressor of hepcidin in that setting), not to the general spironolactone-treated population.
  • Dose/duration: 50µM in hepatocyte and Huh7 cell culture; 24mg/kg/day via drinking water for two weeks in mice. No human dose or duration data exists, and none is recommended here.

Regulatory status

The FDA label does not mention iron, hepcidin, ferritin, or transferrin anywhere in its text (confirmed by direct review of the 2025 label already cited in this dossier). Drugs.com's interaction checker was reviewed directly and lists no interaction between iron supplements ("Fer-Iron") and spironolactone.

Population evidence

No human clinical study measuring iron status in spironolactone-treated patients was located. The direct evidence is Mleczko-Sanecka et al., Haematologica 2017 (opened directly): spironolactone suppressed hepcidin expression in Huh7 human hepatoma cells, in primary human and mouse hepatocytes, and in mice in vivo (24mg/kg/day via drinking water for two weeks). The authors themselves state this "needs to be addressed in prospective clinical studies" and report no human patient iron-status parameters (ferritin, hemoglobin, transferrin saturation) anywhere in the paper.

Mechanism

Named and drug-specific at the Tier B level: the paper reports that "aldosterone, but not androgen signaling" cross-talks to hepcidin transcriptional control in primary hepatocytes via the BMP signaling pathway at the hepcidin promoter, and spironolactone, as an aldosterone antagonist, suppresses this. Suppressing hepcidin increases ferroportin-mediated iron export from enterocytes and macrophages, which would raise iron availability rather than lower it — the study frames this as a possible drug-repositioning angle for conditions of hepcidin excess (anemia of inflammation, hereditary hemochromatosis, iron-loading anemias), not as a spironolactone safety signal.

Counter-evidence held on record

The authors' own paper states this mechanism has not been tested in a prospective human clinical study; this dossier is not aware of one having been conducted since. No study reporting spironolactone lowering, rather than raising, iron availability was located, and no study reporting no effect either was located — the honest state of the evidence is mechanistic-only, in one direction, unconfirmed in humans. This must never be presented as spironolactone treating iron deficiency or as a reason to reduce iron supplementation or monitoring. It is a cell-and-mouse mechanistic finding about hepcidin transcription, not a demonstrated human iron-status effect in either direction, and any question about iron status in a patient on spironolactone belongs with a prescriber, not this database.

Copper

Not graded — disclosed evidence gap

See study details

An exhaustive, multi-angle search for any spironolactone-specific, aldosterone-antagonist-class, or mineralocorticoid-receptor mechanism connecting the drug to copper status returned nothing: no regulatory mention, no mechanistic or animal study, no case report, and no circulating consumer claim to rebut.

Full detail and limits

What the grade means here: Nothing has been measured here, so this finding cannot be graded. That does not establish either safety or harm, and it is not the same as a White result. UNGRADED · evidence gap

Limits on what this shows

  • Key negative/null findings: Not applicable; there is no positive claim or study to weigh a null finding against. The absence itself, after a multi-angle search across regulatory, mechanistic, and consumer sources, is the finding.
  • At-risk subgroups: Not established; none can be inferred without an underlying mechanism or study.
  • Dose/duration: Not applicable; no dose-response or duration data of any kind exists for this pairing, and none is recommended here.

Regulatory status

The FDA label does not mention copper, ceruloplasmin, or any copper-related parameter anywhere in its text (confirmed by direct review of the 2025 label already cited in this dossier). The StatPearls spironolactone monograph was also searched directly and contains no mention of copper.

Population evidence

None located at any tier. Searches for spironolactone and copper, serum ceruloplasmin, and the copper transporters ATP7A/ATP7B returned no drug-specific or class-specific results connecting spironolactone or other aldosterone antagonists to copper handling.

Mechanism

None identified. Spironolactone's known mechanism, competitive antagonism at the aldosterone-dependent sodium-potassium exchange site in the distal renal tubule, has no established cross-talk to intestinal copper absorption, ceruloplasmin synthesis, or hepatic copper handling in any source reviewed for this dossier.

Counter-evidence held on record

There is nothing to counter because there is nothing asserted. This entry exists so that a reader searching this database for "spironolactone and copper" finds an honest, explicit statement that the evidence does not exist, rather than silence that could be mistaken for an oversight. This must never be read as proof that spironolactone has no effect on copper status; absence of evidence is not evidence of absence. It must equally never be dressed up as a theoretical risk to fill the section. No copper testing or supplementation guidance is implied in either direction.

Gut Microbiome Risk

Each finding below is counted once, in this area only.

Gut Microbiome Risk

Yellow — Low

See study details

Every drug-specific study located on spironolactone and the gut microbiome, in two independent animal models, found the drug restoring a disturbed microbiome toward a healthier profile, not disrupting a normal one — the opposite of the "risk" this category is named for, at the Tier B animal level only.

Full detail and limits

What the grade means here: low/theoretical: mechanistic-only (Tier B) evidence, or class-level extrapolation (Tier C) with no drug-specific human data, or an interaction running in the opposite direction from a depletion claim. YELLOW · context flag

Limits on what this shows

  • Key negative/null findings: No human data exists in either direction. No animal or mechanistic study was located showing spironolactone causing dysbiosis or microbiome harm, despite a specific search for that direction; the notable finding is the absence of any harm signal in the literature actually reviewed, not a confirmed null result from a study designed to detect harm and find none.
  • At-risk subgroups: None established in humans. Both animal models used disease states (myocardial infarction, spontaneous hypertension) that themselves are known to alter the gut microbiome independent of any drug, which is a confounding-by-indication caveat this dossier flags explicitly rather than assumes away.
  • Dose/duration: Not stated in the sources reviewed for the mouse MI model; the hypertensive-rat study used 5 weeks of treatment at a dose not confirmed in the abstract-level record reviewed. No human dose or duration data exists, and none is recommended here.

Regulatory status

The FDA label does not mention gut flora or microbiome anywhere in its text; it does list diarrhea, cramping, gastritis, nausea, and vomiting among gastrointestinal adverse reactions (confirmed by direct review of the 2025 label already cited in this dossier), which are clinical GI effects, not microbiome-composition findings, and are not counted toward this entry (see Overlap map).

Population evidence

No human microbiome study of spironolactone was located. Two independent drug-specific animal studies were identified: Li et al., J Microbiol 2024 (opened directly; C57BL/6J mice with surgically induced myocardial infarction, spironolactone treatment, fecal microbiota sequencing; antibiotic-based microbiota depletion abolished spironolactone's cardioprotective benefit, and the drug's effect involved increasing beneficial taxa including Lactobacillus vaginalis); González-Correa et al., Biomed Pharmacother 2023 (spontaneously hypertensive rats vs normotensive controls, 5 weeks of spironolactone; restored the Firmicutes/Bacteroidetes ratio and acetate-producing bacteria toward normotensive-control levels, reduced intestinal aerobic bacteria, and reduced gut permeability and gut sympathetic tone, associated with lower blood pressure). This second study's original journal page could not be opened directly (see Sources); its description here comes from the DOAJ-indexed abstract record, not this dossier's own reading of the full article.

Mechanism

Named in both animal studies: reduced gut sympathetic tone and improved intestinal barrier integrity (González-Correa), and a microbiota-dependent cardioprotective pathway confirmed by antibiotic-depletion experiments (Li). Neither paper proposes or finds a mechanism by which spironolactone would deplete or damage the microbiome.

Counter-evidence held on record

One of the two supporting sources (González-Correa) was reviewed only at the DOAJ abstract-index level, not the full ScienceDirect article, which returned an access error on direct fetch; that limitation is disclosed rather than hidden. Both studies are animal models of specific cardiovascular disease states, not healthy human physiology, and confounding by underlying disease is real and unresolved in this literature. This must never be presented as spironolactone being a probiotic or gut-health intervention for a general consumer. It is animal-model, disease-state-specific mechanistic evidence, not a human gut-health claim, and it must equally not be inverted into a "spironolactone harms your microbiome" claim, since no such evidence was found despite a direct search for it.

Oxygen and ATP Output

Oxygen delivery and ATP production are assessed separately. Nothing here is counted twice.

Oxygen delivery/utilization

Yellow — Low

See study details

In a propensity-matched cohort of cardiac surgery patients, chronic pre-operative spironolactone use was associated with a lower post-operative hypoxia-stress marker, not a higher one — a real, bounded, drug-specific Tier A signal pointing toward better, not worse, myocardial oxygen handling, distinct from the drug's separately label-listed white-cell and platelet effects.

Full detail, limits and 1 references

What the grade means here: low/theoretical: mechanistic-only (Tier B) evidence, or class-level extrapolation (Tier C) with no drug-specific human data, or an interaction running in the opposite direction from a depletion claim. YELLOW · context flag

Limits on what this shows

  • Key negative/null findings: HIF-1α showed no significant between-group difference at baseline or at 7 days post-operatively; the effect was confined to the 24-hour timepoint. No hemoglobin, hematocrit, arterial oxygen saturation, or erythropoietin data were reported in this study, and none specific to spironolactone were located elsewhere.
  • At-risk subgroups: Cardiac surgery (CABG) patients with chronic pre-operative spironolactone exposure specifically; this is a single surgical-population cohort and has not been replicated in a non-surgical or non-cardiac population.
  • Dose/duration: Chronic use of more than 3 months before surgery; specific milligram dose not stated in the abstract reviewed. No dosing recommendation is made here in either direction.

Regulatory status

The FDA label lists leukopenia (including agranulocytosis) and thrombocytopenia among hematologic adverse reactions, but does not mention anemia, hemoglobin, hematocrit, or oxygen-carrying capacity anywhere in its text (confirmed by direct review of the 2025 label already cited in this dossier). Those white-cell/platelet effects are a separate, already-labeled clinical outcome and are not counted toward this entry (see Overlap map).

Population evidence

Retrospective, propensity-score-matched cohort, n=174 (87 chronic spironolactone users for more than 3 months pre-operatively vs 87 matched controls) undergoing coronary artery bypass grafting (J Cardiovasc Pharmacol 2021; PMID 34173801, abstract reviewed directly via PubMed). Hypoxia-inducible factor-1α (HIF-1α, a marker stabilized under cellular hypoxia) did not differ between groups before surgery or at 7 days after surgery, but was significantly lower in the spironolactone group at 24 hours post-operatively (P<.01). Secondary findings in the same cohort included lower NT-proBNP and lower postoperative atrial-fibrillation incidence with spironolactone use.

Mechanism

Not fully elaborated in the abstract reviewed; the authors interpret the lower 24-hour HIF-1α as consistent with spironolactone "improving myocardial hypoxia," which would run opposite to a claim that the drug impairs oxygen delivery or utilization. This dossier did not independently verify a specific molecular pathway beyond the authors' own interpretive statement.

Counter-evidence held on record

The null timepoints (baseline, 7 days) are reported here rather than omitted; only one of three measured timepoints showed a significant difference. This is a single retrospective cohort in one surgical population, not a body of literature, and it has not been replicated. This must never be presented as spironolactone improving oxygen delivery, athletic performance, or altitude tolerance for a general consumer. It describes a single biomarker at a single post-surgical timepoint in cardiac-surgery patients, and it is not a substitute for any hemoglobin, hematocrit, or oxygenation monitoring a prescriber has ordered.

ATP production

Yellow — Low

See study details

The only drug-specific ATP data located shows spironolactone restoring ATP output toward control levels after it was experimentally lowered by an oxidative stressor, not lowering ATP output itself — a single in vitro finding, not a body of evidence, and pointing away from an ATP-production burden rather than toward one.

Full detail, limits and 1 references

What the grade means here: low/theoretical: mechanistic-only (Tier B) evidence, or class-level extrapolation (Tier C) with no drug-specific human data, or an interaction running in the opposite direction from a depletion claim. YELLOW · context flag

Limits on what this shows

  • Key negative/null findings: This is a single study, in a single non-human, non-cardiac, non-renal cell line, under one induced-injury model; there is no second study to compare it against in either direction. The finding is restoration of an experimentally induced ATP deficit back toward control levels, not an increase in ATP above normal baseline function, and this dossier is careful not to overstate it as the latter.
  • At-risk subgroups: None established in humans. If eventually relevant to humans, the induced-damage model (a diabetes-mimicking oxidative stressor) suggests any relevance would concentrate in hyperglycemia-driven cellular stress rather than in the general spironolactone-treated population, but this is speculative extrapolation from one in vitro study, not an established subgroup.
  • Dose/duration: 100µM spironolactone, single in vitro exposure window (same experiment as the Mitochondrial Burden entry above). No animal or human dosing data exists for this endpoint, and none is recommended here.

Regulatory status

The FDA label does not mention ATP, cellular energy production, or bioenergetics anywhere in its text (confirmed by direct review of the 2025 label already cited in this dossier).

Population evidence

No human or animal in vivo study was located. The direct evidence is the same in vitro study cited under Mitochondrial Burden above (Park et al., Exp Ther Med 2026; PMID 41858771; see Overlap map for how this single study's endpoints are divided between the two entries): MC3T3-E1 mouse pre-osteoblast cells exposed to 2-deoxy-D-ribose (dRib) to induce diabetes-like cellular damage. dRib lowered ATP levels to 54.3±6.8% of control; 100µM spironolactone co-treatment restored ATP to 103.7±6.9% of control, essentially back to baseline.

Mechanism

Named at the Tier B level within this one study: spironolactone reduced dRib-induced reactive oxygen species and mitochondrial superoxide and restored mitochondrial membrane potential in the same cells in which ATP was restored, consistent with an antioxidant-linked preservation of mitochondrial ATP-generating capacity under this specific stressor. No separate, independent study of spironolactone and ATP production in cardiac, renal, or human tissue was located.

Counter-evidence held on record

No contradicting evidence was found, but this reflects the near-total absence of any literature on spironolactone and ATP production at all, not a body of confirmatory work. This is one study's secondary endpoint, sharing its entire evidence base with the Mitochondrial Burden entry above (see Overlap map), not an independently replicated finding. This must never be presented as spironolactone boosting energy, cellular ATP, or exercise capacity in a person. It is a single cell-culture finding under an induced-injury model measuring restoration of an experimentally created deficit, not a human energy-production claim in either direction.

Claims checked and not supported

These circulate online for this medication. They are listed here only so they can be answered, never as findings, and they are not graded.

A claim with no supporting evidence is not necessarily disproven. Where evidence actually argues against a claim, that is stated below.

  • Potassium (claimed as "depleted")

    Where it comes from: Generic consumer drug-nutrient depletion charts and databases

    Why it fails: Direction is factually reversed. Spironolactone is a potassium-sparing diuretic; its own FDA label, the RALES trial, and two independent real-world cohort studies (Juurlink 2004; Secora 2020) document retention and hyperkalemia risk, not loss. This is graded red above as an excess risk, not listed here as a deficiency.

  • Folic acid (vitamin B9)

    Where it comes from: Consumer nutrient-depletion chart (Vitopia Care)

    Why it fails: No mechanism connects aldosterone-receptor antagonism to folate absorption, transport, or metabolism; no Tier A, B, or C evidence found for spironolactone or its class.

  • Beta-carotene

    Where it comes from: Consumer nutrient-depletion chart (Vitopia Care)

    Why it fails: No mechanism or supporting evidence at any tier for spironolactone.

  • Phosphorus

    Where it comes from: Consumer nutrient-depletion chart (Vitopia Care)

    Why it fails: No established renal phosphate-handling effect specific to spironolactone; distinct from loop-diuretic-associated phosphate effects, which do not extend to potassium-sparing agents.

  • Strontium

    Where it comes from: Consumer nutrient-depletion chart (Vitopia Care)

    Why it fails: No mechanism and no established human nutrient requirement in this context; no drug-interaction evidence for spironolactone.

  • Vitamin A

    Where it comes from: Consumer nutrient-depletion chart (Vitopia Care)

    Why it fails: No mechanism or supporting evidence at any tier.

  • Coenzyme Q10

    Where it comes from: Consumer nutrient-depletion chart (Vitopia Care)

    Why it fails: A drug-interaction checker reviewed for this dossier found no documented interaction between CoQ10 and spironolactone. CoQ10 depletion is an established statin/fibrate-associated finding, not a mineralocorticoid-receptor-antagonist one.

  • L-carnitine

    Where it comes from: Consumer nutrient-depletion chart (Vitopia Care)

    Why it fails: No mechanism or supporting evidence at any tier.

  • Vitamin B5 (pantothenic acid)

    Where it comes from: Consumer nutrient-depletion chart (Vitopia Care)

    Why it fails: No mechanism or supporting evidence at any tier.

  • Vitamin B12

    Where it comes from: Consumer nutrient-depletion chart (Vitopia Care)

    Why it fails: No mechanism or supporting evidence at any tier; B12 depletion is an established finding for metformin, proton-pump inhibitors, and H2 blockers, not aldosterone antagonists.

  • Zinc

    Where it comes from: General diuretic drug-class nutrient-depletion literature (attributed there specifically to thiazide and loop diuretics)

    Why it fails: The zinc-wasting mechanism described in that literature is the kaliuretic distal-tubule effect of thiazide and loop diuretics — the pharmacological opposite of spironolactone's potassium- and electrolyte-sparing mechanism. The source literature itself does not extend the claim to potassium-sparing agents, and spironolactone's own chemistry rules the shared mechanism out.

What the research says is worth watching

General information from the medication label and the studies above. It is not personal medical advice, and any change belongs with your prescriber.

  • Lab

    Serum potassium

    Check within 1 week of starting or up-titrating spironolactone and periodically thereafter, more often with renal impairment or concurrent ACE inhibitor, ARB, NSAID, or potassium-supplement use (FDA label).

  • Lab, subgroup-specific

    Serum sodium

    Check periodically in cirrhosis/ascites patients on combination diuretic therapy, especially at spironolactone doses of 100mg/day or higher.

  • Lab

    Serum magnesium and creatinine

    Reasonable to include on the same panel as potassium. Because the mechanism points toward retention, the practical concern in combination-diuretic regimens is disentangling which co-administered drug is driving any observed abnormality, not encouraging magnesium intake.

  • Drug interaction flag

    Concomitant medications

    ACE inhibitors, ARBs, NSAIDs, potassium supplements, salt substitutes, heparin/low-molecular-weight heparin, and trimethoprim all compound hyperkalemia risk per the FDA label. This is a drug-drug interaction to flag for monitoring, not a nutrient-status finding in its own right.

  • Confounding by indication

    Underlying disease state

    Heart failure, cirrhosis/ascites, and primary hyperaldosteronism each carry their own baseline electrolyte abnormalities (RAAS activation, impaired free-water handling, background diuretic co-therapy) independent of spironolactone. Attribute a change to the drug only where a comparator arm supports it.

  • Not a nutrient finding

    Anti-androgenic effects

    Gynecomastia (10% vs 1% placebo in RALES) and menstrual irregularities are real, dose-related endocrine effects of spironolactone's anti-androgenic activity. They are clinical outcomes, not nutrient deficiencies, and are out of scope for grading in this database.

  • Not a nutrient finding

    Hematologic adverse reactions

    Leukopenia (including agranulocytosis) and thrombocytopenia are listed in the FDA label as adverse reactions. They are white-cell and platelet effects, not the oxygen-carrying red-cell parameters graded under Oxygen delivery/utilization above, and are noted here for completeness rather than graded as a nutrient-status finding.

All references used above
  1. FDA Prescribing Information, ALDACTONE (spironolactone) tablets — Reference ID document, NDA 012151/S-080, 2025 label revision. Clinical pharmacology, mechanism of action, warnings, contraindications, and drug interactions quoted directly from this document.
  2. Pitt B, Zannad F, Remme WJ, et al. The Effect of Spironolactone on Morbidity and Mortality in Patients with Severe Heart Failure (RALES). N Engl J Med. 1999;341:709-717. — Randomized controlled trial, n=1,663, NYHA class III-IV heart failure with LVEF<35%.Full text at NEJM returned a 403 error and could not be independently verified directly; the trial statistics reported in this dossier were verified via the WikiJournalClub structured trial summary (wikijournalclub.org/wiki/RALES), a secondary source, not the primary journal text.
  3. Juurlink DN, Mamdani MM, Lee DS, et al. Rates of Hyperkalemia after Publication of the Randomized Aldactone Evaluation Study. N Engl J Med. 2004;351:543-551. — Population-based cohort, >1.3 million Ontario adults aged 66+, 1994-2001.Full text at NEJM returned a 403 error and could not be independently verified directly; figures reported in this dossier were verified via the ICES (the study's home research institute) summary page of the same publication, not the primary journal text.
  4. Secora A, Shin JI, Qiao Y, et al. Hyperkalemia and Acute Kidney Injury with Spironolactone Use Among Patients with Heart Failure. Mayo Clin Proc. 2020;95(11):2408-2419. PMID 33153631. — Propensity-matched, target-trial-emulation cohort, n=17,110 heart-failure patients on loop diuretics (3,229 initiating spironolactone), Geisinger Health System, 2004-2016. Hyperkalemia HR 1.69 (95% CI 1.35-2.10); acute kidney injury HR 1.12 (95% CI 1.00-1.26).
  5. Gao X, et al. Spironolactone Reduced Arrhythmia and Maintained Magnesium Homeostasis in Patients With Congestive Heart Failure. PMID 17448413. — Randomized controlled trial, n=116, spironolactone 20mg/day vs placebo, 6 months.
  6. Murdoch DL, Forrest G, Anthony J, Bennett WM, Struthers AD. A comparison of the potassium and magnesium-sparing properties of amiloride and spironolactone in diuretic-treated normal subjects. Br J Clin Pharmacol. 1993. PMID 8485017. — Named to document that this comparative pharmacology literature exists.Full text could not be independently verified: the Wiley abstract page returned a 403 error and the PubMed page returned a 429 (rate-limited) error on repeated attempts. No specific statistics from this paper are cited anywhere in this dossier.
  7. Aldosterone Antagonist Dosing and the Risk of Hyponatremia in Patients With Cirrhosis and Ascites. Gastro Hep Advances. 2022. — Retrospective multicenter cohort, n=206, cirrhosis with ascites on combination furosemide/spironolactone, Mass General Brigham system.
  8. Inhibition of the "Mineralocorticoid" Activity of Licorice by Spironolactone. J Clin Endocrinol Metab. 1962;22(11):1156. — Cited only to document, per the hard-rule interaction-direction check, that spironolactone counteracts licorice/glycyrrhizin's mineralocorticoid activity — a food-affects-drug and drug-counteracts-food interaction running the opposite direction from any depletion claim, not itself a nutrient-status finding.Only the title and metadata could be confirmed; the full abstract is paywalled at Oxford Academic and no numeric findings are drawn from it.
  9. Drugs.com Interaction Checker: CoQ10 and Spironolactone Interactions. — Consumer/professional interaction-checker tool; consulted to confirm no documented interaction exists between CoQ10 and spironolactone (Tier D source, used only to rebut a circulating claim).
  10. Vitopia Care. Nutrient Depletion Results — Spironolactone. — Consumer nutrient-depletion chart (Tier D); used solely to document the circulating claim list rebutted in the Fails Verification table above.
  11. U.S. Pharmacist. Drug-Induced Nutrient Depletions: What Pharmacists Need to Know. — Reference article; used to confirm that generic diuretic-class zinc, calcium, and magnesium claims in circulation are attributed specifically to thiazide and loop diuretics, not to potassium-sparing agents such as spironolactone.
  12. Park SY, et al. Effects of spironolactone on cytotoxic damage in osteoblasts. Exp Ther Med. 2026;31(5):122. PMID 41858771. — In vitro study, MC3T3-E1 mouse pre-osteoblast cells, 2-deoxy-D-ribose-induced oxidative/diabetic-mimicking damage model. Reactive oxygen species, mitochondrial superoxide, mitochondrial membrane potential, and ATP levels measured with and without spironolactone co-treatment. Primary evidence for the Mitochondrial Burden and ATP production entries above (see Overlap map for how its endpoints are divided between them).
  13. Morales-Buenrostro LE, et al. Spironolactone reduces oxidative stress in living donor kidney transplantation: a randomized controlled trial. Am J Physiol Renal Physiol. 2019. — Randomized controlled trial, n=19 spironolactone vs 25 placebo, living-donor kidney-transplant recipients, 36 months.Full text returned a 403 error and could not be independently verified directly; the design, sample size, duration, and direction reported in this dossier were verified via the meta-analysis at source [15] below, not the primary journal text.
  14. Ojeda-Cervantes M, et al. Mineralocorticoid receptor blockade reduced oxidative stress in renal transplant recipients: a double-blind, randomized pilot study. — Randomized, double-blind pilot trial, n=10 vs 10, renal-transplant recipients, 5 days. PMID 23635604.The PubMed page returned a reCAPTCHA/rate-limit block on repeated attempts and could not be independently verified directly; the design, sample size, duration, and direction reported in this dossier were verified via the meta-analysis at source [15] below, not the primary journal text.
  15. Efficacy and safety of mineralocorticoid receptor antagonists in kidney transplant patients: an updated meta-analysis of randomized controlled trials. BMC Nephrology. 2025. — Systematic review and meta-analysis of five randomized controlled trials in kidney-transplant recipients (three using spironolactone, two using eplerenone), opened and reviewed directly. Reports the oxidative-stress findings of sources [13] and [14] above, pooled null findings on GFR/creatinine/blood pressure/proteinuria/graft fibrosis, and a pooled hyperkalemia signal (RR 4.06) already reflected in the existing Potassium entry.
  16. Kamalov G, et al. Temporal responses to intrinsically coupled calcium and zinc dyshomeostasis in cardiac myocytes and mitochondria during aldosteronism. Am J Physiol Heart Circ Physiol. 2009. PMID 19915175. — Aldosterone/salt-infused rat model. Cited for mechanistic background on aldosterone-driven mitochondrial oxidative stress only.This paper's own cohort did not include a spironolactone treatment arm (aldosterone-only model); it is cited for mechanistic background only and is not counted as drug-specific evidence anywhere in this dossier (see Overlap map).
  17. Li B, Sun H, Li Y, Zhu Y, Duan Y. The Gut Microbiota Mediates the Protective Effects of Spironolactone on Myocardial Infarction. J Microbiol. 2024;62:883-895. — C57BL/6J mice, surgically induced myocardial infarction, spironolactone treatment, fecal microbiota sequencing, antibiotic-depletion causality experiments.
  18. González-Correa C, Moleón J, Miñano S, et al. Mineralocorticoid receptor blockade improved gut microbiota dysbiosis by reducing gut sympathetic tone in spontaneously hypertensive rats. Biomed Pharmacother. 2023;158:114149. — Spontaneously hypertensive rats vs Wistar Kyoto controls, 5 weeks of spironolactone treatment.The ScienceDirect article page returned a 400 error and could not be independently verified directly; the description in this dossier comes from the DOAJ-indexed abstract record (doaj.org/article/2af1d588cdc44ba7a0f83cdaba5720b9), not this dossier's own reading of the full article.
  19. Mleczko-Sanecka K, et al. Imatinib and spironolactone suppress hepcidin expression. Haematologica. 2017. — Huh7 human hepatoma cells, primary human and mouse hepatocytes, and mice (24mg/kg/day via drinking water, 2 weeks). Aldosterone-BMP crosstalk suppresses hepcidin transcription; no human clinical iron-status data reported.
  20. Effects of Spironolactone on Hypoxia-Inducible Factor-1α in the Patients Receiving Coronary Artery Bypass Grafting. J Cardiovasc Pharmacol. 2021. PMID 34173801. — Retrospective, propensity-score-matched cohort, n=174 (87 chronic spironolactone users vs 87 matched controls), coronary artery bypass grafting.
  21. Spironolactone. StatPearls, NCBI Bookshelf. NBK554421. — Reviewed directly to confirm the absence of any mention of copper, iron, mitochondria, oxidative stress, ATP, oxygen, hemoglobin/hematocrit, or gut microbiome in this widely used clinical reference.
  22. Drugs.com Interaction Checker: Fer-Iron and Spironolactone Interactions. — Consumer/professional interaction-checker tool, reviewed directly; reports no documented interaction found between Fer-Iron (iron supplement) and spironolactone (Tier D source, used only to confirm the absence of a circulating claim).
  23. Dr. Dan Wool. Spironolactone and Gut Health: Can It Cause Constipation and Bloating? — Consumer blog (Tier D), reviewed directly; consulted to confirm no circulating claim of spironolactone-induced microbiome depletion exists, and that its own discussion of animal microbiome data matches the protective-direction literature reviewed above rather than contradicting it.