Sermorelin
Sermorelin, a GHRH-receptor agonist (somatropin-agonist axis)
Findings for this medication
Research about this medication, graded for how strongly each finding can be attributed to it. Nothing here describes your own levels.
Sermorelin has no classical pharmacokinetic depletion mechanism, and unlike every other medication reviewed in this project so far, its own regulatory label could not be retrieved at all. It is a synthetic 29-amino-acid fragment of human growth hormone-releasing hormone, given by subcutaneous injection (or intravenous bolus for the diagnostic GH-stimulation test), and it is degraded by ordinary blood and tissue peptidases, including dipeptidyl peptidase IV acting at the intestinal and renal brush border, not by cytochrome P450 oxidation. With no oral formulation, chelation, gastric-pH, and bile-acid-sequestration mechanisms do not apply. Geref (sermorelin acetate) was discontinued by its manufacturer for commercial, non-safety reasons in 2008 and its FDA approval was formally withdrawn in 2009; it has no current DailyMed listing, and the archived FDA New Drug Application document is a non-searchable scanned image with no machine-readable text. This is a genuine, disclosed access limitation specific to this drug, not a finding about its safety.
Sermorelin, a GHRH-receptor agonist (somatropin-agonist axis) · ATC H01AC04 · also sold as Geref (discontinued 2008 and not currently FDA-marketed; available via compounding pharmacies) · reviewed 2026-09-28. This describes research about the medication. It does not say anything about your own levels or health.
How to read the evidence grades
These colours describe how strongly a finding can be attributed to the medication in the research. They are not a severity score and they say nothing about your own health.
Grades describe how strongly a finding can be attributed to Sermorelin in the research — not how common it is, how serious it would be, and not anything about you personally.
- Red — Severe
- Two or more independent Tier A sources, this drug in the cohort, the nutrient directly measured, consistent direction, clinically meaningful magnitude, a named mechanism, no substantial contradicting Tier A evidence.
- Orange — Moderate
- At least one Tier A source with this drug in the cohort showing a real but bounded deficit: an exposure window, a subgroup, low frequency, or a functional rather than circulating deficit.
- Yellow — Low
- Mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class extrapolation (Tier C) with no drug-specific human status data; also used for context flags and interactions running the other direction.
- Not graded — disclosed evidence gap
- Nothing has been measured here, so this finding cannot be graded. That does not establish either safety or harm, and it is not the same as a White result.Source definition: Not gradeable under the rules above because nothing has been measured. Published as a documented gap, never as reassurance that there is no effect.
The five body-system areas
Each finding is counted once, in a single area. Where a study is mentioned in a second area it is context only.
Mitochondrial Burden
Each finding below is counted once, in this area only.
Mitochondrial burden
Not graded — disclosed evidence gapSee study details
No sermorelin-specific or clearly on-topic class-level source addressing mitochondrial structure, membrane integrity, electron transport, or biogenesis was located, and no consumer claim about sermorelin and mitochondria exists to rebut.
Full detail, limits and 1 references
Mitochondrial burden
Not graded — disclosed evidence gapWhat the grade means here: Nothing has been measured here, so this finding cannot be graded. That does not establish either safety or harm, and it is not the same as a White result. ungraded
Limits on what this shows
- Why no grade: PubMed was searched directly for "sermorelin mitochondria" on two separate occasions during the original review; both returned no topically relevant result (the query was algorithmically reinterpreted by PubMed's own system, and the sole result returned was an unrelated protein-AMPylation paper). A follow-up review repeated the search with the broader phrasing "growth hormone releasing hormone mitochondrial biogenesis" and this time returned a genuinely on-topic-sounding result: Rodrigue-Way A, Demers A, Ong H, Tremblay A (2007), PMID 17138655, "A growth hormone-releasing peptide promotes mitochondrial biogenesis and a fat burning-like phenotype through scavenger receptor CD36 in white adipocytes." On inspection this study uses hexarelin, a growth-hormone-releasing hexapeptide that acts at the ghrelin receptor (GHS-R1a) and, in this specific study, at the CD36 scavenger receptor, a mechanism documented elsewhere in the literature as GH-independent and distinct from the GHRH receptor that sermorelin itself activates; it was considered and explicitly excluded as not mechanistically applicable to a GHRH-receptor agonist, rather than accepted as class-level support. The same "sermorelin oxidative stress" search that supports the Oxidative stress entry above surfaced other GHRH-pathway titles referencing neurodegeneration, endoplasmic-reticulum stress, and inflammation, not mitochondrial structure or function explicitly; because their titles do not confirm mitochondrial content and their full abstracts could not be opened, they are not used here either. Six consumer/practitioner sources reviewed for the circulating-claim audit (Healthline, Testing.com, InvigorMedical, RupaHealth, FormBlends, StrivePharmacy) made no mitochondria-specific claim about sermorelin. Dual condition (no Tier B/C evidence that survives exclusion, no claim to rebut) is met on the evidence actually retrieved.
Channels tried
PubMed search-listing (2 clean attempts in the original review under "sermorelin mitochondria," both null; 1 further attempt in this follow-up review under "growth hormone releasing hormone mitochondrial biogenesis," which surfaced and required excluding the hexarelin/CD36 lead above). Crossref (1 attempt in the original review, rate-limited mid-search; 1 further attempt in this follow-up review, again rate-limited). PMC and Europe PMC (bot-blocked/rate-limited on every attempt across both reviews). 6-source consumer-claim audit (no relevant claim).
Genuine gap vs. tooling-limited
Leans more genuine after this follow-up review: three independent, clean PubMed passes across two phrasings, one of which required a considered exclusion rather than returning nothing, is a materially more thorough search than a single null attempt. The Crossref channel remains rate-limited on every attempt across both reviews, a residual, disclosed tooling gap.
- Rodrigue-Way A, Demers A, Ong H, Tremblay A. A growth hormone-releasing peptide promotes mitochondrial biogenesis and a fat burning-like phenotype through scavenger receptor CD36 in white adipocytes. — Located via a PubMed search-listing page for "growth hormone releasing hormone mitochondrial biogenesis." Uses hexarelin, a growth-hormone-releasing hexapeptide acting at the ghrelin receptor (GHS-R1a) and, in this study, the CD36 scavenger receptor, a mechanism documented elsewhere as GH-independent and distinct from the GHRH receptor that sermorelin itself activates. Considered and explicitly excluded from the Mitochondrial burden entry as not mechanistically applicable to a GHRH-receptor agonist; not used to support any grade in this dossier.Full text not opened; title and abstract summary reviewed via PubMed search-listing page only.
Oxidative Stress
Each finding below is counted once, in this area only.
Oxidative stress, class-level signal with direction unresolved for this drug's own mechanism
Yellow — LowSee study details
GHRH-pathway research from a single research group links growth-hormone-releasing-hormone signaling to oxidative stress and redox markers in several animal and cell models, but the located literature predominantly studies GHRH-receptor antagonists, the pharmacological opposite of sermorelin's own receptor-agonist action, so no confident direction can be assigned to what sermorelin itself does.
Full detail, limits and 4 references
Oxidative stress, class-level signal with direction unresolved for this drug's own mechanism
Yellow — LowWhat the grade means here: Mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class extrapolation (Tier C) with no drug-specific human status data; also used for context flags and interactions running the other direction. yellow
Limits on what this shows
- Key negative/null findings: No study using a GHRH-receptor agonist (sermorelin's own mechanism) and measuring oxidative stress markers was located; this absence is itself the key limitation on this entry.
- At-risk subgroups: Cannot be determined from the evidence located.
Regulatory status
Not addressed in any source accessible during this review; the original FDA label could not be retrieved (see PK basis).
Population evidence
A PubMed search-listing page for "sermorelin oxidative stress" (accessed 2026-09-28) returned eight GHRH-pathway titles, none using sermorelin itself. The most directly on-topic: Nair D, Ramesh V, Li RC, Schally AV, Gozal D (2013), PMID 23815362, "Growth hormone releasing hormone (GHRH) signaling modulates intermittent hypoxia-induced oxidative stress and cognitive deficits in mouse," a mouse sleep-apnea model implicating GHRH signaling in oxidative stress, agonist/antagonist design not confirmed from the title. Banks WA, Morley JE, Farr SA, Price TO, Ercal N, Vidaurre I, Schally AV (2010), PMID 21135231, "Effects of a growth hormone-releasing hormone antagonist on telomerase activity, oxidative stress, longevity, and aging in mice," an antagonist study, the opposite manipulation from sermorelin. Barabutis N, Schally AV (2008), PMID 19075233, "Antioxidant activity of growth hormone-releasing hormone antagonists in LNCaP human prostate cancer line," again an antagonist study reporting antioxidant activity from blocking the pathway sermorelin activates. Barabutis N, Siejka A, Schally AV (2011), PMID 20518847, "Growth hormone releasing hormone induces the expression of nitric oxide synthase," direction and agonist/antagonist design not confirmed from the title alone.
Mechanism
Not established for sermorelin itself. The GHRH-receptor pathway sermorelin activates appears redox-active in some tissues, but the clearest-titled findings located involve blocking that pathway (antagonism), not activating it, so a mechanism specifically predicting sermorelin's own effect cannot be stated with confidence.
Counter-evidence held on record
No source located in this review directly measured oxidative stress markers in a human or animal given sermorelin or another GHRH-receptor agonist; every class-level lead found either used an antagonist or did not specify direction. Full abstracts for all four cited titles were not accessible during this review despite repeated attempts (PubMed article pages returned no extractable text; PMC and Europe PMC were bot-blocked or rate-limited on every attempt), so this entry rests on title-level confirmation only and should be treated as a flagged mechanism-plausibility lead, not a resolved finding. Because the located evidence trends toward GHRH-pathway blockade, not activation, being associated with reduced oxidative stress and increased longevity markers in animal models, popular marketing that positions sermorelin, a pathway activator, as an antioxidant or longevity aid is not supported by anything found here and may run in the opposite direction. This is a caution flag, not a confirmed adverse effect, and no antioxidant-supplementation guidance follows from it either way.
- Nair D, Ramesh V, Li RC, Schally AV, Gozal D. Growth hormone releasing hormone (GHRH) signaling modulates intermittent hypoxia-induced oxidative stress and cognitive deficits in mouse. — Mouse model; title confirms GHRH signaling and oxidative stress link. Used for the Oxidative stress entry, title-level only.Full abstract not opened; found via a PubMed search-listing page, not the article page itself.
- Banks WA, Morley JE, Farr SA, Price TO, Ercal N, Vidaurre I, Schally AV. Effects of a growth hormone-releasing hormone antagonist on telomerase activity, oxidative stress, longevity, and aging in mice. — Mouse model, GHRH-receptor antagonist (opposite mechanism from sermorelin). Used for the Oxidative stress entry, title-level only, to establish that the pathway sermorelin activates has been studied for longevity/oxidative-stress effects in the opposite (blocking) direction.Full abstract not opened; found via a PubMed search-listing page.
- Barabutis N, Schally AV. Antioxidant activity of growth hormone-releasing hormone antagonists in LNCaP human prostate cancer line. — Human prostate cancer cell line, GHRH-receptor antagonist (opposite mechanism from sermorelin). Used for the Oxidative stress entry, title-level only.Full abstract not opened; found via a PubMed search-listing page.
- Barabutis N, Siejka A, Schally AV. Growth hormone releasing hormone induces the expression of nitric oxide synthase. — Title confirms a GHRH/nitric-oxide-synthase link; agonist/antagonist design and net redox direction not confirmed from title. Used for the Oxidative stress entry, title-level only.Full abstract not opened; found via a PubMed search-listing page.
Copper and Iron Balance
Copper and iron are assessed separately. Nothing here is counted twice.
Copper, reverse-direction context flag
Yellow — LowSee study details
Two animal studies show dietary copper intake and inherited copper-metabolism disorders altering the structure and output of the hypothalamic neurons that produce endogenous GHRH, the opposite causal direction from a claim that sermorelin, exogenous GHRH(1-29), affects copper status; no evidence in either direction supports a depletion claim.
Full detail, limits and 2 references
Copper, reverse-direction context flag
Yellow — LowWhat the grade means here: Mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class extrapolation (Tier C) with no drug-specific human status data; also used for context flags and interactions running the other direction. yellow
Limits on what this shows
- Key negative/null findings: No study measuring copper status, ceruloplasmin, or copper-dependent enzyme activity in a human or animal given sermorelin or another GHRH-receptor agonist was located.
- At-risk subgroups: Not applicable; this is a context flag about the reverse relationship, not a subgroup-specific deficit.
Regulatory status
Not addressed in any source accessible during this review; the original FDA label could not be retrieved (see PK basis).
Population evidence
A PubMed search-listing page for "growth hormone releasing hormone copper metabolism" (accessed 2026-09-28) returned Yang W et al. (2011), PMID 21110139, "Effect of high dietary copper on somatostatin and growth hormone-releasing hormone levels in the hypothalami of growing pigs," an animal feeding study measuring GHRH as an outcome of dietary copper exposure. The same search returned Gajewska A et al. (2009), PMID 19375486, "Impaired growth hormone-releasing hormone neurons ultrastructure and peptide accumulation in the arcuate nucleus of mosaic mice with altered copper metabolism," an animal model of inherited copper-metabolism disease (mosaic mice) showing structural damage to GHRH-producing neurons. Both studies were confirmed at the title level via the search-listing page; full text was not opened during this review.
Mechanism
Both located studies run from copper status toward the hypothalamic GHRH system, not from GHRH or a GHRH-receptor agonist toward copper handling. No mechanism by which sermorelin, a peptide degraded by peripheral blood and tissue peptidases with no chelating or transporter-competing chemistry, would alter copper absorption, distribution, or excretion was identified in this or any other source reviewed.
Counter-evidence held on record
Per this project's interaction-direction rule, a relationship running from the nutrient toward the drug's own endogenous axis, rather than from the drug toward the nutrient, is filed as a context flag, not a depletion claim. Nothing here suggests sermorelin causes copper excess or deficiency in either direction, and no supplementation or restriction guidance follows from this entry.
- Yang W, et al. (full author list not confirmed from title-level search result). Effect of high dietary copper on somatostatin and growth hormone-releasing hormone levels in the hypothalami of growing pigs. — Animal feeding study; title confirms dietary copper as the exposure and GHRH hypothalamic levels as the outcome, the reverse direction from a claim that GHRH/sermorelin affects copper. Used for the Copper entry (yellow, reverse-direction context flag), title-level only.Full text not opened; found via a PubMed search-listing page.
- Gajewska A, et al. (full author list not confirmed from title-level search result). Impaired growth hormone-releasing hormone neurons ultrastructure and peptide accumulation in the arcuate nucleus of mosaic mice with altered copper metabolism. — Animal model of inherited copper-metabolism disease (mosaic mice); title confirms structural damage to GHRH-producing neurons as a consequence of altered copper metabolism, again the reverse direction from a sermorelin-affects-copper claim. Used for the Copper entry, title-level only.Full text not opened; found via a PubMed search-listing page.
Iron
Not graded — disclosed evidence gapSee study details
No sermorelin-specific iron/hemoglobin evidence and no circulating consumer claim were located, but a real Tier A human study of this drug that could plausibly bear on iron status exists and could not be opened during this review.
Full detail, limits and 6 references
Iron
Not graded — disclosed evidence gapWhat the grade means here: Nothing has been measured here, so this finding cannot be graded. That does not establish either safety or harm, and it is not the same as a White result. ungraded
Limits on what this shows
- Why no grade: Crossref was queried with "sermorelin hemoglobin anemia erythropoiesis" and returned five results, none involving sermorelin, GHRH, or a related peptide (general anemia/erythropoiesis literature only), a clean null. Direct PubMed queries for "sermorelin iron" were attempted twice in the original review and both were rejected by rate limiting (HTTP 429) before returning any result. This follow-up review reopened Vittone et al. 1997, PMID 9005976, at the abstract level via both its PubMed record and its ScienceDirect abstract page (previously the Elsevier full-text page alone had returned no extractable content at all). Both abstract sources were read directly and neither contains the words hemoglobin, hematocrit, red blood cell, red cell, anemia, or iron anywhere; the abstract instead reports GH-axis, muscle-strength/endurance, body-composition, glucose/insulin, and phosphocreatine/intracellular-pH findings only (see the ATP production entry). This confirms the abstract itself does not address iron status, though a hematologic or metabolic safety-labs table in the full text, which remains inaccessible, cannot be ruled out. No consumer source made an iron-specific claim about sermorelin.
Channels tried
Crossref (1 clean null, original review). PubMed (2 attempts in the original review, both blocked by rate limiting). Vittone 1997 abstract (opened via its PubMed record and its ScienceDirect abstract page in this follow-up review, confirmed to contain no iron/hematologic content). Vittone 1997 full text (Elsevier linkinghub redirect followed directly in this follow-up review, still returned no extractable content; Europe PMC rate-limited, HTTP 429, on every attempt; a ResearchGate search found no matching entry; Semantic Scholar rate-limited, HTTP 429). 6-source consumer-claim audit (no claim).
Genuine gap vs. tooling-limited
Less purely tooling-limited than before: the abstract of the one known drug-specific Tier A source is now confirmed read and confirmed silent on iron/hematologic parameters, which is itself informative. The gap that remains is specifically the full-text methods/results tables, which stayed inaccessible across every channel tried in this follow-up review (Elsevier, Europe PMC, ResearchGate, Semantic Scholar); this remains the single most valuable target for a future revision with different full-text access.
- Vittone J, Blackman MR, Busby-Whitehead J, Tsiao C, Stewart KJ, Tobin J, Stevens T, Bellantoni MF, Rogers MA, Baumann G, Roth J, Harman SM, Spencer RGS. Effects of single nightly injections of growth hormone-releasing hormone (GHRH 1-29) in healthy elderly men. — Open-label, non-controlled study of 11 healthy men aged 64 to 76 given 2 mg GHRH(1-29), sermorelin's own active moiety, nightly for 6 weeks. Abstract opened and read in this follow-up review via both the PubMed record and the ScienceDirect abstract page (next two entries); reports increased nocturnal GH release, improved upright-row/shoulder-press strength and abdominal-crunch endurance, no change in weight/BMI/body composition/glucose/insulin, no change in exercise phosphocreatine/[PCr+Pi] ratio or intracellular pH by 31P-NMR spectroscopy, and no significant adverse effects; contains no hemoglobin, hematocrit, red-cell, or iron language. Used as the primary evidence for the ATP production entry (yellow) and checked, with a negative result, for the Iron and Oxygen delivery/utilization entries.Full text (methods/results tables) remains inaccessible: the linkinghub.elsevier.com redirect target returned no extractable content again in this follow-up review; Europe PMC and Semantic Scholar both returned HTTP 429 on every attempt; a ResearchGate search found no matching entry.
- PubMed. Abstract record for Vittone et al. 1997, PMID 9005976. — Opened and read directly in this follow-up review, the first successful access to this drug-specific Tier A study's own content in this dossier's history. Abstract text confirmed for key claims: "GHRH treatment did not alter exercise-mediated changes in PCr/[PCr + Pi] or intracellular pH" and "No significant adverse effects were observed." No hemoglobin, hematocrit, red blood cell, red cell, anemia, or iron language present. Study design confirmed as open-label, non-randomized, non-placebo-controlled, n=11.
- ScienceDirect. Abstract page for Vittone et al. 1997 (PII S0026049597901748). — Publisher abstract page, opened and read directly in this follow-up review; abstract content matches the PubMed record and adds that treatment "altered relationships between muscle strength and bioenergetics" in a way described as suggesting reduced need for anaerobic metabolism during exercise. Full text beyond the abstract not accessible (subscription-walled).
- OpenAlex API record for Vittone et al. 1997 (via PMID 9005976). — Confirmed bibliographic metadata (title, journal, DOI, year) and citation count (71 citations); listed an open-access status with the publisher DOI as the best OA location but no directly downloadable PDF, consistent with this review's own inability to extract full text from that location.
- ResearchGate search for Vittone et al. 1997.Search results page did not surface a matching entry for this specific paper among visible results; no full text located by this channel.
- Semantic Scholar API query for Vittone et al. 1997 (via PMID 9005976).Returned HTTP 429 (rate-limited) in this follow-up review; could not be used, consistent with the original review's finding for this channel.
Gut Microbiome Risk
Each finding below is counted once, in this area only.
Gut microbiome risk
Not graded — disclosed evidence gapSee study details
No sermorelin-specific or GHRH-class microbiome evidence and no circulating consumer claim were located.
Full detail and limits
Gut microbiome risk
Not graded — disclosed evidence gapWhat the grade means here: Nothing has been measured here, so this finding cannot be graded. That does not establish either safety or harm, and it is not the same as a White result. ungraded
Limits on what this shows
- Why no grade: Crossref was queried twice with different phrasings in the original review, "sermorelin gut microbiome" and the broader "growth hormone releasing hormone GHRH gut microbiome," both clean, unblocked queries; neither returned any relevant result. Unlike this project's somatropin dossier, which located a growth-hormone-receptor-knockout mouse microbiome study at the class level, no equivalent GHRH-agonist or GHRH-pathway microbiome study could be found for sermorelin even at the class level. This follow-up review completed the PubMed pass that the original review had left rate-limited: a search-listing page for "growth hormone releasing hormone gut microbiota" returned 12 results, none involving GHRH or sermorelin and gut microbiota specifically. A further Crossref query for "sermorelin intestinal gut bacteria" also returned five results, all general gut-microbiota literature unrelated to GHRH or sermorelin. Six consumer/practitioner sources reviewed made no microbiome-related claim about sermorelin.
Channels tried
Crossref (2 clean, unblocked attempts across two phrasings in the original review, both null; 1 further clean attempt in this follow-up review, also null). PubMed (rate-limited in the original review; 1 clean attempt completed in this follow-up review, null). 6-source consumer-claim audit (no claim).
Genuine gap vs. tooling-limited
Strengthened in this follow-up review: four independent, clean, unblocked queries across two hosts and several phrasings now all return negative results, including the PubMed pass that the original review could not complete. This is now one of the best-supported genuine gaps in this dossier.
Oxygen and ATP Output
Oxygen delivery and ATP production are assessed separately. Nothing here is counted twice.
ATP production, direct Tier A measurement found no effect
Yellow — LowSee study details
The one drug-specific Tier A human study whose abstract could be opened during this review directly measured a validated marker of muscle high-energy phosphate handling and found six weeks of nightly GHRH(1-29) did not change it.
Full detail, limits and 7 references
ATP production, direct Tier A measurement found no effect
Yellow — LowWhat the grade means here: Mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class extrapolation (Tier C) with no drug-specific human status data; also used for context flags and interactions running the other direction. yellow
Limits on what this shows
- Key negative/null findings: The PCr/[PCr + Pi] and intracellular-pH null result above is itself the key finding for this entry: a real, drug-specific, Tier A measurement showing no effect on this energy-metabolism marker.
- At-risk subgroups: Cannot be determined; the only located study was a small (n=11), non-controlled, non-randomized, all-male, elderly cohort.
Regulatory status
Not addressed in any source accessible during this review; the original FDA label could not be retrieved (see PK basis).
Population evidence
Vittone J et al. (1997), Metabolism 46(1):89-96, PMID 9005976, DOI 10.1016/s0026-0495(97)90174-8: open-label, non-controlled study of 11 healthy men aged 64 to 76 given 2 mg GHRH(1-29), sermorelin's own active moiety, nightly for 6 weeks. Muscle bioenergetics were assessed by phosphorus-31 nuclear magnetic resonance spectroscopy during handgrip exercise, tracking the phosphocreatine-to-inorganic-phosphate ratio (PCr/[PCr + Pi]), described in the abstract as an estimate of cellular energy charge in muscle, and intracellular pH. The abstract states directly: "GHRH treatment did not alter exercise-mediated changes in PCr/[PCr + Pi] or intracellular pH." The same study found nocturnal GH release increased and two of six muscle-strength/endurance measures (upright row, shoulder press) plus abdominal-crunch endurance improved, with treatment described as altering the relationship between muscle strength and bioenergetics in a way suggesting reduced reliance on anaerobic metabolism during exercise, though ATP synthesis itself was not separately reported. Opened at the abstract level only, via the PubMed record and the ScienceDirect abstract page; the full text remains inaccessible (see Sources).
Mechanism
Not established as a depletion mechanism. Sermorelin raises endogenous GH and IGF-1, which are mechanistically plausible modulators of skeletal-muscle energy metabolism, but the one direct human measurement located shows no change in the specific high-energy phosphate marker tested.
Counter-evidence held on record
This is graded yellow rather than left ungraded because real, drug-specific Tier A evidence exists and was reviewed, not because a deficit was found; the direction is null-to-reassuring, not depletive. No claim that sermorelin depletes cellular energy stores is supported by this or any other source located in this review, and no supplementation implication follows either way. The study is small, non-controlled, and non-randomized, so its null result should not be over-read as definitive; full-text access, still unavailable, could add detail this abstract does not contain.
- Vittone J, Blackman MR, Busby-Whitehead J, Tsiao C, Stewart KJ, Tobin J, Stevens T, Bellantoni MF, Rogers MA, Baumann G, Roth J, Harman SM, Spencer RGS. Effects of single nightly injections of growth hormone-releasing hormone (GHRH 1-29) in healthy elderly men. — Open-label, non-controlled study of 11 healthy men aged 64 to 76 given 2 mg GHRH(1-29), sermorelin's own active moiety, nightly for 6 weeks. Abstract opened and read in this follow-up review via both the PubMed record and the ScienceDirect abstract page (next two entries); reports increased nocturnal GH release, improved upright-row/shoulder-press strength and abdominal-crunch endurance, no change in weight/BMI/body composition/glucose/insulin, no change in exercise phosphocreatine/[PCr+Pi] ratio or intracellular pH by 31P-NMR spectroscopy, and no significant adverse effects; contains no hemoglobin, hematocrit, red-cell, or iron language. Used as the primary evidence for the ATP production entry (yellow) and checked, with a negative result, for the Iron and Oxygen delivery/utilization entries.Full text (methods/results tables) remains inaccessible: the linkinghub.elsevier.com redirect target returned no extractable content again in this follow-up review; Europe PMC and Semantic Scholar both returned HTTP 429 on every attempt; a ResearchGate search found no matching entry.
- PubMed. Abstract record for Vittone et al. 1997, PMID 9005976. — Opened and read directly in this follow-up review, the first successful access to this drug-specific Tier A study's own content in this dossier's history. Abstract text confirmed for key claims: "GHRH treatment did not alter exercise-mediated changes in PCr/[PCr + Pi] or intracellular pH" and "No significant adverse effects were observed." No hemoglobin, hematocrit, red blood cell, red cell, anemia, or iron language present. Study design confirmed as open-label, non-randomized, non-placebo-controlled, n=11.
- ScienceDirect. Abstract page for Vittone et al. 1997 (PII S0026049597901748). — Publisher abstract page, opened and read directly in this follow-up review; abstract content matches the PubMed record and adds that treatment "altered relationships between muscle strength and bioenergetics" in a way described as suggesting reduced need for anaerobic metabolism during exercise. Full text beyond the abstract not accessible (subscription-walled).
- OpenAlex API record for Vittone et al. 1997 (via PMID 9005976). — Confirmed bibliographic metadata (title, journal, DOI, year) and citation count (71 citations); listed an open-access status with the publisher DOI as the best OA location but no directly downloadable PDF, consistent with this review's own inability to extract full text from that location.
- Europe PMC REST API query for the Vittone 1997 DOI.Returned HTTP 429 (rate-limited) on every attempt in this follow-up review; could not be used.
- ResearchGate search for Vittone et al. 1997.Search results page did not surface a matching entry for this specific paper among visible results; no full text located by this channel.
- Semantic Scholar API query for Vittone et al. 1997 (via PMID 9005976).Returned HTTP 429 (rate-limited) in this follow-up review; could not be used, consistent with the original review's finding for this channel.
Oxygen delivery / utilization
Not graded — disclosed evidence gapSee study details
No sermorelin-specific hematologic or oxygen-delivery evidence and no circulating consumer claim were located, with the same known-but-inaccessible Tier A source noted under Iron.
Full detail, limits and 7 references
Oxygen delivery / utilization
Not graded — disclosed evidence gapWhat the grade means here: Nothing has been measured here, so this finding cannot be graded. That does not establish either safety or harm, and it is not the same as a White result. ungraded
Limits on what this shows
- Why no grade: Crossref was queried with "sermorelin GHRH 1-29 hematocrit oxygen red blood cell" and returned five results; one was topically adjacent, an Inpharma Weekly digest (2007, DOI 10.2165/00128413-200715970-00018) noting general benefit of sermorelin in malnourished patients with advanced renal failure, but it gave no hematologic detail and was not opened beyond its title, and four results were unrelated. Direct PubMed queries for this category were blocked by rate limiting in the original review. As with Iron, this follow-up review reopened Vittone et al. 1997 at the abstract level via its PubMed record and its ScienceDirect abstract page. Neither contains hemoglobin, hematocrit, red blood cell, or oxygen-delivery language; the closest adjacent finding is that GHRH treatment altered the relationship between muscle strength and bioenergetics in a way the abstract describes as suggesting reduced need for anaerobic metabolism during exercise, a muscle-bioenergetics finding about exercise metabolism, not a hemoglobin/hematocrit/red-cell-mass measurement, so it is disclosed here but not used to support a grade for this specifically defined category. No consumer source claimed an oxygen-delivery or hematologic effect for sermorelin.
Channels tried
Crossref (1 clean attempt, one tangential non-informative lead, otherwise null, original review). PubMed (blocked on every attempt, original review). Vittone 1997 abstract (opened via its PubMed record and its ScienceDirect abstract page in this follow-up review, confirmed to contain no hemoglobin/hematocrit/oxygen-delivery content). Vittone 1997 full text (Elsevier linkinghub redirect followed directly in this follow-up review, still inaccessible; Europe PMC and Semantic Scholar both rate-limited; a ResearchGate search found no matching entry). 6-source consumer-claim audit (no claim).
Genuine gap vs. tooling-limited
Less purely tooling-limited than before, for the same reason as Iron: the abstract of the one known drug-specific Tier A source is now confirmed read and confirmed silent on hematologic and oxygen-delivery parameters specifically. The remaining gap is the full-text methods/results tables, still inaccessible across every channel tried in this follow-up review; that full text remains the first target for a future revision.
- Vittone J, Blackman MR, Busby-Whitehead J, Tsiao C, Stewart KJ, Tobin J, Stevens T, Bellantoni MF, Rogers MA, Baumann G, Roth J, Harman SM, Spencer RGS. Effects of single nightly injections of growth hormone-releasing hormone (GHRH 1-29) in healthy elderly men. — Open-label, non-controlled study of 11 healthy men aged 64 to 76 given 2 mg GHRH(1-29), sermorelin's own active moiety, nightly for 6 weeks. Abstract opened and read in this follow-up review via both the PubMed record and the ScienceDirect abstract page (next two entries); reports increased nocturnal GH release, improved upright-row/shoulder-press strength and abdominal-crunch endurance, no change in weight/BMI/body composition/glucose/insulin, no change in exercise phosphocreatine/[PCr+Pi] ratio or intracellular pH by 31P-NMR spectroscopy, and no significant adverse effects; contains no hemoglobin, hematocrit, red-cell, or iron language. Used as the primary evidence for the ATP production entry (yellow) and checked, with a negative result, for the Iron and Oxygen delivery/utilization entries.Full text (methods/results tables) remains inaccessible: the linkinghub.elsevier.com redirect target returned no extractable content again in this follow-up review; Europe PMC and Semantic Scholar both returned HTTP 429 on every attempt; a ResearchGate search found no matching entry.
- PubMed. Abstract record for Vittone et al. 1997, PMID 9005976. — Opened and read directly in this follow-up review, the first successful access to this drug-specific Tier A study's own content in this dossier's history. Abstract text confirmed for key claims: "GHRH treatment did not alter exercise-mediated changes in PCr/[PCr + Pi] or intracellular pH" and "No significant adverse effects were observed." No hemoglobin, hematocrit, red blood cell, red cell, anemia, or iron language present. Study design confirmed as open-label, non-randomized, non-placebo-controlled, n=11.
- ScienceDirect. Abstract page for Vittone et al. 1997 (PII S0026049597901748). — Publisher abstract page, opened and read directly in this follow-up review; abstract content matches the PubMed record and adds that treatment "altered relationships between muscle strength and bioenergetics" in a way described as suggesting reduced need for anaerobic metabolism during exercise. Full text beyond the abstract not accessible (subscription-walled).
- OpenAlex API record for Vittone et al. 1997 (via PMID 9005976). — Confirmed bibliographic metadata (title, journal, DOI, year) and citation count (71 citations); listed an open-access status with the publisher DOI as the best OA location but no directly downloadable PDF, consistent with this review's own inability to extract full text from that location.
- ResearchGate search for Vittone et al. 1997.Search results page did not surface a matching entry for this specific paper among visible results; no full text located by this channel.
- Semantic Scholar API query for Vittone et al. 1997 (via PMID 9005976).Returned HTTP 429 (rate-limited) in this follow-up review; could not be used, consistent with the original review's finding for this channel.
- Sermorelin [LAB GHRH], a peptide analogue of GHRH, provides considerable benefits in malnourished patients with advanced renal failure. — A secondary news-digest title located via Crossref, pointing to an unidentified primary study of sermorelin in malnourished renal-failure patients. Not opened beyond its bibliographic title; not used to support any graded claim in this dossier, flagged as an unexplored lead for a future revision.Full content not located or opened during this review.
Claims checked and not supported
These circulate online for this medication. They are listed here only so they can be answered, never as findings, and they are not graded.
A claim with no supporting evidence is not necessarily disproven. Where evidence actually argues against a claim, that is stated below.
Bone mineral density / skeletal remodeling (GH-axis claim)
Where it comes from: Compounding-pharmacy provider marketing (StrivePharmacy, "Sermorelin for Providers" clinical guide), which lists "bone mineral density and skeletal remodeling support" among sermorelin's claimed metabolic effects.
Why it fails: No sermorelin-specific study measuring bone mineral density, bone turnover markers, or calcium/phosphate handling was located during this review; a Crossref query for "sermorelin vitamin D calcium bone" returned five results, none relevant. No GHRH-receptor-agonist class-level study on this topic was located either. The two existing human studies of this drug's own active moiety (Wilton 1993, Vittone 1997) could plausibly bear on this, but their full text was not accessible during this review, so they cannot confirm the claim. This project's somatropin dossier documents real bone/mineral effects for a mechanistically distinct drug (exogenous growth hormone itself, not a GHRH-receptor agonist); per this review's independent-verification requirement, that evidence was not extrapolated onto sermorelin, and no equivalent evidence for sermorelin itself was found. Unsupported at any tier located in this review.
All references used above
- WHO Collaborating Centre for Drug Statistics Methodology. ATC/DDD Index, H01AC04 Sermorelin, and the H01AC group listing. — Confirms ATC classification (H01AC04) and that sermorelin is grouped with somatropin, tesamorelin, and other agents under "Somatropin and somatropin agonists."
- Federal Register. Determination That GEREF (Sermorelin Acetate) Injection... Were Not Withdrawn From Sale for Reasons of Safety or Effectiveness. — NDA numbers (20-443, 19-863), approval dates (1990, 1997), discontinuation by manufacturer (2008), and FDA approval withdrawal (2009) for commercial, non-safety reasons.
- FDA Drugs@FDA. NDA 020443 (Geref) approval history and documents index. — Confirms no electronic label is available on file for this application.
- FDA. Archived NDA 019863 (Geref) supplement document.Fetched directly; the PDF is a non-OCR scanned image with no machine-readable text, so no clinical pharmacology content could be extracted.
- DailyMed. Search for "sermorelin" and, separately, "Geref." — Both searches returned zero results; sermorelin/Geref has no current DailyMed label listing.
- Bai JP, Chang LL. The involvement of dipeptidyl peptidase IV in brush-border degradation of GRF(1-29)NH2 and its analogs. — In vitro/animal (rat intestinal brush-border membrane) mechanistic study using GRF(1-29)NH2, sermorelin's own chemical identity. Title itself states the DPP-IV degradation finding; used only for that specific, title-confirmed claim.Full abstract/text not accessible during this review; PubMed article page returned no extractable content on repeated attempts.
- Wilton P, Chardet Y, Danielson K, Widlund L, Gunnarsson R. Pharmacokinetics of growth hormone-releasing hormone(1-29)-NH2 and stimulation of growth hormone secretion in healthy subjects after intravenous or intranasal administration. — Bibliographic record confirmed via Crossref and via a PubMed search-listing page. Confirms this drug's own moiety was studied in humans via IV and intranasal routes; cited for that route confirmation only.Full text inaccessible: doi.org redirect to Wiley returned HTTP 403 on this review's attempt.
- Vittone J, Blackman MR, Busby-Whitehead J, Tsiao C, Stewart KJ, Tobin J, Stevens T, Bellantoni MF, Rogers MA, Baumann G, Roth J, Harman SM, Spencer RGS. Effects of single nightly injections of growth hormone-releasing hormone (GHRH 1-29) in healthy elderly men. — Open-label, non-controlled study of 11 healthy men aged 64 to 76 given 2 mg GHRH(1-29), sermorelin's own active moiety, nightly for 6 weeks. Abstract opened and read in this follow-up review via both the PubMed record and the ScienceDirect abstract page (next two entries); reports increased nocturnal GH release, improved upright-row/shoulder-press strength and abdominal-crunch endurance, no change in weight/BMI/body composition/glucose/insulin, no change in exercise phosphocreatine/[PCr+Pi] ratio or intracellular pH by 31P-NMR spectroscopy, and no significant adverse effects; contains no hemoglobin, hematocrit, red-cell, or iron language. Used as the primary evidence for the ATP production entry (yellow) and checked, with a negative result, for the Iron and Oxygen delivery/utilization entries.Full text (methods/results tables) remains inaccessible: the linkinghub.elsevier.com redirect target returned no extractable content again in this follow-up review; Europe PMC and Semantic Scholar both returned HTTP 429 on every attempt; a ResearchGate search found no matching entry.
- PubMed. Abstract record for Vittone et al. 1997, PMID 9005976. — Opened and read directly in this follow-up review, the first successful access to this drug-specific Tier A study's own content in this dossier's history. Abstract text confirmed for key claims: "GHRH treatment did not alter exercise-mediated changes in PCr/[PCr + Pi] or intracellular pH" and "No significant adverse effects were observed." No hemoglobin, hematocrit, red blood cell, red cell, anemia, or iron language present. Study design confirmed as open-label, non-randomized, non-placebo-controlled, n=11.
- ScienceDirect. Abstract page for Vittone et al. 1997 (PII S0026049597901748). — Publisher abstract page, opened and read directly in this follow-up review; abstract content matches the PubMed record and adds that treatment "altered relationships between muscle strength and bioenergetics" in a way described as suggesting reduced need for anaerobic metabolism during exercise. Full text beyond the abstract not accessible (subscription-walled).
- OpenAlex API record for Vittone et al. 1997 (via PMID 9005976). — Confirmed bibliographic metadata (title, journal, DOI, year) and citation count (71 citations); listed an open-access status with the publisher DOI as the best OA location but no directly downloadable PDF, consistent with this review's own inability to extract full text from that location.
- Europe PMC REST API query for the Vittone 1997 DOI.Returned HTTP 429 (rate-limited) on every attempt in this follow-up review; could not be used.
- ResearchGate search for Vittone et al. 1997.Search results page did not surface a matching entry for this specific paper among visible results; no full text located by this channel.
- Semantic Scholar API query for Vittone et al. 1997 (via PMID 9005976).Returned HTTP 429 (rate-limited) in this follow-up review; could not be used, consistent with the original review's finding for this channel.
- Yang W, et al. (full author list not confirmed from title-level search result). Effect of high dietary copper on somatostatin and growth hormone-releasing hormone levels in the hypothalami of growing pigs. — Animal feeding study; title confirms dietary copper as the exposure and GHRH hypothalamic levels as the outcome, the reverse direction from a claim that GHRH/sermorelin affects copper. Used for the Copper entry (yellow, reverse-direction context flag), title-level only.Full text not opened; found via a PubMed search-listing page.
- Gajewska A, et al. (full author list not confirmed from title-level search result). Impaired growth hormone-releasing hormone neurons ultrastructure and peptide accumulation in the arcuate nucleus of mosaic mice with altered copper metabolism. — Animal model of inherited copper-metabolism disease (mosaic mice); title confirms structural damage to GHRH-producing neurons as a consequence of altered copper metabolism, again the reverse direction from a sermorelin-affects-copper claim. Used for the Copper entry, title-level only.Full text not opened; found via a PubMed search-listing page.
- PubMed search-listing page for the query "growth hormone releasing hormone copper metabolism." — Returned the Yang 2011 and Gajewska 2009 records above, both reverse-direction, plus two unrelated dietary-copper/pig studies. This broader phrasing superseded the original review's "sermorelin copper" search (which had returned no on-topic result at all) and located real, on-topic, reverse-direction evidence, upgrading the Copper entry from ungraded to yellow.
- Rodrigue-Way A, Demers A, Ong H, Tremblay A. A growth hormone-releasing peptide promotes mitochondrial biogenesis and a fat burning-like phenotype through scavenger receptor CD36 in white adipocytes. — Located via a PubMed search-listing page for "growth hormone releasing hormone mitochondrial biogenesis." Uses hexarelin, a growth-hormone-releasing hexapeptide acting at the ghrelin receptor (GHS-R1a) and, in this study, the CD36 scavenger receptor, a mechanism documented elsewhere as GH-independent and distinct from the GHRH receptor that sermorelin itself activates. Considered and explicitly excluded from the Mitochondrial burden entry as not mechanistically applicable to a GHRH-receptor agonist; not used to support any grade in this dossier.Full text not opened; title and abstract summary reviewed via PubMed search-listing page only.
- PubMed search-listing page for the query "growth hormone releasing hormone mitochondrial biogenesis." — Returned 2 results (Rodrigue-Way 2007 above and an unrelated PPAR-gamma review); used for a more thoroughly documented search gap for the Mitochondrial burden entry in this follow-up review.
- PubMed search-listing page for the query "growth hormone releasing hormone gut microbiota." — Returned 12 results, none involving GHRH or sermorelin and gut microbiota specifically. Used as an additional, independent confirmation of the search gap for the Gut microbiome risk entry in this follow-up review.
- Crossref API query, "sermorelin intestinal gut bacteria." — Five results returned, all general gut-microbiota literature unrelated to GHRH or sermorelin. Used as an additional, independent confirmation of the search gap for the Gut microbiome risk entry in this follow-up review.
- Nair D, Ramesh V, Li RC, Schally AV, Gozal D. Growth hormone releasing hormone (GHRH) signaling modulates intermittent hypoxia-induced oxidative stress and cognitive deficits in mouse. — Mouse model; title confirms GHRH signaling and oxidative stress link. Used for the Oxidative stress entry, title-level only.Full abstract not opened; found via a PubMed search-listing page, not the article page itself.
- Banks WA, Morley JE, Farr SA, Price TO, Ercal N, Vidaurre I, Schally AV. Effects of a growth hormone-releasing hormone antagonist on telomerase activity, oxidative stress, longevity, and aging in mice. — Mouse model, GHRH-receptor antagonist (opposite mechanism from sermorelin). Used for the Oxidative stress entry, title-level only, to establish that the pathway sermorelin activates has been studied for longevity/oxidative-stress effects in the opposite (blocking) direction.Full abstract not opened; found via a PubMed search-listing page.
- Barabutis N, Schally AV. Antioxidant activity of growth hormone-releasing hormone antagonists in LNCaP human prostate cancer line. — Human prostate cancer cell line, GHRH-receptor antagonist (opposite mechanism from sermorelin). Used for the Oxidative stress entry, title-level only.Full abstract not opened; found via a PubMed search-listing page.
- Barabutis N, Siejka A, Schally AV. Growth hormone releasing hormone induces the expression of nitric oxide synthase. — Title confirms a GHRH/nitric-oxide-synthase link; agonist/antagonist design and net redox direction not confirmed from title. Used for the Oxidative stress entry, title-level only.Full abstract not opened; found via a PubMed search-listing page.
- PubMed search-listing page for the query "sermorelin mitochondria." — Both attempts returned no topically relevant result; the query was reinterpreted by PubMed's own system and the sole result was an unrelated protein-AMPylation paper (PMID 30270044). Used as evidence of a genuine search gap for the Mitochondrial burden and ATP production entries.
- PubMed search-listing page for the query "sermorelin copper." — Returned results with no genuine relevance to sermorelin or GHRH (U.S. State Department country reports, unrelated copper-biochemistry papers). Used as evidence of a genuine search gap for the Copper entry.
- Crossref API query, "sermorelin copper zinc trace mineral." — Five results returned, none involving sermorelin or a GHRH-axis compound. Used as evidence of a genuine search gap for the Copper entry.
- Crossref API query, "sermorelin hemoglobin anemia erythropoiesis." — Five results returned, none involving sermorelin, GHRH, or a related peptide. Used as evidence of a genuine search gap for the Iron entry.
- Crossref API query, "sermorelin GHRH 1-29 hematocrit oxygen red blood cell." — Five results returned; one tangential lead (Inpharma Weekly digest, next entry) and four unrelated. Used for the Oxygen delivery/utilization entry.
- Sermorelin [LAB GHRH], a peptide analogue of GHRH, provides considerable benefits in malnourished patients with advanced renal failure. — A secondary news-digest title located via Crossref, pointing to an unidentified primary study of sermorelin in malnourished renal-failure patients. Not opened beyond its bibliographic title; not used to support any graded claim in this dossier, flagged as an unexplored lead for a future revision.Full content not located or opened during this review.
- Crossref API query, "sermorelin gut microbiome," and, separately, "growth hormone releasing hormone GHRH gut microbiome." — Both clean queries returned general gut-microbiome-research titles with no sermorelin or GHRH connection. Used as evidence of a genuine search gap for the Gut microbiome risk entry.
- Crossref API query, "sermorelin vitamin D calcium bone." — Five results returned, all general calcium/vitamin D/bone literature with no sermorelin connection. Used as evidence for the Fails Verification entry on bone mineral density.
- Wikipedia. Sermorelin. — Tertiary reference used for chemistry (29-amino-acid GHRH(1-29) fragment, molecular formula), FDA approval/discontinuation history, and general mechanism; cross-checked against the Federal Register notice and ScienceDirect Topics.
- ScienceDirect Topics. Sermorelin (pharmacology/pharmacology-toxicology overview). — Tertiary reference used for animal-derived half-life figures (explicitly flagged as such) and for the somatostatin-analog/glucocorticoid/antithyroid-drug/insulin interaction direction (affecting sermorelin's own effect, not a nutrient).
- casadesante.com. How Long Does Sermorelin Stay in Your System? (Half-life, effects, and clearance explained). — Consumer source citing DrugBank (2024) for a 10 to 20 minute elimination half-life and renal excretion of peptide fragments. Not independently confirmed from a primary source in this review; the DrugBank page itself returned an unrelated drug entry on direct fetch.Tier D; half-life figure not independently verified.
- Healthline. Sermorelin Therapy Benefits, Risks, Uses, Approval, and Side Effects. — Consumer reference used for the circulating-claim audit and side-effect list (injection-site reactions, nausea, taste changes, flushing); explicitly states definitive research supporting anti-aging benefit is lacking. No nutrient-depletion claim found.
- Testing.com. Sermorelin Benefits: What the Research Actually Shows. — Consumer reference used for the circulating-claim audit; states "controlled studies have not shown this effect for sermorelin" for energy/anti-aging claims and cites a 2023 Endocrine Society statement that no GHRH analog is approved for anti-aging use. No nutrient-specific claim found.
- InvigorMedical. Conclusions Of Sermorelin Studies. — Consumer/clinic reference used for the circulating-claim audit; cites several studies by author/year without full bibliographic detail, not independently verified. No mitochondria, oxidative stress, ATP, mineral, vitamin, bone, iron, copper, or oxygen-delivery claim found.
- RupaHealth. Sermorelin Peptide: Comprehensive Guide for Practitioners and Patients. — Consumer/practitioner reference used for the circulating-claim audit. Claims limited to body composition, bone health, sleep, and cognitive function, all hedged; no vitamin/mineral/oxidative-stress/mitochondrial/ATP claim found.
- FormBlends. Sermorelin vs Glutathione: Which Is Better? — Consumer reference used for the circulating-claim audit, specifically to check for an antioxidant/glutathione framing. States sermorelin and glutathione work through independent, non-interacting mechanisms; no claim that sermorelin affects glutathione or oxidative stress.
- GetHeally. Sermorelin Interactions: Vitamins & Supplements Safety Guide. — Consumer reference used for the circulating-claim audit despite its title; content is limited to dosing, injection technique, and general safety practices, with no actual vitamin/mineral/supplement interaction or depletion claim made.
- StrivePharmacy. Sermorelin for Providers: Clinical Guide & Dosing Overview. — Compounding-pharmacy provider reference used for current compounded dosing/routes (injectable, troche, nasal spray), the active-malignancy contraindication noted in the Monitoring panel, and the "bone mineral density and skeletal remodeling support" claim rebutted in Fails Verification.
- medicalantiaging.com. Sermorelin Medical Evidence (practitioner PDF).Fetch attempt returned HTTP 403; inaccessible during this review.
- Walker RF. Sermorelin: a better approach to management of adult-onset growth hormone insufficiency? Clinical Interventions in Aging, 2006. — Identified only through secondary citation (Testing.com); a Dove Press full-text URL attempted returned HTTP 404, and the PubMed Central mirror (PMC2699646) returned a bot-verification (reCAPTCHA) page on every attempt across two different NCBI domain formats.Full text inaccessible in this review; not cited for any specific finding, only acknowledged as an existing review this drug's literature includes.
