Skip to main content

Rifaximin

minimally absorbed rifamycin antibiotic (intestinal anti-infective)

Also sold as Xifaxan.

Findings for this medication

Research about this medication, graded for how strongly each finding can be attributed to it. Nothing here describes your own levels.

Rifaximin has almost no classical systemic depletion machinery. In the US label, 96.62% of an oral radioactive dose was recovered in feces, mostly as unchanged drug, and 0.32% in urine; peak plasma concentrations in healthy subjects were 2.4 to 4 ng/mL [1]. The label mentions no vitamin, mineral or other nutrient. The one mechanism that is present is the drug's intended one: it acts on gut bacteria, so the microbiome is the legitimate pathway to evaluate, and it is evaluated here. Two caveats keep this from being a clean "no systemic exposure" statement. Systemic exposure is about 10-, 14- and 21-fold higher in Child-Pugh A, B and C hepatic impairment [1], which is exactly the population treated for hepatic encephalopathy, and an in vitro study suggests CYP3A4 induction at 0.2 micromolar, although the label does not expect it at recommended dosing with normal liver function [1]. Rifampin data were not searched or used; the systemic exposure gap between a drug measured in ng/mL and a systemically absorbed rifamycin is the reason no rifampin finding is borrowed.

minimally absorbed rifamycin antibiotic (intestinal anti-infective) · ATC A07AA11 (WHO ATC/DDD Index [2]) · also sold as Xifaxan (US label opened [1]); other brands not verified · reviewed 2026-10-04. This describes research about the medication. It does not say anything about your own levels or health.

How to read the evidence grades

These colours describe how strongly a finding can be attributed to the medication in the research. They are not a severity score and they say nothing about your own health.

Grades describe how strongly a finding can be attributed to Rifaximin in the research — not how common it is, how serious it would be, and not anything about you personally.

Red — Severe
Two or more independent Tier A sources, this drug in the cohort, the nutrient directly measured, consistent direction, clinically meaningful magnitude, a named mechanism, no substantial contradicting Tier A evidence.
Orange — Moderate
At least one Tier A source with this drug in the cohort showing a real but bounded deficit: an exposure window, a subgroup, low frequency, or a functional rather than circulating deficit.
Yellow — Low
Mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class extrapolation (Tier C) with no drug-specific human status data; also used for context flags and interactions running the other direction.
Not graded — disclosed evidence gap
Nothing has been measured here, so this finding cannot be graded. That does not establish either safety or harm, and it is not the same as a White result.Source definition: Not gradeable under the rules above because nothing has been measured. Published as a documented gap, never as reassurance that there is no effect.

What the research found

Vitamin K and INR: a warfarin interaction, not a vitamin K measurement

Yellow — Low

See study details

No study measured vitamin K status on rifaximin. The label and one case report describe INR changes in warfarin users, and in the case the INR fell, which is the opposite of what vitamin K deficiency would produce.

Full detail and limits

What the grade means here: Mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class extrapolation (Tier C) with no drug-specific human status data; also used for context flags and interactions running the other direction. Yellow

Limits on what this shows

  • Null findings: No frequency or magnitude of INR change is given in the label sections retrieved, and no controlled study was located.
  • Hepatic disease confounding: Rifaximin is used mainly in cirrhosis and hepatic encephalopathy, where INR also reflects liver disease. The sources retrieved do not separate disease effects on INR from any drug effect.

Regulatory status

Label sec 7: changes in INR have been reported postmarketing in patients on warfarin; monitor INR and prothrombin time; warfarin dose adjustment may be needed. The label does not mention vitamin K [1].

Population evidence

Hoffman 2011 [21] (case report, Tier B): a 49-year-old woman on stable warfarin treated with rifaximin for small intestinal bacterial overgrowth; INR fell from the therapeutic range (2.0 to 3.5) to 1.2 within 5 days, stayed low despite warfarin dose increases, normalized after rifaximin was stopped, and fell again on rechallenge. The authors rated the interaction "probable" and proposed CYP3A4 induction, perhaps because increased intestinal permeability in SIBO raised rifaximin absorption.

Mechanism

For vitamin K itself, absent: no study of rifaximin and vitamin K or menaquinone production, or of vitamin K status, was located. For the INR effect, a CYP3A4 induction hypothesis [21] is consistent with the label's in vitro induction finding, which the label does not expect at the recommended regimen with normal liver function [1].

Direction check (Hard Rule 4)

This is a drug-drug interaction (rifaximin altering warfarin effect), filed as a monitoring interaction. It is not a depletion and not a vitamin K deficiency finding.

Cohort test

Rifaximin was the named drug in the case [21] and the label [1]. A single case supports yellow at most.

Counter-evidence held on record

Counter-evidence Single case; the proposed mechanism is not demonstrated; the label itself says induction is not expected at the recommended dose in normal liver function [1]. Framing caution Do not present as vitamin K deficiency or as a reason to change vitamin K intake. Anyone on warfarin who starts or stops rifaximin should have INR monitored through their prescriber, per the label.

B vitamins from microbial synthesis (B12, folate, biotin)

Not graded — disclosed evidence gap

See study details

No rifaximin-specific study of B12, folate or biotin status, or of microbial vitamin synthesis during rifaximin, was retrieved.

Full detail and limits

What the grade means here: Nothing has been measured here, so this finding cannot be graded. That does not establish either safety or harm, and it is not the same as a White result. Ungraded

Limits on what this shows

  • Why no grade: Dual condition met: no Tier B or C source for B12, folate or biotin with rifaximin was opened, and no circulating claim specific to rifaximin was traced. The plausible-in-principle idea that antibacterial action on gut flora could alter vitamin production is a generic antibiotic statement that was not traced to a rifaximin page or study. This is a disclosed gap, not reassurance. In hepatic disease, vitamin status has its own causes, which would confound any future measurement.

What was searched

Two PubMed search-listing phrasings ("rifaximin vitamin K OR vitamin B12 OR folate"; "rifaximin folate OR cobalamin OR biotin OR vitamin K deficiency antibiotic"); the Xifaxan label (no vitamin mentioned) [1]; the Drugs.com Xifaxan page (none) [24]. The records returned were general (an AGA SIBO review, a biotin StatPearls chapter, a gut biotin study in obesity, anti-vitamin B12 chapters) and were seen by title only, not opened and not used. The Antidote Research rifaximin pages returned 404.

Channel outcomes

As for Copper. The microbiome studies opened [3][4][5][6] did not report B vitamins. Probably a genuine gap in the rifaximin literature; the consumer-claim audit was tooling-limited because web search was exhausted.

The five body-system areas

Each finding is counted once, in a single area. Where a study is mentioned in a second area it is context only.

Mitochondrial Burden

Each finding below is counted once, in this area only.

Mitochondrial burden: reduced ileal respiration in one rat study, opposite biogenesis signal in another, no human data

Yellow — Low

See study details

Rifaximin reduced oxidative phosphorylation capacity in rat ileal tissue and raised hydrogen peroxide production in vitro at a concentration near the healthy-subject plasma Cmax, while another rat model showed higher mitochondrial biogenesis markers.

Full detail and limits

What the grade means here: Mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class extrapolation (Tier C) with no drug-specific human status data; also used for context flags and interactions running the other direction. Yellow

Limits on what this shows

  • Null findings: The leak respiration result was read through a summarizing fetch tool: the abstract text was reported as "increased" leak respiration while the extracted figures (145.3 +/- 8.5 versus 175.1 +/- 9.8) were lower than control. Direction of leak respiration is unresolved and is not used. Omar 2022 [17] points in the opposite (biogenesis) direction.
  • Hepatic disease confounding: Mitochondrial pathway disturbance is already described in decompensated cirrhosis and ACLF [23], so any future human biomarker study would be confounded by disease.

Regulatory status

No mitochondrial statement in the label [1].

Population evidence

None in humans. Baráth 2022 [16] (Tier B, rifaximin-specific): male Sprague-Dawley rats, n=72, rifaximin 8 mg/kg by gavage twice daily for 3 days. Ileal OXPHOS capacity 170.8 +/- 6.1 versus 209.8 +/- 10.8 pmol/s/mL in controls (p<0.05), about 19% lower; complex II-supported respiration 156.1 +/- 7.4 versus 197.0 +/- 7.9; ileal mucosal injury, median histology grade 2. In vitro at 0.5, 5 and 50 ng/mL, hydrogen peroxide production at 5 ng/mL was 2.9 +/- 0.2 versus 1.9 +/- 0.4 pmol/s/mL. Omar 2022 [17]: rat malathion model with rifaximin co-treatment: PINK1 mitophagy activation at 2 weeks, and at 4 weeks higher PGC-1alpha and TFAM (biogenesis markers) with higher short-chain fatty acids. Pose 2021 [23]: simvastatin plus rifaximin (a combination, so not attributable to rifaximin) shifted metabolites in pathways linked to mitochondrial dysfunction in decompensated cirrhosis.

Mechanism

Proposed. A direct effect on mitochondria was seen in vitro at a concentration in the range of the label's healthy-subject Cmax of 2.4 to 4 ng/mL [1]. The authors note absorption below 1% and attribute raised blood hydrogen peroxide to extensive mucosal damage rather than systemic uptake [16]. Gut tissue concentrations were not reported in the text retrieved.

Cohort test

Rifaximin was the test agent in [16] and [17]. Both are animal or in vitro studies, so Tier B. No rifampin or other rifamycin mitochondrial literature was used.

Counter-evidence held on record

Counter-evidence Opposite biogenesis direction in [17]; animal doses and tissue exposures are not mapped to human dosing; the main study states it did not test a clinical setting [16]. Framing caution Animal and in vitro finding only. Not evidence of mitochondrial toxicity in people, and not a reason to take mitochondrial supplements.

Oxidative Stress

Each finding below is counted once, in this area only.

Oxidative stress: mixed direction in animal and in vitro models, no human redox measurement

Yellow — Low

See study details

Rifaximin increased hydrogen peroxide production in one in vitro system, yet lowered oxidative-stress markers in two rodent disease models; neither establishes a human antioxidant or pro-oxidant effect.

Full detail and limits

What the grade means here: Mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class extrapolation (Tier C) with no drug-specific human status data; also used for context flags and interactions running the other direction. Yellow

Limits on what this shows

  • Null findings: No human oxidative-stress marker measured in rifaximin users was located.

Regulatory status

No oxidative-stress statement in the label [1].

Population evidence

None in humans. Pro-oxidant direction: hydrogen peroxide 2.9 versus 1.9 pmol/s/mL at 5 ng/mL in vitro [16]. Protective direction: malathion testicular toxicity in rats, rifaximin co-treatment improved oxidative stress [17]; chronic-binge ethanol in obese KK-Ay mice, rifaximin 0.1 g/L in the liquid diet prevented ethanol-induced steatosis and oxidative stress and suppressed hepatic NADPH oxidase 2, CD14, TLR4 and TLR2 expression [18]. A 2024 paper on rifaximin, iron overload ferroptosis and liver fibrosis lists oxidative stress, lipid peroxidation and glutathione among its keywords, but its abstract was not available and is not used [20].

Mechanism

In the protective models the effect is attributed to microbiota and innate immune changes [18] or short-chain fatty acid signaling [17], not to antioxidant chemistry of the molecule. Direct redox chemistry of rifaximin was not established in the sources retrieved.

Cohort test

Rifaximin was the test agent in [16], [17], [18]. All are animal or in vitro (Tier B). Disease models (malathion, ethanol) limit transfer to healthy use.

Counter-evidence held on record

Counter-evidence The directions conflict between models, and each protective result occurs in a toxicant-injured tissue, so it may reflect reduced injury rather than a change in baseline redox state. Framing caution Not an antioxidant benefit claim and not a deficiency claim. Do not describe rifaximin as depleting antioxidants or as an antioxidant.

Copper and Iron Balance

Copper and iron are assessed separately. Nothing here is counted twice.

Iron: reverse-direction findings in iron-overload cell models, no human iron measurement

Yellow — Low

See study details

The only rifaximin-specific iron data are cell and rodent models in which rifaximin reduced iron-overload injury; no study measured iron status in rifaximin users.

Full detail and limits

What the grade means here: Mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class extrapolation (Tier C) with no drug-specific human status data; also used for context flags and interactions running the other direction. Yellow

Limits on what this shows

  • Null findings: No serum iron, ferritin or transferrin saturation measured in rifaximin users was located (PubMed listing query for rifaximin with iron, ferritin or copper returned no such study).
  • Hepatic disease confounding: The cell-model paper itself states liver disease can cause peripheral iron metabolism dysfunction and raised brain iron [19], and anemia is frequent in cirrhosis [22]. Any human iron signal in HE cohorts would be confounded.

Regulatory status

No iron statement in the label. The label's hepatic encephalopathy adverse-reaction table lists anemia; that is an outcome, handled in the Oxygen delivery entry [1].

Population evidence

None in humans. Zhang 2022 [19] (in vitro): ferric ammonium citrate and lipopolysaccharide caused iron deposition and reactive-oxygen-species injury in SH-SY5Y neuronal cells; rifaximin corrected the iron deposition and protected the cells, via STAT3/NF-kB signaling. Yuan 2024 [20]: title reports rifaximin ameliorating iron overload-induced ferroptosis and liver fibrosis in vivo and in vitro; only metadata was available, no abstract or numbers were read.

Mechanism

No absorption, chelation or loss mechanism is described. The cell data show a signaling-mediated effect on iron handling in injured cells [19].

Cohort test

Rifaximin was the test agent in [19] and [20]; both are cell or rodent studies, so Tier B. No rifampin or other rifamycin iron data were used.

Counter-evidence held on record

Counter-evidence The findings run opposite to a depletion claim, but they come from supraphysiologic iron loading in cells and are not clinical evidence of benefit. Framing caution Reverse-direction, preclinical. Iron deficiency is not anemia and anemia is not iron deficiency (Hard Rule 2). No iron supplementation or restriction is implied by this entry.

Copper

Not graded — disclosed evidence gap

See study details

No rifaximin-specific study of copper absorption, status or chelation was retrieved.

Full detail and limits

What the grade means here: Nothing has been measured here, so this finding cannot be graded. That does not establish either safety or harm, and it is not the same as a White result. Ungraded

Limits on what this shows

  • Why no grade: Dual condition met: no Tier B or C source was opened to support yellow, and no circulating consumer claim about rifaximin and copper was found to rebut. This is a disclosed gap, not a finding of safety. Kept separate from Iron (Hard Rule 7). Re-check when full search access returns.

What was searched

PubMed search-listing query "rifaximin iron OR ferritin OR copper" (returned 13 records, none measuring copper in people); the Xifaxan label, which mentions no copper [1]; the Drugs.com Xifaxan page, which mentions no nutrient [24]. One record seen by title only, a 2024 Heliyon paper on synthesizing rifaximin with copper nanoparticles, is materials chemistry, was not opened, and is not evidence about copper status. The Antidote Research rifaximin pages returned 404.

Channel outcomes

PubMed listing pages: worked for some queries and returned 429 for others. OpenAlex single-record lookups: worked. DailyMed: worked. Web search: budget exhausted. Crossref, Europe PMC, Semantic Scholar, Unpaywall and direct PubMed API calls: not attempted (org network policy). Mixed result: a clean zero on the channels that worked, with the consumer-claim audit tooling-limited. Likely a genuine thin literature, but not proven.

Gut Microbiome Risk

Each finding below is counted once, in this area only.

Gut microbiome risk: modest, largely transient composition shifts during and shortly after courses; harm not demonstrated

Orange — Moderate

See study details

Rifaximin measurably changes which bacteria are present in stool while it is being taken, but human sequencing studies of rifaximin itself show small shifts that mostly revert, with preserved diversity in most cohorts. This is a composition change, not evidence of harm.

Full detail and limits

What the grade means here: At least one Tier A source with this drug in the cohort showing a real but bounded deficit: an exposure window, a subgroup, low frequency, or a functional rather than circulating deficit. Orange

Limits on what this shows

  • Null findings: Kaji 2017 [4]: 20 patients with advanced cirrhosis, 400 mg three times daily for 4 weeks: ammonia, endotoxin and cognition improved with no change in microbiome composition or diversity. Mouse post-infectious IBS model [12]: minimal change in composition and diversity and negligible effect on Lactobacillus and Bifidobacterium. A 2018 randomized trial in cirrhosis is titled "minor effects on bacterial composition" [11] (title and opening line only seen).
  • At-risk subgroups: Patients with cirrhosis or hepatic encephalopathy, where systemic rifaximin exposure is 10- to 21-fold higher [1] and C. difficile infection risk is high [14]; people given repeated courses, in whom resistance selection is the concern.
  • Hepatic disease confounding: Cirrhosis and alcoholic hepatitis carry their own dysbiosis: severe alcoholic hepatitis patients had reduced diversity versus controls before treatment [8], and IBS patients differed from healthy controls at baseline [7]. Several cirrhosis cohorts are uncontrolled before and after studies [4][5][6], and co-medications were not reported in the abstracts opened, so shifts cannot be fully separated from disease course.

Regulatory status

The label warns of C. difficile-associated diarrhea and of drug-resistant bacteria with unnecessary use, and describes rpoB-mediated resistance. Its microbiology section contains no statement about effects on intestinal flora composition [1].

Population evidence

Fodor 2018 [3]: TARGET 3 IBS-D trial framework (open-label rifaximin 550 mg three times daily for 2 weeks, then randomized repeat courses or placebo); 16S sequencing of 103 stool samples. After 7 days of treatment seven taxa, including Peptostreptococcaceae, Verrucomicrobiaceae and Enterobacteriaceae, were lower at a 10% false discovery rate; changes were largely transient with minimal sustained alteration up to 46 weeks. Kaji 2020 [5]: 30 patients with advanced cirrhosis, 1200 mg daily for 4 weeks, 16S: diversity and richness preserved, Streptococcus decreased, endotoxin activity and permeability markers fell. Bajaj 2013 [6]: 20 cirrhosis patients with minimal hepatic encephalopathy, 550 mg twice daily, 8 weeks: modest decreases in some bacterial families, altered network connectivity, serum fatty acids higher, endotoxemia lower. Zeber-Lubecka 2016 [7]: 72 IBS patients and 30 controls, 16S plus metabolomics: patients differed from controls at baseline; treatment had limited prolonged effects. Kim 2020 [8]: 24 severe alcoholic hepatitis patients; after rifaximin, 17 of 23 taxa shifted back toward the healthy pattern. Huang 2024 [9]: 80 patients randomized, 400 mg twice daily for 8 weeks, 16S on gastric lavage: composition differed between arms.

Mechanism

Present and intended: antibacterial inhibition of bacterial RNA polymerase, with resistance via rpoB mutation [1]. In HE patients, sensitivity of Streptococcus salivarius to rifaximin tracked conjugated secondary bile acid levels, and Ruminococcus gnavus was rifaximin-nonresponsive [10]. A mouse study proposes that bile-acid complexing raises rifaximin's activity in the duodenum and jejunum, which stool studies would miss [13].

Functional changes

Serum fatty acids rose in the human MHE cohort [6]. A rat malathion model reported higher acetate- and propionate-producing flora and short-chain fatty acids after 4 weeks [17] (Tier B, rodent). Human fecal bile acid and short-chain fatty acid measurements on rifaximin were not located.

C. difficile and resistance (the drug's own risk)

Reigadas 2017 [14]: retrospective, 388 cirrhotic patients over 6 years, 127 with diarrhea, 46 with confirmed C. difficile infection, 14 of them (30.4%) on rifaximin prophylaxis for hepatic encephalopathy. Rifaximin resistance was found in 34.1% of isolates overall and 84.6% among treated patients; rifamycin therapy and ribotype 001 were risk factors for resistant strains. A 2020 cohort title reports chronic rifaximin use in cirrhosis associated with a lower C. difficile rate [15] (abstract not opened; no numbers used). In rats, C. difficile did not rise after rifaximin [16]. The direction is mixed and this is a safety context, not a nutrient finding.

Direction and magnitude

Hard Rule 2: this is a compositional change in the gut, not a nutrient deficiency and not shown to be harm. Orange rather than red because the effect is modest and partly transient, and one Tier A cohort found no change [4]. Boundary: dosing period and the weeks after it.

Cohort test

Rifaximin was the named drug in every human cohort cited [3][4][5][6][7][8][9]. No rifampin, other rifamycin or other antibiotic data were used. Not a class extrapolation.

Counter-evidence held on record

Counter-evidence and confounding Null composition result in cirrhosis [4], mouse data showing minimal change [12], and the transience seen in IBS-D [3][7]. Most cohorts are small (20 to 80 patients), several lack a control arm, and sequencing was of stool except for gastric lavage [9]. Full text of every cited paper was not opened; abstracts were read through OpenAlex records condensed by a summarizing fetch tool. Framing caution The customer-visible wording must keep the boundary: modest shifts in which bacteria are present, mostly temporary, with harm not demonstrated. This is not a diagnosis of dysbiosis and not a reason to take a probiotic or any supplement. New or worsening diarrhea during or after a course is a clinical question for a prescriber, because of the C. difficile warning.

Oxygen and ATP Output

Oxygen delivery and ATP production are assessed separately. Nothing here is counted twice.

Oxygen delivery/utilization: a label anemia imbalance in one hepatic encephalopathy trial, hemoglobin not reported, heavily confounded

Yellow — Low

See study details

In the label's hepatic encephalopathy trial table, anemia was listed in 8% of rifaximin patients versus 4% on placebo; no hemoglobin values, mechanism or causal assessment accompany it.

Full detail and limits

What the grade means here: Mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class extrapolation (Tier C) with no drug-specific human status data; also used for context flags and interactions running the other direction. Yellow

Limits on what this shows

  • Hepatic disease confounding: The trial population has cirrhosis with recurrent hepatic encephalopathy [1], and anemia is common in that population [22]. The label gives no confidence interval or adjustment; a 4-point imbalance in a selected adverse-event table could be chance or disease course.

Regulatory status

Label sec 6.1, HE Trial 1 (550 mg twice daily, N=140 versus placebo N=159): anemia 11 (8%) versus 6 (4%). The table is limited to adverse reactions with at least 5% incidence and a higher incidence on rifaximin than placebo, so it is a selected list [1].

Population evidence

No other rifaximin study measuring hemoglobin, hematocrit or tissue oxygenation was located. Anemia is frequent in cirrhosis and predicts worse outcomes [22], and that paper reports the prognostic value of hemoglobin change depended on rifaximin co-use; the abstract gives no further detail and is not used for a drug effect.

Mechanism

Absent. No marrow, hemolysis, blood loss or nutrient-absorption mechanism for rifaximin was found.

Hard Rule 2

Anemia is a clinical outcome, not an oxygen-delivery deficiency caused by the drug and not iron deficiency. It is carried as a context flag only.

Cohort test

Rifaximin was the study drug in the label trial [1]. Table read through a summarizing fetch tool.

Counter-evidence held on record

Counter-evidence The IBS-D and traveler's diarrhea tables were not checked for anemia. The imbalance is not tested for significance in the extract. Framing caution Do not describe this as reduced oxygen-carrying capacity from rifaximin. It is an unadjusted adverse-event count in a cirrhosis trial.

ATP production: respiration surrogate in one rat study only, ATP never measured

Yellow — Low

See study details

The only rifaximin-specific energy-metabolism data are reduced ileal oxidative phosphorylation capacity in rats and an opposite biogenesis signal in another model; no ATP content, synthesis rate or human energy marker was reported.

Full detail and limits

What the grade means here: Mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class extrapolation (Tier C) with no drug-specific human status data; also used for context flags and interactions running the other direction. Yellow

Limits on what this shows

  • Null findings: No human ATP or "low energy" outcome was located. This entry is kept independent of Mitochondrial burden and of Oxygen delivery/utilization (Hard Rule 7); the shared source is disclosed in the Overlap map.

Regulatory status

No energy-metabolism statement in the label [1].

Population evidence

Baráth 2022 [16]: ileal OXPHOS capacity 170.8 versus 209.8 pmol/s/mL (p<0.05); respiration is a surrogate for ATP-linked capacity, not an ATP measurement. Omar 2022 [17]: higher PGC-1alpha and TFAM in a rat toxicity model. Pose 2021 [23]: combination therapy with simvastatin shifted carnitine and beta-oxidation pathway metabolites in decompensated cirrhosis; not attributable to rifaximin alone.

Mechanism

Possible via the reduced respiratory capacity [16], not demonstrated for ATP output.

Cohort test

Rifaximin was the test agent in [16] and [17]; animal data, Tier B.

Counter-evidence held on record

Counter-evidence Opposite biogenesis direction [17]; confounding by cirrhosis metabolic disturbance [23]. Framing caution Not a fatigue or low-energy claim. This is a mechanistic flag from one animal study.

Claims checked and not supported

These circulate online for this medication. They are listed here only so they can be answered, never as findings, and they are not graded.

A claim with no supporting evidence is not necessarily disproven. Where evidence actually argues against a claim, that is stated below.

  • Vitamin K, B12, folate, biotin "lost because antibiotics kill gut bacteria that make them"

    Where it comes from: A generic antibiotic-class statement. Not traced to a rifaximin page: the Drugs.com Xifaxan page mentions no nutrient [24], the Antidote Research rifaximin pages returned 404, and web search was exhausted.

    Why it fails: No rifaximin study of vitamin K or B-vitamin status was found. Because the drug does act on gut bacteria, the idea is not ruled out by mechanism, so it is not graded white. Human sequencing shows modest, mostly transient composition shifts [3][5][6], and the one INR signal ran toward lower, not higher, anticoagulation [21]. Handled as the Vitamin K and INR entry (yellow) and the B vitamins entry (ungraded).

  • Systemic rifamycin effects (enzyme induction, accelerated vitamin or hormone catabolism) assumed for rifaximin

    Where it comes from: A reasoning risk, not a traced consumer claim. Not sourced to any page.

    Why it fails: Rifaximin plasma Cmax is in ng/mL [1], and the label does not expect CYP3A4 induction at the recommended dose with normal liver function. Exposure rises 10- to 21-fold in hepatic impairment and in vitro induction was seen [1], and one warfarin case suggests an interaction [21], so the transfer is not ruled out. No rifampin literature was opened or used. Not graded white and not carried into any nutrient entry.

How the body handles this medication

Metabolism and enzymes
In an in vitro study rifaximin was metabolized mainly by CYP3A4. A separate in vitro finding showed CYP3A4 induction at 0.2 micromolar, but the label states that at the recommended regimen it is not expected to induce CYP3A4 in patients with normal liver function. No inhibition of a named CYP enzyme was retrieved.[1] DailyMed Xifaxan label, sec 7, 12.3 (read through a summarizing fetch tool)
Elimination
Total recovery 96.94%: 96.62% in feces, mostly unchanged drug, and 0.32% in urine, mostly metabolites. No renal tubular handling of water or electrolytes is described in the label sections retrieved.[1] sec 12.3
Absorption
Time to peak about 1 hour; Cmax 2.4 to 4 ng/mL in healthy subjects. Protein binding 67.5% in healthy subjects and 62% in hepatic impairment. Rifaximin is handled by P-glycoprotein: P-gp inhibitors can substantially raise exposure (cyclosporine raised Cmax 83-fold and AUC 124-fold). No absorption transporter was named in the sections retrieved.[1] sec 5, 7, 12.3
Hepatic impairment
AUC about 10-, 14- and 21-fold higher in Child-Pugh A, B and C than in healthy volunteers; about 12-fold higher in patients with a history of hepatic encephalopathy. The label advises caution in Child-Pugh C, and trials were limited to MELD scores below 25.[1] sec 5, 8, 12.3
Food, mineral and antacid interactions
A high-fat meal doubled rifaximin AUC without a significant Cmax change. No vitamin, mineral or antacid interaction was found in the label sections retrieved. The label does report postmarketing INR changes with warfarin and advises monitoring.[1] sec 7, 12.3
Microbiology and resistance
Resistance arises mainly from rpoB mutations altering the RNA polymerase binding site; the label states cross-resistance with other antimicrobial classes has not been observed. Warnings cover C. difficile-associated diarrhea and the increased risk of drug-resistant bacteria when used without a proven or strongly suspected bacterial infection.[1] sec 5, 12.4

What the research says is worth watching

General information from the medication label and the studies above. It is not personal medical advice, and any change belongs with your prescriber.

  • Interaction / lab

    INR with warfarin

    The label advises monitoring INR and prothrombin time when rifaximin is used with warfarin, with warfarin dose adjustment if needed [1]. One case report showed the INR dropping within 5 days and recurring on rechallenge [21]. This is a prescriber matter, not a vitamin K finding.

  • Symptoms / safety

    New or worsening diarrhea

    The label warns of C. difficile-associated diarrhea, ranging from mild diarrhea to fatal colitis [1]. Risk is high in cirrhosis and resistant strains occur in treated patients [14]. Persistent or severe diarrhea during or after a course warrants evaluation.

  • Hepatic impairment

    Severity of liver disease

    Systemic exposure rises about 10-, 14- and 21-fold in Child-Pugh A, B and C [1]. Caution is advised in Child-Pugh C; trials were limited to MELD below 25. Nutrient abnormalities in these patients usually reflect the liver disease and need to be interpreted accordingly.

  • Drug interaction

    P-glycoprotein inhibitors

    Cyclosporine raised rifaximin Cmax 83-fold and AUC 124-fold; P-gp inhibitors can substantially increase systemic exposure [1].

  • Lab / unusual symptoms

    Routine nutrient labs

    No routine B12, folate, iron or copper monitoring is supported by the rifaximin evidence retrieved. Check these for the usual clinical reasons (cirrhosis, anemia work-up, diet), not as a rifaximin effect. Anemia in a rifaximin-treated cirrhosis patient needs its own evaluation [1][22].

  • Timing / special populations

    Supplements, pregnancy, pediatrics

    No supplement separation interval is listed in the label sections retrieved. No supplement dose appears in this dossier, so no upper-limit comparison was needed. The label reports no human pregnancy data and teratogenic effects in animal studies; safety and effectiveness are not established under age 12 for traveler's diarrhea or under 18 for hepatic encephalopathy and IBS-D [1].

Overlap map, to prevent double counting

  • Mitochondrial burden

    Shares evidence with: ATP production; Oxidative stress

    Note: All three rest on the same rat and in vitro study [16] (OXPHOS capacity, complex II, hydrogen peroxide) and the same opposing rat study [17]. Treat as one source with two directions, not three independent lines.

  • Oxidative stress

    Shares evidence with: Iron

    Note: Both draw on reactive-oxygen-species findings in cell and rodent models [18][19][20]. The iron entry's ROS statement is the same observation as in the oxidative stress entry.

  • Gut microbiome risk

    Shares evidence with: Mitochondrial burden; Oxidative stress

    Note: The short-chain fatty acid mechanism in [17] links microbiome shifts to mitochondrial biogenesis and oxidative stress improvement. It is one rodent result, not a human confirmation of either effect.

  • Vitamin K and INR

    Shares evidence with: Gut microbiome risk; B vitamins (ungraded)

    Note: Any microbial contribution to vitamin K or B vitamins would run through the microbiome entry and has no measurement. The INR case [21] is a drug interaction and is not counted as vitamin K evidence.

  • Oxygen delivery/utilization

    Shares evidence with: Iron

    Note: The label anemia row [1] is cited in both entries for different statements and is a single data point. Iron has no human measurement; neither entry confirms the other.

  • Copper

    Shares evidence with: Iron

    Note: No shared source. Graded and reported separately per Hard Rule 7.

  • All human-cohort entries

    Shares evidence with: Hepatic disease

    Note: Most rifaximin cohorts have cirrhosis, hepatic encephalopathy or alcoholic hepatitis [1][4][5][6][8]. The disease confound is common to every entry and the label [1] is the single regulatory source cited throughout.

All references used above
  1. XIFAXAN (rifaximin) tablets, prescribing information, Salix Pharmaceuticals (DailyMed). — Regulatory label (Tier A). Revision shown on the retrieved page as 10/2023. Sections 5, 6.1, 7, 8, 12.3, 12.4 read through a summarizing fetch tool, so quoted numbers are as that tool reported them.
  2. WHO Collaborating Centre, ATC/DDD Index: rifaximin, A07AA11, DDD 0.6 g oral. — Reference index; parent group A07AA Antibiotics.
  3. Fodor AA, Pimentel M, Chey WD, Lembo AJ, Golden PL, Israel RJ, Carroll IM. Rifaximin is associated with modest, transient decreases in multiple taxa in the gut microbiota of patients with diarrhoea-predominant irritable bowel syndrome. Gut Microbes 2018. — TARGET 3 phase 3 trial microbiome analysis, 16S, 103 samples. PMID 29708822. DOI 10.1080/19490976.2018.1460013. Abstract only, via OpenAlex record condensed by a summarizing fetch tool.
  4. Kaji K, Takaya H, Saikawa S, et al. Rifaximin ameliorates hepatic encephalopathy and endotoxemia without affecting the gut microbiome diversity. World J Gastroenterol 2017;23(47). — Prospective, 20 advanced cirrhosis patients, 400 mg three times daily, 4 weeks. PMID 29307995. DOI 10.3748/wjg.v23.i47.8355. Abstract only, via OpenAlex.
  5. Kaji K, Saikawa S, Takaya H, et al. Rifaximin alleviates endotoxemia with decreased serum levels of soluble CD163 and mannose receptor and partial modification of gut microbiota in cirrhotic patients. Antibiotics 2020;9(4):145. — Observational, 30 patients, 1200 mg daily, 4 weeks, 16S. PMID 32235367. DOI 10.3390/antibiotics9040145. Abstract only, via OpenAlex.
  6. Bajaj JS, Heuman DM, Sanyal AJ, et al. Modulation of the metabiome by rifaximin in patients with cirrhosis and minimal hepatic encephalopathy. PLoS ONE 2013. — Prospective, 20 patients, 550 mg twice daily, 8 weeks, microbiota plus metabolomics. DOI 10.1371/journal.pone.0060042. Abstract only, via OpenAlex.
  7. Zeber-Lubecka N, Kulecka M, Ambrozkiewicz F, et al. Limited prolonged effects of rifaximin treatment on irritable bowel syndrome-related differences in the fecal microbiome and metabolome. Gut Microbes 2016. — 72 IBS patients and 30 controls, 16S plus metabolomics. PMID 27662586. DOI 10.1080/19490976.2016.1215805. Abstract only, via OpenAlex.
  8. Kim SS, Eun JW, Cho HJ, et al. Microbiome as a potential diagnostic and predictive biomarker in severe alcoholic hepatitis. Aliment Pharmacol Ther 2020. — 24 severe alcoholic hepatitis patients and controls, samples at baseline and after rifaximin. PMID 33264437. DOI 10.1111/apt.16200. Abstract only, via OpenAlex.
  9. Huang XQ, Ai Y, Li F, et al. Impact of rifaximin on cirrhosis complications and gastric microbiota in patients with gastroesophageal variceal bleeding: a pilot randomized controlled trial. J Dig Dis 2024. — RCT, 80 patients, 400 mg twice daily, 8 weeks, gastric lavage 16S. PMID 39443081. DOI 10.1111/1751-2980.13314. Abstract only, via OpenAlex.
  10. Yukawa-Muto Y, Kamiya T, Fujii H, et al. Distinct responsiveness to rifaximin in patients with hepatic encephalopathy depends on functional gut microbial species. Hepatol Commun 2022. — Fecal 16S and metagenomic sequencing in HE, compensated cirrhosis and controls, plus mouse experiments. PMID 35429147. DOI 10.1002/hep4.1954. Abstract only, via OpenAlex.
  11. Kimer N, et al. Rifaximin has minor effects on bacterial composition, inflammation, and bacterial translocation in cirrhosis: a randomized trial. J Gastroenterol Hepatol 2018. — PMID 28671712. Only the title and the opening line of the abstract were seen on a PubMed listing page; no data used.Not opened beyond title and opening line (OpenAlex lookup returned 429 twice). Cited only as a title-level counterpoint.
  12. Jin YT, Ren X, Li G, et al. Beneficial effects of rifaximin in post-infectious irritable bowel syndrome mouse model beyond gut microbiota. J Gastroenterol Hepatol 2017. — Mouse (Trichinella spiralis model), rifaximin 7 days. PMID 28573746. DOI 10.1111/jgh.13841. Abstract only, via OpenAlex.
  13. Ikeuchi K, Tsutsumi T, Ishizaka A, et al. Modulation of duodenal and jejunal microbiota by rifaximin in mice with CCl4-induced liver fibrosis. Gut Pathog 2023;15. — Mouse, control n=9, rifaximin n=13. PMID 36945059. DOI 10.1186/s13099-023-00541-4. Abstract only, via OpenAlex.
  14. Reigadas E, Alcala L, Gomez J, et al. Breakthrough Clostridium difficile infection in cirrhotic patients receiving rifaximin. Clin Infect Dis 2017. — Retrospective, 388 cirrhotic patients, 46 with CDI, resistance 34.1% overall and 84.6% among treated. PMID 29069372. DOI 10.1093/cid/cix918. Abstract only, via OpenAlex.
  15. Feuerstadt P, Hong SJ, Brandt LJ. Chronic rifaximin use in cirrhotic patients is associated with decreased rate of C. difficile infection. Dig Dis Sci 2020;65:632-638. — Retrospective observational study. PMID 31440997. DOI 10.1007/s10620-019-05804-2.Abstract not opened; OpenAlex returned metadata only. Cited by title; no numbers used.
  16. Barath B, Jasz DK, Horvath T, et al. Mitochondrial side effects of surgical prophylactic antibiotics ceftriaxone and rifaximin lead to bowel mucosal damage. Int J Mol Sci 2022;23(9):5064. — Rat (n=72) and in vitro study. PMID 35563455. DOI 10.3390/ijms23095064. MDPI page read through a summarizing fetch tool; the tool's rendering of leak respiration direction conflicted with its own extracted numbers.
  17. Omar NN, Mosbah RA, Sarawi WS, Rashed MM, Badr AM. Rifaximin protects against malathion-induced rat testicular toxicity: a possible clue on modulating gut microbiome and inhibition of oxidative stress by mitophagy. Molecules 2022. — Rat toxicity model, 2 and 4 week arms. PMID 35807317. DOI 10.3390/molecules27134069. Abstract only, via OpenAlex.
  18. Kitagawa R, Kon K, Uchiyama A, et al. Rifaximin prevents ethanol-induced liver injury in obese KK-Ay mice through modulation of small intestinal microbiota signature. Am J Physiol Gastrointest Liver Physiol 2019. — Mouse chronic-binge ethanol model. PMID 31509430. DOI 10.1152/ajpgi.00372.2018. Abstract only, via OpenAlex.
  19. Zhang Z, Qi Y, Hu X, Liao J, Kuang JC. Rifaximin protects SH-SY5Y neuronal cells from iron overload-induced cytotoxicity via inhibiting STAT3/NF-kB signaling. Cell Biol Int 2022. — In vitro. PMID 35143099. DOI 10.1002/cbin.11776. Abstract only, via OpenAlex.
  20. Yuan QX, Fang Y, Guo J, et al. Therapeutic potential and mechanisms of rifaximin in ameliorating iron overload-induced ferroptosis and liver fibrosis in vivo and in vitro. Toxicol Appl Pharmacol 2024. — PMID 38331104. DOI 10.1016/j.taap.2024.116845.Abstract not available; only title and keywords seen. No findings used.
  21. Hoffman J, Hartig C, Sonbol E, Lang M. Probable interaction between warfarin and rifaximin in a patient treated for small intestine bacterial overgrowth. Ann Pharmacother 2011. — Case report, one patient. PMID 21505109. DOI 10.1345/aph.1p578. Abstract only, via OpenAlex.
  22. Rashidi-Alavijeh J, Nuruzade N, Frey A, et al. Implications of anaemia and response to anaemia treatment on outcomes in patients with cirrhosis. JHEP Rep 2023. — Outpatient cohort, Essen, 2018 to 2019. PMID 36926273. DOI 10.1016/j.jhepr.2023.100688. Abstract only, via OpenAlex. Used for hepatic confounding context only.
  23. Pose E, Sola E, Lozano JJ, et al. Treatment with simvastatin and rifaximin restores the plasma metabolomic profile in patients with decompensated cirrhosis. Hepatol Commun 2021. — LIVERHOPE-SAFETY trial intervention cohort (n=25) plus descriptive cohort (n=42); simvastatin 20 mg plus rifaximin 1200 mg daily versus placebo, 3 months. PMID 34964311. DOI 10.1002/hep4.1881. Abstract only, via OpenAlex.Combination therapy: effects cannot be attributed to rifaximin alone. Context only.
  24. Drugs.com. Xifaxan (rifaximin) drug information page. — Tier D for evidence purposes. Opened to check for circulating nutrient claims; the summarizing fetch tool reported no mention of vitamin K, B12, folate, biotin, iron or nutrient depletion.