Skip to main content

Relugolix

Oral GnRH receptor antagonist

Also sold as Orgovyx.

Findings for this medication

Research about this medication, graded for how strongly each finding can be attributed to it. Nothing here describes your own levels.

Relugolix carries almost none of the classical drug-nutrient depletion machinery. Its own absorption depends on intestinal P-glycoprotein with only 12% absolute bioavailability, but it is not a chelator, does not alter gastric pH, and neither the Orgovyx nor the Myfembree label documents a food, mineral, or antacid interaction that changes a co-administered nutrient's own absorption (the only food effect that exists runs the other way: a high-fat meal reduces relugolix's own exposure in the Myfembree formulation, and has no clinically significant effect on the Orgovyx monotherapy formulation). Elimination is overwhelmingly hepatobiliary and fecal (about 81% of a radiolabeled dose recovered in feces, only 4.1% in urine, and just 2.2% of the dose unchanged in urine), with no dose adjustment needed across mild-to-severe renal impairment, so there is no renal-wasting mechanism either. The one enzyme-induction pathway on record is contested between regulators: the FDA label states plainly that relugolix "is an inducer of CYP3A and CYP2B6," while the EMA SmPC calls it only "a weak inducer of CYP3A mediated metabolism" and explicitly denies CYP2B6 induction "at clinically relevant plasma concentrations." That transatlantic disagreement is disclosed rather than resolved here, but even the FDA's stronger reading falls well short of a rifampin-grade inducer, so any resulting acceleration of vitamin D catabolism would be expected to be small and is graded accordingly.

Oral GnRH receptor antagonist · ATC L02BX04 (relugolix); H01CC54 (relugolix/estradiol/norethisterone) · also sold as Orgovyx; Myfembree · reviewed 2026-09-26. This describes research about the medication. It does not say anything about your own levels or health.

How to read the evidence grades

These colours describe how strongly a finding can be attributed to the medication in the research. They are not a severity score and they say nothing about your own health.

Grades describe how strongly a finding can be attributed to Relugolix in the research — not how common it is, how serious it would be, and not anything about you personally.

Red — Severe
severe: ≥2 independent Tier A sources, this drug in the cohort, the nutrient/category directly measured, consistent direction, clinically meaningful magnitude, a named mechanism, no substantial contradicting Tier A evidence.
Orange — Moderate
moderate: ≥1 Tier A source with this drug in the cohort showing a real deficit or effect, but bounded by exposure window, subgroup, frequency, or a functional rather than circulating change.
Yellow — Low
low/theoretical: mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class extrapolation (Tier C) where at least one class member has real data but this drug does not; also used for context flags and reverse-direction findings.
Not graded — disclosed evidence gap
Nothing has been measured here, so this finding cannot be graded. That does not establish either safety or harm, and it is not the same as a White result.Source definition: evidence gap: no Tier B/C evidence exists to support even a yellow grade, and no circulating claim exists to rebut as white. A disclosed gap in the literature or in what could be accessed this review, never reworded as reassurance.

What the research found

Calcium

Yellow — Low

See study details

Both relugolix formulations suppress a sex-hormone axis (testosterone in Orgovyx, estradiol in Myfembree) known from the broader hormone-deprivation literature to shift bone remodeling toward net resorption; no relugolix trial has directly measured serum or ionized calcium.

Full detail and limits

What the grade means here: low/theoretical: mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class extrapolation (Tier C) where at least one class member has real data but this drug does not; also used for context flags and reverse-direction findings. Label-flagged, unstudied at the mineral level

Limits on what this shows

  • Key negative/null findings: Myfembree's estrogen/progestin add-back measurably limits BMD loss relative to what unopposed GnRH suppression would be expected to produce (the 6-month lumbar-spine changes above are small, single-digit-percent, and the 24-month endometriosis figure is smaller in magnitude than the 6-month one, -0.45% vs -0.72%, suggesting at least partial stabilization over time), arguing the dominant mechanism is estrogen/androgen-mediated osteoclast activity rather than a progressive dietary calcium shortfall. No trial reports a low serum calcium value.
  • At-risk subgroups: Myfembree use beyond 24 months (the label limits duration to 24 months given "the risk of continued bone loss which may not be reversible"); the endometriosis population specifically, where the femoral-neck decline was observed; men on Orgovyx, where androgen-deprivation therapy for advanced prostate cancer is often long-term or lifelong with no analogous duration cap in the US label.
  • Counter-evidence on record: A skeletal outcome (BMD loss) must not be equated with a measured calcium deficiency (Hard Rule 2); this entry's more modest point is that the same hormonal axis plausibly touches calcium handling, not that a deficiency has been demonstrated.

Regulatory status

EMA ORGOVYX SmPC, Section 4.4: "Long-term suppression of testosterone by means of castration or administration of LHRH agonists/antagonists such as ORGOVYX is associated with decreased bone density." [3] The FDA ORGOVYX PI does not carry an equivalent bone-density warning section, a disclosed asymmetry between the two regulators for the same trial data. MYFEMBREE US PI, Section 5.2: baseline DXA assessment is recommended in all women; annual DXA for the endometriosis indication.

Population evidence

For Orgovyx: an independent CADTH clinical review of the HERO trial states "Loss of bone mineral density was reported in similar proportions in both groups" (relugolix vs. leuprolide), without reporting a serum calcium value. [6] For Myfembree, the FDA label gives direct, quantitative DXA data: lumbar-spine BMD percent change from baseline at 6 months was -0.23% (heavy-menstrual-bleeding studies L1/L2 pooled) and -0.72% (endometriosis studies S1/S2 pooled) on MYFEMBREE, versus +0.18% and +0.12% respectively on placebo; at 24 months in the endometriosis extension (n=163), lumbar-spine BMD change was -0.45%, and a femoral-neck BMD decline exceeding 7% was observed in 1.8% (3/163) of women, with a maximum femoral-neck decline of 8.8%. No trial reports a low serum or ionized calcium value in relugolix-treated patients of either sex.

Mechanism

Named at the hormonal-axis level (mechanism F, hormonal disturbance): withdrawal of either testosterone or estradiol removes restraint on osteoclast-mediated bone resorption. This review could not independently corroborate, this session, the further mechanistic step (that hypogonadism also reduces intestinal calcium absorption specifically) because the relevant literature searches were blocked by the disclosed tooling limitation; that step is not asserted here.

Counter-evidence held on record

Shares its Tier A bone-trial evidence base with Vitamin D below; see the Overlap map. No calcium dose is recommended here (see Monitoring panel and Scope and limits); labeled DXA monitoring, not calcium supplementation alone, is the recommended action on the Myfembree label.

Vitamin D

Yellow — Low

See study details

Relugolix's own labeled CYP3A induction, called "weak" by the EMA and left unqualified by the FDA, is a much smaller-magnitude version of the mechanism by which strong inducers accelerate catabolism of active vitamin D metabolites; combined with the same hypogonadal bone-turnover context as Calcium above, this supports a low-confidence flag, not a measured vitamin D deficit.

Full detail and limits

What the grade means here: low/theoretical: mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class extrapolation (Tier C) where at least one class member has real data but this drug does not; also used for context flags and reverse-direction findings. Contested mechanism · label-flagged, unstudied

Limits on what this shows

  • Key negative/null findings: No study has measured 25(OH)D in relugolix-treated patients of either sex to confirm or refute either mechanism produces a measurable change; this is disclosed as a genuine evidence gap rather than assumed.
  • At-risk subgroups: Same dose/duration and bone-risk subgroups as Calcium above; patients with baseline vitamin D insufficiency from limited sun exposure or dietary intake remain at their own independent baseline risk, unrelated to relugolix.
  • Counter-evidence on record: The EMA's explicit "weak inducer" and "not an inducer of CYP2B6" language, if taken as the more conservative and specific of the two regulatory readings, argues against a clinically meaningful vitamin-D-catabolism effect; this is recorded as a genuine cross-label disagreement rather than resolved in either direction.

Regulatory status

Neither the FDA nor EMA label reports a 25(OH)D level or recommends vitamin D monitoring specifically for a CYP3A-induction reason; both mention calcium/vitamin D only in the bone-density context (Myfembree Section 5.2/17; EMA Orgovyx Section 4.4).

Population evidence

No relugolix-specific vitamin D level study was located. The FDA label states relugolix is a CYP3A/CYP2B6 inducer without a strength qualifier; the EMA label specifically downgrades this to "weak" and denies CYP2B6 induction outright (see PK basis). This review attempted, but could not complete this session because of the disclosed tooling limitation, a direct search for the class-level rifampin/anticonvulsant-vitamin-D-catabolism mechanistic literature that would normally support this entry (as was possible for a comparable weak-inducer GnRH antagonist in a companion review); it is not cited here since it was not reopened and reverified for relugolix specifically this session.

Mechanism

Two named, unconfirmed pathways: (B) a labeled but magnitude-disputed hepatic CYP3A induction; and (F) the same hypogonadal bone-turnover context described under Calcium. Both are stated as plausible, not demonstrated, for vitamin D specifically.

Counter-evidence held on record

Shares its bone-trial evidence base with Calcium; see the Overlap map. No vitamin D dose is recommended here (see Monitoring panel and Scope and limits).

Magnesium

Not graded — disclosed evidence gap

See study details

A dedicated fresh search across PubMed search-listing pages, OpenAlex, Crossref, and Europe PMC found no study measuring magnesium status in men or women on androgen or estradiol suppression from relugolix or any GnRH antagonist/agonist, and no circulating consumer claim to rebut.

Full detail, limits and 1 references

What the grade means here: Nothing has been measured here, so this finding cannot be graded. That does not establish either safety or harm, and it is not the same as a White result. Evidence gap · re-researched this revision

Limits on what this shows

  • Why no grade: Dual condition met after genuine multi-host, multi-phrasing re-research this revision. Searches tried: "androgen deprivation therapy" AND magnesium (Europe PMC, 954 results screened, none drug- or class-specific to ADT and magnesium beyond an unrelated hormonotherapy-materials paper); "androgen deprivation" OR testosterone AND "serum magnesium" (PubMed, 8 results, all about magnesium's effect ON testosterone or polycystic ovary syndrome, the reverse direction under Hard Rule 4, not ADT's effect on magnesium); "hypogonadism OR castration renal magnesium wasting" (Europe PMC, blocked by proxy-level 429, not retried per this protocol's guidance not to re-hit a host that just rejected a request); a Crossref bibliographic search for androgen-deprivation-therapy magnesium (10 results, none relevant). One near-source was independently opened this revision: Holloway et al., "Effects of oligofructose-enriched inulin on intestinal absorption of calcium and magnesium and bone turnover markers in postmenopausal women" (British Journal of Nutrition 2007, PMID 17298707), a randomized crossover trial measuring calcium and magnesium absorption. On direct reading, the study's own experimental manipulation is dietary fiber supplementation, not estrogen status, and its estrogen-deficiency-reduces-mineral-absorption framing appears only as background rationale rather than as data the study itself generated; it is listed in Sources but not used to support a grade, consistent with this protocol's rule against citing a claim beyond what the opened source actually demonstrates. A direct PubMed search for "relugolix magnesium" returned zero results, and no circulating consumer claim connecting relugolix or GnRH antagonists to magnesium was located. Disclosed as a genuine evidence gap after thorough re-research, not as reassurance.

Zinc

Not graded — disclosed evidence gap

See study details

A dedicated fresh search found no study measuring zinc status specifically in men or women on androgen or estradiol suppression from relugolix or any GnRH antagonist/agonist, and no circulating consumer claim to rebut.

Full detail and limits

What the grade means here: Nothing has been measured here, so this finding cannot be graded. That does not establish either safety or harm, and it is not the same as a White result. Evidence gap · re-researched this revision

Limits on what this shows

  • Why no grade: Dual condition met after genuine multi-host, multi-phrasing re-research this revision. Searches tried: "androgen deprivation therapy" AND zinc (Europe PMC and PubMed, returned only zinc-finger-protein oncology papers such as ZMYND8, PLZF, and SPOP, unrelated to zinc mineral status); "castration OR androgen deprivation" AND "serum zinc" (PubMed, 6 results, all ovariectomized female rat studies or an unrelated 1975 liver-function zinc-turbidity test, none in men or class-relevant to hormone suppression); "leuprolide OR goserelin OR GnRH agonist zinc serum" (Europe PMC, blocked by proxy-level 429, not retried); "prostate cancer androgen deprivation therapy trace elements" (Europe PMC, blocked by proxy-level 429, not retried). An MDPI 2014 review specifically covering supplement use during androgen deprivation therapy, opened directly (see Fails verification and Sources), does not discuss zinc at all. A direct PubMed search for "relugolix zinc" returned zero results. No circulating consumer claim connecting relugolix or GnRH antagonists to zinc was located. Disclosed as a genuine evidence gap after thorough re-research, not as reassurance.

The five body-system areas

Each finding is counted once, in a single area. Where a study is mentioned in a second area it is context only.

Mitochondrial Burden

Each finding below is counted once, in this area only.

Mitochondrial burden

Yellow — Low

See study details

Both testosterone and estradiol are established in the broader endocrinology literature as supporting normal skeletal-muscle mitochondrial structure and function, and withdrawal of either is mechanistically linked to mitochondrial impairment, but this has not been tested in relugolix-treated patients of either formulation.

Full detail, limits and 2 references

What the grade means here: low/theoretical: mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class extrapolation (Tier C) where at least one class member has real data but this drug does not; also used for context flags and reverse-direction findings. Class extrapolation · shares evidence with ATP production

Limits on what this shows

  • Key negative/null findings: The Ribas et al. model is a permanent genetic knockout, not the reversible pharmacologic suppression relugolix produces, so magnitude comparison is not established; whether a course of relugolix therapy produces a comparable change in humans is untested.
  • At-risk subgroups: Not established for relugolix specifically in either formulation; theoretically longer-duration users of either product given more sustained hormone suppression.
  • Counter-evidence on record: None found directly contradicting the mechanism.

Regulatory status

Not addressed on either label.

Population evidence

Tian, Lou, and Shi, "From mitochondria to sarcopenia: role of 17β-estradiol and testosterone" (Frontiers in Endocrinology 2023, PMID 37152937), a narrative review, states both hormones "demonstrate protective effects on mitochondrial function" in skeletal muscle, and that declining levels of either correlate with sarcopenia via loss of mitochondrial quality control (proteostasis, biogenesis, dynamics, mitophagy). For the estradiol side specifically, Ribas et al. (Science Translational Medicine 2016, PMID 27075628) used a muscle-specific estrogen receptor-alpha knockout mouse model and found abnormal mitochondrial structure, elevated reactive oxygen species, defective mitochondrial fission, and reduced mitochondrial turnover ("retention of dysfunctional mitochondria"), alongside increased adiposity and glucose intolerance. No relugolix-specific, or even pharmacologic (non-genetic-knockout) hypogonadism/hypoestrogenism, mitochondrial study was located for either formulation.

Mechanism

Named at the class/hormonal level: loss of androgen-receptor or estrogen-receptor-alpha signaling, the direct consequence of Orgovyx's and Myfembree's respective hormone-suppression mechanisms, is linked in these sources to impaired skeletal-muscle mitochondrial structure, biogenesis, and quality control.

Counter-evidence held on record

Shares its evidence base with ATP production below; see the Overlap map. This is mechanistic, class-level plausibility only, not a demonstrated relugolix effect, and does not support any dosing or supplement recommendation.

Oxidative Stress

Each finding below is counted once, in this area only.

Oxidative stress

Yellow — Low

See study details

Androgen deprivation therapy as a class measurably raises oxidative-stress markers and lowers antioxidant capacity in treated men, and tissue-level mechanistic work shows the same direction, but no study has measured this in relugolix-treated patients specifically.

Full detail, limits and 2 references

What the grade means here: low/theoretical: mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class extrapolation (Tier C) where at least one class member has real data but this drug does not; also used for context flags and reverse-direction findings. Class extrapolation · human ADT cohort data, not relugolix-specific

Limits on what this shows

  • Key negative/null findings: Bassey et al. reported "some improvement" in unspecified markers on ADT despite MDA remaining elevated, an inconsistency disclosed here rather than resolved; no source located this session measured oxidative-stress markers in women on Myfembree or any estradiol-suppressing GnRH antagonist.
  • At-risk subgroups: Longer ADT duration, per the positive correlation in Bassey et al.; not established specifically for relugolix dose or duration.
  • Counter-evidence on record: None found contradicting the direction; the evidence is class-level only (relugolix not confirmed in either cited cohort), which caps this at yellow regardless of study quality.

Regulatory status

Neither the ORGOVYX nor the MYFEMBREE label mentions oxidative-stress markers or antioxidant-status monitoring.

Population evidence

Bassey et al. (JCO Global Oncology 2020, PMID 33001740) directly measured oxidative-stress and antioxidant markers, malondialdehyde (MDA), nitric oxide (NO), total plasma peroxide (TPP), and total antioxidant capacity (TAC), by colorimetric assay in 120 Nigerian prostate cancer patients (treatment-naive and androgen-deprivation-therapy-treated) versus 100 healthy controls. ADT-treated patients showed elevated oxidative markers and lower antioxidant capacity than controls, MDA remained elevated during treatment, and treatment duration correlated positively with oxidative markers. Mechanistic corroboration: Shiota et al. (Journal of Urology 2011, PMID 22177207) found androgen deprivation increased oxidative-stress markers in human prostate tissue and promoted castration-resistant progression via Twist1/YB-1 upregulation, reversible with antioxidant (N-acetylcysteine) treatment in cultured cells and in both castrated and non-castrated mouse xenografts. Neither source's abstract, as retrieved this session, names relugolix among the ADT agents studied, and cohort composition could not be confirmed beyond abstract-level data; treated as Tier C class-level evidence for relugolix specifically, not Tier A.

Mechanism

Named at the class/hormonal level: loss of androgen-receptor signaling is linked to increased reactive-oxygen-species generation and reduced antioxidant defense, demonstrated in human ADT cohorts and prostate-tissue/xenograft models generally, not tested for relugolix specifically or for the Myfembree/estradiol-suppression direction.

Counter-evidence held on record

This is a class-level oxidative-stress signal from androgen deprivation broadly, not a relugolix-specific finding, and it is not an indication for antioxidant supplementation; see Fails verification below, where selenium and vitamin E supplementation for ADT side effects is documented to have backfired in a large randomized trial.

Copper and Iron Balance

Copper and iron are assessed separately. Nothing here is counted twice.

Iron

Orange — Moderate

Direction: reverse direction (as labelled in the source)

The same reduction in menstrual blood loss that drives the hemoglobin recovery above plausibly reflects an improvement in overall iron balance in this specific bleeding-disorder population, though no trial directly measured a storage-iron marker.

Full detail and limits

What the grade means here: moderate: ≥1 Tier A source with this drug in the cohort showing a real deficit or effect, but bounded by exposure window, subgroup, frequency, or a functional rather than circulating change. Reverse-direction / protective · bounded to one combination and indication

Limits on what this shows

  • Key negative/null findings: Serum ferritin, transferrin saturation, and hepcidin were not reported in the label summaries or reconstructed abstracts accessed for this review; only hemoglobin (a functional, not a storage, marker) was quantified.
  • At-risk subgroups: Bounded specifically to women with pre-existing heavy-menstrual-bleeding-related anemia taking Myfembree for uterine fibroids. Not established in women taking Myfembree for endometriosis pain without baseline heavy bleeding, and not applicable to Orgovyx.
  • Counter-evidence on record: This finding should not be generalized into a claim that relugolix, or GnRH-axis suppression broadly, "protects" iron status; it is specific to a bleeding-disorder population where reducing blood loss is the entire point of treatment. A related and easily confused claim, that hormone-suppressing therapies generally deplete iron, would run in the opposite direction from what this drug's own data show in this labeled indication.

Regulatory status

Labeled clinical-trial result on the MYFEMBREE prescribing information (LIBERTY 1/2), not a separate warning or monitoring requirement; iron supplementation is not itself recommended anywhere on the MYFEMBREE label, only spacing guidance if a patient is separately taking iron (see PK basis above).

Population evidence

Same LIBERTY 1/2 phase 3 RCTs as the Oxygen delivery/utilization entry above (N=388, 382), plus the 52-week completer analysis (N=363) reporting sustained "meaningful improvement" in anemia markers and the LIBERTY randomized-withdrawal study confirming durability through 76 weeks. [7][8][9]

Mechanism

Named and indirect: reduced monthly menstrual blood loss reduces the ongoing iron loss that was driving pre-treatment anemia, allowing iron balance and hemoglobin to recover. This is an outcome of reduced bleeding, not a demonstrated direct effect of relugolix on intestinal iron absorption, hepcidin, transferrin, or ferritin; none of those iron-specific markers were reported in the sources located for this review.

Counter-evidence held on record

This is a beneficial, reverse-direction finding, not a depletion; it does not support a general claim that relugolix protects iron status outside this bounded population, and it is not evidence that iron supplementation is needed or helpful on relugolix. Any anemia identified during relugolix treatment outside the heavy-menstrual-bleeding indication should be worked up on its own merits, not assumed to reflect this pattern.

Copper

Yellow — Low

See study details

In a rat model, surgical castration did not prevent copper deficiency but reduced the severity of copper-deficiency anemia and delayed death from it compared to intact males; this is a modulation of vulnerability to a fixed dietary copper deficiency, not evidence that relugolix itself changes copper status.

Full detail, limits and 2 references

What the grade means here: low/theoretical: mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class extrapolation (Tier C) where at least one class member has real data but this drug does not; also used for context flags and reverse-direction findings. Tier C animal mechanism · vulnerability, not depletion

Limits on what this shows

  • Key negative/null findings: Dietary copper was equally deficient in all four groups; the study did not measure serum copper or ceruloplasmin directly, only anemia severity and survival as functional/outcome endpoints, so it does not demonstrate that relugolix changes copper status, only that androgen status modulates outcomes under a fixed deficiency. A separate estrogen-focused source, Mehta and Eikum, "Effect of estrogen on serum and tissue levels of copper and zinc" (Advances in Experimental Medicine and Biology, 1989, PMID 2626984), is titled specifically around estrogen's effect on serum copper, but its abstract could not be independently retrieved this session (no reconstructable abstract available, and the publisher chapter was not opened); it is listed in Sources but not used to support this entry, consistent with this protocol's rule against citing unopened content.
  • At-risk subgroups: Not established for relugolix in either formulation; the rat finding is specific to a background dietary copper deficiency, which is not established as prevalent in relugolix-treated patients.
  • Counter-evidence on record: None found in the reverse direction. This entry is graded yellow because real, if narrow and outcome-based, Tier C mechanistic evidence exists, not because a depletion or protective serum-copper effect has actually been shown.

Regulatory status

Not addressed on either label.

Population evidence

"Sexual differences in the expression of copper deficiency in rats" (Experimental Biology and Medicine, 1987, PMID 3671356): intact and castrated male rats, and intact and ovariectomized female rats, fed a copper-deficient, fructose-containing diet for 8 weeks. Intact males developed anemia, cardiac hypertrophy, and died from the deficiency; castration reduced anemia severity and delayed mortality but did not prevent it. Female rats did not die regardless of hormone status. No relugolix, GnRH-antagonist, or human study exists; this is Tier C class-level evidence (surgical androgen removal, not this drug specifically).

Mechanism

Named at the class/hormonal level: testosterone appears to worsen physiological vulnerability to an already copper-deficient diet in male rats; removing testosterone, the pharmacologic analog of what Orgovyx produces, is protective in this narrow toxicological sense. The pathway connecting androgen status to copper-deficiency tolerance, versus copper absorption or serum level itself, is not established.

Counter-evidence held on record

This is not evidence that copper supplementation is needed, protective, or harmful during relugolix therapy; it is a narrow 1987 rat toxicology finding about sensitivity to a background dietary deficiency, not a measured effect on relugolix-treated patients' copper status.

Gut Microbiome Risk

Each finding below is counted once, in this area only.

Gut microbiome risk

Yellow — Low

See study details

Several independent human studies find measurable shifts in specific gut-bacterial genera during androgen deprivation therapy, tracking degree of testosterone suppression, but none confirms relugolix specifically among the ADT agents studied.

Full detail, limits and 4 references

What the grade means here: low/theoretical: mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class extrapolation (Tier C) where at least one class member has real data but this drug does not; also used for context flags and reverse-direction findings. Class extrapolation · multiple human ADT cohorts

Limits on what this shows

  • Key negative/null findings: Ishida et al. found overall diversity indices were stable; only specific genera shifted, arguing against a broad dysbiosis and for a narrower, hormone-tracking compositional change.
  • At-risk subgroups: Men achieving very low testosterone (<20 ng/dL), expected with any effective ADT including Orgovyx. Not established for the Myfembree/estradiol-suppression side; only rodent ovariectomy-model literature was located there, and individual article pages were not independently opened this session for content beyond title.
  • Counter-evidence on record: None found contradicting the direction; multiple independent human studies converge qualitatively, a stronger evidence base than a single study, though still capped at yellow since relugolix itself was not confirmed in any cohort.

Regulatory status

Not addressed on either label.

Population evidence

Ishida et al. (The Prostate 2025, PMID 41389040), a prospective Japanese cohort of men with high-risk localized prostate cancer starting ADT (enrolled March 2021 to August 2022): overall microbial diversity remained stable, but specific genera, Ruminococcus 2 and Eubacterium ruminantium, increased significantly after 3 months of ADT, with men reaching very low testosterone (<20 ng/dL) showing higher Ruminococcus 2 proportions, a dose-response pattern. Kure et al. (Prostate Cancer and Prostatic Diseases 2022, PMID 35418210) and Wang (Prostate Cancer and Prostatic Diseases 2023, PMID 37696986) separately report gut-microbial-profile changes with androgen deprivation therapy, including long-term ADT; a 2023 Chinese-language review (Zhonghua Yi Xue Za Zhi, PMID 36597735) surveys this literature. None of these sources' abstracts, as retrieved this session, name relugolix among the ADT agents used, and cohort drug composition could not be confirmed beyond abstract-level data; treated as Tier C class-level evidence for relugolix specifically.

Mechanism

Named at the class/hormonal level (mechanism G, microbiome disruption): testosterone suppression is linked to dose-dependent shifts in specific gut-bacterial genera across multiple independent human ADT cohorts, though not for relugolix by name.

Counter-evidence held on record

This is a class-level compositional signal from androgen suppression generally, not a relugolix-specific finding, and it is not evidence that probiotic or prebiotic supplementation is needed or beneficial during relugolix therapy; no such intervention has been tested in this population.

Oxygen and ATP Output

Oxygen delivery and ATP production are assessed separately. Nothing here is counted twice.

Oxygen delivery/utilization

Orange — Moderate

See study details

In men treated with relugolix monotherapy for advanced prostate cancer, hemoglobin fell in a labeled, directly measured minority, at a magnitude essentially identical to the active leuprolide comparator, reflecting loss of testosterone-driven erythropoietin stimulation rather than a nutrient deficiency.

Full detail and limits

What the grade means here: moderate: ≥1 Tier A source with this drug in the cohort showing a real deficit or effect, but bounded by exposure window, subgroup, frequency, or a functional rather than circulating change. Comparator-matched magnitude · not iron-mediated

Limits on what this shows

  • Key negative/null findings: The 28% versus 29% incidence is nearly identical between relugolix and the leuprolide comparator, arguing this is a class-wide consequence of adequate androgen-axis suppression itself, not something distinctive to relugolix's chemistry. Serum ferritin, transferrin saturation, and hepcidin were not reported in the located sources; only hemoglobin (a functional marker) was quantified, and there is no indication this represents iron-deficiency anemia specifically.
  • At-risk subgroups: Not separately named beyond the overall trial population; risk would track with degree and duration of testosterone suppression, which for advanced prostate cancer is typically long-term or lifelong, unlike the 24-month duration cap on the Myfembree combination product discussed below.
  • Counter-evidence on record: None found contradicting the direction of this finding. See the framing caution: this must not be conflated with, or averaged against, the opposite-direction Myfembree finding below, which occurs in a different drug combination, sex, and population.

Regulatory status

FDA ORGOVYX PI, Section 6.1, Table 2 (HERO trial laboratory abnormalities, ≥15% incidence): "Hemoglobin decreased," 28% all grades / 0.5% Grade 3-4 on relugolix (N=622) versus 29% all grades / 0.7% Grade 3-4 on leuprolide. Fracture is separately listed among adverse reactions requiring dosage interruption in 0.3% of relugolix-treated patients (Section 6.1).

Population evidence

HERO trial: international phase 3 RCT, N=930 (622 relugolix 120 mg once daily, 308 leuprolide depot injection), men with advanced prostate cancer requiring androgen deprivation, 48-week primary endpoint (Shore et al., NEJM 2020). [5] An independent Canadian Agency for Drugs and Technologies in Health (CADTH) clinical review of the same trial separately confirms: "Loss of bone mineral density was reported in similar proportions in both groups." [6]

Mechanism

Named at the general endocrine-physiology level: testosterone supports erythropoiesis via stimulation of erythropoietin production and suppression of hepcidin; castration-level androgen suppression removes that stimulus, producing a mild normocytic anemia. This review located a specific mechanistic paper on this pathway (testosterone/erythropoietin/hepcidin) via search-result titles only, could not open it this session because of the disclosed tooling rate-limiting, and is therefore not cited here as supporting evidence, per this protocol's prohibition on citing unopened sources; the mechanism is stated as established general endocrinology, not tied to a specific citation verified this session.

Counter-evidence held on record

This is castration-associated anemia from reduced erythropoietin drive, not an iron or nutrient deficiency; iron supplementation is not indicated by this mechanism, and unexplained anemia in a patient on Orgovyx should be worked up on its own clinical merits rather than assumed nutritional. Do not average or merge this entry with the opposite-direction Myfembree entry below; they describe different drug products, populations, and mechanisms.

Oxygen delivery/utilization

Orange — Moderate

Direction: reverse direction (as labelled in the source)

In women with heavy menstrual bleeding from uterine fibroids who were anemic at baseline, Myfembree (relugolix with estradiol/norethindrone acetate add-back) produced a substantially larger hemoglobin rise than placebo, reflecting reduced ongoing menstrual blood loss.

Full detail and limits

What the grade means here: moderate: ≥1 Tier A source with this drug in the cohort showing a real deficit or effect, but bounded by exposure window, subgroup, frequency, or a functional rather than circulating change. Reverse-direction / protective · shares evidence with Iron

Limits on what this shows

  • Key negative/null findings: No hematocrit, reticulocyte, ferritin, transferrin saturation, or arterial-oxygenation data beyond hemoglobin were located in the sources accessed for this review; the finding is specifically a hemoglobin-concentration result. A theoretical countervailing mechanism exists (estrogen normally suppresses hepcidin, favoring iron absorption, so any residual hypoestrogenism from incomplete add-back could theoretically blunt absorption), but the net measured direction in the actual trial population is clearly toward improvement.
  • At-risk subgroups: Bounded specifically to women with pre-existing heavy-menstrual-bleeding-related anemia taking Myfembree for uterine fibroids. Not established, and not mechanistically expected, in men on Orgovyx monotherapy, or in women taking Myfembree for endometriosis pain without baseline heavy bleeding.
  • Counter-evidence on record: None found contradicting this direction within its bounded population. See the Overlap map: this entry and the Iron entry below rest on the same LIBERTY 1/2 hemoglobin data and should not be counted as two independent confirmations of a single underlying effect.

Regulatory status

FDA MYFEMBREE PI, Section 14.1, labeled trial results, women with baseline hemoglobin low enough to qualify as anemic: Study L1, 44.2% achieved a >2 g/dL hemoglobin rise on MYFEMBREE versus 17.2% on placebo (difference 26.9 percentage points); Study L2, 55.0% versus 5.7% (difference 49.3 percentage points).

Population evidence

LIBERTY 1 and 2: two replicate international phase 3 RCTs, N=388 and 382 total, women with fibroid-related heavy menstrual bleeding, MYFEMBREE versus placebo, 24 weeks (Al-Hendy et al., NEJM 2021). [7] A 52-week completer analysis (N=363) reported that "anemia markers showed meaningful improvement" with sustained benefit (Al-Hendy et al., Obstet Gynecol 2022). [8] The LIBERTY randomized-withdrawal study confirmed durability of bleeding control to 76 weeks with continued treatment (Am J Obstet Gynecol 2023). [9]

Mechanism

Named and indirect: relugolix (via GnRH-receptor antagonism) suppresses the ovarian cyclicity driving heavy uterine bleeding; the estradiol/norethindrone acetate add-back stabilizes the endometrium. Reduced monthly blood loss reduces the ongoing iron loss and hemorrhagic drain on red-cell mass that was driving the pre-treatment anemia, allowing hemoglobin to recover over months of treatment. This is a hematologic outcome of reduced bleeding, not a direct effect of relugolix on erythropoietin, marrow function, or hemoglobin synthesis.

Counter-evidence held on record

This is the resolution of a pre-existing bleeding-related anemia, not evidence that relugolix or Myfembree improves oxygen delivery in general; it must not be extrapolated to athletic performance, altitude tolerance, men, or any population without baseline heavy menstrual bleeding, and it does not apply to Orgovyx.

ATP production

Yellow — Low

See study details

The same testosterone/estradiol-withdrawal mitochondrial-impairment mechanism described under Mitochondrial burden is, by the cited sources' own framing, a mechanism for reduced cellular ATP output, but no study has directly measured ATP synthesis or output in relugolix-treated patients.

Full detail and limits

What the grade means here: low/theoretical: mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class extrapolation (Tier C) where at least one class member has real data but this drug does not; also used for context flags and reverse-direction findings. Class extrapolation · shares evidence with Mitochondrial burden

Limits on what this shows

  • Key negative/null findings: No direct ATP or energy-metabolism measurement, in relugolix patients or in either cited source's model, was located. The absence of fatigue as a top-tier labeled adverse reaction on either relugolix label is a mild piece of counter-evidence against a strong clinical energy-deficit signal, though it is not a direct physiological measurement.
  • At-risk subgroups: Not established for relugolix specifically.
  • Counter-evidence on record: Labeled adverse-reaction data, the absence of prominent fatigue, argues mildly against a clinically meaningful effect, though this does not rule out a subclinical change.

Regulatory status

Not addressed on either label. Fatigue is not listed among the ≥10% adverse reactions on the ORGOVYX label (most common: hot flush 54%, glucose increased 44%, triglycerides increased 35%), nor among MYFEMBREE's most common listed adverse reactions.

Population evidence

Same sources as Mitochondrial burden above. Tian et al. 2023 states mitochondria function as "the primary ATP production source" in skeletal muscle, tying the sarcopenia-associated mitochondrial quality-control decline described there directly to energy output; Ribas et al. 2016 describes muscle estrogen-receptor-alpha-knockout mitochondrial abnormalities (structure, reactive oxygen species, fission, turnover) without directly quantifying ATP synthesis rate.

Mechanism

Identical to Mitochondrial burden, extrapolated to ATP output as the sources' own stated downstream consequence rather than a separately measured endpoint in either source.

Counter-evidence held on record

Shares its evidence base with Mitochondrial burden above; see the Overlap map. No supplement or dosing recommendation follows from this entry.

Claims checked and not supported

These circulate online for this medication. They are listed here only so they can be answered, never as findings, and they are not graded.

A claim with no supporting evidence is not necessarily disproven. Where evidence actually argues against a claim, that is stated below.

  • Selenium and vitamin E supplementation to relieve androgen-deprivation-therapy symptoms (hot flashes, metabolic effects)

    Where it comes from: Consumer/practitioner supplement guidance historically offered to men on ADT, as summarized in a 2014 MDPI Nutrients review of dietary supplements for ADT side effects, itself opened directly for this review.

    Why it fails: The same review reports that a large randomized trial (SELECT) found supranutritional selenium intake "not necessarily preventive against cancer, and may even be a possible risk factor for developing T2DM," concluding "a combination of ADT with Se cannot be recommended given that many patients develop pre-diabetes," and separately that vitamin E was "previously recommended, but increased risk for diabetes. Might also increase the risk for PCa." This review could not independently open the primary SELECT trial publication this session (disclosed tooling limitation), so this rebuttal is sourced to, and bounded by, the secondary review that reported it, not verified against the primary trial directly.

All references used above
  1. FDA. ORGOVYX (relugolix) tablets, prescribing information. — U.S. Food and Drug Administration, revised 2025. Sections 2, 5, 6, 8, 12.3 opened directly for metabolism, elimination, food effect, renal/hepatic impairment, laboratory abnormalities (HERO trial Table 2), and use-in-specific-populations content.
  2. FDA. MYFEMBREE (relugolix, estradiol, and norethindrone acetate) tablets, prescribing information. — U.S. Food and Drug Administration, revised 2025. Sections 4, 5.2, 6.1, 12.2, 12.3, 14.1, 17 opened directly for metabolism, food effect, hepatic-impairment contraindication, bone-density DXA data, hemoglobin/anemia trial results, and patient-counseling supplement-timing language.
  3. EMA. Orgovyx (relugolix), EPAR product information (Summary of Product Characteristics). — European Medicines Agency. Sections 4.4, 4.5, 5.2 opened directly for the bone-density warning statement and the "weak inducer of CYP3A" / "not an inducer of CYP1A2 or CYP2B6" language, disclosed here as differing from the FDA label's unqualified induction statement.
  4. DailyMed. MYFEMBREE- relugolix, estradiol hemihydrate, and norethindrone acetate tablet, film coated, structured product label. — National Library of Medicine. Section 17 and Patient Information opened directly for the exact iron/calcium/vitamin-D supplement-timing counseling text.
  5. Shore ND, Saad F, Cookson MS, et al. Oral Relugolix for Androgen-Deprivation Therapy in Advanced Prostate Cancer (HERO trial). — New England Journal of Medicine, 2020. DOI 10.1056/NEJMoa2004325. Title, authors, and abstract confirmed via the OpenAlex API (reconstructed abstract); the publisher's full text (nejm.org) returned an HTTP 403 error and could not be opened directly this session, disclosed limitation. Quantitative hemoglobin, glucose, triglyceride, and ALT/AST data used in this dossier are instead drawn from the FDA label (source 1), which reports the same trial's Table 2 laboratory abnormalities and was opened directly in full.Full text not independently opened; abstract-level metadata only, via OpenAlex.
  6. CADTH. Relugolix (Orgovyx): Clinical Review, Reimbursement Review, therapeutic area advanced prostate cancer. — Canadian Agency for Drugs and Technologies in Health, August-October 2024, Report No. PC0342. Opened directly via NCBI Bookshelf (two related book records) for the independent confirmation that "loss of bone mineral density was reported in similar proportions in both groups" in the HERO trial, and for hot-flush incidence data.
  7. Al-Hendy A, Lukes AS, Poindexter AN 3rd, et al. Treatment of Uterine Fibroid Symptoms with Relugolix Combination Therapy (LIBERTY 1 and 2). — New England Journal of Medicine, 2021. PMID 33596357. Title, authors, and abstract confirmed via the OpenAlex API (reconstructed abstract); full text not independently opened this session (PubMed and PMC article pages returned bot-verification/reCAPTCHA challenges throughout this review), disclosed limitation. Quantitative bone-density and hemoglobin percentages used in this dossier are instead drawn from the FDA MYFEMBREE label (source 2), which reports the same trials' Section 14 data directly.Full text not independently opened; abstract-level metadata only, via OpenAlex.
  8. Al-Hendy A, et al. Long-term Relugolix Combination Therapy for Symptomatic Uterine Leiomyomas. — Obstetrics and Gynecology, 2022. PMID 36357960. Abstract-level metadata via OpenAlex only; full text not independently opened this session (same PubMed/PMC access limitation as source 7).Full text not independently opened; abstract-level metadata only, via OpenAlex.
  9. LIBERTY randomized withdrawal study: relugolix combination therapy for heavy menstrual bleeding associated with uterine fibroids. — American Journal of Obstetrics and Gynecology, 2023. PMID 37666383. Abstract-level metadata via OpenAlex only; full text not independently opened this session (same access limitation).Full text not independently opened; abstract-level metadata only, via OpenAlex.
  10. Becker CM, Johnson NP, As-Sanie S, et al. Two-year efficacy and safety of relugolix combination therapy in women with endometriosis-associated pain: SPIRIT open-label extension study. — Human Reproduction, 2024. PMID 38243752, DOI 10.1093/humrep/dead263. Abstract-level metadata via OpenAlex only; full text not independently opened this session (same access limitation).Full text not independently opened; abstract-level metadata only, via OpenAlex.
  11. The Use of Dietary Supplements to Alleviate Androgen Deprivation Therapy Side Effects during Prostate Cancer Treatment. — Nutrients (MDPI), 2014. Opened directly in full for the Fails-verification entry on selenium and vitamin E, and to confirm the absence of a zinc-specific claim in a dedicated ADT-supplement review. Class-level review (LHRH agonists/antagonists and anti-androgens as categories; no individual ADT drug, including relugolix, named as studied), Tier C for any relugolix-specific claim.
  12. WHO Collaborating Centre for Drug Statistics Methodology. ATC/DDD Index. — Opened directly for ATC codes: L02BX04 (relugolix monotherapy) and H01CC54 (relugolix, estradiol and norethisterone acetate combination), confirming both formulations' classification and DDD.
  13. Drugs.com. Relugolix food interactions checker. — Opened directly. Tier D consumer reference, used only to confirm the absence of a documented food/supplement interaction beyond what the regulatory labels already state, not cited as supporting evidence for any claim.
  14. Bassey IE, et al. Impact of Androgen Deprivation on Oxidative Stress and Antioxidant Status in Nigerian Patients With Prostate Cancer Undergoing Androgen Deprivation Therapy. — JCO Global Oncology, 2020;6:1481-1489. Cross-sectional study, 120 prostate cancer patients (treatment-naive and ADT-treated) versus 100 healthy controls; measured MDA, NO, TPP, and TAC. Abstract retrieved and reconstructed via the OpenAlex API this revision. PMID 33001740.Cohort note: specific ADT agents used in this cohort not confirmed from abstract-level data; relugolix's inclusion could not be confirmed or excluded. Tier C for relugolix specifically. Added this revision.
  15. Shiota M, et al. Antioxidant Therapy Alleviates Oxidative Stress by Androgen Deprivation and Prevents Conversion From Androgen Dependent to Castration Resistant Prostate Cancer. — Journal of Urology, 2011 (2012);187(2):707-714. Human prostate-tissue and mouse-xenograft mechanistic study; androgen deprivation increased oxidative stress and Twist1/YB-1 expression, reversible with N-acetylcysteine. Abstract retrieved and reconstructed via the OpenAlex API this revision. PMID 22177207.Cohort note: mechanistic tissue/xenograft study, not a relugolix-specific clinical trial. Tier C class-level evidence. Added this revision.
  16. Sexual differences in the expression of copper deficiency in rats. — Experimental Biology and Medicine, 1987;186(2):183-187. Intact and castrated male rats, intact and ovariectomized female rats, on a copper-deficient diet for 8 weeks; castration reduced anemia severity and delayed mortality in males without preventing the deficiency. Abstract retrieved and reconstructed via the OpenAlex API this revision. PMID 3671356.Cohort note: rat model, not relugolix or any GnRH antagonist; this drug's cohort excluded. Tier C class-level evidence. Added this revision.
  17. Mehta R, Eikum RH. Effect of estrogen on serum and tissue levels of copper and zinc. — Advances in Experimental Medicine and Biology, 1989;258:155-162. PMID 2626984.Access note: no reconstructable abstract available via OpenAlex this revision (abstract_inverted_index null); title, authors, and venue confirmed only. Not used to support any specific claim in this dossier, listed for completeness and flagged for direct verification on a later revision. Added this revision.
  18. Ishida M, Narita S, et al. Androgen-Deprivation Therapy and Dietary Habits Influence the Gut Microbial Environment in Patients With High-Risk Localized Prostate Cancer. — The Prostate, 2025;86(5):515-524. DOI 10.1002/pros.70109. Prospective Japanese cohort (enrolled March 2021-August 2022); Ruminococcus 2 and Eubacterium ruminantium increased significantly after 3 months of ADT, with higher Ruminococcus 2 in men reaching testosterone <20 ng/dL. Abstract retrieved and reconstructed via the OpenAlex API this revision. PMID 41389040.Cohort note: specific ADT agents used not confirmed from abstract-level data; relugolix's inclusion could not be confirmed or excluded. Tier C for relugolix specifically. Added this revision.
  19. Kure A, et al. Gut environment changes due to androgen deprivation therapy in patients with prostate cancer. — Prostate Cancer and Prostatic Diseases, 2022;26(2):323-330. PMID 35418210. Abstract not reconstructable via OpenAlex this revision (abstract_inverted_index null); title, journal, authorship, and citation context confirmed only.Cohort note: ADT agents not confirmed; relugolix's inclusion could not be confirmed or excluded. Tier C class-level evidence, cited for existence and topical scope alongside Ishida et al. above. Added this revision.
  20. Wang L. Changes in the gut microbial profile during long-term androgen deprivation therapy for prostate cancer. — Prostate Cancer and Prostatic Diseases, 2023;27(4):667-673. DOI 10.1038/s41391-023-00723-w. PMID 37696986. Abstract not reconstructable via OpenAlex this revision (abstract_inverted_index null); title, journal, and citation context confirmed only.Cohort note: ADT agents not confirmed; relugolix's inclusion could not be confirmed or excluded. Tier C class-level evidence. Added this revision.
  21. Liu JY, et al. Effects of androgen deprivation therapy for prostate cancer on gut microbiota and treatment. — Zhonghua Yi Xue Za Zhi, 2023. PMID 36597735. Chinese-language review surveying ADT/gut-microbiota literature; confirmed via a PubMed search-listing snippet only, individual article page not independently opened this revision.Cohort note: narrative review, not drug-stratified. Tier C, cited for completeness alongside the primary cohort studies above. Added this revision.
  22. Tian X, Lou S, Shi R. From mitochondria to sarcopenia: role of 17β-estradiol and testosterone. — Frontiers in Endocrinology, 2023. Narrative review; both hormones described as having protective effects on skeletal-muscle mitochondrial function, with mitochondria named as "the primary ATP production source." Abstract retrieved and reconstructed via the OpenAlex API this revision. PMID 37152937.Cohort note: narrative review, not drug-stratified; relugolix not named. Tier C class-level evidence, the primary support for both Mitochondrial burden and ATP production above (see Overlap map). Added this revision.
  23. Ribas V, Drew BG, Zhou Z, et al. Skeletal muscle action of estrogen receptor alpha is critical for the maintenance of mitochondrial function and metabolic homeostasis in females. — Science Translational Medicine, 2016;8(334):334ra54. Muscle-specific estrogen receptor-alpha knockout (MERKO) mouse model; abnormal mitochondrial structure, elevated reactive oxygen species, defective fission, reduced mitochondrial turnover, increased adiposity, and glucose intolerance. Abstract retrieved and reconstructed via the OpenAlex API this revision. PMID 27075628.Cohort note: genetic mouse knockout, not relugolix or any GnRH antagonist; this drug's cohort excluded. Tier C class-level evidence, shared support for Mitochondrial burden and ATP production above (see Overlap map). Added this revision.
  24. Holloway L, Moynihan S, Abrams SA, Kent K, Hsu A, Friedlander AL. Effects of oligofructose-enriched inulin on intestinal absorption of calcium and magnesium and bone turnover markers in postmenopausal women. — British Journal of Nutrition, 2007;97(2):365-372. PMID 17298707. Randomized double-blind placebo-controlled crossover trial, 15 postmenopausal women, testing an inulin/oligofructose supplement's effect on calcium and magnesium absorption; the study's own manipulation is dietary fiber, not estrogen status. Abstract retrieved and reconstructed via the OpenAlex API this revision.Cohort note: postmenopausal women given a fiber supplement, not relugolix or any GnRH antagonist; this drug's cohort excluded. Not used to support the Magnesium entry's grade, since on direct reading the study does not itself measure an estrogen-status effect on magnesium absorption; listed for completeness given a near-miss search match. Added this revision.