Skip to main content

Piroxicam

oxicam NSAID, non-selective

Findings for this medication

Research about this medication, graded for how strongly each finding can be attributed to it. Nothing here describes your own levels.

Piroxicam has almost no classical depletion machinery. It is metabolized mainly by CYP2C9 to 5'-hydroxy-piroxicam, about 5% leaves unchanged, it is about 99% protein bound, the plasma half-life is about 50 hours, and the US label names no vitamin or mineral and no CYP induction or inhibition [1]. One pharmacokinetic feature is real: piroxicam is eliminated largely through the bile and is recirculated, so a bile acid binder roughly halves its half-life [7]. That is a drug-exposure interaction, not a nutrient loss. The signals that matter run through the drug's own toxicity: GI bleeding and anemia, fluid retention, and hyperkalemia, all in the label [1][4]. Per Hard Rule 2 these are outcomes, and per Hard Rule 5 the sodium and potassium findings are retention or dilution effects, so supplementation would be the hazard, not the remedy. Red and orange tiers are empty, 10 entries are yellow and 2 are ungraded.

oxicam NSAID, non-selective · ATC M01AC01 (WHO ATC/DDD Index [5]) · also sold as Feldene [6]; Brexidol (piroxicam betadex) [4]; many generics · reviewed 2026-10-07. This describes research about the medication. It does not say anything about your own levels or health.

How to read the evidence grades

These colours describe how strongly a finding can be attributed to the medication in the research. They are not a severity score and they say nothing about your own health.

Grades describe how strongly a finding can be attributed to Piroxicam in the research — not how common it is, how serious it would be, and not anything about you personally.

Red — Severe
Two or more independent Tier A sources, this drug in the cohort, the nutrient directly measured, consistent direction, clinically meaningful magnitude, a named mechanism, no substantial contradicting Tier A evidence.
Orange — Moderate
At least one Tier A source with this drug in the cohort showing a real but bounded deficit: an exposure window, a subgroup, low frequency, or a functional rather than circulating deficit.
Yellow — Low
Mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class extrapolation (Tier C) with no drug-specific human status data; also used for context flags and interactions running the other direction.
Not graded — disclosed evidence gap
Nothing has been measured here, so this finding cannot be graded. That does not establish either safety or harm, and it is not the same as a White result.Source definition: Not gradeable under the rules above because nothing has been measured. Published as a documented gap, never as reassurance that there is no effect.

What the research found

Sodium: retention and dilutional hyponatremia (direction: retention, not depletion)

Yellow — Low

See study details

The label warns of fluid retention and edema and of a blunted natriuretic effect of diuretics, and a rat study reported low serum sodium with piroxicam; no human piroxicam serum sodium study was retrieved. This is a water and sodium handling effect, not a dietary sodium deficiency.

Full detail and limits

What the grade means here: Mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class extrapolation (Tier C) with no drug-specific human status data; also used for context flags and interactions running the other direction. Yellow

Limits on what this shows

  • Null findings: None retrieved for piroxicam. A search for a piroxicam and furosemide natriuresis study was blocked when WebSearch ran out, so this is tooling-limited.
  • At-risk subgroups: Older adults, heart failure, volume depletion, people on diuretics, ACE inhibitors or ARBs, and people with renal impairment (label sec 5.6 and 7) [1].

Regulatory status

US label sec 5.5: fluid retention and edema observed in some NSAID-treated patients; sec 7: NSAIDs reduced the natriuretic effect of loop and thiazide diuretics; edema is among the more than 2% clinical trial reactions [1]. UK SmPC lists fluid retention (frequency not known) and does not list hyponatremia [2]. The Brexidol monograph discusses sodium retention and does not specifically mention hyponatremia [4].

Population evidence

Airhomwanbor 2023 [22] (Tier B, rats): 50 albino rats in 5 groups of 10, piroxicam 2.7 mg/kg daily for 21 days with or without ginger; the abstract reports renal dysfunction with hyponatremia and raised creatinine, with sodium decreased (P under 0.05), potassium decreased (P under 0.001) and chloride increased (P under 0.05) versus control (summarizing fetch of the article page; whether the rats had pre-existing renal pathology as the title suggests was not clarified). No human study of piroxicam and serum sodium was retrieved.

Mechanism

Present for the NSAID class in outline: the label cites fluid retention and a reduced natriuretic effect of diuretics [1]. A piroxicam-specific human demonstration of an antidiuretic or natriuretic effect was not located.

Counter-evidence held on record

Counter-evidence The only quantitative sodium data are rat data at a dose and design not equivalent to human use, and the label itself describes fluid retention rather than hyponatremia. Framing caution Retention or dilution risk, not a sodium deficiency. This entry must never be read as advice to raise sodium intake or take sodium supplements; any salt or fluid change belongs to the prescriber.

Potassium: retention risk (direction: excess), label warning, no piroxicam-specific human cohort retrieved

Yellow — Low

See study details

The label lists increases in serum potassium, including hyperkalemia, with NSAID use; the only quantitative piroxicam potassium data retrieved are from rats and ran in the opposite direction (lower potassium).

Full detail and limits

What the grade means here: Mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class extrapolation (Tier C) with no drug-specific human status data; also used for context flags and interactions running the other direction. Yellow

Limits on what this shows

  • Null and reverse findings: Rat hypokalemia [22] contradicts the label direction; a clinical relevance for people is not established either way.
  • At-risk subgroups: Chronic kidney disease, diabetes, ACE inhibitor or ARB use, potassium-sparing diuretics, dehydration, older age [1][4].

Regulatory status

US label sec 5.6: "Increases in serum potassium concentration, including hyperkalemia, have been reported" with NSAIDs [1]. Brexidol monograph: NSAIDs including the product can increase the risk of hyperkalemia, especially in patients with diabetes mellitus or renal failure [4]. UK SmPC does not list hyperkalemia as an adverse effect [2].

Population evidence

No piroxicam-specific human cohort or trial of serum potassium was opened. The Lafrance 2012 veterans nested case-control (hyperkalemia with individual NSAIDs) was identified, but its Crossref and OpenAlex records carried no abstract, its reference list named other NSAIDs, and piroxicam cohort status could not be confirmed, so it is not used [32]. Rat data [22]: serum potassium decreased (P under 0.001) with piroxicam 2.7 mg/kg for 21 days, the reverse of the label direction.

Mechanism

Present for the class in outline: the retrieved label text ties NSAID prostaglandin inhibition to renal injury and lists hyperkalemia, but a potassium-specific mechanism sentence was not read [1].

Counter-evidence held on record

Counter-evidence No piroxicam-specific human evidence either supports or refutes the label statement; the rat data point the other way. Framing caution Excess/retention risk. Potassium supplements and potassium-based salt substitutes would be the hazard in people on piroxicam with kidney disease or RAS blockers. This is not a potassium depletion claim and no potassium dose is recommended.

Folate: piroxicam listed among NSAIDs tested for in vitro inhibition of folate-dependent enzymes; potency not read, no folate status data

Yellow — Low

See study details

A 1992 in vitro study tested piroxicam among eight NSAIDs for inhibition of folate-dependent enzymes; no study measured serum or red-cell folate or homocysteine in piroxicam users.

Full detail and limits

What the grade means here: Mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class extrapolation (Tier C) with no drug-specific human status data; also used for context flags and interactions running the other direction. Yellow

Limits on what this shows

  • Null findings: A pediatric arthritis homocysteine trial in which patients had previously received naproxen, piroxicam or indomethacin [24] measured homocysteine, folate, B6 and B12 but used piroxicam only as background therapy and reported no piroxicam-specific result. It is not informative for this entry.

Regulatory status

No folate statement in the label sections retrieved [1][2].

Population evidence

None in humans. Baggott 1992 [23] (Tier B, in vitro with small clinical correlation): the reconstructed abstract names sulphasalazine, sulindac, indomethacin, naproxen, salicylic acid, ibuprofen, piroxicam and mefenamic acid among the NSAIDs studied for competitive inhibition (with respect to folate) of avian liver AICAR transformylase and bovine liver dihydrofolate reductase, and for folate-mediated serine biosynthesis in human blood mononuclear cells; aspirin and acetaminophen were weak or minimal. The retrieved text did not give piroxicam-specific potency or concentrations, so whether piroxicam itself was a potent inhibitor is not confirmed.

Mechanism

Present in vitro for several NSAIDs (competitive folate-site inhibition). Whether piroxicam reaches inhibitory concentrations in people is not shown; a 2020 structural study of NSAID inhibition of human dihydrofolate reductase highlighted benzoate and salicylate NSAIDs (diflunisal Ki 34 micromolar) and did not discuss piroxicam [36] (abstract opened; no piroxicam result).

Counter-evidence held on record

Counter-evidence In vitro enzyme inhibition for a class of drugs does not show a folate deficit; clinical folate studies in NSAID users (not located for piroxicam) would be needed. Framing caution Mechanistic plausibility only. No folate or folic acid supplement is implied and no dose is recommended.

Zinc

Not graded — disclosed evidence gap

See study details

No piroxicam study measured zinc status, and no zinc-related depletion claim for piroxicam was found.

Full detail and limits

What the grade means here: Nothing has been measured here, so this finding cannot be graded. That does not establish either safety or harm, and it is not the same as a White result. Ungraded

Limits on what this shows

  • Why no grade: The dual condition was met: the only trace-element source is a Tier C null for the NSAID class that supports no grade, no Tier B or C source supports a yellow, and no circulating claim about piroxicam and zinc was retrieved. Disease-driven low zinc in rheumatoid arthritis is a confound, not a drug finding. This is a genuine gap on the sources opened, partly tooling-limited because several indexed databases were blocked.

Channels tried

WebSearch on piroxicam with serum copper and zinc in rheumatoid arthritis: returned disease-level zinc and copper studies only; the one treatment study opened [20] (32 patients, NSAIDs as a group, piroxicam not named) found no NSAID effect on zinc, with low zinc attributed to the inflammatory response. A thesis listing on piroxicam complexes with copper, zinc and nickel was seen by title only and not opened. A search for the Cini copper(II) oxicam paper surfaced piroxicam copper complex records and no zinc status data.

Repair pass 2026-10-07

A second pass tried PubMed listing pages for piroxicam with zinc (three phrasings: 429 twice, 404 once, then 429 again after waits of several minutes), Crossref and OpenAlex search endpoints (429), Semantic Scholar (429), Europe PMC (robots-disallowed) and WebSearch (shared budget exhausted). Nothing new was opened, so the entry stays ungraded and the gap is tooling-limited, not confirmed. Re-check lead: a PubMed search for piroxicam AND zinc (serum zinc, urinary zinc, zinc complexes) with abstract access; a piroxicam-zinc coordination complex paper, if found, would parallel the Copper entry at yellow only.

Cyclodextrin formulation: effect of the beta-cyclodextrin carrier on nutrient absorption

Not graded — disclosed evidence gap

See study details

No source examined whether piroxicam betadex or its cyclodextrin carrier alters vitamin, mineral or fat-soluble nutrient absorption; the formulation changes how fast the drug is absorbed, not a documented nutrient.

Full detail and limits

What the grade means here: Nothing has been measured here, so this finding cannot be graded. That does not establish either safety or harm, and it is not the same as a White result. Ungraded

Limits on what this shows

  • Why no grade: The dual condition was met: no Tier B or C evidence links this carrier or piroxicam betadex to a nutrient, and no circulating claim was retrieved. This is a formulation note entered as a disclosed gap, not an assertion that no effect exists. The formulation is not marketed as the US capsule. Partly tooling-limited.

Channels tried

Health Canada Brexidol monograph [4] (opened, summarizing fetch): beta-cyclodextrin not detected in plasma or urine at the therapeutic dose, Tmax 1.1 to 2.25 hours, no nutrient interaction statement. Acerbi 1990 [9]: animal absorption data, no tolerance or nutrient data. US label [1] silent on cyclodextrin. Wikipedia [6] confirms a betadex formulation with faster absorption. A WebSearch on piroxicam beta-cyclodextrin gastric tolerability and absorption returned patent and review listings only. No search was run specifically for cyclodextrin and fat-soluble vitamin binding before WebSearch ran out.

Repair pass 2026-10-07

A second pass tried a PubMed listing for piroxicam betadex or cyclodextrin with vitamin absorption (429), and a food-additive opinion on beta-cyclodextrin from the European Food Safety Authority (DOI 10.2903/j.efsa.2016.4628; DOI resolver robots-disallowed, publisher page 403; not opened, and the identity of that DOI was not confirmed). WebSearch budget was exhausted. A food-additive opinion would in any case be class or excipient-level (Tier C) at far higher doses than a tablet carrier, so it could support yellow at most, and only if opened and cohort-checked. The entry stays ungraded, tooling-limited. Re-check lead: PubMed search for beta-cyclodextrin with fat-soluble vitamin or mineral absorption, and the EFSA opinion text.

The five body-system areas

Each finding is counted once, in a single area. Where a study is mentioned in a second area it is context only.

Mitochondrial Burden

Each finding below is counted once, in this area only.

Mitochondrial burden: rat tissue injury with mitochondrial dysfunction named as a mechanism; in vitro uncoupling evidence not read; calcium-transport null

Yellow — Low

See study details

A rat study attributes piroxicam tissue injury partly to mitochondrial dysfunction, and a later paper states piroxicam uncouples hepatic mitochondria like indomethacin; a 1983 study found piroxicam did not inhibit mitochondrial calcium uptake up to 300 micromolar. No human or direct respiration data for piroxicam were opened.

Full detail and limits

What the grade means here: Mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class extrapolation (Tier C) with no drug-specific human status data; also used for context flags and interactions running the other direction. Yellow

Limits on what this shows

  • Null and reverse findings: Burch 1983 [15] (Tier B): carboxylic acid NSAIDs (indomethacin, meclofenamate, naproxen) inhibited calcium uptake into rat and hamster liver mitochondria with ID50 values of 25 to 90 micromolar, whereas piroxicam, a non-carboxylic oxicam, had no effect at concentrations up to 300 micromolar. This is calcium transport, not respiration or uncoupling, so it does not exclude uncoupling.

Regulatory status

No mitochondrial statement in the US label sections retrieved [1].

Population evidence

None in humans. Abdeen 2020 [16] (Tier B, rats, 28 days, piroxicam 7 mg/kg i.p. alone or with coenzyme Q10 10 mg/kg): piroxicam produced severe gastric ulceration and liver and kidney damage with oxidative stress, and the abstract identifies "mitochondrial dysfunction and excess generation of reactive oxygen species" as contributing mechanisms (abstract via summarizing fetch; no mitochondrial endpoint values read). Herminghaus 2020 [27]: an indomethacin study whose discussion states aspirin, naproxen and piroxicam show a similar uncoupling effect on hepatic mitochondria; this is a secondary statement without piroxicam data and is Tier C at most. Moreno-Sanchez 1999 [28] (rat heart and liver mitochondria) and Nadanaciva 2013 [29] (isolated mitochondria, hepatocytes, zebrafish) list piroxicam among the NSAIDs studied in OpenAlex metadata; the Moreno-Sanchez abstract was later opened and its piroxicam result is recorded under ATP production [28], while no Nadanaciva abstract text was obtainable, so no piroxicam result is cited from [29].

Mechanism

Plausible but not shown at therapeutic exposure: protonophore-like uncoupling by acidic NSAIDs is described for the class [27]. Free plasma piroxicam is low because of about 99% protein binding [1].

Counter-evidence held on record

Counter-evidence The rat studies use doses and routes (i.p.) that do not map to human exposure, the cited uncoupling sentence is secondary, and the direct in vitro studies were not opened. Framing caution Mechanistic plausibility only. This entry does not support any mitochondrial or antioxidant supplement (including coenzyme Q10, which appears in the rat study only as an experimental protectant) and is not a deficiency claim.

Oxidative Stress

Each finding below is counted once, in this area only.

Oxidative stress: increased oxidant burden in rat tissues (direction: drug-associated increase, not a nutrient deficit)

Yellow — Low

See study details

Two rat studies report higher malondialdehyde and lower antioxidant enzymes or glutathione with piroxicam; no human redox marker study was retrieved, and the piroxicam-copper complex had SOD-like activity that copper alone matched.

Full detail and limits

What the grade means here: Mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class extrapolation (Tier C) with no drug-specific human status data; also used for context flags and interactions running the other direction. Yellow

Limits on what this shows

  • Null and reverse findings: Sordelli [18] shows a protective, antioxidant-like activity only when piroxicam is complexed with copper, and copper alone matched it, so this does not show an antioxidant effect of piroxicam itself. No human null study was found.

Regulatory status

No oxidative stress statement in the label sections retrieved [1].

Population evidence

None in humans. Abdeen 2020 [16] (rats, 28 days, 7 mg/kg i.p.): malondialdehyde raised, glutathione and catalase activity lowered, with CoQ10 attenuating the injury. Yunita 2025 [17] (30 male Wistar rats in 5 groups, piroxicam 20 mg/kg orally, then 14 days of garlic extract in treatment groups; ELISA): the piroxicam-only positive control had lower SOD and higher MDA, which garlic extract reversed (p under 0.05). Sordelli 1993 [18] (mouse and in vitro): piroxicam-copper complexes showed SOD-like activity (inhibition of superoxide-mediated cytochrome c reduction), and copper alone had comparable antioxidant effects.

Mechanism

Proposed in rat tissue injury (reactive oxygen species generation with mitochondrial dysfunction) [16]; not demonstrated in humans.

Counter-evidence held on record

Counter-evidence Both rat studies are toxicology models at high doses, are by research groups testing a protective agent, and measure tissue markers rather than circulating antioxidant nutrients. Framing caution This is a tissue-injury marker finding in animals, not evidence that piroxicam depletes any antioxidant nutrient. It supports no antioxidant supplement and no dose is recommended.

Copper and Iron Balance

Copper and iron are assessed separately. Nothing here is counted twice.

Iron: GI blood loss pathway (drug toxicity, direction: loss), no iron status measured in piroxicam users

Yellow — Low

See study details

Piroxicam carries the NSAID warning for GI bleeding and anemia and sits in the highest GI-complication-risk group of commonly studied NSAIDs, but no piroxicam study measured ferritin, transferrin saturation or serum iron, and the controlled blood-loss trial was short and in healthy men.

Full detail and limits

What the grade means here: Mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class extrapolation (Tier C) with no drug-specific human status data; also used for context flags and interactions running the other direction. Yellow

Limits on what this shows

  • Null findings: In the volunteer trial the primary covariance analysis showed no significant fecal blood loss difference across groups [10]. Two sources that looked relevant were excluded after opening: a rheumatic disease iron deficiency anemia endoscopy series of 104 patients [13] and a spondyloarthritis anemia study of 107 patients [14] both discussed NSAIDs generally without naming piroxicam (the spondyloarthritis study found only 1 patient with confirmed NSAID gastropathy and anemia tracking inflammatory markers). The Moore 2008 systematic review of fecal blood loss [31] did not name piroxicam in its abstract and is not used.
  • At-risk subgroups: Older adults, people with prior ulcer or GI bleeding, people on anticoagulants, antiplatelets, SSRIs or SNRIs (label interaction warnings), longer exposure, and CYP2C9 polymorphism carriers with higher exposure [1][2].

Regulatory status

US label sec 5.2: upper GI ulcers, gross bleeding or perforation in approximately 1% of patients treated for 3 to 6 months and about 2% to 4% treated for one year; sec 5.12: anemia has occurred in NSAID-treated patients, possibly from occult or gross blood loss, fluid retention or an incompletely described effect on erythropoiesis, with hemoglobin or hematocrit monitoring if signs of anemia appear. Iron itself is not mentioned [1]. The UK SmPC states piroxicam is not a first-line NSAID and that observational evidence suggests a high risk of serious GI toxicity relative to other NSAIDs; it contraindicates use with active ulcer or GI bleeding and lists anemia as common [2].

Population evidence

Castellsague 2012 SOS meta-analysis [11]: systematic review and meta-analysis of observational studies (cohort and case-control, MEDLINE 1980 to May 2011), piroxicam pooled RR 7.43 (95% CI 5.19 to 10.63) for upper GI complications, among the highest of the NSAIDs listed (celecoxib 1.45, ibuprofen 1.84, diclofenac 3.34, meloxicam 3.47 in the same list). Values came from a reconstructed abstract through a summarizing fetch; only the piroxicam figure is used. Castellsague 2012 Friuli cohort [12]: 588,827 NSAID users, 3,031 upper GI complications, piroxicam in the highest band (RR 5 or more) with the exact RR not in the abstract. Patoia 1996 [10]: randomized double-blind placebo-controlled trial, 51 healthy men, 4 weeks, piroxicam 20 mg versus meloxicam 7.5 and 15 mg versus placebo; analysis of covariance found no significant fecal blood loss difference between groups, but piroxicam exceeded placebo by Student t-test on weighted means, endoscopy scores exceeded placebo for all active arms (P under 0.01), and 6 piroxicam volunteers withdrew early for poor endoscopic scores while no meloxicam volunteer did. All three measure GI outcomes, not iron.

Mechanism

Present. NSAID inhibition of prostaglandin synthesis damages the gastric and small-bowel mucosa and impairs platelet function (label: increased bleeding risk, anticoagulant and antiplatelet interactions) [1]. The iron loss itself (ferritin, transferrin saturation, serum iron) was not measured in any retrieved piroxicam cohort.

Hard Rule 2 and 6 checks

GI bleeding and anemia are clinical outcomes, not iron deficiency; iron deficiency anemia needs measured iron indices. Confounding by indication is presumed: rheumatoid disease and chronic inflammation lower hemoglobin independently, and the spondyloarthritis study [14] found anemia tracked inflammatory markers. Meloxicam case reports of small-bowel ulceration with iron deficiency anemia (cited in the b013 dossier) are meloxicam-specific and were not carried over.

Counter-evidence held on record

Counter-evidence and confounding The only controlled blood-loss study found no significant difference on its primary analysis, was in young healthy men for 4 weeks, and used piroxicam as an active comparator for meloxicam [10], so it does not test piroxicam against non-use in older arthritis patients. The GI risk estimates are from observational data with channeling bias (higher-risk patients may receive piroxicam). Framing caution This is a toxicity pathway (blood loss), not an absorption or intake deficiency. New iron deficiency or melena on piroxicam calls for evaluating the bleeding source and the prescription, not an iron supplement by default. No iron dose is recommended here.

Copper: coordination chemistry and an animal study of the piroxicam-copper complex; no human copper measurement

Yellow — Low

See study details

Piroxicam forms a defined copper(II) complex in the laboratory and was tested as that complex in mice and in cancer cell lines; no study measured serum copper, ceruloplasmin or copper balance in piroxicam users.

Full detail and limits

What the grade means here: Mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class extrapolation (Tier C) with no drug-specific human status data; also used for context flags and interactions running the other direction. Yellow

Limits on what this shows

  • Null findings: A 2011 study of 32 rheumatoid arthritis patients [20] found elevated serum copper and reduced zinc and selenium versus 52 controls, and no significant change with NSAIDs as a group (piroxicam not named). Serum copper in these patients is driven by the inflammatory disease (Hard Rule 6), so it cannot be attributed to the drug.

Regulatory status

No copper statement in the label sections retrieved [1][2].

Population evidence

None in humans. Cini 2007 [19] (Tier B, in vitro chemistry): the record text states the oxicam work began from cytotoxic testing at the US National Cancer Institute of [Cu(HPIR)2(DMF)2], where HPIR is piroxicam, with growth inhibition GI50 values as low as 20 micromolar and a mean of 54.4 micromolar across cell lines; the structural work on isoxicam, meloxicam and cinnoxicam copper complexes is separate. Sordelli 1993 [18]: piroxicam alone 0.64 mg/kg and its copper complex equally reduced leukocyte migration and lung myeloperoxidase in mice. Both used preformed complexes.

Mechanism

Present for the laboratory complex only: piroxicam coordinates copper(II) to form [Cu(HPIR)2(DMF)2] [19]. No evidence that piroxicam binds copper in the body at therapeutic exposure.

Counter-evidence held on record

Counter-evidence and confounding Coordination chemistry in a flask or a cell line is not copper handling in a patient, and the one clinical trace-element study did not name piroxicam. Framing caution Mechanistic plausibility only. This is not a copper deficiency or excess claim and supports no copper or zinc supplement.

Gut Microbiome Risk

Each finding below is counted once, in this area only.

Gut microbiome risk: CLASS EXTRAPOLATION, piroxicam not in the cohort of either source; findings conflict

Yellow — Low

See study details

A rat study of a different NSAID (ketorolac) shifted the small-intestinal microbiota, while a systematic review of human studies found NSAIDs did not significantly change alpha diversity; piroxicam was in neither, and no piroxicam microbiome study was found.

Full detail and limits

What the grade means here: Mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class extrapolation (Tier C) with no drug-specific human status data; also used for context flags and interactions running the other direction. Yellow

Limits on what this shows

  • Null findings: The human class review is a null for alpha diversity and beta diversity [25]. An NSAID enteropathy 16S review and a Maier 2018 in vitro non-antibiotic drug screen appeared in listings but were not opened, so whether piroxicam was tested there is unknown. No piroxicam C. difficile or dysbiosis report was retrieved.

Regulatory status

No microbiome statement in the label sections retrieved [1][2].

Population evidence

Cohort test result: piroxicam was NOT in the cohort of either source; both are Tier C for this drug and capped at yellow. Hutka 2021 [26] (rats, 4-week oral ketorolac only): loss of Firmicutes families (Paenibacillaceae, Clostridiales Family XIII, Christensenellaceae) and bloom of Enterobacteriaceae in the small intestine, without intestinal damage or delayed peristalsis. Le Bastard 2018 [25] (systematic review of non-antibiotic drugs, Tier C): metformin and NSAIDs were not associated with significant alpha diversity change, and beta diversity changed significantly for all drug classes studied except NSAIDs (reconstructed abstract; individual NSAIDs not named).

Mechanism

Plausible for the class (altered bile acid and mucosal environment) but unstudied for piroxicam; biliary elimination of piroxicam [7] raises the possibility of luminal exposure, which is not evidence of an effect.

Counter-evidence held on record

Counter-evidence The only human source is null, the animal source studied a different NSAID, and neither contained piroxicam. Piroxicam enteropathy could change the microbiome indirectly; no data. Framing caution Class-level plausibility only. No probiotic or prebiotic recommendation follows from this entry.

Oxygen and ATP Output

Oxygen delivery and ATP production are assessed separately. Nothing here is counted twice.

Oxygen delivery/utilization: anemia and very rare hemolytic anemia as labeled outcomes; no oxygen-delivery measurement in piroxicam users

Yellow — Low

See study details

Anemia is a labeled adverse reaction to piroxicam and the NSAID class, hemolytic and aplastic anemia are listed as very rare or exceptional, and a rat study showed lower hemoglobin and packed cell volume at higher doses; no study measured red-cell oxygen carrying, methemoglobin or arterial oxygenation in piroxicam users.

Full detail and limits

What the grade means here: Mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class extrapolation (Tier C) with no drug-specific human status data; also used for context flags and interactions running the other direction. Yellow

Limits on what this shows

  • Null findings: Burch 1983 [15] found that none of the NSAIDs tested, including piroxicam, inhibited calcium transport in human erythrocyte ghosts, a narrow membrane-function finding, not a measure of oxygen delivery. Piroxicam case reports of hemolytic anemia were searched for and none was retrieved (one search returned only an unrelated DRESS hepatitis report). A methemoglobin-specific query was not run before WebSearch ran out, so absence of a methemoglobin report is tooling-limited.

Regulatory status

US label sec 5.12 (anemia, monitoring) and postmarketing list including anemia, thrombocytopenia, leukopenia, hemolytic anemia, aplastic anemia and eosinophilia [1]. UK SmPC: anemia common; aplastic anemia and hemolytic anemia very rare [2]. Feldene injection label: reduction in hemoglobin and hematocrit not associated with obvious GI bleeding, exceptional cases of hemolytic anemia, rare aplastic anemia [3]. Health Canada Brexidol monograph: anemia may be due to fluid retention, GI blood loss or an effect on erythropoiesis; blood dyscrasias rare [4]. None of the label texts retrieved mentioned methemoglobin.

Population evidence

No human hemoglobin, hematocrit, red-cell mass or oxygenation study naming piroxicam was retrieved. Majeed and Abass 2017 [21] (Tier B, rats): 40 male Sprague Dawley rats, piroxicam 20, 30 or 40 mg/kg for 45 days; significant decreases in hemoglobin and packed cell volume at higher doses (P under 0.05), with liver and kidney damage on histology (summarizing fetch of the journal page; doses far exceed human equivalents and route details were not read). A 2026 rat study of piroxicam against anthracene-induced hematologic change [35] had no piroxicam-specific numeric result in its abstract and is not relied on.

Mechanism

Per label: occult or gross blood loss, fluid retention (hemodilution) or an incompletely described effect on erythropoiesis [1]. Immune hemolysis is a rare idiosyncratic event listed in labels; no mechanism study for piroxicam was found.

Hard Rule 2 check

Anemia is an outcome and is not filed as iron deficiency or as an oxygen-delivery nutrient deficiency. Any effect is mediated by the Iron entry (blood loss) and the Sodium entry (dilution) and is not counted twice.

Counter-evidence held on record

Counter-evidence and confounding Chronic inflammatory disease lowers hemoglobin independently. The label incidence of anemia was not retrievable with a comparator, and the rat doses are high. Framing caution A monitoring prompt (hemoglobin), not a deficiency claim. No supplement is implied.

ATP production: in vitro inhibition of ATP synthesis with uncoupling in isolated mitochondrial preparations, same source as Mitochondrial burden; no cellular, tissue or human ATP data

Yellow — Low

See study details

A 1999 in vitro study that tested piroxicam directly reports that it stimulated basal and uncoupled respiration, inhibited ATP synthesis and collapsed membrane potential in mitochondria at micromolar concentrations; no study of piroxicam and ATP in intact tissue, exercise capacity or people was found.

Full detail and limits

What the grade means here: Mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class extrapolation (Tier C) with no drug-specific human status data; also used for context flags and interactions running the other direction. Yellow

Limits on what this shows

  • Null and reverse findings: No intact-cell or tissue ATP measurement for piroxicam was found, and no human fatigue, lactate or exercise-capacity study. Burch 1983 [15] found no effect of piroxicam on mitochondrial calcium uptake up to 300 micromolar, a different endpoint that does not test ATP synthesis. In the same 1999 study naproxen had no effect on any mitochondrial parameter, so the effect is not class-wide.

Regulatory status

No ATP or energy-metabolism statement in the US label sections retrieved [1].

Population evidence

None in humans. Moreno-Sanchez 1999 [28] (Tier B, in vitro, piroxicam in the tested set; abstract opened through a PubMed listing page in the PubMed text format): the abstract states that diclofenac, piroxicam, indomethacin, naproxen, nabumetone, nimesulide and meloxicam were tested for effects on mitochondrial respiration, ATP synthesis and membrane potential, in preparations of mitochondria, submitochondrial particles, cells and whole heart, at micromolar concentrations. Except for nabumetone and naproxen, the other five drugs, which include piroxicam, "stimulated basal and uncoupled respiration, inhibited ATP synthesis, and collapsed membrane potential in mitochondria"; the authors conclude that "nimesulide, meloxicam, piroxicam, and indomethacin behaved as mitochondrial uncouplers." Which of the four preparation types gave the piroxicam result, the piroxicam concentrations and the effect sizes are not in the abstract and the full text was not opened. Nadanaciva 2013 [29]: OpenAlex metadata lists piroxicam among the drugs studied, but no abstract text was obtainable, so no result is cited from it.

Mechanism

Named and demonstrated in vitro: protonophore-like uncoupling dissipates the proton gradient that drives ATP synthase, so ATP yield per unit oxygen falls in isolated preparations [28]. Whether free piroxicam concentrations in people reach uncoupling levels is not shown; the drug is about 99% protein bound [1].

Hard Rule 2 and 7 note

This is the drug's own in vitro pharmacology, not a nutrient deficiency and not an energy-nutrient claim. It is kept as its own entry, separate from Mitochondrial burden and Oxygen delivery/utilization, and shares its source with the former (see Overlap map).

Counter-evidence held on record

Counter-evidence Isolated-mitochondria uncoupling at micromolar concentrations is a screening-level finding; cells can compensate for modest uncoupling and plasma protein binding lowers free exposure. The abstract does not state that the piroxicam effect occurred in intact cells or whole heart. Framing caution Mechanistic plausibility only, from one in vitro source. It supports no energy, mitochondrial or CoQ10 supplement, implies no fatigue claim, and is not a deficiency claim. No dose is recommended.

Claims checked and not supported

These circulate online for this medication. They are listed here only so they can be answered, never as findings, and they are not graded.

A claim with no supporting evidence is not necessarily disproven. Where evidence actually argues against a claim, that is stated below.

  • "Piroxicam and other NSAIDs cause iron loss, so iron supplementation may be necessary" (Iron)

    Where it comes from: Consumer health library page on iron and medication interactions [33], Tier D, class-level, no piroxicam citation

    Why it fails: The bleeding pathway is real (Iron entry, yellow), but the claim treats loss as an intake deficiency and points to supplementation. No piroxicam study measured iron status, and anemia or melena on an NSAID calls for finding the bleeding source. The supplementation advice fails as a blanket claim for this drug.

  • Unspecified "nutrient depletion" or blood count effects (any nutrient)

    Where it comes from: Drug information reference page for piroxicam [34], Tier D

    Why it fails: The page lists only the class caution "anemia reported in patients receiving NSAIDs, including piroxicam; may prolong bleeding time; monitor" and no named vitamin, mineral or nutrient depletion. Nothing to verify, and the anemia statement is an outcome (see Oxygen delivery/utilization).

  • Mitochondrial damage, oxidative stress, copper or zinc loss, microbiome disruption, ATP or "low energy" as piroxicam nutrient claims (categories)

    Where it comes from: No consumer page asserting these was retrieved; each is covered by its own entry above

    Why it fails: No circulating claim was found to rebut, so these are graded or left ungraded on their own evidence, not listed as white. The search for consumer claims was cut short by the WebSearch budget and a later pass should repeat it.

How the body handles this medication

Metabolism and enzymes
CYP2C9 is the main enzyme forming 5'-hydroxy-piroxicam, the major metabolite; CYP2C9 polymorphism carriers have higher systemic exposure. The label sections retrieved made no statement that piroxicam induces or inhibits any CYP enzyme. The UK SmPC describes hydroxylation and glucuronic acid conjugation.[1] US label sec 12.3 (read via summarizing fetch); [2] SmPC sec 5.2
Elimination
Plasma half-life about 50 hours; urinary excretion is about twice fecal; about 5% is excreted unchanged (SmPC: less than 5% of the daily dose unchanged in urine and feces). Steady state is approached in 7 to 12 days.[1] sec 12.3; [2] sec 5.2
Absorption and distribution
Well absorbed orally, peak plasma concentration 3 to 5 hours. Food slightly delays the rate but not the extent; aluminum or magnesium hydroxide antacids had no effect on plasma levels. About 99% plasma protein bound, volume of distribution about 0.14 L/kg. No named transporter appeared in the sections retrieved.[1] sec 12.3
Biliary recirculation and binders
In a randomized crossover of 6 healthy volunteers, cholestyramine 24 g/day for 4 days shortened piroxicam half-life from 50.3 to 28.1 hours and raised apparent clearance by 58%, indicating large biliary elimination with recycling. This is a binder-drug interaction in the drug-exposure direction. The US label sections retrieved did not mention it.[7] Benveniste 1990 (abstract); [8] Guentert 1988 (study setup only)
Renal and electrolyte handling
Label: renal papillary necrosis and other renal injury with long-term NSAID use, increased serum potassium including hyperkalemia, fluid retention and edema, and reduced natriuretic effect of loop and thiazide diuretics. Mild to moderate renal impairment may not need dose adjustment; pharmacokinetics in severe renal insufficiency or hemodialysis are not known; hepatic impairment effects are not established.[1] sec 5.5, 5.6, 7, 8
Cyclodextrin formulation
Piroxicam betadex (piroxicam-beta-cyclodextrin, 191.2 mg tablet equals 20 mg piroxicam) has Tmax of 1.1 to 2.25 hours depending on formulation, versus 3 to 5 hours for the capsule, and comparable elimination half-life (52 to 54 hours). The monograph states beta-cyclodextrin was not detected in plasma or urine at the therapeutic dose. Animal data showed faster absorption and higher peak levels for the complex; that source gave no GI tolerance data. This formulation is not the US capsule.[4] Health Canada Brexidol monograph, rev. 2011; [9] Acerbi 1990 (abstract, animal)

What the research says is worth watching

General information from the medication label and the studies above. It is not personal medical advice, and any change belongs with your prescriber.

  • Lab / label

    Hemoglobin and hematocrit

    The label directs hemoglobin or hematocrit checks if signs of anemia occur [1]. Add ferritin and transferrin saturation if anemia is found, because anemia alone does not show iron deficiency. New iron deficiency in an adult warrants evaluation for GI blood loss rather than assumption of a drug cause.

  • Symptoms

    GI bleeding signs

    Black or tarry stool, blood in the stool, epigastric pain or vomiting blood should be reported promptly [1]. Highest concern with anticoagulants, antiplatelets, SSRIs, prior GI bleeding or older age; the UK SmPC makes piroxicam a non-first-line NSAID [2].

  • Lab / renal

    Potassium and creatinine

    Worth checking potassium and kidney function when piroxicam is combined with an ACE inhibitor, ARB or potassium-sparing diuretic, or in chronic kidney disease, diabetes or dehydration [1][4]. Retention is the risk; potassium supplements and potassium-based salt substitutes are the hazard, not the remedy.

  • Lab / volume

    Sodium, blood pressure and edema

    Edema, weight gain or a rising blood pressure can signal fluid retention [1]. In older adults, heart failure or people on diuretics, serum sodium is reasonable to check if symptoms of low sodium appear. No salt or fluid change without the prescriber.

  • Interaction timing

    Bile acid binders

    Cholestyramine cut piroxicam half-life from 50.3 to 28.1 hours in healthy volunteers [7], so exposure falls. This is a drug-exposure interaction, not a nutrient effect, and no separation interval was established in the sources read. Ask the prescriber or pharmacist before combining a binder with piroxicam.

  • Genetics / exposure

    CYP2C9 and long half-life

    CYP2C9 polymorphism carriers have higher exposure and the half-life is about 50 hours, with steady state in 7 to 12 days [1]. Adverse effects can take days to resolve after stopping.

Overlap map, to prevent double counting

Entries that rest on the same underlying source or mechanism.

  • Iron

    Shares evidence with: Oxygen delivery/utilization

    Note: Same mechanism (GI blood loss) and same label anemia text [1]. Anemia is counted as an outcome once under Oxygen delivery/utilization, and the bleeding sources [10][11][12] sit under Iron. These are not independent confirmations.

  • Sodium

    Shares evidence with: Potassium; Oxygen delivery/utilization

    Note: Shared label renal and fluid retention sections (5.5, 5.6, 7) [1] and the same rat study [22] (sodium and potassium both from one 21-day experiment). Fluid retention is also listed in the label as a cause of anemia.

  • Mitochondrial burden

    Shares evidence with: Oxidative stress; ATP production

    Note: Abdeen 2020 [16] supports both the mitochondrial dysfunction statement and the oxidative marker changes. The ATP production entry rests on Moreno-Sanchez 1999 [28] alone, which measured uncoupling, ATP synthesis and membrane potential together, so the uncoupling mechanism cited under Mitochondrial burden and the ATP result are one source, not two independent lines of evidence. Herminghaus [27] is a secondary statement only.

  • Oxidative stress

    Shares evidence with: Copper

    Note: Sordelli 1993 [18] appears in both: its SOD-like activity belongs to the copper complex and is not independent evidence of an antioxidant or pro-oxidant effect of piroxicam alone.

  • Copper

    Shares evidence with: Zinc (ungraded)

    Note: One trace-element study [20] bears on both (no NSAID-group change in serum copper, selenium or zinc) and is disease-confounded.

  • Cyclodextrin formulation (ungraded)

    Shares evidence with: Pharmacokinetic basis

    Note: Same Brexidol monograph [4] and animal absorption study [9].

  • Gut microbiome risk

    Shares evidence with: None

    Note: No shared source. Biliary recirculation [7] is cited only as a possibility, not as evidence.

  • Folate

    Shares evidence with: None

    Note: Stands alone on one in vitro source [23].

All references used above
  1. Piroxicam capsules, prescribing information (DailyMed, Teva Pharmaceuticals USA, setid f1123fe1-b79c-430b-8548-08cd6e518482).
  2. Piroxicam Capsules 20 mg, Summary of Product Characteristics (electronic medicines compendium, UK).
  3. Feldene (piroxicam) 20 mg/mL solution for intramuscular injection, product label (Pfizer labeling site).
  4. BREXIDOL 20 (piroxicam-beta-cyclodextrin) product monograph (Health Canada Drug Product Database PDF).Older monograph and not the US formulation; used for the formulation notes.
  5. WHO Collaborating Centre, ATC/DDD Index: piroxicam, M01AC01 (oxicams), DDD 20 mg (O, P, R).
  6. Wikipedia. Piroxicam.
  7. Benveniste C, Striberni R, Dayer P. Indirect assessment of the enterohepatic recirculation of piroxicam and tenoxicam. Eur J Clin Pharmacol 1990.
  8. Guentert TW, Defoin R, Mosberg H. The influence of cholestyramine on the elimination of tenoxicam and piroxicam. Eur J Clin Pharmacol 1988.Abstract incompletely read; no values taken from it.
  9. Acerbi D. Pharmacokinetic profile of piroxicam-beta-cyclodextrin. Drug Investigation 1990.
  10. Patoia L, Santucci L, Furno P, et al. A 4-week, double-blind, parallel-group study to compare the gastrointestinal effects of meloxicam 7.5 mg, meloxicam 15 mg, piroxicam 20 mg and placebo by means of faecal blood loss, endoscopy and symptom evaluation in healthy volunteers. Br J Rheumatol 1996.
  11. Castellsague J, Riera-Guardia N, Calingaert B, et al. Individual NSAIDs and upper gastrointestinal complications: a systematic review and meta-analysis of observational studies (the SOS project). Drug Saf 2012.
  12. Castellsague J, Pisa FE, Rosolen V, et al. Risk of upper gastrointestinal complications in a cohort of users of nimesulide and other nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drugs in Friuli Venezia Giulia, Italy. Pharmacoepidemiol Drug Saf 2012.
  13. Upadhyay R, Torley HI, McKinlay AW, Sturrock RD, Russell RI. Iron deficiency anaemia in patients with rheumatic disease receiving non-steroidal anti-inflammatory drugs: the role of upper gastrointestinal lesions. Ann Rheum Dis 49(6):359.Excluded cohort: no individual NSAID, including piroxicam, named in the fetched text. Not used for any claim beyond this exclusion note.
  14. Safarova KN, Dorogoykina KD, Rebrov AP. Is anemia a clinical marker of NSAIDs-induced upper gastrointestinal lesions in patients with spondyloarthritis? Almanac of Clinical Medicine 2019;47(5).Excluded cohort: specific NSAIDs not stated. Used only as a confounding note (anemia tracked inflammation).
  15. Burch RM, Wise WC, Halushka PV. Prostaglandin-independent inhibition of calcium transport by nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drugs: differential effects of carboxylic acids and piroxicam. J Pharmacol Exp Ther 1983;227(1):84-91.
  16. Abdeen A, Abdelkader A, Elgazzar D, et al. Coenzyme Q10 supplementation mitigates piroxicam-induced oxidative injury and apoptotic pathways in the stomach, liver, and kidney. Biomed Pharmacother 2020.
  17. Yunita MN, Plumeriastuti H, Agustono B, et al. The protective effects of garlic (Allium sativum var. Solo Garlic) extract mitigates piroxicam-induced liver damage and oxidative stress in rats. Open Vet J 2025;15(3):1349-1357.
  18. Sordelli DO, Fontan P, Amura CR. Piroxicam-copper complexes: inhibition of polymorphonuclear leukocyte migration to Pseudomonas aeruginosa chemotactins in vivo and superoxide dismutase-like activity in vitro. Agents Actions 1993;38(3-4).
  19. Cini R, Tamasi G, Defazio S, Hursthouse MB. Unusual coordinating behavior by three non-steroidal anti-inflammatory drugs from the oxicam family towards copper(II). J Inorg Biochem 2007.
  20. Effects of different medical treatments on serum copper, selenium and zinc levels in patients with rheumatoid arthritis. Biol Trace Elem Res 2011;142(3):447-455.Cohort test: piroxicam not named, so Tier C null only; no grade rests on it.
  21. Majeed LMA, Abass AK. Biological effects of different doses of piroxicam in albino male rats. Iraqi J Sci 58(2C), 2017.
  22. Airhomwanbor KO, Idehen CI, Omolumen LE, et al. Effects of ginger and piroxicam administration on the electrolyte, urea and creatinine levels of Wistar albino rats with renal pathology. Am J Biomed Sci Res 2023.Journal quality and the "renal pathology" model design were not verified.
  23. Baggott JE, Morgan SL, Ha T, Vaughn WH, Hine RJ. Inhibition of folate-dependent enzymes by non-steroidal anti-inflammatory drugs. Biochem J 1992.Full text not opened. The sibling meloxicam dossier read the same abstract as not listing meloxicam; piroxicam is listed here.
  24. Huemer M, Fodinger M, Huemer C, et al. Hyperhomocysteinemia in children with juvenile idiopathic arthritis is not influenced by methotrexate treatment and folic acid supplementation: a pilot study. Clin Exp Rheumatol 2003.Excluded: piroxicam was not the studied exposure. Mentioned only to record the null channel.
  25. Le Bastard Q, Al-Ghalith GA, Gregoire M, et al. Systematic review: human gut dysbiosis induced by non-antibiotic prescription medications. Aliment Pharmacol Ther 2018.Cohort test: piroxicam not named. Class extrapolation only.
  26. Hutka B, Lazar B, Toth AS, et al. The nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drug ketorolac alters the small intestinal microbiota and bile acids without inducing intestinal damage or delaying peristalsis in the rat. Front Pharmacol 2021;12:664177.Excluded cohort for piroxicam: ketorolac was the only NSAID studied. Class extrapolation only.
  27. Herminghaus A, Buitenhuis AJ, Schulz J, et al. Indomethacin increases the efficacy of oxygen utilization of colonic mitochondria and uncouples hepatic mitochondria in tissue homogenates from healthy rats. Front Med 2020;7:463.Excluded cohort: piroxicam not studied; the sentence on piroxicam is a discussion statement without data. Not graded on.
  28. Moreno-Sanchez R, Bravo C, Vasquez-Trincado C, Ayala G, Silveira LH, Martinez-Lavin M. Inhibition and uncoupling of oxidative phosphorylation by nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drugs: study in mitochondria, submitochondrial particles, cells, and whole heart. Biochem Pharmacol 1999;57(7):743-752.Full text not opened and closed access: preparation type, concentrations and effect sizes for piroxicam are not known. Only the abstract-level statements are used. Same source supports the Mitochondrial burden and ATP production entries (see Overlap map).
  29. Nadanaciva S, Aleo MD, Strock CJ, et al. Toxicity assessments of nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drugs in isolated mitochondria, rat hepatocytes, and zebrafish show good concordance across chemical classes. Toxicol Appl Pharmacol 2013.Not opened as text: OpenAlex record had no abstract. Piroxicam listed in keywords only. No result is cited from it.
  30. Han H, Ro DH, Han HS, Won S. Overall compilation of adverse effects of non-steroidal anti-inflammatory drugs: a hypothesis-free systematic investigation using a nationwide cohort study. Front Pharmacol 2025.Excluded cohort: the five NSAIDs were aceclofenac, meloxicam, loxoprofen, celecoxib and naproxen; piroxicam was not studied. Cited in the meloxicam dossier; not used here.
  31. Moore RA, Derry S, McQuay HJ. Faecal blood loss with aspirin, nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drugs and cyclo-oxygenase-2 selective inhibitors: systematic review of randomized trials using autologous 51-chromium labelled erythrocytes. Arthritis Res Ther 2008.Abstract (OpenAlex, summarizing fetch) does not name piroxicam; the Springer and PMC full-text pages returned 429 or reCAPTCHA. Not used for piroxicam.
  32. Lafrance JP, Miller DR. Dispensed selective and nonselective nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drugs and the risk of moderate to severe hyperkalemia: a nested case-control study. Am J Kidney Dis 2012;60(1):82-89.Not opened as text: Crossref and OpenAlex had no abstract. Piroxicam cohort status unconfirmed, so no finding is taken from it.
  33. Consumer health library page on iron and medication interactions (PeaceHealth; the same page id appears on the University of Michigan Health site).
  34. RxList consumer drug information page for piroxicam (Feldene), reviewed 1/28/2025.
  35. Anthony UM, Saganuwan SA, Ahur VM, Akande T. Protective effects of piroxicam against anthracene-induced haematological and biochemical alteration in female rats. Folia Vet 2026;70(1).Not relied on for any claim.
  36. The structural basis for nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drug inhibition of human dihydrofolate reductase. 2020.Piroxicam not discussed in the abstract; no finding taken beyond that.