Skip to main content

Oxcarbazepine

antiepileptic, carboxamide derivative

Also sold as Trileptal, Oxtellar XR.

Findings for this medication

Research about this medication, graded for how strongly each finding can be attributed to it. Nothing here describes your own levels.

Oxcarbazepine's dominant, best-documented nutrient-adjacent signal is not a vitamin or mineral deficiency at all: it is dilutional, drug-induced hyponatremia. The FDA label reports that 2.5 percent of Trileptal-treated patients (38 of 1524) across 14 controlled epilepsy trials developed a serum sodium below 125 mmol/L, versus zero such patients on placebo, with postmarketing cases of frank SIADH. Independent literature, including a 2025 multicenter machine-learning study built specifically to predict which oxcarbazepine users become hyponatremic, and pediatric cohort studies documenting age- and dose-related risk, confirms this is a real, drug-specific, dose-related effect, generally emerging within the first three months but capable of appearing more than a year into treatment. This is graded red, but it runs in the opposite direction from the disorders this database mostly tracks: it is a water-retention effect, not a sodium-deficiency effect, and sodium supplementation is not the corrective response.

antiepileptic, carboxamide derivative · ATC N03AF02 · also sold as Trileptal and Oxtellar XR · reviewed 2026-09-29. This describes research about the medication. It does not say anything about your own levels or health.

How to read the evidence grades

These colours describe how strongly a finding can be attributed to the medication in the research. They are not a severity score and they say nothing about your own health.

Grades describe how strongly a finding can be attributed to Oxcarbazepine in the research — not how common it is, how serious it would be, and not anything about you personally.

Red — Severe
Two or more independent Tier A sources, this drug in the cohort, the nutrient directly measured, consistent direction, clinically meaningful magnitude, a named mechanism, no substantial contradicting Tier A evidence.
Orange — Moderate
At least one Tier A source with this drug in the cohort showing a real but bounded deficit: an exposure window, a subgroup, low frequency, or a functional rather than circulating deficit.
Yellow — Low
Mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class extrapolation (Tier C) with no drug-specific human status data; also used for context flags and interactions running the other direction.
Not graded — disclosed evidence gap
Nothing has been measured here, so this finding cannot be graded. That does not establish either safety or harm, and it is not the same as a White result.Source definition: Not gradeable under the rules above because nothing has been measured. Published as a documented gap, never as reassurance that there is no effect.

What the research found

Sodium, dilutional hyponatremia and SIADH-type risk

Red — Severe

See study details

Oxcarbazepine substantially raises the risk of clinically significant hyponatremia (serum sodium below 125 mmol/L), through an antidiuretic, water-retention mechanism, not through dietary sodium loss.

Full detail and limits

What the grade means here: Two or more independent Tier A sources, this drug in the cohort, the nutrient directly measured, consistent direction, clinically meaningful magnitude, a named mechanism, no substantial contradicting Tier A evidence. Red

Limits on what this shows

  • Key negative/null: None identified; direction is consistent across all sources reviewed. Magnitude estimates vary with the sodium threshold and population used, which bounds precision rather than contradicting the finding.
  • At-risk subgroups: Older adults; patients on diuretics, SSRIs, or other sodium-lowering drugs (label); higher oxcarbazepine dose; first three months of therapy, though onset beyond one year is documented.
  • Counter-evidence on record: None contradicting direction. Recovery is generally rapid, label notes serum sodium normalized within days of discontinuation in trial patients who stopped for this reason, without additional treatment, supporting a reversible, mechanism-consistent effect rather than a structural injury.

Regulatory status

FDA label carries a dedicated Warnings and Precautions section for hyponatremia; states 2.5 percent (38/1524) of Trileptal-treated patients in 14 controlled epilepsy trials had sodium below 125 mmol/L, versus no such patients on placebo or active control.

Population evidence

Pooled RCT data, n=1524 treated. Jung et al., Seizure, 2025, a multicenter real-world common-data-model cohort of adult epilepsy patients, built a machine-learning model specifically to predict oxcarbazepine-induced hyponatremia. Van Amelsvoort et al., Epilepsia, 1994, a review of oxcarbazepine and carbamazepine hyponatremia literature reporting incidence estimates roughly 4.8 to 40 percent depending on definition, dose, and population, with oxcarbazepine specifically in the reviewed cohort. Holtmann et al., Neuropediatrics, 2003, and Lee et al., Korean Journal of Pediatrics, 2008, both pediatric cohorts documenting age- and dose-related hyponatremia with oxcarbazepine, including after switching from carbamazepine.

Mechanism

Named: SIADH-type enhancement of renal free-water reabsorption (antidiuretic-hormone-like effect), not tubular sodium wasting or reduced intake. Postmarketing cases of overt SIADH are recorded in the label.

Counter-evidence held on record

This is an excess-retention, dilutional risk, not a sodium deficiency. Increasing dietary or supplemental sodium is not the correct response and could obscure or worsen the underlying fluid-balance problem. A low sodium value on this drug calls for medical evaluation, and possible dose review or discontinuation, not sodium supplementation.

Bone mineral density and fracture risk, long-term therapy

Orange — Moderate

See study details

Long-term Trileptal therapy carries an FDA-labeled postmarketing signal for decreased bone mineral density, osteoporosis, and fractures. This is a clinical-outcome report, not a direct measurement of vitamin D or calcium status, and is written up here as an outcome per protocol, not as a nutrient-deficiency claim.

Full detail and limits

What the grade means here: At least one Tier A source with this drug in the cohort showing a real but bounded deficit: an exposure window, a subgroup, low frequency, or a functional rather than circulating deficit. Orange

Limits on what this shows

  • Key negative/null: Vurucu et al., Open Medicine, 2009 (n=32, pediatric, oxcarbazepine monotherapy) found no significant change in bone mineral density versus baseline.
  • At-risk subgroups: The label ties the signal specifically to long-term therapy; the null study was pediatric and comparatively short-duration, so it does not resolve risk for adults on decade-scale treatment, which is the population the postmarketing reports most likely reflect.
  • Counter-evidence on record: Vurucu et al. 2009 as above. The tension between a long-duration, adult-inclusive postmarketing signal and a small, short-duration, pediatric-only null study is disclosed rather than resolved.

Regulatory status

FDA label, postmarketing experience: "reports of decreased bone mineral density, osteoporosis, and fractures in patients on long-term therapy with TRILEPTAL."

Population evidence

Spontaneous postmarketing reports only; no rate, denominator, or controlled comparison is given in the label, which bounds this entry to orange rather than red.

Mechanism

Not specified by the label. A plausible candidate is CYP3A4/UGT-mediated vitamin D catabolism, the mechanism established for carbamazepine, but oxcarbazepine's own induction is materially weaker (see Vitamin D entry below), and the label does not attribute the BMD signal to any specific nutrient pathway.

Counter-evidence held on record

This is a fracture/BMD outcome signal, not a proven vitamin D or calcium deficiency. It should prompt a bone-health conversation with a prescriber for long-term users, not self-directed high-dose calcium or vitamin D supplementation.

Vitamin D

Yellow — Low

See study details

Oxcarbazepine induces hepatic CYP3A4/UGT enzymes enough to lower hormonal contraceptive levels, the same enzyme family implicated in carbamazepine's vitamin D-inactivating effect; whether this extends to clinically meaningful vitamin D depletion has not been directly tested for oxcarbazepine.

Full detail and limits

What the grade means here: Mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class extrapolation (Tier C) with no drug-specific human status data; also used for context flags and interactions running the other direction. Yellow

Limits on what this shows

  • Key negative/null: Vurucu et al. 2009 found no change in bone mineral density, a downstream functional marker, in oxcarbazepine monotherapy; this is imperfect counter-evidence since serum vitamin D itself was not measured in that study (Hard Rule 3 caveat).
  • At-risk subgroups: None established for oxcarbazepine specifically. Class literature (carbamazepine, phenytoin, phenobarbital) flags long-term users, limited sun exposure, and AED polytherapy.
  • Counter-evidence on record: A professional pharmacist continuing-education review of anticonvulsant-associated nutrient depletion names carbamazepine, phenytoin, and phenobarbital for calcium/vitamin D effects, and explicitly does not name oxcarbazepine.

Regulatory status

Label documents CYP3A4/UGT induction via the oral-contraceptive interaction but does not mention vitamin D.

Population evidence

No drug-specific study measuring serum 25(OH)D in oxcarbazepine-treated patients was located after searches across Europe PMC, Crossref, and PubMed.

Mechanism

Named, weaker version of the CYP3A4-mediated vitamin D catabolism mechanism established for carbamazepine (a Tier A, class-level finding for that drug). Oxcarbazepine's own induction of CYP3A4/UGT is independently confirmed by the label (oral contraceptive interaction), so the pathway is plausible in principle, though unconfirmed for this specific nutrient with this specific drug.

Counter-evidence held on record

Do not assume carbamazepine's vitamin D data transfers to oxcarbazepine at the same magnitude. A clinician-ordered 25(OH)D level, not self-directed supplementation, is the appropriate way to assess this individually. No dose is recommended here.

The five body-system areas

Each finding is counted once, in a single area. Where a study is mentioned in a second area it is context only.

Mitochondrial Burden

Each finding below is counted once, in this area only.

Mitochondrial burden

Yellow — Low

See study details

A pharmacology review of antiepileptic drugs and mitochondrial disorders names oxcarbazepine, without mechanism or severity detail, among the AEDs other than valproate that may affect mitochondrial metabolism.

Full detail, limits and 1 references

What the grade means here: Mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class extrapolation (Tier C) with no drug-specific human status data; also used for context flags and interactions running the other direction. Yellow

Limits on what this shows

  • Key negative/null: The same reference explicitly separates oxcarbazepine from valproate's well-characterized, more severe mitochondrial toxicity, an implicit bound on this entry.
  • At-risk subgroups: Patients with pre-existing mitochondrial disease, per the reference's overall clinical framing.
  • Counter-evidence on record: None specific to oxcarbazepine identified.

Regulatory status

Not addressed in the label.

Population evidence

Finsterer and Zarrouk Mahjoub, Expert Opinion on Drug Metabolism and Toxicology, 2012, an established pharmacology reference on AEDs and mitochondrial disorders, names oxcarbazepine specifically in a list of drugs that "may affect the mitochondrial metabolism" (Tier B, drug named, no quantification).

Mechanism

Not specified for oxcarbazepine. The best-established AED mitochondrial mechanism is valproate's carnitine-dependent interference with beta-oxidation, a pathway that does not apply to oxcarbazepine's chemistry.

Counter-evidence held on record

This is a general, unquantified listing, not evidence of clinically meaningful mitochondrial toxicity from oxcarbazepine, and should not be read as comparable in severity to valproate's mitochondrial risk.

Oxidative Stress

Each finding below is counted once, in this area only.

Oxidative stress

Yellow — Low

See study details

Two studies, one in oxcarbazepine-treated epilepsy patients and one in an oxcarbazepine-dosed seizure model, specifically investigated oxidative stress, but this review could not retrieve their full findings to confirm the direction or magnitude of effect.

Full detail, limits and 1 references

What the grade means here: Mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class extrapolation (Tier C) with no drug-specific human status data; also used for context flags and interactions running the other direction. Yellow

Limits on what this shows

  • Key negative/null: Not retrievable; neither abstract could be accessed during this review.
  • At-risk subgroups: Not determinable from available data.
  • Counter-evidence on record: Not retrievable; disclosed as a genuine access limitation, not folded into a higher-confidence grade.

Regulatory status

Not addressed in the label.

Population evidence

Bolayir et al., Methods and Findings in Experimental and Clinical Pharmacology, 2004, human epileptic patients treated with oxcarbazepine, oxidative stress parameters measured per the title (Tier A: drug in cohort, direct measurement). Agarwal et al., Seizure, 2011, PTZ-kindled mice dosed with oxcarbazepine among other AEDs, oxidative stress markers measured (Tier B, animal, drug in cohort).

Mechanism

Not confirmed from retrievable metadata. Oxidative stress in epilepsy is plausible in either direction: seizures themselves generate oxidative stress, and AEDs are variably reported as pro-oxidant or protective depending on the compound; no oxcarbazepine-specific mechanism could be confirmed here.

Counter-evidence held on record

This entry reflects that dedicated, drug-specific research exists, not that a specific harmful or protective effect is confirmed. Treat as an open question pending full-text verification, not as evidence that oxcarbazepine requires antioxidant supplementation.

Copper and Iron Balance

Copper and iron are assessed separately. Nothing here is counted twice.

Copper, zinc/copper ratio, combination-therapy bound

Orange — Moderate

See study details

A pediatric epilepsy cohort that included oxcarbazepine in a combination-drug arm found a significantly altered serum zinc/copper ratio compared with other drug combinations; oxcarbazepine's own specific contribution to the copper side of that ratio, versus zinc or versus the other two drugs in the same regimen, is not resolved.

Full detail, limits and 1 references

What the grade means here: At least one Tier A source with this drug in the cohort showing a real but bounded deficit: an exposure window, a subgroup, low frequency, or a functional rather than circulating deficit. Orange

Limits on what this shows

  • Key negative/null: None identified; the abstract does not report a null comparison isolating oxcarbazepine from its two combination partners.
  • At-risk subgroups: Pediatric patients on multi-drug regimens that include oxcarbazepine, per this cohort; not established for oxcarbazepine monotherapy or adult patients.
  • Counter-evidence on record: None identified. This entry is deliberately not built on the class-level 1983 and 2003 hypercupraemia/ceruloplasmin literature cited in the companion carbamazepine dossier, both of which were confirmed, by direct record check, to have studied carbamazepine, phenytoin, phenobarbital, and valproic acid but not oxcarbazepine; that class literature is background only and is not the evidentiary basis for this grade.

Regulatory status

Not addressed in the FDA label.

Population evidence

Bakri AH, Meki AMA, Nassar AY, Hassan MH, Ellisy RAM, Radwan E, Ameen HH, Nasser SA, Abd-Elmawgood EA. Clin Lab, 2023 (PMID 37948472), "Validity of Serum Zinc/Copper Ratio as a Potential Novel Biomarker in Childhood Epilepsy." 100 epileptic children (50 pharmacoresistant, 50 pharmacoresponsive) versus age- and gender-matched healthy controls; drugs studied were levetiracetam, sodium valproate, and oxcarbazepine, alone and in combination. Children treated with the levetiracetam/sodium valproate/oxcarbazepine triple combination had a significantly higher zinc/copper ratio than those on levetiracetam alone or levetiracetam plus sodium valproate (p less than 0.05 for both comparisons). Oxcarbazepine appears in this cohort only as part of that triple combination; no oxcarbazepine-monotherapy arm is described. Epileptic children overall had a significantly lower zinc/copper ratio than healthy controls, with 64 percent sensitivity and 85 percent specificity at a cutoff of 1.118 for distinguishing epilepsy from controls.

Mechanism

Not established for oxcarbazepine specifically. A ratio finding does not by itself indicate whether copper, zinc, or both moved, or in which direction each moved; raw serum copper and zinc concentrations were not available in the accessible abstract.

Counter-evidence held on record

Direction is not established: this is not confirmed evidence of either copper deficiency or copper excess for oxcarbazepine specifically. No copper dose is given because none applies; an abnormal copper or ceruloplasmin result on this drug calls for medical evaluation, not self-directed copper supplementation or avoidance.

Iron

Not graded — disclosed evidence gap

See study details

Iron

Full detail and limits

What the grade means here: Nothing has been measured here, so this finding cannot be graded. That does not establish either safety or harm, and it is not the same as a White result. Ungraded

Limits on what this shows

  • Why no grade: Dual condition met: no Tier B/C evidence found to support even a yellow grade, and no circulating consumer claim was found to rebut as white. Re-confirmed on this repair pass with a fresh, genuine multi-channel search; Copper, Gut microbiome risk, and ATP production, previously grouped with Iron as ungraded, were each upgraded this pass (see above) and Iron alone remains ungraded.

Channels tried

This repair pass: PubMed search-listing pages queried as "oxcarbazepine iron ferritin" (zero results) and "oxcarbazepine iron" (3 results returned: a restless-legs-syndrome review naming oxcarbazepine only in a drug list with no iron-mechanism content, an unrelated adjunctive-therapy trial, and an unrelated analytical-chemistry assay method; none support a copper or iron claim for this drug). Crossref API query ("oxcarbazepine iron deficiency anemia") returned successfully, all results were general iron-deficiency-anemia reference chapters with no antiepileptic drug named. Europe PMC and the OpenAlex search endpoint were both rate-limited (HTTP 429) on every attempt this pass, consistent with the organization-level access constraint noted in the original review; OpenAlex per-record lookups worked where a specific candidate PMID was already known, but no Iron-specific candidate PMID was surfaced to look up this way. DailyMed label re-checked, no iron or hematinic mention. The consumer circulating-claim sources already in this dossier's Sources list (Drugs.com, U.S. Pharmacist continuing-education review) were reviewed for this pass and, as previously found, surface a sodium/hyponatremia warning only, with no iron claim to rebut.

Assessment

Genuine gap, not a tooling artifact: the successful Crossref and PubMed queries this pass returned real, on-topic results and none supported any drug-specific or class-level iron connection. This mirrors the companion carbamazepine dossier, where the same drug-mugging-style "iron deficiency" claim was traced to a conflation with that drug's labeled marrow-suppression risk and explicitly rebutted as white; oxcarbazepine's own rare postmarketing aplastic anemia/pancytopenia signal (see Oxygen delivery/utilization, orange, above) is the same category of idiosyncratic marrow toxicity, not iron-deficiency anemia, and is not counted as iron evidence here. Europe PMC and OpenAlex search access remain blocked at an apparent organization level; a future revision with restored access to those two channels specifically is the most useful next re-check.

Gut Microbiome Risk

Each finding below is counted once, in this area only.

Gut microbiome risk

Yellow — Low

See study details

A small pediatric cohort on oxcarbazepine monotherapy found a significant difference in intestinal flora between treated children and healthy controls; whether this reflects a treatment effect or baseline, disease-associated dysbiosis could not be resolved because full-text access was blocked during this review. Supporting, non-drug-specific carbamazepine-class evidence for AED-gut microbiome effects exists but does not itself name oxcarbazepine.

Full detail, limits and 4 references

What the grade means here: Mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class extrapolation (Tier C) with no drug-specific human status data; also used for context flags and interactions running the other direction. Yellow

Limits on what this shows

  • Key negative/null: Not retrievable; the specific before-versus-after-treatment comparison in Gong 2022, which would most directly test a drug effect independent of baseline disease status, could not be confirmed from the accessible abstract.
  • At-risk subgroups: Pediatric, newly diagnosed focal epilepsy, per the one drug-specific cohort located; not established for adults or longer-term use.
  • Counter-evidence on record: Per Hard Rule 6, confounding by indication is presumed until excluded: epilepsy itself, independent of any specific drug, has its own reported microbiome associations in the literature, and this review could not confirm from the accessible text that the Gong 2022 finding survives that presumption.

Regulatory status

Not addressed in the label.

Population evidence

Gong SZ, Qiu J, Wu LW, Tan LH. Zhongguo Dang Dai Er Ke Za Zhi (Chinese Journal of Contemporary Pediatrics), 2022 (PMID 35351260, DOI 10.7499/j.issn.1008-8830.2109134). Ten children with newly diagnosed focal epilepsy, all treated with oxcarbazepine alone (monotherapy, Tier A by cohort/design), versus 14 age-matched healthy controls; fecal 16S rDNA sequencing performed before and three months after treatment start. The accessible abstract states a significant difference (p less than 0.05) in intestinal flora between the epilepsy group and healthy controls; it does not, in the portion this review could access, separately state whether the specific pre-treatment-to-post-treatment comparison (the arm that would isolate a drug effect from baseline disease-associated dysbiosis) reached significance or in which direction, and specific bacterial taxa were not retrievable. Full text was blocked by a bot-verification page on both the PMC and HAL mirrors attempted. Class-level, non-oxcarbazepine-specific corroboration: Ilhan ZE, Brochard V, Lapaque N, Auvin S, Lepage P. Neurobiol Dis, 2022 (PMID 35183703), an in vitro screen naming carbamazepine, lamotrigine, and topiramate (not oxcarbazepine, per the accessible abstract and full-text access attempts, both blocked) as reducing growth of gut bacterial strains. Dop C, Auvin S, Mondot S, Lepage P, Ilhan ZE. ISME Commun, 2024 (PMID 39526134, open access), a longitudinal fecal-microcosm study confirming only carbamazepine, valproic acid, and levetiracetam were tested, oxcarbazepine confirmed absent from this cohort. Zammar K, AbuAlrob MA, Ali M, Lattanzi S, Mesraoua B. Epilepsia Open, 2026 (PMID 42541365), a narrative review naming oxcarbazepine among ASMs subject to microbiome-mediated biotransformation and a proposed bidirectional dysbiosis-pharmacoresistance cycle, without oxcarbazepine-specific primary data (Tier C for the drug-affects-microbiome direction specifically).

Mechanism

Not established specifically for oxcarbazepine. Proposed at the class level: direct antimicrobial-adjacent activity of some AEDs on gut bacterial growth (demonstrated for carbamazepine in vitro) and microbiome-mediated biotransformation of ASMs including oxcarbazepine (Zammar 2026, mechanism named in the reverse direction, microbiome acting on the drug, not confirmed as drug-on-microbiome for oxcarbazepine specifically).

Counter-evidence held on record

Not a basis for probiotic or other supplement recommendations. This entry reflects that a drug-specific study exists and reported a significant flora difference, not that oxcarbazepine has been confirmed to cause gut dysbiosis independent of the underlying epilepsy.

Oxygen and ATP Output

Oxygen delivery and ATP production are assessed separately. Nothing here is counted twice.

Oxygen delivery/utilization, idiosyncratic blood dyscrasias

Orange — Moderate

See study details

Rare postmarketing reports link Trileptal to aplastic anemia, pancytopenia, and agranulocytosis, each of which can reduce red-cell mass and oxygen-carrying capacity. This is idiosyncratic bone marrow toxicity, not a nutrient-mediated effect, and is written up as a clinical outcome, not a deficiency.

Full detail and limits

What the grade means here: At least one Tier A source with this drug in the cohort showing a real but bounded deficit: an exposure window, a subgroup, low frequency, or a functional rather than circulating deficit. Orange

Limits on what this shows

  • Key negative/null: None identified; rarity itself, not a null study, is the main bound on this entry.
  • At-risk subgroups: Not defined by dose or duration in the label; treated as idiosyncratic rather than dose-dependent.
  • Counter-evidence on record: None identified.

Regulatory status

FDA label, postmarketing experience, lists aplastic anemia, thrombocytopenia, pancytopenia, agranulocytosis, and leukopenia as rare events, and recommends considering discontinuation if they develop.

Population evidence

Postmarketing spontaneous reports only (label). Jang, Korean Journal of Pediatrics, 2019, a drug-specific editorial, argues for active hematologic monitoring in oxcarbazepine-treated patients, indicating this is a recognized, ongoing clinical concern specific to this drug; full text could not be retrieved during this review (see Sources).

Mechanism

Not nutrient-related. Idiosyncratic or immune-mediated bone marrow suppression is the presumed mechanism for AED-associated blood dyscrasias generally; no iron, B12, or copper deficiency pathway is implicated.

Counter-evidence held on record

A falling hemoglobin, unusual bruising, or recurrent infection on this drug warrants a CBC and prompt medical evaluation, not iron or B12 supplementation. This is not a deficiency state, and supplementation would not address it.

ATP production

Yellow — Low

See study details

A direct in vitro study measuring intracellular ATP by HPLC in oxcarbazepine-exposed hippocampal neurons found a significant, oxcarbazepine-specific decrease not seen with carbamazepine or two comparator compounds tested in the same experiment, though overall energy charge was not altered. Capped at yellow because this is cell-culture, not human, evidence.

Full detail, limits and 1 references

What the grade means here: Mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class extrapolation (Tier C) with no drug-specific human status data; also used for context flags and interactions running the other direction. Yellow

Limits on what this shows

  • Key negative/null: Energy charge, a ratio reflecting the cell's adenylate pool balance rather than absolute ATP, was not altered despite the absolute ATP decrease; this tempers the finding and is reported here rather than omitted. Carbamazepine, tested in the same experiment at the same concentration, did not significantly lower ATP, a direct within-study negative comparator.
  • At-risk subgroups: Not established for human use; this is a single in vitro concentration (300 micromolar) in rodent neurons, not a human exposure level.
  • Counter-evidence on record: None identified beyond the energy-charge null noted above. Cell-culture-only evidence is itself the reason this stays capped at yellow rather than advancing further.

Regulatory status

Not addressed in the label.

Population evidence

Araujo IM, Ambrosio AF, Leal EC, Verdasca MJ, Malva JO, Soares-da-Silva P, Carvalho AP, Carvalho CM. Epilepsia, 2004;45(12):1498-1505 (PMID 15571507, DOI 10.1111/j.0013-9580.2004.14104.x), "Neurotoxicity induced by antiepileptic drugs in cultured hippocampal neurons: a comparative study between carbamazepine, oxcarbazepine, and two new putative antiepileptic drugs, BIA 2-024 and BIA 2-093" (Tier B, in vitro, oxcarbazepine directly tested, not merely named). Primary rat hippocampal neurons were exposed for 24 hours to 300 micromolar oxcarbazepine, carbamazepine, BIA 2-024, or BIA 2-093. Intracellular ATP was quantified by HPLC. Result, quoted from the abstract: "ATP levels were significantly decreased only in neurons treated with OXC, although the energy charge was not altered." Reactive oxygen species were also increased only with oxcarbazepine among the four compounds, and oxcarbazepine independently decreased mitochondrial membrane potential (Psi m). The paper's own conclusion states oxcarbazepine was more toxic than the other three compounds tested on every parameter assayed.

Mechanism

Named at the cellular level: oxcarbazepine exposure lowered mitochondrial membrane potential and raised reactive oxygen species alongside the ATP decrease, consistent with a mitochondrial bioenergetic disruption, though the paper does not identify which mitochondrial complex or step is affected.

Counter-evidence held on record

Cell-culture evidence at a single concentration, not a basis for any supplement, dosing, or "low energy" claim in humans. See Overlap map: this same source also reports oxidative-stress and mitochondrial-membrane-potential findings for oxcarbazepine that are directly relevant to, though not currently cited by, the Oxidative stress and Mitochondrial burden entries above, which rest on different sources.

Claims checked and not supported

These circulate online for this medication. They are listed here only so they can be answered, never as findings, and they are not graded.

A claim with no supporting evidence is not necessarily disproven. Where evidence actually argues against a claim, that is stated below.

  • Folate and vitamin B12

    Where it comes from: Generic "anticonvulsant" drug-nutrient depletion lists, extrapolated from carbamazepine and phenytoin, where hepatic enzyme induction is documented to reduce folate absorption and increase its excretion.

    Why it fails: A direct, drug-specific Tier A study (Vurucu et al. 2009, n=32, oxcarbazepine monotherapy) measured serum folate and vitamin B12 directly and found no significant effect. A professional continuing-education review of AED-nutrient depletion names carbamazepine and phenytoin for folate effects but does not name oxcarbazepine. Oxcarbazepine's own enzyme induction is independently documented as materially weaker than carbamazepine's. Class-level support exists for other AEDs, but this drug's own direct data contradicts the claim, so it is published as a rebuttal rather than graded yellow.

How the body handles this medication

Metabolism
Rapidly reduced by cytosolic (non-CYP) liver enzymes to its active 10-monohydroxy metabolite, MHD, which carries the pharmacologic effect; MHD is further conjugated with glucuronic acid, with a minor oxidative pathway to DHD representing about 4 percent of dose.DailyMed/Novartis TRILEPTAL label
Enzyme induction
Oxcarbazepine/MHD induce CYP3A4/3A5 and UGT enzymes enough to lower ethinylestradiol and levonorgestrel levels, requiring non-hormonal backup contraception; this is a real, drug-specific induction effect, but materially weaker than carbamazepine's, since only strong external inducers (carbamazepine, phenytoin, phenobarbital, rifampin) are shown to cut MHD levels by 25 to 49 percent.DailyMed/Novartis TRILEPTAL label
Elimination and protein binding
Eliminated mainly as the glucuronide conjugate of MHD; approximately 40 percent of MHD is albumin-bound, independent of concentration in the therapeutic range. The label does not state an exact percentage of unchanged parent drug excreted renally.DailyMed/Novartis TRILEPTAL label
Absorption
Oral, can be taken with or without food; no chelation, gastric-pH, or named transporter interaction is described in the label.DailyMed/Novartis TRILEPTAL label
Renal water/electrolyte handling
Documented, dose-related potentiation of renal free-water retention (an SIADH-type effect), independent of true sodium loss; this is the mechanism basis for the hyponatremia entry below, not a tubular sodium-wasting process.DailyMed/Novartis TRILEPTAL label; Van Amelsvoort et al. 1994, Epilepsia
Renal/hepatic impairment
The label directs dose reduction in renal impairment (creatinine clearance below 30 mL/min) due to reduced MHD clearance and higher plasma levels; hepatic impairment is not flagged as requiring adjustment in mild to moderate disease.DailyMed/Novartis TRILEPTAL label
All references used above
  1. TRILEPTAL (oxcarbazepine) tablets and oral suspension, prescribing information. — Novartis Pharmaceuticals, via DailyMed. FDA regulatory label. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  2. Jung G, et al. Predicting oxcarbazepine-induced hyponatremia in adult epilepsy patients: a multicenter machine learning analysis using real-world CDM data. — Seizure. 2025. PMID 41166858. Multicenter real-world cohort, oxcarbazepine-specific.
  3. Van Amelsvoort T, Bakshi R, Devaux CB, Schwabe S. Hyponatremia associated with carbamazepine and oxcarbazepine therapy: a review. — Epilepsia. 1994. DOI 10.1111/j.1528-1157.1994.tb02930.x. Review, oxcarbazepine specifically in scope.
  4. Holtmann M, Krause M, Opp J, et al. Oxcarbazepine-induced hyponatremia and serum sodium regulation after replacing carbamazepine. — Neuropediatrics. 2003. DOI 10.1055/s-2002-37081. Pediatric cohort, oxcarbazepine-specific.
  5. Lee KH, Song JH, Cha SH, Chung SJ. The age and dose-related hyponatremia during carbamazepine and oxcarbazepine therapy in epileptic children. — Korean Journal of Pediatrics. 2008;51(4):409. DOI 10.3345/kjp.2008.51.4.409. Pediatric cohort, oxcarbazepine-specific.
  6. Vurucu S, Gulgun M, Yesilkaya E, Unay B, Akin R. The effects of oxcarbazepine treatment on vitamin B12 and folate levels, thyroid functions, sex hormones, and bone mineral density in epileptic patients. — Open Medicine. 2009;4(3):310-314. DOI 10.2478/s11536-009-0040-7. n=32, pediatric, oxcarbazepine monotherapy, null result on folate/B12/BMD.
  7. Bolayir E, Celik K, Tas A, Topaktas S, Bakir S. The effects of oxcarbazepine on oxidative stress in epileptic patients. — Methods and Findings in Experimental and Clinical Pharmacology. 2004;26(5):345. DOI 10.1358/mf.2004.26.5.831325. Human, oxcarbazepine-treated cohort per title.Abstract/full text could not be retrieved during this review (Crossref metadata contained no abstract; journal has no open abstract indexing found). Direction and magnitude of effect not independently confirmed.
  8. Agarwal NB, Agarwal NK, Mediratta PK, Sharma KK. Effect of lamotrigine, oxcarbazepine and topiramate on cognitive functions and oxidative stress in PTZ-kindled mice. — Seizure. 2011;20(3):257-262. DOI 10.1016/j.seizure.2010.12.006. Animal, oxcarbazepine among drugs dosed.Abstract could not be retrieved during this review. Direction and magnitude of effect not independently confirmed.
  9. Finsterer J, Zarrouk Mahjoub S. Mitochondrial toxicity of antiepileptic drugs and their tolerability in mitochondrial disorders. — Expert Opinion on Drug Metabolism and Toxicology. 2012;8(1):71-79. PMID 22149023. Pharmacology review naming oxcarbazepine specifically.
  10. Jang GC. Why should we monitor for hematologic adverse drug reactions to oxcarbazepine? — Korean Journal of Pediatrics. 2019. DOI 10.3345/kjp.2019.00472. Drug-specific editorial.Full text blocked by a bot-verification page during this review; cited for its existence and title/journal/year/DOI only, not for specific figures.
  11. Drug-induced nutrient depletions: what pharmacists need to know. — U.S. Pharmacist, professional continuing-education review. Used for the circulating-claim audit; names carbamazepine, phenytoin, phenobarbital, and valproate for calcium/vitamin D/folate effects and does not name oxcarbazepine.Class-level professional reference without oxcarbazepine-specific citations; Tier C/D for this drug, used only to characterize what is and is not claimed.
  12. Trileptal (oxcarbazepine), consumer drug information. — Drugs.com. Used for the circulating-claim audit; the only nutrient/electrolyte warning surfaced is sodium/hyponatremia, with no vitamin, folate, or biotin claims present.Tier D consumer source, used only to characterize the circulating consumer narrative, not as clinical evidence.
  13. WHO Collaborating Centre for Drug Statistics Methodology. ATC/DDD Index, N03AF02, oxcarbazepine. — Defined daily dose 1 g, oral. Source for ATC code in Identity.
  14. Bakri AH, Meki AMA, Nassar AY, Hassan MH, Ellisy RAM, Radwan E, Ameen HH, Nasser SA, Abd-Elmawgood EA. Validity of serum zinc/copper ratio as a potential novel biomarker in childhood epilepsy. — Clin Lab. 2023. PMID 37948472. DOI 10.7754/clin.lab.2023.230540. Pediatric cohort, oxcarbazepine present only in a three-drug combination arm.Closed access; confirmed via Unpaywall (no open-access copy located). Cited from abstract-level metadata only; raw serum copper/zinc concentrations not retrievable.
  15. Araujo IM, Ambrosio AF, Leal EC, Verdasca MJ, Malva JO, Soares-da-Silva P, Carvalho AP, Carvalho CM. Neurotoxicity induced by antiepileptic drugs in cultured hippocampal neurons: a comparative study between carbamazepine, oxcarbazepine, and two new putative antiepileptic drugs, BIA 2-024 and BIA 2-093. — Epilepsia. 2004;45(12):1498-1505. PMID 15571507. DOI 10.1111/j.0013-9580.2004.14104.x. In vitro, rat hippocampal neurons, oxcarbazepine directly tested at 300 micromolar alongside carbamazepine and two comparator compounds.
  16. Gong SZ, Qiu J, Wu LW, Tan LH. Change in intestinal flora after treatment in children with focal epilepsy. — Zhongguo Dang Dai Er Ke Za Zhi (Chinese Journal of Contemporary Pediatrics). 2022. PMID 35351260. DOI 10.7499/j.issn.1008-8830.2109134. n=10, oxcarbazepine monotherapy, versus 14 healthy controls, 16S rDNA sequencing before and 3 months after treatment.Full text blocked by bot-verification pages on both the PMC (PMC8974657) and HAL/INRAE mirrors during this review. Cited from abstract-level metadata only; the pre-versus-post-treatment comparison that would isolate a drug effect from baseline disease-associated dysbiosis could not be confirmed.
  17. Ilhan ZE, Brochard V, Lapaque N, Auvin S, Lepage P. Exposure to anti-seizure medications impact growth of gut bacterial species and subsequent host response. — Neurobiol Dis. 2022. PMID 35183703. DOI 10.1016/j.nbd.2022.105664. In vitro screen of nine ASM active ingredients; accessible abstract and metadata name carbamazepine, lamotrigine, and topiramate as reducing bacterial growth. Class-level corroboration only, cited for the Gut microbiome risk entry above.Full text blocked by bot-verification pages on both the ScienceDirect and HAL/INRAE open-access mirrors during this review; whether oxcarbazepine was among the nine ASMs tested could not be confirmed or ruled out.
  18. Dop C, Auvin S, Mondot S, Lepage P, Ilhan ZE. Longitudinal exposure to antiseizure medications shape gut-derived microbiome, resistome, and metabolome landscape. — ISME Commun. 2024. PMID 39526134. DOI 10.1093/ismeco/ycae123. Open access. Confirmed to test only carbamazepine, valproic acid, and levetiracetam; oxcarbazepine confirmed absent from this cohort. Class-level corroboration only.
  19. Zammar K, AbuAlrob MA, Ali M, Lattanzi S, Mesraoua B. The gut microbiome and drug-resistant epilepsy: microbiome-antiseizure medication interactions and implications for pharmacoresistance. — Epilepsia Open. 2026. PMID 42541365. Narrative review naming oxcarbazepine among four ASMs subject to microbiome-mediated biotransformation, without oxcarbazepine-specific primary data for the drug-affects-microbiome direction.