Norethindrone
Progestin
Also sold as Camila, Errin, Heather, Jencycla, Norlyroc, Sharobel.
Findings for this medication
Research about this medication, graded for how strongly each finding can be attributed to it. Nothing here describes your own levels.
Norethindrone taken alone as a progestin-only pill has no classical high-plausibility depletion mechanism. Its regulatory label documents no chelation, no mineral or vitamin warning, no renal tubular or aldosterone-axis effect, and no hepatic enzyme induction — it is instead a CYP3A4 substrate whose own contraceptive effectiveness is reduced by true inducers (phenytoin, carbamazepine, rifampin, St. John’s wort), the opposite direction from a drug that depletes nutrients by inducing their catabolism. The oldest and most-repeated "birth control depletes B vitamins" claim traces almost entirely to 1970s studies of combined estrogen-progestin pills and a mechanism (estrogen-driven tryptophan-kynurenine pathway activity) that is specifically attributed to the estrogen component; a 2011 systematic review of modern combined pills found continuing support for a vitamin B6 effect but explicitly rejected a folate effect for current low-dose formulations, and found B12’s functional status unaffected. Because norethindrone POP contains no estrogen at all, that class-level signal is graded, at most, yellow.
Progestogen-only hormonal contraceptive (19-nortestosterone derivative) · ATC G03AC01 · also sold as Camila and Errin and Heather and Jencycla and Norlyroc and Sharobel and other 0.35 mg norethindrone-only generics · reviewed 2026-09-23. This describes research about the medication. It does not say anything about your own levels or health.
How to read the evidence grades
These colours describe how strongly a finding can be attributed to the medication in the research. They are not a severity score and they say nothing about your own health.
Grades describe how strongly a finding can be attributed to Norethindrone in the research — not how common it is, how serious it would be, and not anything about you personally.
- Red — Severe
- severe: ≥2 independent Tier A sources, this drug in the studied cohort, nutrient directly measured, consistent direction and clinically meaningful magnitude, named mechanism, no substantial contradicting Tier A evidence.
- Orange — Moderate
- moderate: ≥1 Tier A source with this drug in the cohort showing a real but bounded deficit (exposure window, subgroup, low frequency, or functional rather than circulating).
- Yellow — Low
- low/theoretical: mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class extrapolation (Tier C) where at least one class member has real data even though this drug does not; also used for context flags and reverse-direction/protective findings.
- Not graded — disclosed evidence gap
- Nothing has been measured here, so this finding cannot be graded. That does not establish either safety or harm, and it is not the same as a White result.Source definition: evidence gap: no Tier B/C evidence to support even yellow, and no circulating claim to rebut as white. A genuine literature gap, never reworded as reassurance.
What the research found
Vitamin B6
Yellow — LowSee study details
Modern low-dose combined oral contraceptives are associated with lower plasma pyridoxal-5′-phosphate in a 2011 systematic review, but the proposed mechanism is estrogen-driven and the progestin-only product was not separately tested.
Full detail, limits and 1 references
Vitamin B6
Yellow — LowWhat the grade means here: low/theoretical: mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class extrapolation (Tier C) where at least one class member has real data even though this drug does not; also used for context flags and reverse-direction/protective findings. yellow
Limits on what this shows
- Key negative/null findings: Karger Pharmacology 1977;15(4):289 (rat, norethindrone-specific): no strong hepatic enzyme induction by norethindrone alone; this is a status-interaction study (B-vitamin status affecting the drug's metabolism, not the drug affecting B-vitamin levels) and is not itself evidence norethindrone spares B6, but it weakens the case that norethindrone alone drives the enzyme-based mechanism proposed for estrogen.
- At-risk subgroups: Not established for the progestin-only product specifically; general population guidance for adequate B6 intake applies independent of this drug.
Regulatory status
No vitamin B6 warning or interaction in the DailyMed label for norethindrone-only products.
Population evidence
Wilson EB, Bailey LB. "Oral contraceptive use: impact on folate, vitamin B6, and vitamin B12 status." Nutrition Reviews. 2011;69(10):572-583. PMID 21967158. Systematic review of combined oral contraceptive use: "low-dose modern OCs may negatively affect B6 status," citing decreased plasma pyridoxal-5′-phosphate in users. The review covers combined (estrogen+progestin) pills broadly and does not isolate a progestin-only product or specify norethindrone as the studied progestin.
Mechanism
Cofactor antagonism (mechanism class D) via the classical estrogen-driven tryptophan-kynurenine pathway; this mechanism has historically been attributed to the estrogen component rather than the progestin. Norethindrone POP contains no estrogen, and a rat study found norethindrone itself produced "no change or slight depression" of hepatic drug-metabolizing enzyme activity across B-vitamin-status conditions, arguing against a strong independent progestin-driven mechanism.
Counter-evidence held on record
The supporting review covers combined pills as a class; no source located in this review isolates the progestin-only product. Do not present vitamin B6 depletion as an established effect of the progestin-only pill specifically; the mechanism proposed in the literature is attributed to the estrogen component, which this product lacks.
- Wilson EB, Bailey LB. Oral contraceptive use: impact on folate, vitamin B6, and vitamin B12 status. — Nutrition Reviews. 2011;69(10):572-583. PMID 21967158. Systematic review of combined oral contraceptive use and B-vitamin status; abstract opened and read in full.Reviews combined (estrogen+progestin) oral contraceptives as a class; does not isolate a progestin-only product or name norethindrone specifically as a studied progestin.
The five body-system areas
Each finding is counted once, in a single area. Where a study is mentioned in a second area it is context only.
Mitochondrial Burden
Each finding below is counted once, in this area only.
Mitochondrial burden
Yellow — LowSee study details
Two in vitro studies tested norethindrone or its acetate ester directly on mitochondria-adjacent endpoints, with genuinely mixed results, not a uniform direction of harm.
Full detail, limits and 2 references
Mitochondrial burden
Yellow — LowWhat the grade means here: low/theoretical: mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class extrapolation (Tier C) where at least one class member has real data even though this drug does not; also used for context flags and reverse-direction/protective findings. yellow
Limits on what this shows
- Key negative/null findings: The isolated-mitochondria study's own title is a negative/protective finding for classic osmotic mitochondrial swelling.
- At-risk subgroups: None established; no mammalian in vivo or human data located.
Regulatory status
No mitochondrial or energy-metabolism warning in the DailyMed label; DrugBank's full mechanism-of-action listing for norethisterone (progesterone receptor, androgen receptor, glucocorticoid receptor, ABCB1 transporter) names no mitochondrial target.
Population evidence
(1) "Differential effects of synthetic progestagens on neuron survival and estrogen neuroprotection in cultured neurons." Molecular and Cellular Endocrinology. 2014;384:52-60. PMID 24424444. In vitro cultured-neuron study testing seven progestagens, including norethindrone (NET) and norethindrone acetate (NETA), for effects on estrogen receptor expression, estrogen-induced neuroprotection against apoptosis, and BDNF expression. Medroxyprogesterone acetate blocked estrogen's neuroprotective/BDNF effects; levonorgestrel and nesterone were neuroprotective and did not block estrogen; norethindrone, norethindrone acetate, norethynodrel, and norgestimate showed variable effects without a single consistent direction reported in the abstract. (2) A study indexed as PMID 4322804, titled "Inhibition of mitochondrial swelling by 19-nor-ethynyltestosterone acetate and other steroids" (19-nor-ethynyltestosterone acetate is norethindrone acetate) — an in vitro isolated-mitochondria assay. The title itself states norethindrone acetate inhibited mitochondrial swelling, a protective/membrane-stabilizing direction; the full abstract (species, tissue, magnitude, comparator steroids) could not be retrieved in this review despite repeated attempts across PubMed, ScienceDirect, and academic search APIs (persistent HTTP 429 responses; see access notes), so only the title-stated direction is used here.
Mechanism
No single mechanism established; results point in different directions across very different assay systems (isolated mitochondria: protective; cultured neurons: mixed/inconsistent). See Overlap map for the fish-model oxidative-stress pathway evidence (ferroptosis, PI3K/AKT signaling) that is adjacent to, but not the same measurement as, mitochondrial structure/function.
Counter-evidence held on record
See Overlap map: partially shares evidence with Oxidative stress below via the fish-model pathway data. Evidence is in vitro, non-systemic, and directionally mixed. Do not present as either "protects mitochondria" or "damages mitochondria" to consumers.
- Differential effects of synthetic progestagens on neuron survival and estrogen neuroprotection in cultured neurons. — Molecular and Cellular Endocrinology. 2014;384:52-60. PMID 24424444. In vitro cultured-neuron study testing seven progestagens including norethindrone and norethindrone acetate. Fetched and read in full.In vitro only; abstract described norethindrone's own effects as "variable... without specific directional data."
- Inhibition of mitochondrial swelling by 19-nor-ethynyltestosterone acetate and other steroids. — Indexed as PMID 4322804; 19-nor-ethynyltestosterone acetate is norethindrone acetate. In vitro isolated-mitochondria assay.Full abstract could not be opened in this review despite more than five separate attempts across PubMed, ScienceDirect, Europe PMC, and Semantic Scholar (persistent HTTP 429); only the title-stated finding (inhibition of mitochondrial swelling) is used here, with species, tissue, and magnitude explicitly not asserted.
Oxidative Stress
Each finding below is counted once, in this area only.
Oxidative stress
Yellow — LowSee study details
Two aquatic-toxicology studies dosed norethindrone directly and measured elevated oxidative-stress markers; this is drug-specific but environmental-exposure animal evidence, not oral clinical dosing in humans.
Full detail, limits and 2 references
Oxidative stress
Yellow — LowWhat the grade means here: low/theoretical: mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class extrapolation (Tier C) where at least one class member has real data even though this drug does not; also used for context flags and reverse-direction/protective findings. yellow
Limits on what this shows
- Key negative/null findings: No human systemic oxidative-stress study isolating norethindrone or the progestin-only-pill formulation was located and opened in this review.
- At-risk subgroups: None established in humans.
Regulatory status
No oxidative-stress or antioxidant warning in the DailyMed label.
Population evidence
(1) "Norethindrone causes oxidative stress, intestinal injury, and disturbed gut microbiota composition in adult female western mosquitofish (Gambusia affinis)." Comparative Biochemistry and Physiology Part C: Toxicology & Pharmacology. 2025. PMID 40763868. Adult female mosquitofish exposed to norethindrone at 5.0, 50.0, and 500.0 ng/L (environmentally relevant waterborne concentrations, not oral clinical dosing) for 42 days: elevated reactive oxygen species, malondialdehyde, superoxide dismutase, glutathione S-transferase, and glutathione peroxidase; activation of ferroptosis and PI3K/AKT signaling pathways; intestinal histopathology (increased villus spacing, reduced epithelial height, thinner muscle layer, fewer goblet cells) and growth inhibition. (2) "The impact of co-exposure to polystyrene microplastics and norethindrone on gill histology, antioxidant capacity, reproductive system, and gut microbiota in zebrafish (Danio rerio)." Aquatic Toxicology. 2024. PMID 38968675. Title confirms antioxidant capacity was a measured endpoint; full abstract and direction could not be retrieved in this review (rate-limited; see access notes), and this is a co-exposure design, so norethindrone's independent contribution cannot be isolated from the microplastic exposure. (3) Class-level, different-drug comparator: a guinea pig long-term progestin-only-contraceptive model (Vascular Cell, 2010) using medroxyprogesterone acetate, not norethindrone, found an eight-fold elevation in 8-isoprostane and elevated 8-oxoG DNA-damage marker specifically in the combined estradiol+MPA group, localized to uterine tissue; MPA alone did not reach the same magnitude. Included as Tier C context only; a different drug and different (reproductive-tract, not systemic) tissue.
Mechanism
Not established for norethindrone in mammalian or human tissue. The fish studies establish biological plausibility that norethindrone can activate oxidative-stress pathways under some exposure conditions, at environmental (chronic, low-dose, waterborne) exposure in a non-mammalian model.
Counter-evidence held on record
See Overlap map: shares evidence with Gut microbiome risk below (same two studies) and partially with Mitochondrial burden above. This is environmental/aquatic-toxicology animal evidence only. It must not be presented to consumers as demonstrated in humans or at contraceptive dosing.
- Wu J, et al. Norethindrone causes oxidative stress, intestinal injury, and disturbed gut microbiota composition in adult female western mosquitofish (Gambusia affinis). — Comparative Biochemistry and Physiology Part C: Toxicology & Pharmacology. 2025. PMID 40763868. DOI 10.1016/j.cbpc.2025.110305. Fetched via the Europe PMC REST API and read in full, including exposure concentrations, duration, and specific markers measured.Non-mammalian animal model (fish); environmental waterborne exposure (5-500 ng/L), not oral clinical dosing.
- The impact of co-exposure to polystyrene microplastics and norethindrone on gill histology, antioxidant capacity, reproductive system, and gut microbiota in zebrafish (Danio rerio). — Aquatic Toxicology. 2024. PMID 38968675. Title, journal, and year confirmed via the Europe PMC REST API search listing.Full abstract not opened in this review (HTTP 429 on repeated attempts); direction and magnitude not confirmed and not stated in this dossier. Co-exposure design (microplastics + norethindrone) means norethindrone's independent contribution cannot be isolated. Non-mammalian animal model.
Copper and Iron Balance
Copper and iron are assessed separately. Nothing here is counted twice.
Copper
Yellow — LowDirection: reverse direction (as labelled in the source)
A cross-sectional study of 610 women found serum copper 42% higher in users of a norethisterone/lynestrenol-containing combined pill than in non-users — an excess-direction finding, not a depletion.
Full detail and limits
Copper
Yellow — LowWhat the grade means here: low/theoretical: mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class extrapolation (Tier C) where at least one class member has real data even though this drug does not; also used for context flags and reverse-direction/protective findings. yellow, reverse-direction
Limits on what this shows
- Key negative/null findings: A meta-analysis titled "Relevance of serum copper elevation induced by oral contraceptives" (Contraception journal) was identified but could not be opened in this review (see Sources); it is not used to support any specific magnitude here.
- At-risk subgroups: Not applicable in the depletion sense; this is an excess-direction finding for the combined-pill class, unconfirmed in magnitude for the progestin-only product.
Regulatory status
No copper warning in the DailyMed label.
Population evidence
"Effect of oral contraceptive progestins on serum copper concentration." European Journal of Clinical Nutrition (Nature Publishing). Cross-sectional epidemiologic study, West Germany, 1987-1988, n=610 nonpregnant, nonlactating women aged 18-44. All combined-pill users showed elevated serum copper versus non-users; increase varied by progestin: antiandrogen progestins +55%, desogestrel +46%, norethisterone/lynestrenol (grouped, not isolated) +42%, levonorgestrel +34%. Authors noted serum copper "varied more strongly by different progestin compounds than by estrogen contents," but all subjects in this study used combined (estrogen-containing) pills; no estrogen-free arm existed.
Mechanism
Hormonal disturbance (mechanism class F): estrogen-driven increase in hepatic ceruloplasmin synthesis is the classically established driver of OC-associated hypercupremia, similar to pregnancy-associated elevation; this study's finding that magnitude varies by progestin suggests a modulating, not purely estrogen-independent, progestin contribution. Because norethindrone POP has no estrogen partner, and its label separately documents SHBG decreasing (the opposite of the SHBG increase typical of estrogen exposure), the isolated progestin-only contribution to hepatic protein synthesis, and therefore to any copper rise, is mechanistically uncertain and plausibly smaller.
Counter-evidence held on record
Norethisterone was grouped with lynestrenol in the source study, not isolated; all subjects used a combined (estrogen-containing) pill, not the progestin-only product. This is an excess/retention-direction finding, not a deficiency. Do not use this entry to justify copper supplementation for norethindrone users; supplementation would run the wrong direction and could compound an existing mild excess.
Iron
Yellow — LowDirection: reverse direction (as labelled in the source)
Large population studies show hormonal-pill users, including the progestin-only-pill class, have substantially lower odds of anemia than non-users; norethindrone is not separately isolated in the largest datasets, and users with continued irregular bleeding may not share the benefit.
Full detail, limits and 2 references
Iron
Yellow — LowWhat the grade means here: low/theoretical: mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class extrapolation (Tier C) where at least one class member has real data even though this drug does not; also used for context flags and reverse-direction/protective findings. yellow, reverse-direction
Limits on what this shows
- Key negative/null findings: Per Hard Rule 2, anemia as diagnosed in the two large population studies is a clinical outcome (hemoglobin-threshold-based), not a direct measurement of iron stores; where ferritin/serum iron were the actual measured parameter (the classic literature cited by the narrative review, including a 1985 American Journal of Clinical Nutrition paper, PMID 3984924), this review located the citation but could not open the full text to confirm magnitude (see Sources) and does not assert specific figures from it.
- At-risk subgroups: Progestin-only-pill users with continued irregular or breakthrough bleeding — a recognized pattern with norethindrone specifically, given its short half-life and strict-timing dependence — may not realize the iron-sparing benefit seen in amenorrheic users; this subgroup was not separately quantified in any source opened in this review.
Regulatory status
No iron warning or interaction in the DailyMed label; menstrual irregularity is documented as the most common adverse reaction, without a uniform direction stated.
Population evidence
(1) Cross-sectional analysis of 46 Demographic and Health Surveys, 2008-2023, n=790,065 non-pregnant women aged 15-49 across four global regions (PLOS ONE): adjusted odds ratio for anemia with oral contraceptive pill use 0.60 (95% CI 0.49-0.72) versus non-use; injectables 0.37 (0.30-0.45); implants 0.57 (0.44-0.73). "Oral contraceptive pills" was not broken out by specific progestin. (2) Finnish nationwide nested case-control study (European Journal of Epidemiology, 2025), 3,100 anemia cases matched to 13,143 controls from a base of 588,712 women: progestin-only pills (general category) adjusted odds ratio 0.42 (95% CI 0.35-0.51); desogestrel-only specifically 0.40 (0.32-0.48), the only individually named POP progestin — Finland's POP market is desogestrel-dominated, and norethindrone was not separately reported. (3) A narrative review (Journal of Blood Medicine, "Hematological Profile Changes Among Oral Contraceptive Users") states "most oral contraceptive users had higher hemoglobin, platelet, and erythrocyte counts than non-users" and "serum iron levels have been shown to be higher among OC users," citing reduced menstrual bleeding volume and possible enhanced intestinal absorption as mechanisms; norethindrone was not specifically named in this review.
Mechanism
Hormonal/dilutional disturbance (mechanism class F): reduced or altered menstrual blood loss during progestin-only pill use (ranging from lighter flow to amenorrhea in a subset of users) preserving iron stores.
Counter-evidence held on record
See Overlap map: this entry shares its underlying evidence and mechanism with Oxygen delivery/utilization below. This is a protective, reverse-direction finding, not a deficiency risk. Do not use it to argue against iron-status monitoring in symptomatic patients or those with continued heavy or irregular bleeding. Norethindrone was not isolated as the studied progestin in the largest datasets; this is class-level extrapolation.
- Estimating the effect of hormonal contraceptive use on anemia: A cross-sectional comparative analysis of 46 Demographic and Health Surveys. — PLOS ONE. Cross-sectional analysis, n=790,065 non-pregnant women aged 15-49 across four global regions, 2008-2023 survey years. Fetched and read in full, including the results table by contraceptive method."Oral contraceptive pills" is not broken out by specific progestin; norethindrone is not separately identified in this cohort.
- Iron stores in users of oral contraceptive agents. — American Journal of Clinical Nutrition. 1985. PMID 3984924. Classic, frequently cited source in the OC-iron literature.Full abstract could not be opened in this review despite repeated attempts (HTTP 429/404 across multiple hosts); cited only as an existing, frequently-referenced source, not for a specific magnitude.
Gut Microbiome Risk
Each finding below is counted once, in this area only.
Gut microbiome risk
Yellow — LowSee study details
Direct norethindrone exposure altered gut microbiota structure in two fish species, while the only opened human pilot study found no change in gut microbiome diversity or composition after (unspecified-formulation) oral contraceptive initiation.
Full detail, limits and 2 references
Gut microbiome risk
Yellow — LowWhat the grade means here: low/theoretical: mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class extrapolation (Tier C) where at least one class member has real data even though this drug does not; also used for context flags and reverse-direction/protective findings. yellow
Limits on what this shows
- Key negative/null findings: The Massachusetts General Hospital n=10 pilot is a genuine null result for the primary diversity/composition outcome, directly counter to the animal-model disruption signal; recorded here as required counter-evidence, with the caveat that it is small (n=10) and does not specify which contraceptive formulation was used.
- At-risk subgroups: None established in humans.
Regulatory status
No microbiome-related warning in the DailyMed label.
Population evidence
(1) Mosquitofish study (PMID 40763868, above): "NET exposure significantly altered the structure and function of the microbial community within the GI tract" per 16S rRNA sequencing, alongside intestinal histopathological injury; environmental exposure, not oral dosing. (2) Zebrafish co-exposure study (PMID 38968675, above): gut microbiota named as a measured endpoint; direction and magnitude not retrieved in this review (rate-limited). (3) Human pilot study (Massachusetts General Hospital, longitudinal design, n=10 healthy women aged 16-40, blood and stool at baseline, 1 month, and 6 months after oral contraceptive initiation; specific formulation/progestin not stated in the source): "no changes were noted in the diversity or composition of the gut microbiome within six months after OC initiation," though functional shifts in peptidoglycan and amino-acid biosynthesis pathway abundance were observed. (4) Two further human studies were identified by title only and not opened in this review: "Gut Microbiota Shifts with Lifetime Duration of Oral Contraception Use" (2025) and a pilot study on hormonal-birth-control-associated altered gut microbiota beta-diversity in physically active females (Journal of Applied Physiology, 2025); neither is drug-specific to norethindrone and neither is used to support this grade.
Mechanism
Not established for norethindrone in humans; microbiome disruption (mechanism class G) is directionally supported only by the non-mammalian, environmental-exposure animal data.
Counter-evidence held on record
See Overlap map: shares evidence with Oxidative stress above (same two fish studies). Evidence is genuinely conflicting across model systems and the human sample size located is tiny. Do not present as an established human effect of oral norethindrone.
- Wu J, et al. Norethindrone causes oxidative stress, intestinal injury, and disturbed gut microbiota composition in adult female western mosquitofish (Gambusia affinis). — Comparative Biochemistry and Physiology Part C: Toxicology & Pharmacology. 2025. PMID 40763868. DOI 10.1016/j.cbpc.2025.110305. Fetched via the Europe PMC REST API and read in full, including exposure concentrations, duration, and specific markers measured.Non-mammalian animal model (fish); environmental waterborne exposure (5-500 ng/L), not oral clinical dosing.
- The impact of co-exposure to polystyrene microplastics and norethindrone on gill histology, antioxidant capacity, reproductive system, and gut microbiota in zebrafish (Danio rerio). — Aquatic Toxicology. 2024. PMID 38968675. Title, journal, and year confirmed via the Europe PMC REST API search listing.Full abstract not opened in this review (HTTP 429 on repeated attempts); direction and magnitude not confirmed and not stated in this dossier. Co-exposure design (microplastics + norethindrone) means norethindrone's independent contribution cannot be isolated. Non-mammalian animal model.
Oxygen and ATP Output
Oxygen delivery and ATP production are assessed separately. Nothing here is counted twice.
Oxygen delivery/utilization
Yellow — LowDirection: reverse direction (as labelled in the source)
Hormonal-pill users, including the progestin-only-pill class, show lower anemia risk and higher hemoglobin/hematocrit than non-users in population data — a protective, not depleting, direction on oxygen-carrying capacity; norethindrone is not separately isolated in the largest studies.
Full detail and limits
Oxygen delivery/utilization
Yellow — LowWhat the grade means here: low/theoretical: mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class extrapolation (Tier C) where at least one class member has real data even though this drug does not; also used for context flags and reverse-direction/protective findings. yellow, reverse-direction
Limits on what this shows
- Key negative/null findings: Per Hard Rule 2, "anemia" as diagnosed in the two large population studies (hemoglobin-threshold-based) is an appropriate direct endpoint for this specific category, since hemoglobin and hematocrit are the named parameters, unlike the Iron entry where anemia-as-outcome required more careful framing against iron stores specifically.
- At-risk subgroups: Same caveat as Iron: progestin-only-pill users with continued irregular or breakthrough bleeding may not realize this population-level benefit.
Regulatory status
No hematologic warning in the DailyMed label beyond general precautions; hemoglobin/hematocrit are not addressed.
Population evidence
Same three sources as the Iron entry above: the 46-country DHS analysis (oral pills, adjusted OR for anemia 0.60, 95% CI 0.49-0.72, n=790,065), the Finnish nested case-control study (progestin-only pills, adjusted OR 0.42, 95% CI 0.35-0.51, from a base of 588,712 women), and the narrative review reporting "higher hemoglobin, platelet, and erythrocyte counts" and higher hematocrit/packed-cell volume among oral contraceptive users generally, citing a classic 1967 study. See Overlap map: this entry and Iron rest on the same underlying source set and mechanism; it is written here specifically in terms of hemoglobin, hematocrit, and anemia risk — the parameters this category explicitly names — rather than iron stores.
Mechanism
Hormonal/dilutional disturbance (mechanism class F): reduced or altered menstrual blood loss preserving red-cell mass and hemoglobin; the same mechanism proposed for the Iron entry.
Counter-evidence held on record
See Overlap map: this entry and Iron are not independent confirmations of each other; both rest on the same underlying source set. This is a protective, reverse-direction finding. Do not present as license to skip hematologic monitoring in symptomatic or heavily-bleeding patients. Class-level; norethindrone not isolated in the largest datasets.
ATP production
Not graded — disclosed evidence gapSee study details
No study of any tier addressing norethindrone and mitochondrial ATP synthesis or cellular ATP output specifically was located, and no distinct circulating consumer claim invoking ATP or mitochondrial energy for this drug exists to rebut either.
Full detail and limits
ATP production
Not graded — disclosed evidence gapWhat the grade means here: Nothing has been measured here, so this finding cannot be graded. That does not establish either safety or harm, and it is not the same as a White result. ungraded
Limits on what this shows
- Why no grade: Both conditions for ungraded were met. (1) No Tier B or C evidence: this review searched via WebSearch (multiple phrasings, including "norethindrone ATP synthase inhibition," "norethisterone mitochondrial respiration ATP synthesis," "norethindrone ATP cellular energy metabolism liver," and "progestogen norethisterone electron transport chain complex activity," among others, before this session's search-tool budget was exhausted) and via direct fetches against PubMed's search-listing pages, the Europe PMC REST API (separately queried for "ATP production," "ATP synthesis," and "mitochondrial respiration," each combined with norethindrone/norethisterone), the Semantic Scholar API, and DrugBank's full mechanism-of-action page (which lists progesterone-receptor, androgen-receptor, glucocorticoid-receptor, and ABCB1-transporter targets, and nothing energy-metabolism-related) — none returned an on-topic result. (2) No circulating claim to rebut: consumer material on "does birth control make you tired" was located, but it attributes fatigue to progesterone's sedative, GABA-A-potentiating central nervous system pharmacology — the drug's own recognized mechanism, not a nutrient- or ATP-depletion claim — so there is no distinct ATP-production claim in circulation to grade white. Tooling note: several Europe PMC and PubMed queries specific to this category returned HTTP 429 rate-limit responses during this session even after repeated waits (45-120 seconds) and query rephrasing; this is disclosed so a future reviewer can distinguish a possible residual tooling gap from a confirmed literature gap, but the number and diversity of attempts made meets this protocol's thoroughness bar before assigning ungraded.
Claims checked and not supported
These circulate online for this medication. They are listed here only so they can be answered, never as findings, and they are not graded.
A claim with no supporting evidence is not necessarily disproven. Where evidence actually argues against a claim, that is stated below.
Folate
Where it comes from: Consumer wellness sites (e.g., "7 Nutrient Deficiencies Linked to Oral Contraceptives," HUM Nutrition) list folate among nutrients depleted by birth control pills, tracing to 1970s studies of high-estrogen combined pills.
Why it fails: Wilson & Bailey's 2011 systematic review (PMID 21967158) found "the presently available data do not support a conclusion that currently used OCs negatively impact folate status," attributing the older positive findings specifically to higher-estrogen formulations no longer in use. Norethindrone's progestin-only product contains no estrogen at all, removing even the historically proposed mechanism.
Vitamin B12
Where it comes from: Same consumer sites list vitamin B12.
Why it fails: The same 2011 systematic review found "functional indicators of vitamin B12 status are not significantly impacted by OC use." Per Hard Rule 3, a lower serum concentration without a corresponding abnormal functional marker (e.g., methylmalonic acid) does not establish a true deficiency; the companion functional marker specifically refutes it here.
Zinc
Where it comes from: Consumer sites list zinc among depleted minerals.
Why it fails: A candidate source specific to norethindrone and zinc (a 1970s norethindrone-enanthate study measuring serum zinc and copper) was identified by search but could not be opened in this review despite repeated attempts; a separate "serum copper and zinc in hormonal contraceptive users" study was also identified but not opened. No source this review could actually read supports a direction or magnitude for this claim, so it is recorded as fails-verification here, with the unopened candidate sources flagged in the source list for a future revision to re-check.
Magnesium
Where it comes from: Multiple consumer sites list magnesium prominently, often framed around "energy production."
Why it fails: No study of any tier measuring magnesium status in norethindrone or general oral-contraceptive users was located in this review. Neither the DailyMed label nor DrugBank documents a renal-wasting or malabsorption mechanism that would plausibly deplete magnesium.
Selenium
Where it comes from: Consumer sites (e.g., Ulta Lab Tests) list selenium, citing its antioxidant role.
Why it fails: No study of any tier for norethindrone or general oral-contraceptive selenium status was located in this review.
Vitamin E
Where it comes from: Consumer sites list vitamin E, citing its antioxidant role.
Why it fails: No study of any tier was located in this review.
Vitamin C
Where it comes from: Consumer sites (e.g., HUM Nutrition) list vitamin C.
Why it fails: No study of any tier for norethindrone specifically was located and opened in this review.
Vitamin B2 (riboflavin)
Where it comes from: Consumer sites (e.g., HUM Nutrition) list riboflavin.
Why it fails: The one riboflavin-related source located (the Karger rat study) tested how riboflavin-deficiency status affects norethindrone's own hepatic metabolism — the reverse direction (nutrient affecting drug, not drug depleting nutrient). Per Hard Rule 4 this is a status-interaction note, not evidence that norethindrone depletes riboflavin.
Vitamin D
Where it comes from: A consumer article introduction mentions "vitamin D depletion from oral contraceptives."
Why it fails: A professional drug-interaction database was checked specifically for a norethindrone-vitamin D3 interaction and found none in either direction. No separate mechanistic or class-level study linking norethindrone or progestin-only pills to vitamin D depletion was located; this is distinct from the separate question of combined-pill effects on bone mineral density, which is an outcome-level bone finding, not a vitamin D status finding (Hard Rule 2), and is not addressed here.
Phosphorus
Where it comes from: Consumer sites list phosphorus.
Why it fails: No study of any tier linking norethindrone or oral contraceptives generally to phosphorus status was located.
Biotin
Where it comes from: Consumer sites mention biotin.
Why it fails: No study of any tier was located.
Vitamin A
Where it comes from: A consumer article mentions vitamin A in passing.
Why it fails: No study of any tier linking norethindrone to vitamin A status was located and opened in this review; not addressed in the regulatory label.
Potassium / electrolyte retention
Where it comes from: A general "hormonal birth control causes potassium retention" claim circulates in contraceptive counseling contexts; it accurately describes drospirenone (a spironolactone-derived progestin with documented antimineralocorticoid activity) but is sometimes over-generalized to progestins as a class.
Why it fails: The DailyMed label for norethindrone-only products contains no mention of potassium, aldosterone, or fluid retention, and DrugBank's mechanism-of-action listing documents no mineralocorticoid-receptor activity for norethindrone. Norethindrone is a 19-nortestosterone-derived progestin, pharmacologically distinct from drospirenone, and no Tier B or C evidence linking norethindrone specifically to potassium retention was located.
All references used above
- DailyMed. Norethindrone Tablets USP, 0.35 mg — full prescribing information. — U.S. National Library of Medicine, DailyMed. Regulatory label; primary source for the pharmacokinetic basis, warnings, precautions, and adverse reactions sections. Fetched and read in full, including Warnings, Precautions, Laboratory Test Interactions, and Adverse Reactions.
- WHO Collaborating Centre for Drug Statistics Methodology. ATC/DDD Index, code G03AC01 (norethisterone). — Confirms ATC classification G03AC01 (Progestogens) and a defined daily dose of 2.5 mg, oral route — a therapeutic-use DDD reference that does not reflect the 0.35 mg contraceptive dose used in this product.
- DrugBank. Norethisterone, DB00717. — Established pharmacology reference; mechanism of action, molecular targets (progesterone receptor, androgen receptor, glucocorticoid receptor, ABCB1 transporter), and metabolism pathway.
- Wikipedia. Norethisterone. — General pharmacology cross-reference used only to corroborate half-life range, bioavailability range, and CYP3A4 involvement already stated in the DailyMed label; not used as a standalone evidentiary source for any graded claim.
- [Author not confirmed]. Influence of Norethindrone on Drug-Metabolizing Enzymes of Female Rat Liver in Various B-Vitamin Deficiency States. — Pharmacology (Karger). 1977;15(4):289. Rat study, norethindrone-specific; measured cytochrome P-450, NADPH cytochrome c reductase, ethylmorphine N-demethylase, and aniline hydroxylase activity across thiamin, riboflavin, and pyridoxine deficiency states.
- Wilson EB, Bailey LB. Oral contraceptive use: impact on folate, vitamin B6, and vitamin B12 status. — Nutrition Reviews. 2011;69(10):572-583. PMID 21967158. Systematic review of combined oral contraceptive use and B-vitamin status; abstract opened and read in full.Reviews combined (estrogen+progestin) oral contraceptives as a class; does not isolate a progestin-only product or name norethindrone specifically as a studied progestin.
- Effect of oral contraceptive progestins on serum copper concentration. — European Journal of Clinical Nutrition (Nature Publishing Group). Cross-sectional study, West Germany, 1987-1988, n=610 women aged 18-44. Abstract opened and read in full.All subjects used combined (estrogen-containing) pills; norethisterone was grouped with lynestrenol, not isolated.
- Relevance of serum copper elevation induced by oral contraceptives: a meta-analysis. — Contraception journal. Identified via search; title and journal confirmed.Full abstract could not be opened in this review (HTTP 429 on repeated attempts); not used to support any specific magnitude or conclusion, listed for follow-up only.
- Estimating the effect of hormonal contraceptive use on anemia: A cross-sectional comparative analysis of 46 Demographic and Health Surveys. — PLOS ONE. Cross-sectional analysis, n=790,065 non-pregnant women aged 15-49 across four global regions, 2008-2023 survey years. Fetched and read in full, including the results table by contraceptive method."Oral contraceptive pills" is not broken out by specific progestin; norethindrone is not separately identified in this cohort.
- Hormonal contraceptive use and anaemia: a nation-wide pharmacoepidemiological study from Northern Europe. — European Journal of Epidemiology. 2025. Nested case-control study, Finland, 3,100 anemia cases vs. 13,143 controls from a base of 588,712 women. Fetched and read in full, including method-specific odds ratios.Progestin-only pills reported only as a general category (aOR 0.42) plus desogestrel-only specifically (aOR 0.40); norethindrone is not separately reported, and Finland's POP market is desogestrel-dominated.
- Hematological Profile Changes Among Oral Contraceptive Users: A Narrative Review. — Journal of Blood Medicine (Dove Medical Press). Narrative review, no meta-analysis; cites classic studies including Burton (1967) on hemoglobin, packed-cell volume, and serum iron. Fetched and read in full.Norethindrone was not specifically discussed in this narrative review; class-level (combined and progestin-only pills discussed together in places) and non-quantitative (no meta-analysis).
- Iron stores in users of oral contraceptive agents. — American Journal of Clinical Nutrition. 1985. PMID 3984924. Classic, frequently cited source in the OC-iron literature.Full abstract could not be opened in this review despite repeated attempts (HTTP 429/404 across multiple hosts); cited only as an existing, frequently-referenced source, not for a specific magnitude.
- Massachusetts General Hospital, Advances in Motion. Gut microbiome pilot study of oral contraceptive initiation. — Longitudinal study, n=10 healthy women aged 16-40, blood/stool at baseline, 1 month, and 6 months. Fetched and read in full.Specific contraceptive formulation/progestin not stated in the source; very small sample (n=10).
- Gut Microbiota Shifts with Lifetime Duration of Oral Contraception Use. — 2025. PMID 40964280. Identified via search listing.Not opened in this review; not used to support any graded entry, listed for follow-up only.
- Hormonal birth control is associated with altered gut microbiota β-diversity in physically active females across the menstrual cycle: a pilot trial. — Journal of Applied Physiology. 2025.Not opened in this review; not used to support any graded entry, listed for follow-up only.
- Wu J, et al. Norethindrone causes oxidative stress, intestinal injury, and disturbed gut microbiota composition in adult female western mosquitofish (Gambusia affinis). — Comparative Biochemistry and Physiology Part C: Toxicology & Pharmacology. 2025. PMID 40763868. DOI 10.1016/j.cbpc.2025.110305. Fetched via the Europe PMC REST API and read in full, including exposure concentrations, duration, and specific markers measured.Non-mammalian animal model (fish); environmental waterborne exposure (5-500 ng/L), not oral clinical dosing.
- The impact of co-exposure to polystyrene microplastics and norethindrone on gill histology, antioxidant capacity, reproductive system, and gut microbiota in zebrafish (Danio rerio). — Aquatic Toxicology. 2024. PMID 38968675. Title, journal, and year confirmed via the Europe PMC REST API search listing.Full abstract not opened in this review (HTTP 429 on repeated attempts); direction and magnitude not confirmed and not stated in this dossier. Co-exposure design (microplastics + norethindrone) means norethindrone's independent contribution cannot be isolated. Non-mammalian animal model.
- Long-term progestin contraceptives (LTPOC) induce aberrant angiogenesis, oxidative stress and apoptosis in the guinea pig uterus: A model for abnormal uterine bleeding in humans. — Vascular Cell. 2010. Guinea pig model using medroxyprogesterone acetate (MPA), not norethindrone. Fetched and read in full.Norethindrone was not used in this study; MPA only. Included as Tier C class-level context, not as norethindrone-specific evidence. Uterine tissue only, not systemic.
- Differential effects of synthetic progestagens on neuron survival and estrogen neuroprotection in cultured neurons. — Molecular and Cellular Endocrinology. 2014;384:52-60. PMID 24424444. In vitro cultured-neuron study testing seven progestagens including norethindrone and norethindrone acetate. Fetched and read in full.In vitro only; abstract described norethindrone's own effects as "variable... without specific directional data."
- Inhibition of mitochondrial swelling by 19-nor-ethynyltestosterone acetate and other steroids. — Indexed as PMID 4322804; 19-nor-ethynyltestosterone acetate is norethindrone acetate. In vitro isolated-mitochondria assay.Full abstract could not be opened in this review despite more than five separate attempts across PubMed, ScienceDirect, Europe PMC, and Semantic Scholar (persistent HTTP 429); only the title-stated finding (inhibition of mitochondrial swelling) is used here, with species, tissue, and magnitude explicitly not asserted.
- Funckes CG, Chvapil M, Carrol RW, Bressler R. Effect of a long-acting contraceptive drug, norethindrone enanthate, on serum zinc and copper in human volunteers. — Contraception. 1976. DOI 10.1016/0010-7824(76)90096-2. Norethindrone-specific (injectable ester, no estrogen partner), directly relevant to a progestin-only product.Abstract could not be opened in this review despite repeated attempts via DOI resolution and the publisher's own page (blank/empty response); direction and magnitude are not confirmed and are not stated in this dossier. Flagged for priority re-check on a future revision given its direct relevance to the progestin-only product.
- Serum copper and zinc in hormonal contraceptive users. — Fertility and Sterility. PMID 6444895.Not opened in this review; not used to support any graded entry.
- Drugs.com professional drug interaction checker: norethindrone and vitamin D3. — Interaction database check. Fetched and read in full: "There were no interactions found between norethindrone and Vitamin D3."
- Ulta Lab Tests. 7 Nutrient Deficiencies Linked to Oral Contraceptives. — Consumer health content (Tier D); source of several circulating claims addressed in the Fails Verification table (magnesium, phosphorus, selenium, B6, folate, vitamin E, zinc, vitamin D, iron, biotin, vitamin A mentioned). Fetched and read in full.
- HUM Nutrition. Birth Control and Vitamin Deficiency: Everything to Know. — Consumer health content (Tier D); source of circulating claims (folate, B2, B6, B12, C, E, magnesium, selenium, zinc). Fetched and read in full.
