Methylprednisolone
Glucocorticoid
Also sold as Medrol, Depo-Medrol, Solu-Medrol.
Findings for this medication
Research about this medication, graded for how strongly each finding can be attributed to it. Nothing here describes your own levels.
Methylprednisolone has a real but narrow depletion footprint. It is not chelating, not enzyme-inducing, and not renally wasted unchanged, so it lacks the classic pharmacokinetic machinery that drives many drug-nutrient interactions. What it does have is a direct, dose- and duration-bounded effect on mineral handling: it raises urinary calcium excretion and transiently suppresses intestinal calcium absorption during high-dose pulse therapy (with a compensatory rise in parathyroid hormone), it increases potassium loss at average-to-large doses (mostly mild in the one drug-specific cohort study found), and a human randomized trial shows it directly activates sodium- and water-retaining channels in the kidney's collecting-duct principal cells even though net sodium balance was not significantly changed at a single acute dose. All three of these are documented with methylprednisolone itself in the studied population, not merely inferred from the corticosteroid class.
Endocrine – corticosteroid (intermediate-acting glucocorticoid) · ATC H02AB04 · also sold as Medrol and Depo-Medrol and Solu-Medrol · reviewed 2026-09-23. This describes research about the medication. It does not say anything about your own levels or health.
How to read the evidence grades
These colours describe how strongly a finding can be attributed to the medication in the research. They are not a severity score and they say nothing about your own health.
Grades describe how strongly a finding can be attributed to Methylprednisolone in the research — not how common it is, how serious it would be, and not anything about you personally.
- Red — Severe
- severe. Two or more independent Tier A sources, this drug in the studied cohort, consistent direction and clinically meaningful, unbounded magnitude, a named mechanism, no substantial contradicting Tier A evidence.
- Orange — Moderate
- moderate. At least one Tier A source with this drug in the cohort showing a real deficit, but bounded by exposure window, subgroup, frequency, or a functional (not circulating) marker. Boundary stated in the entry title.
- Yellow — Low
- low/theoretical. Mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class extrapolation (Tier C) where a class member has real data but this drug does not. Also used for context flags and for reverse-direction (protective/retention) findings.
- Not graded — disclosed evidence gap
- Nothing has been measured here, so this finding cannot be graded. That does not establish either safety or harm, and it is not the same as a White result.Source definition: evidence gap. No Tier B/C evidence exists to support even a yellow grade, and no circulating claim exists to rebut as white. A genuine gap in the literature or in what could be accessed during this review, not a finding of safety.
What the research found
Calcium
Orange — ModerateSee study details
High-dose IV methylprednisolone acutely increases urinary calcium loss and, after the first 24 hours, lowers serum calcium via reduced intestinal absorption and renal reabsorption, with a compensatory rise in parathyroid hormone; the drug's own label states corticosteroids increase calcium excretion.
Full detail and limits
Calcium
Orange — ModerateWhat the grade means here: moderate. At least one Tier A source with this drug in the cohort showing a real deficit, but bounded by exposure window, subgroup, frequency, or a functional (not circulating) marker. Boundary stated in the entry title. orange
Limits on what this shows
- Key negative/null findings: A rat study of low-dose methylprednisolone (29 days, 3 injections) found calcium intake/excretion lower than controls after each injection but concluded the drug "did not have any effect on calcium absorption and on bone calcium deposition" over that period — a genuine dose-dependent null at low, non-pulse dosing.
- At-risk subgroups: Patients receiving repeated high-dose IV pulses; postmenopausal women and others with low baseline bone reserve (context flag, not itself graded here).
- Counter-evidence on record: Effect size demonstrated only in a small (n=10) pulse-dose cohort and reversed within days; low-dose chronic animal data showed no calcium-deposition effect.
Regulatory status
Label states: "All corticosteroids increase calcium excretion." Listed adverse reaction: increased urine calcium.
Population evidence
10 patients with active rheumatoid arthritis given 1000 mg IV methylprednisolone pulses: within 24 h, urinary calcium and hydroxyproline excretion fell and 1,25-dihydroxyvitamin D rose; after 24 h, serum calcium fell (reduced intestinal calcium uptake, reduced renal reabsorption) and PTH rose. Changes normalized within days of stopping treatment.
Mechanism
Named: direct suppression of intestinal calcium absorption and renal tubular calcium reabsorption, with secondary hyperparathyroidism; label separately documents increased urinary calcium excretion as a class effect.
Framing caution
This is a measured calcium/PTH shift tied to high-dose pulse exposure, not the same claim as "methylprednisolone causes osteoporosis" — fracture and bone mineral density are separate, disease-confounded outcomes and are not restated as calcium deficiency here.
Counter-evidence held on record
Do not present this as "always supplement calcium on methylprednisolone." The evidence is bounded to high-dose pulse exposure windows; routine calcium intake at recommended levels (see monitoring panel) is a reasonable general precaution, not a proven-necessary correction for every regimen.
Potassium
Orange — ModerateSee study details
Average and large doses of methylprednisolone increase urinary potassium excretion; in the one drug-specific cohort found, roughly one in five pulse-therapy patients developed hypokalemia, nearly all of it mild.
Full detail and limits
Potassium
Orange — ModerateWhat the grade means here: moderate. At least one Tier A source with this drug in the cohort showing a real deficit, but bounded by exposure window, subgroup, frequency, or a functional (not circulating) marker. Boundary stated in the entry title. orange
Limits on what this shows
- Key negative/null findings: The same cohort study found no severe cases and no meaningful ECG changes, and its authors concluded routine potassium monitoring may be unnecessary outside additional risk factors.
- At-risk subgroups: Patients on concurrent potassium-wasting diuretics, pre-existing renal potassium loss, or repeated/high cumulative IV pulse dosing.
- Counter-evidence on record: Effect is real and drug-specific but low-grade in the one cohort located (severity capped at "moderate," none "severe"); this is a single-center, cross-sectional design without a non-steroid comparator arm.
Regulatory status
Label: "Average and large doses...can cause elevation of blood pressure, salt and water retention, and increased excretion of potassium." Listed adverse reactions: hypokalemic alkalosis, blood potassium decreased. Label advises potassium supplementation "may be necessary."
Population evidence
Cross-sectional study, 110 patients given 1 g IV methylprednisolone daily for 3 consecutive days: 17.3% developed mild hypokalemia, 0.9% moderate, 0% severe (total 18.2%); no clinically meaningful ECG abnormalities were found.
Mechanism
Named: renal potassium wasting associated with corticosteroid mineralocorticoid-range activity at average/large doses.
Framing caution
Routine potassium supplementation is not automatically indicated; potassium has a narrow therapeutic margin and any correction should be lab-guided and prescriber-directed, not self-initiated.
Counter-evidence held on record
"Severe hypokalemia: 0%... rigorous potassium monitoring may be necessary only for patients with additional risk factors, rather than as routine practice for all recipients."
Sodium
Orange — ModerateSee study details
A placebo-controlled human trial shows a single IV dose of methylprednisolone directly activates the kidney's sodium- and water-retaining channels, but did not by itself produce a measurable net sodium or water retention; the label documents real retention and hypertension at average-to-large, presumably longer or repeated, dosing.
Full detail and limits
Sodium
Orange — ModerateWhat the grade means here: moderate. At least one Tier A source with this drug in the cohort showing a real deficit, but bounded by exposure window, subgroup, frequency, or a functional (not circulating) marker. Boundary stated in the entry title. orange, excess-direction
Limits on what this shows
- Key negative/null findings: The same RCT is itself the null finding at the physiological (not channel) level: single acute dosing activated the retention machinery without producing measurable net retention.
- At-risk subgroups: Patients with hypertension, heart failure, or volume overload risk on chronic or repeated high-dose therapy (per label caution).
- Counter-evidence on record: Mineralocorticoid potency is classified inconsistently across references (roughly half of hydrocortisone's in one table, "no mineralocorticoid potency" in another) — this is a genuine, disclosed conflict in the secondary literature, not resolved by the primary channel-level RCT.
Regulatory status
Label: "Average and large doses...can cause elevation of blood pressure, salt and water retention." Listed adverse reactions include sodium retention, congestive heart failure, hypertension.
Population evidence
Randomized, placebo-controlled, single-blind crossover trial, 15 healthy subjects, single 500 mg IV dose: urinary excretion of the epithelial sodium channel β-subunit (u-ENaCβ) and aquaporin-2 (u-AQP2) both increased, mediated directly at the principal cell, independent of aldosterone/renin-angiotensin/vasopressin; despite this, actual sodium reabsorption and urine output were not significantly changed, attributed to a compensatory natriuretic-peptide response.
Mechanism
Named: direct, non-genomic activation of ENaC and AQP2 in renal collecting-duct principal cells.
Framing caution
This is a retention risk, not a deficiency. Sodium supplementation is never indicated here; dietary salt moderation, not addition, is the relevant consumer-facing guidance, and only under prescriber direction for patients with hypertension or fluid-overload risk.
Vitamin D
Yellow — LowSee study details
Glucocorticoids as a class are associated with a small reduction in 25-hydroxyvitamin D versus healthy (not disease) controls, and glucocorticoid-treated patients respond to vitamin D3 supplementation, but no study located isolated methylprednisolone's own causal effect on vitamin D status.
Full detail and limits
Vitamin D
Yellow — LowWhat the grade means here: low/theoretical. Mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class extrapolation (Tier C) where a class member has real data but this drug does not. Also used for context flags and for reverse-direction (protective/retention) findings. yellow
Limits on what this shows
- Key negative/null findings: The meta-analysis itself is the key null: no significant difference from disease controls, consistent with confounding by the underlying inflammatory disease rather than the drug (Hard Rule 6).
- At-risk subgroups: Patients with reduced sun exposure from photosensitive disease, and those on repeated high-dose IV pulse therapy (per the lupus RCT context below).
- Counter-evidence on record: A randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled trial in 40 severe lupus inpatients on pulse IV methylprednisolone (high-dose vitamin D3, 100,000 IU load then 7,000 IU/week, vs routine-dose 7,000 IU/week alone, 24 weeks) demonstrates this population responds well to supplementation (25(OH)D rose 15.4 vs 8.0 ng/mL, P=0.028) but is a supplementation-efficacy trial, not a causal test of methylprednisolone lowering vitamin D versus a no-drug arm.
Regulatory status
Not addressed in the label.
Population evidence
Systematic review/meta-analysis of observational studies (glucocorticoids as a class, drug-level breakdown not reported): mean serum 25(OH)D roughly 0.5 ng/mL lower in glucocorticoid users than healthy controls (P=0.03), but no significant difference versus disease controls (P=0.79); absolute levels "suboptimal" (~22 ng/mL) in both groups.
Mechanism
Class-level, drawn from older glucocorticoid literature not isolating methylprednisolone: suppressed nuclear uptake/action of 1,25-dihydroxyvitamin D3 and reduced serum 1,25(OH)2D3 have been reported with other glucocorticoids.
Framing caution
Class-level and disease-confounded; do not present as "methylprednisolone depletes vitamin D" on a customer-facing surface.
Selenium
Yellow — LowSee study details
One class-level study reported higher, not lower, serum selenium in corticosteroid-treated patients, while another controlled trace-element study found corticosteroids produced no measurable change in selenium; no depletion mechanism or methylprednisolone-specific data were found.
Full detail and limits
Selenium
Yellow — LowWhat the grade means here: low/theoretical. Mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class extrapolation (Tier C) where a class member has real data but this drug does not. Also used for context flags and for reverse-direction (protective/retention) findings. yellow
Limits on what this shows
- Key negative/null findings: "Treatments with...corticosteroids...did not change the levels of any of the elements studied" (copper, selenium, zinc) in the RA trace-element study.
- At-risk subgroups: None identified with drug-specific evidence.
- Counter-evidence on record: Two class-level sources disagree in direction (one reports an increase, one reports no change); neither is methylprednisolone-specific, and disease activity is a stated confounder in the null study.
Regulatory status
Not addressed in the label.
Population evidence
Marano et al. (1990) reported increased serum selenium in corticosteroid-treated patients (class-level, drug not specified in the accessible summary). Separately, a cross-sectional study of 32 rheumatoid arthritis patients found corticosteroids as a treatment category produced no significant change in serum selenium, copper, or zinc, while patients overall had lower selenium and zinc than controls, attributed to disease-driven inflammatory processes rather than any specific drug.
Mechanism
None demonstrated specific to methylprednisolone; selenium is a component of glutathione peroxidase and other antioxidant systems, offering theoretical plausibility only.
Framing caution
Existing data trend toward no effect or an increase, not a deficiency; a "corticosteroids deplete selenium" framing is not supported and should not be used on a consumer surface.
The five body-system areas
Each finding is counted once, in a single area. Where a study is mentioned in a second area it is context only.
Mitochondrial Burden
Each finding below is counted once, in this area only.
Mitochondrial burden
Yellow — LowSee study details
Methylprednisolone itself rapidly and directly suppresses ATP-linked oxygen consumption in isolated immune cells through a non-genomic membrane effect; broader glucocorticoid-class review evidence (mostly dexamethasone, not this drug) describes impaired mitochondrial dynamics, trafficking, and biogenesis in neurons.
Full detail and limits
Mitochondrial burden
Yellow — LowWhat the grade means here: low/theoretical. Mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class extrapolation (Tier C) where a class member has real data but this drug does not. Also used for context flags and for reverse-direction (protective/retention) findings. yellow
Limits on what this shows
- Key negative/null findings: None located specific to methylprednisolone; the neuronal review is a class-level synthesis, not a methylprednisolone-specific dataset.
- At-risk subgroups: None established with drug-specific human data.
- Counter-evidence on record: The in vitro thymocyte data are drug-specific but limited to isolated immune cells at defined concentrations, not whole-organism human tissue; extrapolation to systemic "mitochondrial damage" in patients is not supported at this tier.
Regulatory status
Not addressed in the label.
Population evidence
None in humans directly measuring mitochondrial structure/function from methylprednisolone exposure.
Mechanism
Named and drug-specific (in vitro): methylprednisolone added to rat thymocytes inhibited Na±/K±-ATPase- and Ca2±-ATPase-linked oxygen consumption within under 30 seconds — too fast for classic genomic receptor signaling, indicating a direct plasma-membrane effect (see overlap with ATP production entry below). A separate literature review (glucocorticoids as a class, chiefly dexamethasone/corticosterone/cortisol/hydrocortisone/prednisone, not methylprednisolone specifically) describes suppressed mitophagy (via PGC1α repression), abnormal fission/fusion, and reduced mitochondrial biogenesis gene expression in neurons.
Framing caution
Do not present as established human mitochondrial toxicity; this is cell-level mechanistic evidence only.
Oxidative Stress
Each finding below is counted once, in this area only.
Oxidative stress
Yellow — LowSee study details
A methylprednisolone-specific rat study found acute dosing reduced lung oxidative stress markers while chronic dosing increased them; the one human study found showed oxidative stress markers improving after treatment, but that is confounded by resolution of the underlying disease.
Full detail and limits
Oxidative stress
Yellow — LowWhat the grade means here: low/theoretical. Mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class extrapolation (Tier C) where a class member has real data but this drug does not. Also used for context flags and for reverse-direction (protective/retention) findings. yellow
Limits on what this shows
- Key negative/null findings: Acute rat dosing showed no change in lipid peroxidation; chronic rat dosing showed no change in TRAP — the effect is marker- and duration-specific, not a uniform shift in either direction.
- At-risk subgroups: Patients on prolonged/chronic dosing, per the rat data showing harm only at 30 days, not acutely.
- Counter-evidence on record: The human pediatric ITP finding (improvement) plausibly reflects disease resolution (ITP itself is associated with elevated oxidative stress) rather than a direct antioxidant effect of the drug — a textbook confounding-by-indication concern (Hard Rule 6), since there was no non-steroid comparator arm.
Regulatory status
Not addressed in the label.
Population evidence
Human: 30 children with acute immune thrombocytopenia given methylprednisolone 30 mg/kg ×3 days then 20 mg/kg ×4 days — total antioxidant capacity, paraoxonase and arylesterase activity rose, and total oxidant status/oxidative stress index fell after 7 days, versus pre-treatment and versus 30 healthy controls at baseline.
Mechanism
Named, drug-specific, dose/duration-dependent (rat lung, 40 Wistar rats): acute single-dose methylprednisolone (50 mg/kg IP) raised total radical-trapping antioxidant parameter (TRAP) 20% at 24 h (reduced oxidative stress) with no change in lipid peroxidation; chronic dosing (6 mg/kg/day ×30 days) showed no TRAP change but 38% higher lipid peroxidation (increased oxidative damage). Authors: "acute use...is beneficial to lung tissue, whereas their chronic use is not."
Framing caution
Genuinely conflicting; do not present as either "methylprednisolone is an antioxidant" or "methylprednisolone causes oxidative stress" on a consumer surface. Direction depends on acute versus chronic exposure and tissue studied.
Copper and Iron Balance
Copper and iron are assessed separately. Nothing here is counted twice.
Iron
Yellow — LowSee study details
Glucocorticoid receptor activation has been shown, in rats and human liver cells, to upregulate iron regulatory protein 1 and drive hepatic iron accumulation — the opposite of a depletion signal — but this was demonstrated with corticosterone and hydrocortisone, not methylprednisolone.
Full detail and limits
Iron
Yellow — LowWhat the grade means here: low/theoretical. Mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class extrapolation (Tier C) where a class member has real data but this drug does not. Also used for context flags and for reverse-direction (protective/retention) findings. yellow, excess-direction
Limits on what this shows
- Key negative/null findings: None located specific to methylprednisolone in either direction.
- At-risk subgroups: None established with drug-specific human data.
- Counter-evidence on record: Elevated ferritin has separately been studied in COVID-19 patients receiving methylprednisolone, but there as a baseline prognostic inflammatory marker used to select candidates for treatment, not as evidence the drug itself raises or lowers iron stores; that literature was not used to support this entry.
Regulatory status
Not addressed in the label.
Population evidence
None in humans on methylprednisolone directly.
Mechanism
Named, but class-level (rats given IV corticosterone daily for 7 days, and the human hepatocyte line HL7702 treated with hydrocortisone): both upregulated iron regulatory protein 1 (IRP-1) and transferrin receptor-1 and produced liver iron accumulation, while ferritin expression fell. Effects were blocked by the glucocorticoid-receptor antagonist RU486, and further reduced by co-inhibiting STAT5, implicating glucocorticoid receptor and phospho-STAT5 binding at the IRP-1 gene promoter — a mechanism methylprednisolone shares in principle as a glucocorticoid-receptor agonist, though it was not itself tested.
Framing caution
This points toward retention, not deficiency. A consumer claim of "methylprednisolone depletes iron" is not supported by any evidence found; if anything, the mechanistic direction runs the other way, so iron supplementation on the basis of this drug alone would not be appropriate.
Copper
Not graded — disclosed evidence gapSee study details
No mechanism, animal, or human study was found linking methylprednisolone, or corticosteroids as a class, to a change in copper status in either direction, and no circulating consumer claim about copper and this drug was found to rebut.
Full detail and limits
Copper
Not graded — disclosed evidence gapWhat the grade means here: Nothing has been measured here, so this finding cannot be graded. That does not establish either safety or harm, and it is not the same as a White result. ungraded
Limits on what this shows
- Why no grade: Both conditions in the dual test were met: (1) no Tier B or Tier C evidence was found to support even a yellow grade — the one controlled trace-element study located (32 RA patients) found corticosteroids as a treatment category produced no significant change in serum copper; (2) no circulating consumer nutrient-depletion source reviewed for this dossier listed copper among the nutrients corticosteroids are claimed to deplete. This is a genuine literature gap, not a safety finding.
Search channels tried
Multiple phrasings across PubMed, DailyMed, NCBI Bookshelf, and general web search for "methylprednisolone copper," "corticosteroid ceruloplasmin," and related terms. One directly relevant PubMed record (zinc/copper status in corticosteroid-treated RA patients) could not be opened after repeated bot-verification blocks; see source list access notes.
Gut Microbiome Risk
Each finding below is counted once, in this area only.
Gut microbiome risk
Orange — ModerateSee study details
A 20-patient study of high cumulative-dose IV methylprednisolone pulse therapy found reduced gut microbial diversity, a shifted Firmicutes/Bacteroidetes ratio, and reduced short-chain-fatty-acid-producing genera.
Full detail and limits
Gut microbiome risk
Orange — ModerateWhat the grade means here: moderate. At least one Tier A source with this drug in the cohort showing a real deficit, but bounded by exposure window, subgroup, frequency, or a functional (not circulating) marker. Boundary stated in the entry title. orange
Limits on what this shows
- Key negative/null findings: None located specific to methylprednisolone; no non-steroid comparator arm in this single-cohort design.
- At-risk subgroups: Patients receiving high cumulative-dose IV pulse regimens; disease-specific (Graves' ophthalmopathy) population, so generalization to other indications and to oral dosing is uncertain.
- Counter-evidence on record: Single center, n=20, one disease population, one dosing regimen; before/after design without an untreated comparator arm, so disease activity itself is a possible confounder (Hard Rule 6 caution).
Regulatory status
Not addressed in the regulatory label.
Population evidence
Prospective observational study, 20 patients with Graves' ophthalmopathy, methylprednisolone 0.5 g IV weekly × 6 weeks then 0.25 g IV weekly × 6 weeks (cumulative 4.5 g over 12 weeks): Shannon and Simpson diversity indices decreased; Firmicutes/Bacteroidetes ratio increased; Faecalibacterium and Prevotella (short-chain-fatty-acid producers) decreased while Streptococcus increased; short-chain fatty acid-producing capacity decreased; fecal 5-hydroxytryptamine increased.
Mechanism
Not fully elucidated in the source; glucocorticoid immunomodulation and altered gut epithelial/mucin signaling are proposed pathways (see overlap note with a dexamethasone animal study below, which is class-level, not this drug).
Framing caution
This does not establish "leaky gut" or a specific probiotic remedy; it is a compositional shift in a small, single-disease cohort on high cumulative IV dosing, not shown yet in oral or lower-dose regimens.
Oxygen and ATP Output
Oxygen delivery and ATP production are assessed separately. Nothing here is counted twice.
Oxygen delivery/utilization
Yellow — LowSee study details
Endogenous glucocorticoid excess (Cushing syndrome) is associated with erythrocytosis, not anemia, and glucocorticoid-receptor signaling is mechanistically linked to enhanced, not impaired, red-cell progenitor expansion; no evidence was found that methylprednisolone itself impairs oxygen delivery.
Full detail and limits
Oxygen delivery/utilization
Yellow — LowWhat the grade means here: low/theoretical. Mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class extrapolation (Tier C) where a class member has real data but this drug does not. Also used for context flags and for reverse-direction (protective/retention) findings. yellow, excess-direction
Limits on what this shows
- Key negative/null findings: None specific to methylprednisolone.
- At-risk subgroups: None established.
- Counter-evidence on record: This is endogenous cortisol excess (a distinct physiological state from exogenous methylprednisolone dosing), so extrapolation is class-level/mechanistic only, per Hard Rule 2's caution against mistaking a drug's own hormonal biology for a nutrient/oxygen-delivery deficiency.
Regulatory status
Not addressed in the label; anemia is not a labeled adverse reaction of methylprednisolone.
Population evidence
Human, but endogenous disease rather than drug exposure: 13 patients with active Cushing syndrome versus 13 of the same patients after surgical remission showed erythrocytosis (increased red cell mass, normal HbF) during the active hypercortisolemic phase, with a stress-progenitor CD34+ cell phenotype.
Mechanism
Class-level: glucocorticoid receptor activity supports expansion of immature erythroid progenitors in cooperation with the erythropoietin receptor pathway, a mechanism distinct from methylprednisolone's approved indications and not tested with this drug specifically.
Framing caution
There is no credible mechanism or data suggesting methylprednisolone impairs oxygen delivery; consumer claims linking corticosteroid "fatigue" to reduced oxygen-carrying capacity are not supported by anything found in this review.
ATP production
Yellow — LowSee study details
Methylprednisolone directly and rapidly (within seconds) inhibits ATP-consuming, ion-pump-linked cellular respiration in isolated rat immune cells and tumor cells, through a non-genomic membrane mechanism distinct from its anti-inflammatory gene-transcription effects.
Full detail and limits
ATP production
Yellow — LowWhat the grade means here: low/theoretical. Mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class extrapolation (Tier C) where a class member has real data but this drug does not. Also used for context flags and for reverse-direction (protective/retention) findings. yellow
Limits on what this shows
- Key negative/null findings: Protein-, RNA- and DNA-synthesis-related oxygen consumption were not significantly affected in the thymocyte study, showing the effect is selective to ion-pump-linked respiration, not a global shutdown of cellular energy metabolism.
- At-risk subgroups: None established in humans.
- Counter-evidence on record: Findings are limited to isolated immune and tumor cell systems at experimentally defined concentrations; no human whole-body energy-expenditure or muscle ATP data were located for methylprednisolone.
Regulatory status
Not addressed in the label.
Population evidence
None in whole-organism humans.
Mechanism
Named and drug-specific (in vitro): in quiescent and Concanavalin-A-stimulated rat thymocytes, methylprednisolone dose-dependently inhibited Na±/K±-ATPase-dependent oxygen consumption (and, in stimulated cells, Ca2±-ATPase-dependent consumption) within under 30 seconds, too fast to be gene-transcription-mediated; protein-, RNA-, and DNA-synthesis-linked oxygen consumption were largely spared. A companion study in Ehrlich ascites tumor cells found methylprednisolone instantly and dose-dependently inhibited oxygen consumption and blocked calcium-ionophore-triggered intracellular calcium rise, attributed to a direct membrane-permeability effect.
Framing caution
This is real, drug-specific, mechanistic evidence, but it does not establish human "fatigue from low ATP." It shares its underlying source material with the mitochondrial burden entry above; see the overlap map.
Claims checked and not supported
These circulate online for this medication. They are listed here only so they can be answered, never as findings, and they are not graded.
A claim with no supporting evidence is not necessarily disproven. Where evidence actually argues against a claim, that is stated below.
Vitamin B12
Where it comes from: Generic corticosteroid drug-interaction/nutrient-depletion databases and consumer charts (Clinical Pharmacology, Pelton & LaValle) applied to methylprednisolone by class
Why it fails: The only methylprednisolone-specific human study found (31 MS patients, 1000 mg/day IV ×7 days) showed B12 rose significantly after treatment, not fell — the claimed direction is reversed by this drug's own data. Small, uncontrolled, and confounded by disease activity, but there is no supporting evidence in the depleting direction.
Folic acid
Where it comes from: Same consumer sources as above, and Natural Medicines Database ("moderately depletes")
Why it fails: Same methylprednisolone-specific study found folic acid also rose significantly after treatment. No Tier A/B evidence in the depleting direction was found for this drug.
Zinc
Where it comes from: Natural Medicines Database ("insignificant depletion"), InVite Health and other consumer nutrient-depletion charts
Why it fails: The one controlled trace-element study located (32 RA patients) found corticosteroids as a class produced no significant change in serum zinc; no methylprednisolone-specific positive evidence was found in either direction.
Magnesium
Where it comes from: Natural Medicines Database ("moderately depletes"), International Clinical Nutrition Review, multiple consumer charts
Why it fails: No drug-specific or class-level human study was found showing corticosteroids lower magnesium status. A glucocorticoid-receptor/renal magnesium-transporter (TRPM6/TRPM7) mechanism paper was located but could not be opened after repeated rate-limit blocks (see access notes); on the evidence actually reviewed, this claim is unsupported.
Chromium
Where it comes from: Natural Medicines Database ("moderately depletes"), tied to corticosteroid-induced hyperglycemia
Why it fails: Corticosteroid-induced hyperglycemia is driven by increased insulin resistance and gluconeogenesis — the drug's own pharmacologic effect on glucose metabolism — not by measured chromium loss (Hard Rule 2: an outcome is not itself a nutrient deficiency). No study measuring chromium status in corticosteroid-treated patients was found.
Vitamin A
Where it comes from: Clinical Pharmacology drug-interaction database, cited in consumer nutrient-depletion charts
Why it fails: No mechanism, animal, or human study connecting methylprednisolone or corticosteroids as a class to reduced vitamin A/retinol-binding-protein status was found; the source itself describes the mechanism as "unclear."
Vitamin C
Where it comes from: Clinical Pharmacology, International Clinical Nutrition Review, Pelton & LaValle
Why it fails: Literature located runs the opposite causal direction: vitamin C status affects glucocorticoid receptor sensitivity and stress-hormone signaling (nutrient affecting the drug's target), not the drug depleting vitamin C (Hard Rule 4). No evidence was found that methylprednisolone lowers vitamin C status.
Vitamin K
Where it comes from: International Clinical Nutrition Review, Pelton & LaValle, tied to bone strength claims
Why it fails: No study measuring vitamin K status in corticosteroid-treated patients was found. Available literature tests vitamin K supplementation as a treatment for glucocorticoid-induced bone loss in a different corticosteroid (prednisolone), which shows a therapeutic strategy for an outcome, not evidence that the drug depletes vitamin K.
Vitamin B6
Where it comes from: Lexicomp, Pelton & LaValle, tied to mood-change claims
Why it fails: No mechanism, animal, or human study linking methylprednisolone or corticosteroids to altered vitamin B6/pyridoxine status was found despite multiple search phrasings.
Phosphorus
Where it comes from: Lexicomp, Pelton & LaValle
Why it fails: A glucocorticoid-therapy nutrition review found no glucocorticoid-population-specific phosphorus data and made only a general-population "adequate intake" recommendation; no depletion mechanism or study was found.
Nitrogen (muscle/protein loss, "drug mugging" framing)
Where it comes from: International Clinical Nutrition Review, framed as a nutrient corticosteroids "deplete"
Why it fails: Negative nitrogen balance in corticosteroid-treated patients reflects the drug's own catabolic pharmacologic action (increased muscle protein breakdown, ureagenesis) — this is the drug's known mechanism producing an outcome (muscle catabolism), not a dietary nitrogen/protein deficiency (Hard Rule 2). Protein intake is addressed as a monitoring consideration, not a depletion grade.
All references used above
- Medrol® (methylprednisolone tablets) Prescribing Information. — Regulatory label. Pharmacokinetics, adverse reactions, precautions.
- DailyMed. METHYLPREDNISOLONE tablet. — Regulatory label.
- WHO Collaborating Centre for Drug Statistics Methodology. ATC/DDD Index, code H02AB04 (methylprednisolone). — Regulatory classification reference.
- Glucocorticoid Therapy and Adrenal Suppression. — Established pharmacology reference: potency/equivalence table, HPA suppression rating, osteoporosis mechanism.
- Pharmacologic Characteristics of Corticosteroids. — Comparative glucocorticoid/mineralocorticoid potency and half-life table.
- Acute changes in calcium and bone metabolism during methylprednisolone pulse therapy in rheumatoid arthritis. — Prospective, n=10, RA patients, 1000 mg IV × pulse. Tier A.
- Bijlsma JWJ, Duursma SA, Huber-Bruning O. Bone metabolism during methylprednisolone pulse therapy in rheumatoid arthritis. — Related pulse-therapy report; title/authors/journal confirmed via Semantic Scholar, full abstract withheld by publisher and not used for specific findings.Abstract inaccessible (publisher withheld); referenced for identification only, not cited for findings.
- Voulgaris A, Liapi C, Papadopoulos J. Effect of low-dose methylprednisolone on calcium balance and bone composition in rats. — Rat study, n=31 treated/28 control, 29 days. Tier B.
- Prevalencia de hipokalemia en pacientes tratados con pulsos de metilprednisolona [Prevalence of hypokalemia in patients with methylprednisolone pulse therapy]. — 1 g IV methylprednisolone ×3 days. Tier A.
- Direct effect of methylprednisolone on renal sodium and water transport via the principal cells in the kidney. — Randomized, placebo-controlled, single-blind crossover, n=15 healthy humans, single 500 mg IV dose. Tier A.
- Effects of high-dose glucocorticoids on gut microbiota in the treatment of Graves' ophthalmopathy. — Prospective observational, n=20, IV methylprednisolone 4.5 g cumulative over 12 weeks. Tier A.
- Do Glucocorticosteroids Alter Vitamin D Status? A Systematic Review with Meta-Analyses of Observational Studies. — Systematic review/meta-analysis; glucocorticoid class, drug-level breakdown not reported. Tier C for methylprednisolone.
- High- vs. routine-dose vitamin D3 in severe lupus on pulse methylprednisolone: a randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled clinical trial. — RCT, n=40 SLE inpatients on pulse IV methylprednisolone. Tier A context (supplementation efficacy, not causal depletion).
- Increased Serum Selenium Levels in Patients under Corticosteroid Treatment. — Class-level, corticosteroid drug not specified in accessible summary. Tier C.Full text blocked (403) on this review; findings taken from indexed abstract summary only.
- Effects of Different Medical Treatments on Serum Copper, Selenium and Zinc Levels in Patients with Rheumatoid Arthritis. — Cross-sectional, n=32 RA patients / 52 controls. Tier C null finding (drug not methylprednisolone-specified).
- Ludwig B, et al. Effects of methylprednisolone on the energy metabolism of quiescent and ConA-stimulated thymocytes of the rat. — In vitro, rat thymocytes, dose-response. Tier B.
- Buttgereit F, et al. The effects of methylprednisolone on oxidative phosphorylation in Concanavalin-A-stimulated thymocytes. Top-down elasticity analysis and control analysis. — In vitro, rat thymocytes. Tier B; identified by title/authors/journal, full text not opened (429 rate-limited).Full text could not be opened after repeated rate-limiting; cited for title/authorship identification, findings drawn from the companion Bioscience Reports 1993 paper above instead.
- The influence of Methylprednisolone on the energy metabolism of Ehrlich ascites tumour cells. — In vitro, tumor cell line. Tier B.
- Glucocorticoid impairs mitochondrial quality control in neurons (review). — Literature review; glucocorticoids reviewed chiefly dexamethasone, corticosterone, cortisol, hydrocortisone, prednisone. Tier C for methylprednisolone.
- Glucocorticoid Causes Iron Accumulation in Liver by Up-Regulating Expression of Iron Regulatory Protein 1 Gene Through GR and STAT5. — In vivo (rat, corticosterone) and in vitro (human hepatocyte line HL7702, hydrocortisone). Tier C for methylprednisolone (drug not tested).
- Effect of short-term, high-dose methylprednisolone on oxidative stress in children with acute immune thrombocytopenia. — n=30 ITP patients / 30 healthy controls; 30 mg/kg×3d then 20 mg/kg×4d. Tier A.
- Effects of acute and chronic administration of methylprednisolone on oxidative stress in rat lungs. — 40 Wistar rats; acute 50 mg/kg IP vs chronic 6 mg/kg/day ×30 days. Tier B.
- The effects of chronic glucocorticoid stimulation on erythropoiesis in Cushing syndrome (editorial/analysis of Varricchio et al.). — n=13 active Cushing syndrome patients vs. 13 in remission (endogenous hypercortisolemia, not exogenous drug). Tier C for methylprednisolone.
- Skeletal Muscle Response to Deflazacort, Dexamethasone and Methylprednisolone. — 70 male Wistar rats, 10 days, comparative dosing. Tier B, drug-specific; used for muscle-atrophy/fiber-switching background, not directly cited as a graded entry.
- Effect of Methylprednisolone and Interferon Treatment on Blood Vitamin B12, Folic Acid and Homocysteine Levels in Patients with Multiple Sclerosis. — Observational, n=31 MS patients (20 on IV methylprednisolone 1000 mg/day ×7 days) + 10 controls. Tier A, uncontrolled/small.
- Nutritional recommendations for patients undergoing prolonged glucocorticoid therapy. — Narrative review; glucocorticoid class, methylprednisolone not specifically stratified. Used for monitoring-panel guidance.
- 9+ Nutrients Depleted by Prednisone. — Consumer source (Tier D). Used only for the circulating-claim audit, never as supporting evidence.
- Drug Induced Nutrient Depletion Chart. — Consumer source (Tier D). Used only for the circulating-claim audit.
- Corticosteroids, Nutrient Depletion and Infection Risk. — Consumer source (Tier D). Used only for the circulating-claim audit.
- Effects of chronic and acute corticosteroid therapy on zinc and copper status in rheumatoid arthritis patients. — Attempted for the copper/zinc entries.Blocked by bot-verification (reCAPTCHA) on every attempt; not cited for findings, disclosed as a tooling limitation on the Copper (ungraded) and Zinc (white) entries.
- Serum selenium concentrations in rheumatoid arthritis. — Attempted for the selenium entry.Blocked by bot-verification on every attempt; not cited for findings.
- Selenium status in relation to clinical variables and corticosteroid treatment in rheumatoid arthritis. — Attempted for the selenium entry.Blocked by rate-limiting on every attempt; not cited for findings.
- A practical guide to the monitoring and management of the complications of systemic corticosteroid therapy. — Attempted for general electrolyte/mineral monitoring content.Blocked by bot-verification on every attempt; not cited for findings.
- Differential mRNA Expression and Glucocorticoid-Mediated Regulation of TRPM6 and TRPM7 in the Heart and Kidney. — Attempted for the magnesium entry.Blocked by rate-limiting on repeated attempts across two calls; not cited for findings, disclosed on the magnesium (fails-verification) entry.
- Influence of Synthetic Corticosteroids on Plasma Zinc and Copper Levels in Humans. — Located in search but never opened.Not fetched; excluded from evidence base entirely rather than cited from a search snippet.
- High Dose Glucocorticoids Potentiate the Response to Erythropoietin. — Located in search but never opened.Blocked (403) on the one attempt; not cited for findings.
