Skip to main content

Menotropins

Gonadotropin (human menopausal gonadotropin, hMG)

Also sold as Menopur.

Findings for this medication

Research about this medication, graded for how strongly each finding can be attributed to it. Nothing here describes your own levels.

Menotropins is a purified, injectable combination of FSH and LH activity given subcutaneously; it is not appreciably metabolized by hepatic CYP450 enzymes, induces none, and its human metabolism has not even been formally studied by its own manufacturer. Because it bypasses the gut entirely and carries no confirmed hepatic enzyme-induction or renal-tubular-wasting mechanism, none of the classical drug-nutrient depletion pathways (chelation, enzyme induction, transporter competition, cofactor antagonism) apply. This is not a chronic-use depletion drug, and no red-tier finding survived this review.

Gonadotropin (human menopausal gonadotropin, hMG) · ATC G03GA02 · also sold as Menopur · reviewed 2026-09-26. This describes research about the medication. It does not say anything about your own levels or health.

How to read the evidence grades

These colours describe how strongly a finding can be attributed to the medication in the research. They are not a severity score and they say nothing about your own health.

Grades describe how strongly a finding can be attributed to Menotropins in the research — not how common it is, how serious it would be, and not anything about you personally.

Red — Severe
Two or more independent Tier A sources, this drug in the cohort, the nutrient directly measured, consistent direction, clinically meaningful magnitude, a named mechanism, no substantial contradicting Tier A evidence.
Orange — Moderate
At least one Tier A source with this drug in the cohort showing a real but bounded deficit: an exposure window, a subgroup, low frequency, or a functional rather than circulating deficit.
Yellow — Low
Mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class extrapolation (Tier C) with no drug-specific human status data; also used for context flags and interactions running the other direction.
Not graded — disclosed evidence gap
Nothing has been measured here, so this finding cannot be graded. That does not establish either safety or harm, and it is not the same as a White result.Source definition: Not gradeable under the rules above because nothing has been measured. Published as a documented gap, never as reassurance that there is no effect.

What the research found

Sodium - dilutional hyponatremia, bounded to OHSS episodes

Orange — Moderate

See study details

In the minority of menotropins cycles that develop OHSS, dilutional/retention-type hyponatremia can occur as part of the syndrome's fluid-shift physiology; this is not a dietary sodium deficiency and does not call for sodium supplementation.

Full detail and limits

What the grade means here: At least one Tier A source with this drug in the cohort showing a real but bounded deficit: an exposure window, a subgroup, low frequency, or a functional rather than circulating deficit. orange

Limits on what this shows

  • Null/negative findings: None identified; most menotropins-treated cycles show no clinically apparent electrolyte disturbance since OHSS is a defined-minority event.
  • At-risk subgroups: Patients who develop OHSS; label separately flags personal/family thrombosis history, severe obesity, and thrombophilia as risk factors for the syndrome's vascular complications.
  • Counter-evidence: None identified contradicting the direction; internally consistent with the label's own restriction-based management.

Regulatory status

Label lists "electrolyte imbalances" among the clinical findings of OHSS, requires daily "serum and urinary electrolytes" monitoring in the acute phase, and calls for "severe potassium, sodium, and fluid restriction" in the chronic phase. [Tier A, source 1]

Population evidence

OHSS of any grade occurred in 7.2% of 373 MENOPUR-treated women in the drug's IVF registration trial (label, source 1). The label states the sodium finding qualitatively; no separate published trial quantifying serum sodium change (magnitude, CI) specifically in menotropins-treated OHSS patients was located in this review.

Mechanism

OHSS's "dramatic increase in vascular permeability" (source 1) is attributed in the broader literature to VEGF-mediated capillary leak with RAAS activation and non-osmotic vasopressin release, producing third-space fluid sequestration and a dilutional fall in serum sodium relative to total body water - a redistribution disturbance, not loss of dietary sodium.

Counter-evidence held on record

This is a retention/dilution disturbance confined to OHSS episodes, not a nutritional sodium deficiency. Sodium supplementation would be inappropriate; the label's own chronic-phase management calls for restriction, not repletion.

Potassium - retention/hyperkalemia risk, bounded to OHSS episodes

Orange — Moderate

See study details

OHSS carries a labeled hyperkalemia risk requiring ECG monitoring; this is a potassium-retention risk tied to the syndrome's fluid physiology, not a depletion state, and supplementation would be hazardous.

Full detail and limits

What the grade means here: At least one Tier A source with this drug in the cohort showing a real but bounded deficit: an exposure window, a subgroup, low frequency, or a functional rather than circulating deficit. orange

Limits on what this shows

  • Null/negative findings: None identified for the non-OHSS majority of cycles.
  • At-risk subgroups: OHSS patients, particularly with oliguria (listed among OHSS clinical signs, source 1) and unstudied renal impairment (see Pharmacokinetic basis).
  • Counter-evidence: None identified.

Regulatory status

Label requires "electrocardiogram to monitor for hyperkalemia" during acute-phase OHSS management, and chronic-phase management includes "severe potassium...restriction." [Tier A, source 1]

Population evidence

Same 7.2% OHSS incidence figure (source 1, n=373). No separate quantitative serum-potassium dataset for menotropins-treated OHSS patients was located this review.

Mechanism

Capillary leak and relative intravascular volume depletion activate the renin-angiotensin-aldosterone system; the label's hyperkalemia-monitoring instruction reflects a retention/redistribution outcome rather than a loss.

Counter-evidence held on record

This is an excess/retention risk, not depletion. Potassium supplementation must not be given during OHSS; management is restriction and cardiac monitoring, per the label's own instructions.

The five body-system areas

Each finding is counted once, in a single area. Where a study is mentioned in a second area it is context only.

Mitochondrial Burden

Each finding below is counted once, in this area only.

Mitochondrial burden - granulosa-cell mitochondrial gene expression, hMG vs recombinant FSH

Yellow — Low

See study details

One comparative study found HIGHER granulosa-cell mitochondrial mRNA expression in hMG (menotropins) cycles than recombinant-FSH cycles, alongside a higher high-quality embryo rate - the opposite of a depletion signal, but a single small study.

Full detail and limits

What the grade means here: Mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class extrapolation (Tier C) with no drug-specific human status data; also used for context flags and interactions running the other direction. yellow

Limits on what this shows

  • Null/negative findings: None identified specific to hMG; comparative literature on gonadotropin type and granulosa mitochondrial function is sparse.
  • At-risk subgroups: None identified; the signal, such as it is, runs reassuring rather than risk-conferring.
  • Counter-evidence: None located; this was the only drug-specific comparative mitochondrial study found despite multiple search attempts across PubMed listing pages, Crossref, and Semantic Scholar.

Regulatory status

Not addressed on the label; no mitochondrial-toxicity signal listed.

Population evidence

Saito N, Yamashita Y, Ono Y, et al., "Difference in mitochondrial gene expression in granulosa cells between recombinant FSH and hMG cycles under in vitro fertilization and transfer" (2013). Accessed via Crossref bibliographic/abstract metadata; the PubMed and journal pages were blocked by bot-verification during this review, so exact sample size and confidence intervals could not be independently confirmed beyond the abstract text. [Tier B - mechanistic/comparative, this drug directly in the design] Reported: "mitochondria mRNA expression was higher in the hMG cycle than in the recFSH cycle" and "the high-quality embryo rate in the hMG cycle was higher than in the recFSH cycle."

Mechanism

LH activity present in hMG (absent from pure recombinant FSH) supports theca-cell androgen substrate for granulosa aromatization and is proposed to up-regulate granulosa-cell mitochondrial transcription relative to FSH-only stimulation; not confirmed at the protein or functional (ATP) level in this study.

Counter-evidence held on record

Do not read this as menotropins "boosting" mitochondrial health for marketing purposes. It is a single, small, mRNA-level comparative study in granulosa cells, not a systemic patient-level mitochondrial-burden finding, and licenses no supplement claim in either direction.

Oxidative Stress

Each finding below is counted once, in this area only.

Oxidative stress - serum redox shifts documented for recombinant FSH, not confirmed for menotropins

Yellow — Low

See study details

Serum SOD falls and MDA rises over a stimulated IVF cycle in two identified studies, but both used recombinant FSH (Gonal-F/Puregon), not menotropins; the finding is extrapolated to hMG as a class effect of ovarian stimulation, not confirmed for this drug directly.

Full detail and limits

What the grade means here: Mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class extrapolation (Tier C) with no drug-specific human status data; also used for context flags and interactions running the other direction. yellow

Limits on what this shows

  • Null/negative findings: Study (a) found no significant between-protocol difference in the oxidative markers themselves (SOD p=0.289, MDA p=0.561) - counter-evidence against attributing the change to a specific protocol/drug choice rather than to stimulation generally.
  • At-risk subgroups: None specific to menotropins identified.
  • Counter-evidence: No menotropins-specific serum oxidative-stress study was located despite searches across PubMed search-listing pages, Crossref, and Semantic Scholar this session. Europe PMC and NCBI Bookshelf/PMC full text were blocked by bot-verification and rate-limiting throughout this review and could not be checked; a revision should retry "menotropins" or "hMG" plus oxidative-stress terms against those channels specifically.

Regulatory status

Not addressed on the label.

Population evidence

(a) GnRH agonist/antagonist protocol comparison, n=82 (58 antagonist, 24 agonist), recombinant FSH 150-300 IU/day: serum SOD fell from ~17.5 to ~14.3 U/L (p<0.001 both protocols) and MDA rose from ~1.39 to ~1.75 µmol/L (p<0.001-0.003), no significant difference between protocols after stimulation. [Tier C for menotropins - drug confirmed absent from cohort] (b) Endometriosis-vs-control ICSI cohort, n=113 (60 controls, 53 endometriosis), recombinant FSH 150-300 IU/day (Gonal-F/Puregon), eight serum markers (FOX1, MDA, AOPP, 8OHdG, GSH, vitamin E, SOD, TAC) across four cycle timepoints. [Tier C for menotropins - drug again confirmed absent]

Mechanism

Ovarian stimulation drives rapid granulosa-cell proliferation and a several-fold estradiol rise, a physiologic burst plausibly increasing systemic reactive-oxygen generation regardless of which FSH source drives it; the mechanism does not depend on the specific gonadotropin molecule.

Counter-evidence held on record

This is class-level extrapolation, not a menotropins-specific finding. It should never be presented to a consumer as "Menopur causes oxidative stress" - the supporting data comes from a different gonadotropin product.

Copper and Iron Balance

Copper and iron are assessed separately. Nothing here is counted twice.

Copper - estrogen-driven ceruloplasmin/copper rise, indirect and animal-only

Yellow — Low

See study details

Estrogen is known, from decades-old animal data, to raise serum ceruloplasmin and copper via hepatic induction; menotropins raises endogenous estradiol during stimulation, making an indirect, upward copper signal mechanistically plausible, but no menotropins-specific or human study confirms it.

Full detail and limits

What the grade means here: Mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class extrapolation (Tier C) with no drug-specific human status data; also used for context flags and interactions running the other direction. yellow

Limits on what this shows

  • Null/negative findings: None identified.
  • At-risk subgroups: None identified; magnitude and clinical significance in gonadotropin-stimulated women is unestablished.
  • Counter-evidence: None identified, but the absence of any human or gonadotropin-specific study is itself a major limitation, disclosed here rather than glossed over.

Regulatory status

Not addressed on the label; no drug/copper interaction studies exist (label states no human drug/drug interaction studies were conducted at all).

Population evidence

Sunderman FW Jr, Nomoto S, Gillies CG, Goldblatt PJ, "Effect of estrogen administration upon ceruloplasmin and copper concentrations in rat serum" (1971). [Tier B, animal, estrogen administered directly, gonadotropin not administered] A direct PubMed term search for "menotropins AND copper" returned zero results; no human or hMG-specific copper study was located.

Mechanism

Estrogen induces hepatic synthesis of ceruloplasmin, the major copper-transport protein, secondarily raising total serum copper. Menotropins does not act on copper handling directly; it drives supraphysiologic ovarian estradiol production, one step removed from the drug molecule itself.

Counter-evidence held on record

This is an indirect, animal-derived, upward-direction (excess/retention, not deficiency) signal per Hard Rule 5. It supports neither copper supplementation nor copper restriction in menotropins-treated patients; the practical takeaway is "insufficient human data," not "confirmed excess."

Iron

Not graded — disclosed evidence gap

See study details

No mechanistic, class-level, or circulating-claim evidence linking menotropins to iron status was located after a genuine multi-channel search.

Full detail and limits

What the grade means here: Nothing has been measured here, so this finding cannot be graded. That does not establish either safety or harm, and it is not the same as a White result. ungraded

Limits on what this shows

  • Why no grade: A direct PubMed term search for "menotropins AND iron" returned four results, all concerning use of hMG/hCG to induce puberty or spermatogenesis in beta-thalassemia patients (a population with transfusion iron overload, using hMG to treat the hypogonadism thalassemia itself causes) - none measured an effect of menotropins on iron status. No Tier B mechanistic or Tier C class-level study linking menotropins, hMG, or gonadotropins generally to iron depletion or excess was located, and no circulating consumer claim attributing an iron effect to menotropins/Menopur was identified. Both dual conditions for ungraded are met.

Access note

Europe PMC and NCBI Bookshelf/PMC full text were blocked by bot-verification and rate-limiting throughout this review and could not be searched directly for iron. A later revision should retry "menotropins iron," "hMG ferritin," and "gonadotropin iron metabolism" against those channels specifically before this gap is considered fully closed.

Gut Microbiome Risk

Each finding below is counted once, in this area only.

Gut microbiome risk - compositional shifts with ovarian stimulation, gonadotropin formulation unconfirmed

Yellow — Low

See study details

Two studies associate controlled ovarian stimulation with gut microbiota composition changes, but neither confirmed whether a urinary product like menotropins or a recombinant FSH product was used, so the finding is carried as class-level, not menotropins-specific.

Full detail and limits

What the grade means here: Mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class extrapolation (Tier C) with no drug-specific human status data; also used for context flags and interactions running the other direction. yellow

Limits on what this shows

  • Null/negative findings: None identified; this is an emerging, single-cohort association.
  • At-risk subgroups: Poor ovarian responders (association, not menotropins-specific causation).
  • Counter-evidence: None identified; the principal limitation is drug-identity ambiguity in the primary sources, disclosed above rather than assumed favorable.

Regulatory status

Not addressed on the label.

Population evidence

(a) Human IVF cohort, n=47 cycles (22 poor-response, follicle-to-oocyte index [FOI]<0.5; 25 adequate-response, FOI≥0.5), gonadotropin dosed 75-300 IU/day, brand/type unspecified. Poor responders showed relative enrichment of Prevotella copri, Bacteroides vulgatus, Escherichia coli, and Bacteroides stercoris; adequate responders showed relative enrichment of Bifidobacterium longum, Faecalibacterium prausnitzii, Ruminococcus gnavus, and Bifidobacterium pseudocatenulatum. Microbiome alteration correlated with serum estradiol, FSH, oocyte count, and pregnancy rate after age/BMI adjustment. [Tier C for menotropins - drug not confirmed in cohort] (b) A mouse model of repeated ovarian hyperstimulation and gut microbiota composition change exists in the literature (title-confirmed) but its full text could not be opened this session (bot-verification block), and the inducing hormone (PMSG/eCG vs. hCG) could not be confirmed - listed in Sources as an inaccessible lead, not used as supporting evidence.

Mechanism

Proposed link runs through estradiol-driven changes in gut epithelial permeability and bile-acid/estrogen-microbiome crosstalk, established generally for estrogen and the gut microbiome, applicable to any gonadotropin-driven stimulation and not specific to the menotropins molecule.

Counter-evidence held on record

This is a correlative, single-cohort finding with unconfirmed drug identity, not an established menotropins effect on the microbiome. It should not be presented as a menotropins-specific gut-health warning.

Oxygen and ATP Output

Oxygen delivery and ATP production are assessed separately. Nothing here is counted twice.

Oxygen delivery/utilization - hemoconcentration during OHSS

Orange — Moderate

See study details

OHSS produces hemoconcentration - an apparent hematocrit rise from intravascular volume contraction, not true erythrocytosis or improved oxygen delivery - that the label tracks as a monitoring parameter and that drives thromboembolic, not oxygen-delivery, risk.

Full detail and limits

What the grade means here: At least one Tier A source with this drug in the cohort showing a real but bounded deficit: an exposure window, a subgroup, low frequency, or a functional rather than circulating deficit. orange

Limits on what this shows

  • Null/negative findings: None identified for non-OHSS cycles, where hematocrit is not expected to change from the drug itself.
  • At-risk subgroups: OHSS patients; those with pre-existing thrombosis risk factors per label.
  • Counter-evidence: None identified.

Regulatory status

Label lists "hematocrit" among required daily acute-phase labs and documents "hemoconcentration" among OHSS clinical findings, alongside thromboembolic reactions (venous thrombophlebitis, pulmonary embolism, stroke, arterial occlusion). [Tier A, source 1]

Population evidence

Qualitative label finding tied to the same 7.2% OHSS incidence (source 1). A further lead, "Hematocrit as a simple method to predict and manage ovarian hyperstimulation syndrome," could not be opened this session (access error) and is listed in Sources as inaccessible, not used as supporting evidence.

Mechanism

Capillary leak moves plasma out of the vascular space while red-cell mass is unchanged, mechanically concentrating the blood - the same fluid-shift process producing the sodium and potassium findings above (see Overlap map), and the physiological basis for the label's thromboembolism warnings, not a hemoglobin-synthesis or oxygen-carrying-capacity effect.

Counter-evidence held on record

Per Hard Rule 2, this is the syndrome's own pathophysiology tracked via a hematologic marker, not a nutrient-deficiency finding: it is neither anemia nor an oxygen-delivery deficiency, and it supplies no basis whatsoever for iron or any hematinic supplementation. The correct response is fluid and electrolyte management, never a supplement.

Claims checked and not supported

These circulate online for this medication. They are listed here only so they can be answered, never as findings, and they are not graded.

A claim with no supporting evidence is not necessarily disproven. Where evidence actually argues against a claim, that is stated below.

  • ATP production ("IVF drugs deplete your eggs' energy")

    Where it comes from: Fertility-wellness and supplement-marketing content promoting CoQ10 and similar mitochondrial-support supplements, framed around IVF/ovarian-stimulation cycles on the premise that stimulation drugs deplete cellular energy in developing eggs and granulosa cells.

    Why it fails: No Tier A or Tier B source located shows menotropins (or hMG generally) reducing ATP production or mitochondrial function in oocytes, granulosa cells, or systemically. The only drug-specific comparative mitochondrial data available (Saito 2013, graded yellow above under Mitochondrial burden) found hMG cycles had HIGHER granulosa-cell mitochondrial mRNA than recombinant-FSH cycles - the opposite of a depletion signal. The one hMG-specific randomized trial testing whether CoQ10 supplementation improves outcomes (Bentov et al. 2014, n=24 completers of a planned 27/arm) found no significant difference in oocyte aneuploidy (46.5% vs 62.8%) or clinical pregnancy rate (33% vs 26.7%) between CoQ10 and placebo. The trial was explicitly underpowered, so this is suggestive counter-evidence, not a definitive rebuttal, and is disclosed as such rather than overstated.

All references used above
  1. MENOPUR (menotropins for injection) US Full Prescribing Information — Ferring Pharmaceuticals Inc. Regulatory label, accessed via accessdata.fda.gov (2014, label version 021663s014) and Ferring's current PI PDF. Tier A. Used for pharmacokinetic basis, OHSS pathophysiology, contraindications, adverse reactions, and all Warnings and Precautions quotes in this dossier.
  2. Saito N, Yamashita Y, Ono Y, Higuchi Y, Hayashi A, Yoshida Y, Yamamoto H, Kawabe S, Kamada M, Terai Y, Ohmichi M. "Difference in mitochondrial gene expression in granulosa cells between recombinant FSH and hMG cycles under in vitro fertilization and transfer." — 2013. DOI 10.1007/s12522-013-0147-z. Tier B, mechanistic/comparative, this drug (hMG) directly in the design.Accessed via Crossref bibliographic metadata only; PubMed (PMID 29699136) and the journal's own page returned bot-verification challenges this session and could not be opened directly - sample size/CI beyond the quoted abstract text could not be independently confirmed.
  3. Bentov Y, Hannam T, Jurisicova A, Esfandiari N, Casper RF. "Coenzyme Q10 Supplementation and Oocyte Aneuploidy in Women Undergoing IVF-ICSI Treatment." — Clin Med Insights Reprod Health. 2014. PMID 24987272. DOI 10.4137/CMRH.S14681. Randomized, hMG-stimulated cohort, n=24 completers. Tier A/B for the null CoQ10-supplementation finding used in Fails Verification.
  4. Oxidative Stress Markers in GnRH Agonist and Antagonist Protocols in IVF — n=82 (58 antagonist, 24 agonist), recombinant FSH (Gonal-F) 150-300 IU/day. PMC5471649.Cohort confirmed to use recombinant FSH, not menotropins - Tier C for this drug. Full text initially opened successfully; a later re-access attempt in the same session was blocked by bot-verification.
  5. "The Impact of Controlled Ovarian Stimulation on Serum Oxidative Stress Markers in Infertile Women with Endometriosis Undergoing ICSI." — Antioxidants (Basel). 2022;11(6):1161. DOI 10.3390/antiox11061161. n=113 (60 controls, 53 endometriosis), recombinant FSH (Gonal-F/Puregon) 150-300 IU/day.Cohort confirmed to use recombinant FSH, not menotropins - Tier C for this drug.
  6. Sunderman FW Jr, Nomoto S, Gillies CG, Goldblatt PJ. "Effect of estrogen administration upon ceruloplasmin and copper concentrations in rat serum." — 1971. DOI 10.1016/0041-008X(71)90264-X. Tier B, animal, estrogen administered directly.Estrogen, not a gonadotropin, was the agent studied, and the model is rat, not human. Abstract text was not independently retrievable this session (Crossref returned bibliographic metadata only); cited for the mechanism it establishes, disclosed as animal-only and indirect.
  7. "Metagenomic analysis revealed the association between gut microbiota and different ovary responses to controlled ovarian stimulation." — Sci Rep. 2024;14. PMID 38942886. n=47 IVF cycles, gonadotropin 75-300 IU/day, brand/type not specified in the text obtained.Gonadotropin formulation not specified - cannot confirm menotropins was or was not in this cohort; carried as Tier C class-level with that ambiguity disclosed.
  8. "Effects of repeated ovarian hyperstimulation on gut microbiota composition in a mouse model." — Title identified via search; mouse model of repeated ovarian hyperstimulation and gut microbiota.Full text (PMC13544559) returned a bot-verification challenge page on every attempt this session and could not be opened. Per protocol, this source is listed but NOT used as supporting evidence for any claim in this dossier - the inducing hormone could not be confirmed.
  9. "Hematocrit as a simple method to predict and manage ovarian hyperstimulation syndrome in assisted reproduction." — Title identified via search.Full text returned a paywall/access error (HTTP 402) this session and could not be opened. Listed but NOT used as supporting evidence; the hemoconcentration/hematocrit entry above rests on the MENOPUR label (source 1) alone.
  10. "Ultrasound and hematological changes during early luteal phase in women at high risk for developing ovarian hyperstimulation syndrome." Lainas et al. — Ultrasound Obstet Gynecol. 2018. PMID 29105961.Full text returned an access error (HTTP 403) and the PubMed abstract page returned a bot-verification challenge on repeated attempts this session; could not be opened. Listed but NOT used as supporting evidence for any claim in this dossier, per the protocol against citing a source from title alone.
  11. DrugBank and WHO ATC/DDD Index — Used to confirm ATC code G03GA02 ("human menopausal gonadotrophin") and brand name Menopur.