Skip to main content

Levonorgestrel

Progestin

Also sold as Plan B One-Step, My Way, Take Action, Mirena, Kyleena, Liletta, Skyla, Jadelle.

Findings for this medication

Research about this medication, graded for how strongly each finding can be attributed to it. Nothing here describes your own levels.

Levonorgestrel, used alone (not combined with ethinyl estradiol), has no classical nutrient-depletion machinery on pharmacokinetic grounds. It is a substrate of CYP3A4, not an inducer of it; it is not documented to waste electrolytes renally, chelate minerals, injure gut mucosa, or alter gastric pH. The single-dose emergency-contraception form (Plan B One-Step) clears within days, which makes any chronic depletion mechanism implausible regardless of what is found for the mechanism itself. The large body of "birth control depletes vitamin B6/B12/folate/C/E/magnesium/zinc" literature that circulates in consumer content traces almost entirely to studies of combined estrogen-progestin pills from the 1970s-80s, and the review literature that repeats this claim (Palmery 2013, Shikh 2021) explicitly scopes it to combined oral contraceptives, not progestin-only products. A 2023 study that directly compared progestin-only contraceptive users to estrogen-containing contraceptive users found the relevant tryptophan-pathway change specific to the estrogen-exposed group. None of the classical-nutrient literature located this review includes a progestin-only or levonorgestrel-only cohort at any tier.

Endocrine – hormone, progestin · ATC G03AC03 (progestogen-only) / G03AD01 (emergency contraceptive) · also sold as Plan B One-Step and My Way and Take Action; Mirena and Kyleena and Liletta and Skyla; Jadelle · reviewed 2026-09-23. This describes research about the medication. It does not say anything about your own levels or health.

How to read the evidence grades

These colours describe how strongly a finding can be attributed to the medication in the research. They are not a severity score and they say nothing about your own health.

Grades describe how strongly a finding can be attributed to Levonorgestrel in the research — not how common it is, how serious it would be, and not anything about you personally.

Red — Severe
severe: ≥2 independent Tier A sources with this drug in the cohort, the nutrient directly measured, consistent direction, clinically meaningful magnitude, a named mechanism, no substantial contradicting Tier A evidence.
Orange — Moderate
moderate: ≥1 Tier A source with this drug in the cohort showing a real deficit or retention effect, but bounded by exposure window, subgroup, dose, or functional (not circulating) measure.
Yellow — Low
low/theoretical: mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class extrapolation (Tier C) where a class member has real data but this drug does not; also context flags and reverse-direction findings.
Not graded — disclosed evidence gap
Nothing has been measured here, so this finding cannot be graded. That does not establish either safety or harm, and it is not the same as a White result.Source definition: evidence gap: no Tier B/C evidence exists to support a yellow grade, and no circulating claim exists to rebut as white. A disclosed absence, not a safety finding.

What the research found

Vitamin D

Yellow — Low

See study details

Levonorgestrel's androgenic suppression of vitamin D-binding protein may lower free/bioavailable 25-hydroxyvitamin D even while total 25(OH)D is unchanged or higher; mechanistic plausibility only, not measured in a levonorgestrel-only cohort.

Full detail, limits and 1 references

What the grade means here: low/theoretical: mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class extrapolation (Tier C) where a class member has real data but this drug does not; also context flags and reverse-direction findings. yellow

Limits on what this shows

  • Key negative/null findings: Total 25(OH)D, the assay ordinarily used clinically, did not fall; it rose slightly. This is a functional/binding-fraction change, not a circulating total-level deficiency, and is unfalsifiable as a "vitamin D deficiency" claim unless a lab specifically runs a bioavailable/free 25(OH)D assay.
  • At-risk subgroups: Not established for levonorgestrel-only products (LNG-IUS, Plan B); plausibility is inferred from levonorgestrel's known androgenic pharmacology, not measured directly in this cohort.
  • Counter-evidence on record: Total 25(OH)D increase itself argues against a true deficiency narrative; VDBP elevation, if replicated, would be consistent with a redistribution rather than a loss.

Regulatory status

Not addressed in either label reviewed.

Population evidence

Stanczyk et al. 2021 (PMID 33757895), "Effect of oral contraceptives on total and bioavailable 25-hydroxyvitamin D": in a combined ethinyl estradiol/levonorgestrel pill cohort, total 25(OH)D rose 4.4% while bioavailable 25(OH)D fell 18.2% and vitamin D-binding protein (VDBP) rose 19.1%. Cohort test: this used a combined EE/LNG product, not single-agent levonorgestrel, so this is class-adjacent evidence with a confound (estrogen is a stronger, better-established driver of hepatic binding-protein synthesis than progestins), not a direct levonorgestrel-only finding.

Mechanism

The study's own discussion proposes levonorgestrel may suppress VDBP similarly to its well-documented androgenic suppression of SHBG, offering a progestin-specific (not purely estrogen-driven) mechanistic candidate, which is why this is graded yellow rather than folded into the combined-pill-only white entries.

Counter-evidence held on record

Do not read this as "levonorgestrel causes vitamin D deficiency." Total 25(OH)D, the standard clinical test, was not reduced. This is relevant only if a clinician is interpreting a bioavailable/free 25(OH)D result and needs context for why it might read low. No supplementation is indicated on this evidence.

No ungraded entries remain in this revision

Not graded — disclosed evidence gap

See study details

Mitochondrial burden and ATP production, the two categories marked ungraded in the initial pass of this dossier, were re-researched from scratch with full, unshared tool access across PubMed, Crossref, Europe PMC, Semantic Scholar, and ScienceDirect/journal-publisher pages.

Full detail, limits and 4 references

What the grade means here: Nothing has been measured here, so this finding cannot be graded. That does not establish either safety or harm, and it is not the same as a White result. resolved

Mitochondrial burden

Genuine Tier B levonorgestrel-specific rat hepatic evidence was located (Kretzschmar et al. 1989, PMID 2500261; Khokha et al. 1987, PMID 3103689) and the category is now graded yellow; see Graded entries above.

ATP production

No levonorgestrel-specific or progestin-specific Tier A/B/C evidence measuring ATP synthesis, oxidative phosphorylation, or mitochondrial respiration directly was located despite a genuine, multi-channel, multi-phrasing search. A traceable circulating claim was found instead, that hormonal contraception lowers coenzyme Q10, an electron-transport-chain component, with real underlying literature (Palan et al. 2006, PMID 16647895; Palan et al. 2010, PMID 20814444), but that literature does not specify formulation or progestin type, includes no progestin-only arm, and proposes no progestin-specific mechanism, so it fails this dossier's cohort test for single-agent levonorgestrel. Per this protocol's rule that a circulating claim with no drug-specific support is graded white rather than left ungraded, this category now appears in Fails verification below rather than here. The absence of any direct, drug-specific ATP-synthesis literature is a genuine gap in the literature itself, not a tooling artifact of this revision.

Confirming the prior gap was a tooling artifact, not a true gap, for mitochondrial burden

The original UNGRADED result for mitochondrial burden reflected a real tooling limitation at the time (exhausted WebSearch budget, and PubMed/Europe PMC/Semantic Scholar rate-limiting), not an absence of literature; this revision confirms real, findable evidence existed once that budget was available. Individual PubMed abstract pages, the Europe PMC REST API, and the Semantic Scholar API continued to return HTTP 429 responses throughout this revision as well; the evidence above was retrieved via PubMed search-listing pages, the Crossref API, and ScienceDirect/journal-publisher pages instead, and DuckDuckGo HTML search and Europe PMC's own web pages were also tried and blocked (robots.txt), consistent with a host-side access restriction rather than a session-budget problem this time.

The five body-system areas

Each finding is counted once, in a single area. Where a study is mentioned in a second area it is context only.

Mitochondrial Burden

Each finding below is counted once, in this area only.

Mitochondrial burden

Yellow — Low

See study details

Two rat hepatic studies using levonorgestrel specifically found mitochondrial ultrastructural lesions and preferential mitochondrial glutathione depletion at a high dose, alongside a null finding for one specific mitochondrial lipid-synthesis enzyme; mechanistic plausibility only, not established in humans or at labeled dosing.

Full detail, limits and 2 references

What the grade means here: low/theoretical: mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class extrapolation (Tier C) where a class member has real data but this drug does not; also context flags and reverse-direction findings. yellow

Limits on what this shows

  • Key negative/null findings: Khokha R, Walton PA, Possmayer F, Wolfe B. "Effects of levonorgestrel on enzymes responsible for synthesis of triacylglycerols in rat liver" (1987, PMID 3103689, Biochimica et Biophysica Acta), also a levonorgestrel-specific rat liver study, found hepatic mitochondrial enzyme activity for the glycerol-3-phosphate acyltransferase pathway unchanged with levonorgestrel treatment, while the corresponding microsomal enzyme activity fell by 26%. This is a genuine null finding for that specific mitochondrial enzyme, though it measured a different endpoint, a lipid-synthesis enzyme, not ultrastructure, glutathione, or ATP synthesis, than Kretzschmar et al.
  • At-risk subgroups: Not established in humans. Both supporting studies are 1980s rat hepatic models; the 10 mg/kg dose producing mitochondrial lesions is far above any human therapeutic-equivalent exposure (Plan B One-Step is a single 1.5 mg dose in an average adult, on the order of 0.02-0.03 mg/kg; Mirena releases roughly 20 mcg/day initially), which sharply limits translatability to labeled dosing of either product.
  • Counter-evidence on record: The Khokha et al. null finding above; also the explicit dose-dependence within Kretzschmar et al. itself, since no mitochondrial lesion was reported at 1 mg/kg, only at 10 mg/kg, arguing against a low-dose or therapeutic-dose mitochondrial structural effect.

Regulatory status

Not addressed in either label reviewed.

Population evidence

Kretzschmar M, Giese R, Franke H, Machnik G, Klinger W. "Hepatic actions of levonorgestrel: correlations between biochemical and morphological findings" (1989, PMID 2500261, Chemico-Biological Interactions 70:157-166), a Tier B rat mechanistic study using levonorgestrel specifically, not combined with estrogen. At 10 mg/kg body weight, levonorgestrel produced "distinct lesions of the mitochondria" in centrilobular hepatocytes on ultrastructural examination, together with a reduction in total hepatic glutathione that was more pronounced in the mitochondrial fraction than in other compartments. At the lower 1 mg/kg dose tested in the same study, only cytochrome P-450 content fell; no mitochondrial ultrastructural lesion was reported at that dose, indicating a dose-dependent effect.

Mechanism

The study links the ultrastructural mitochondrial injury to preferential depletion of mitochondrial glutathione, a redox-buffering correlation rather than a named receptor or metabolic pathway; this is a structural/redox association in a high-dose rodent model, not a demonstrated mechanism in human hepatic or extrahepatic tissue.

Counter-evidence held on record

This is high-dose rat hepatic toxicology data, not a demonstrated effect at human therapeutic dosing or in human tissue. Do not present this as evidence that levonorgestrel damages mitochondria at labeled doses. No supplement or monitoring action is indicated by this evidence.

Oxidative Stress

Each finding below is counted once, in this area only.

Oxidative stress

Yellow — Low

See study details

A levonorgestrel-IUD-specific human comparative study and a non-mammalian animal toxicology study both examined levonorgestrel and oxidative stress markers; drug-specific evidence exists but this review could not confirm the direction or magnitude of the human comparison.

Full detail, limits and 2 references

What the grade means here: low/theoretical: mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class extrapolation (Tier C) where a class member has real data but this drug does not; also context flags and reverse-direction findings. yellow

Limits on what this shows

  • Key negative/null findings: None located; the human comparative study's direction is unknown to this review (see access note), so it cannot be reported as either a positive or null finding.
  • At-risk subgroups: Not established.
  • Counter-evidence on record: None located; flagged for re-check when the source becomes accessible.

Regulatory status

Not addressed in either label reviewed.

Population evidence

Buyuk GN et al. 2021, "Copper and levonorgestrel containing intrauterine devices: comparison of their effect on oxidative stress markers" (PMID 33594922), a human comparative study of copper-IUD vs LNG-IUD users. Access note: the full abstract could not be retrieved this session despite repeated attempts across pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov, europepmc.org, the Europe PMC REST API, and the Semantic Scholar API (HTTP 429 and bot-verification responses on every attempt); only the title and PubMed indexing were available, so direction and magnitude of the oxidative-marker findings are not asserted here.

Mechanism

Meric Turgut et al. 2025 (PMID 41012385), "Integrating Experimental Toxicology and Machine Learning to Model Levonorgestrel-Induced Oxidative Damage in Zebrafish," is a Tier B animal mechanistic study, but in a non-mammalian aquatic species at environmental/toxicology-range exposure, which limits translatability to human therapeutic dosing.

Counter-evidence held on record

This entry documents that drug-specific evidence exists and should be re-reviewed with full-text access, not that levonorgestrel increases or decreases oxidative stress. Do not present this as a confirmed antioxidant-depletion claim.

Copper and Iron Balance

Copper and iron are assessed separately. Nothing here is counted twice.

Iron

Orange — Moderate

See study details

The levonorgestrel-releasing IUD (Mirena, 52 mg) is associated with preserved or improved iron status in women treated for heavy menstrual bleeding, by reducing blood loss, not by any nutrient-sparing drug action; the opposite of a depletion effect.

Full detail, limits and 3 references

What the grade means here: moderate: ≥1 Tier A source with this drug in the cohort showing a real deficit or retention effect, but bounded by exposure window, subgroup, dose, or functional (not circulating) measure. orange

Limits on what this shows

  • Key negative/null findings: Perello-Capo et al. 2023 (PMID 37487868) found no significant difference in hemoglobin or hematocrit between a lower-dose 13.5 mg levonorgestrel IUD and a copper IUD, indicating the hematologic benefit is dose- and/or baseline-bleeding-dependent, not a universal levonorgestrel effect. An older Finnish-language reference (Luukkainen and Nilsson 1987, PMID 3331147) is indexed as noting a hemoglobin/iron decrease despite amenorrhea in some hormonal-coil users; this is an older, lower-confidence source (language-limited abstract, superseded device generation) and is recorded here as a genuine, unresolved counter-signal rather than omitted.
  • At-risk subgroups: Benefit is specific to women with baseline heavy menstrual bleeding using the 52 mg device; not established for the 13.5–19.5 mg lower-dose systems (Kyleena, Skyla) or for Plan B single-dose emergency contraception, which has no chronic exposure and no plausible iron-status effect.
  • Counter-evidence on record: See Key negative/null findings above; also note active-comparator design (Mirena vs medroxyprogesterone acetate, or vs copper IUD) does not test against no treatment, so part of the apparent benefit reflects the comparator's own bleeding profile, not an absolute baseline.

Regulatory status

Mirena is FDA-indicated for treatment of heavy menstrual bleeding for up to 5 years. Labeled trial (n=79 Mirena vs n=81 medroxyprogesterone acetate, 6 cycles, MBL ≥80 mL by alkaline hematin method) showed statistically significantly greater reduction in menstrual blood loss with Mirena; roughly 9 of 10 treated successfully with blood loss reduced by more than half.

Population evidence

Lowe RF, Prata N. "Hemoglobin and serum ferritin levels in women using copper-releasing or levonorgestrel-releasing intrauterine devices: a systematic review" (2013, PMID 23122687) is stratified to LNG-IUS specifically. Full abstract could not be retrieved this session (repeated access blocks, see Sources); title and indexing confirm the review's direct focus on hemoglobin/ferritin outcomes in LNG-IUS users compared with copper-IUD users.

Mechanism

Reduced menstrual blood loss lowers cumulative iron loss; not a direct pharmacologic effect on iron absorption, transport, or storage.

Counter-evidence held on record

This is a therapeutic, protective effect tied to a specific FDA-labeled indication (heavy menstrual bleeding) and device dose, not a general reason to expect iron benefits from levonorgestrel use, and not a signal to add iron supplementation. Women who switch from heavy bleeding to a levonorgestrel IUD and were previously on iron supplementation may need that reassessed by their prescriber, not increased.

Gut Microbiome Risk

No entry in this dossier measured gut microbiome effects for this medication. That is a documented gap, not a finding of safety.

Oxygen and ATP Output

Oxygen delivery and ATP production are assessed separately. Nothing here is counted twice.

Oxygen delivery/utilization

Orange — Moderate

See study details

By treating heavy menstrual bleeding, the levonorgestrel IUD is associated with preserved or improved hemoglobin in the labeled population; not a direct drug effect on oxygen-carrying capacity, and not applicable to Plan B or to lower-dose devices.

Full detail, limits and 2 references

What the grade means here: moderate: ≥1 Tier A source with this drug in the cohort showing a real deficit or retention effect, but bounded by exposure window, subgroup, dose, or functional (not circulating) measure. orange

Limits on what this shows

  • Key negative/null findings: Perello-Capo et al. 2023 (PMID 37487868): no significant hemoglobin or hematocrit difference between 13.5 mg LNG-IUD and copper IUD, again indicating a dose-bounded effect.
  • At-risk subgroups: Relevant only to heavy-menstrual-bleeding patients on the 52 mg device; no plausible oxygen-delivery effect from single-dose Plan B.
  • Counter-evidence on record: Same active-comparator limitation as the Iron entry; also note per Hard Rule 2 that reduced bleeding is the drug's own intended pharmacologic effect for this indication, so the entry is written here as a downstream hematologic consequence of that effect, not as an independent nutrient claim.

Regulatory status

Same Mirena heavy-menstrual-bleeding indication and trial data as the Iron entry (DailyMed setid dcbd6aa2). The label itself does not report specific hemoglobin change figures in the sections reviewed; hemoglobin is discussed only via the secondary literature below.

Population evidence

Lowe and Prata 2013 (PMID 23122687), stratified to LNG-IUS, reviews hemoglobin specifically alongside ferritin. See access note under the Iron entry; full abstract not retrievable this session.

Mechanism

Indirect: less menstrual blood loss preserves red-cell mass and hemoglobin; this is a downstream consequence of the drug's approved bleeding-reduction effect, not a direct action on erythropoiesis, hemoglobin synthesis, or arterial oxygenation.

Counter-evidence held on record

This entry shares its underlying evidence with the Iron entry above (see Overlap map). It describes a bounded, indication-specific benefit, not a general "boosts oxygen delivery" claim, and carries no supplementation implication in either direction.

Claims checked and not supported

These circulate online for this medication. They are listed here only so they can be answered, never as findings, and they are not graded.

A claim with no supporting evidence is not necessarily disproven. Where evidence actually argues against a claim, that is stated below.

  • Vitamin B6 (pyridoxine)

    Where it comes from: Classic "the pill depletes B6" claim, traced to 1970s tryptophan-loading studies (Adams et al. 1976, PMID 56585; Leklem et al. 1975, PMID 1130311; Miller et al. 1975, PMID 1146743) and repeated in modern reviews (Palmery et al. 2013, PMID 23852908; Shikh et al. 2021, PMID 34538035).

    Why it fails: Every underlying study used combined estrogen-progestogen pills; none studied levonorgestrel alone or any progestin-only product. Shikh et al. 2021 explicitly scopes the claim to "combined oral contraceptives." Bjorke-Monsen et al. 2023 (PMID 37773439) directly compared progestin-only contraceptive users to estrogen-containing contraceptive users on a tryptophan-pathway marker (kynurenic acid) and titled its estrogen-specific finding accordingly; full text could not be confirmed this session (repeated 429 responses), so this is supportive but not conclusively verified counter-evidence. No mechanism or data reaches even Tier C for progestin-only levonorgestrel.

  • Vitamin B12 (cobalamin)

    Where it comes from: Same "OC depletes B vitamins" claim bucket (Palmery et al. 2013, PMID 23852908; Shikh et al. 2021, PMID 34538035, "combined oral contraceptives reduce supply with B vitamins B6, B12, B9").

    Why it fails: Source reviews explicitly scope this to combined pills. No levonorgestrel-only or progestin-only B12 study was located at any tier.

  • Folate (vitamin B9)

    Where it comes from: Same claim bucket; de Moraes Jacob et al. 2019 (PMID 30900980) studied folic-acid supplementation specifically with combined ethinyl estradiol + levonorgestrel.

    Why it fails: Cohort test fails for single-agent levonorgestrel: the only levonorgestrel-adjacent folate study used a combined estrogen-containing product, an excluded cohort for this dossier's scope. No progestin-only folate data located.

  • Vitamin B2 (riboflavin)

    Where it comes from: Palmery et al. 2013 (PMID 23852908) lists riboflavin among "key nutrient depletions" attributed to oral contraceptives generally.

    Why it fails: Narrative review, not drug-stratified (Tier C/D), and the broader OC literature it draws on is combined-pill only. No levonorgestrel-specific or progestin-only riboflavin study located.

  • Vitamin C

    Where it comes from: Palmery et al. 2013 (PMID 23852908) lists vitamin C among nutrients affected by oral contraceptives.

    Why it fails: Same narrative-review, combined-pill-only basis as above. No levonorgestrel-specific or progestin-only vitamin C study located.

  • Vitamin E

    Where it comes from: Palmery et al. 2013 (PMID 23852908) lists vitamin E among nutrients affected by oral contraceptives.

    Why it fails: Same narrative-review, combined-pill-only basis. No levonorgestrel-specific or progestin-only vitamin E study located.

  • Magnesium

    Where it comes from: Blum et al. 1991, "Oral Contraceptive Lowers Serum Magnesium" (PMID 1752550), a combined pill containing ethinyl estradiol 0.03 mg and levonorgestrel 0.15 mg.

    Why it fails: Cohort test fails: the study drug is a combined product, an excluded cohort for single-agent levonorgestrel. No progestin-only or levonorgestrel-alone magnesium study located.

  • Zinc

    Where it comes from: Hinks, Clayton, Lloyd 1983, "Zinc and Copper Concentrations in Leucocytes and Erythrocytes... Effect of Oral Contraceptives" (PMID 6886018).

    Why it fails: Same cohort-exclusion issue: combined oral contraceptives, not levonorgestrel alone. No progestin-only zinc study located.

  • Copper (elevation/toxicity)

    Where it comes from: General confusion between hormonal IUDs and the copper (non-hormonal) IUD, sometimes generalized in consumer content as "IUDs raise copper."

    Why it fails: Directly contradicted by the device's own regulatory description: Mirena's T-body is polyethylene compounded with barium sulfate around a levonorgestrel/silicone hormone core with a silicone membrane; it contains no copper (DailyMed setid dcbd6aa2, Description section). Copper-related claims apply to copper IUDs (e.g., ParaGard), a different device class entirely, not to levonorgestrel products.

  • ATP production / coenzyme Q10

    Where it comes from: "Birth control depletes CoQ10 / drains your cellular energy" framing, which has real underlying literature: Palan et al. 2006 (PMID 16647895, American Journal of Obstetrics and Gynecology) found oral contraceptive use significantly decreased serum coenzyme Q10 and alpha-tocopherol (P<.001) in a 15-woman OC-user cohort; Palan et al. 2010 (PMID 20814444, Obstetrics and Gynecology International, DOI 10.1155/2010/925635) found significantly lower serum CoQ10, alpha-tocopherol, and total antioxidant capacity across oral-pill, vaginal-ring, and transdermal-patch hormonal contraceptive users (n=30) versus non-users (n=40).

    Why it fails: Neither study names the specific formulation, progestin, or whether the product is estrogen-containing; the 2010 study's three delivery methods (pill, ring, patch) are all combined estrogen-progestin methods with no progestin-only comparator, and neither paper proposes an estrogen- versus progestin-specific mechanism, unlike the Vitamin D entry above where an androgenic progestin mechanism is explicitly discussed. No single-agent levonorgestrel-only cohort is included at any tier; cohort test fails per this dossier's scope, the same exclusion pattern applied to the classical-nutrient claims below. CoQ10 is also only a marker of the electron-transport chain, not a direct measurement of cellular ATP output; no study measured ATP synthesis, respiration rate, or oxidative phosphorylation directly in a levonorgestrel-specific or progestin-specific cohort.

  • Gut microbiome disruption

    Where it comes from: General "hormonal birth control disrupts gut microbiome/causes dysbiosis" framing that motivates studies such as Krog et al. 2022.

    Why it fails: Krog et al. 2022, "The healthy female microbiome across body sites: effect of hormonal contraceptives and the menstrual cycle" (PMID 35553675), directly tested this and reported that menstrual cycle phase, but not hormonal contraceptive use, was associated with the gut microbiome specifically (full abstract page was recaptcha-blocked this session; finding taken from the PubMed search-listing snippet, which quotes the paper's own language). A levonorgestrel-IUS-specific study (Jacobson et al. 2014, PMID 24835828) found vaginal, not gut, microbiome changes with LNG-IUS placement; this is a different anatomical site and should not be read as gut microbiome evidence.

All references used above
  1. Mirena (levonorgestrel-releasing intrauterine system) Prescribing Information. — FDA-approved labeling, Bayer HealthCare Pharmaceuticals Inc., accessed via DailyMed, setid dcbd6aa2-b3fa-479a-a676-56ea742962fc, updated 2025-11-17.
  2. Plan B One-Step (levonorgestrel 1.5 mg) Drug Facts label. — OTC labeling, accessed via DailyMed, setid fcc7ba8e-ad54-4efe-87e4-5eb0fbf4f064.OTC Drug Facts format; full clinical-pharmacology section not present in this label type.
  3. WHO Collaborating Centre for Drug Statistics Methodology. ATC/DDD Index, codes G03AC03 and G03AD01 (levonorgestrel). — ATC classification reference.
  4. Stanczyk FZ, Sriprasert I, Danis R, et al. Effect of oral contraceptives on total and bioavailable 25-hydroxyvitamin D. 2021. — PMID 33757895.Cohort used combined ethinyl estradiol/levonorgestrel pill, not single-agent levonorgestrel; excluded cohort for this dossier's primary scope, used only for mechanistic plausibility.
  5. Lowe RF, Prata N. Hemoglobin and serum ferritin levels in women using copper-releasing or levonorgestrel-releasing intrauterine devices: a systematic review. 2013. — PMID 23122687.Full abstract page could not be opened this session (returned empty content on repeated fetch); title, journal, and PubMed indexing used, not full-text findings.
  6. Perello-Capo J, et al. Bleeding profile and safety of a levonorgestrel 13.5 mg intrauterine device versus Nova T copper 380 mm2 intrauterine device. 2023. — PMID 37487868.
  7. Luukkainen T, Nilsson CG. [Hormonal coils]. 1987. — PMID 3331147. Finnish-language.Older reference, language-limited abstract available only via PubMed search-listing snippet; recorded as an unresolved counter-signal, not independently verified.
  8. Toivonen J, Luukkainen T. Progestin-releasing intrauterine devices. 1997 era review. — PMID 9174755.
  9. Buyuk GN, Oskovi-Kaplan ZA, Kansu-Celik H, et al. Copper and levonorgestrel containing intrauterine devices: comparison of their effect on oxidative stress markers. 2021. — PMID 33594922.Full abstract inaccessible this session: repeated HTTP 429 responses from pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov, europepmc.org (robots-disallowed), the Europe PMC REST API (www.ebi.ac.uk, HTTP 429), and the Semantic Scholar API (HTTP 429). Title and indexing only; direction of findings not asserted.
  10. Meric Turgut I, Yapici M, Gerdan Koc D. Integrating Experimental Toxicology and Machine Learning to Model Levonorgestrel-Induced Oxidative Damage in Zebrafish. 2025. — PMID 41012385. Non-mammalian animal toxicology model.
  11. Krog MC, Hugerth LW, Fransson E, et al. The healthy female microbiome across body sites: effect of hormonal contraceptives and the menstrual cycle. 2022. — PMID 35553675.Abstract page returned a bot-verification (reCAPTCHA) screen on fetch; finding quoted from the PubMed search-results listing snippet only. Class-level (hormonal contraceptives generally), not levonorgestrel-stratified.
  12. Jacobson JC, et al. Vaginal microbiome changes with levonorgestrel intrauterine system placement. 2014. — PMID 24835828.
  13. Bjorke-Monsen AL, Varsi K, Sakkestad ST, et al. Lower levels of the neuroprotective tryptophan metabolite, kynurenic acid, in users of estrogen contraceptives. 2023. — PMID 37773439.Full abstract inaccessible this session (repeated HTTP 429 on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov); title and search-listing snippet only, which names a "progestin only contraceptives (PC-users)" comparison group without confirming that subgroup's specific result.
  14. Palmery M, Saraceno A, Vaiarelli A, Carlomagno G. Oral contraceptives and changes in nutritional requirements. 2013. — PMID 23852908. Narrative review, not drug-stratified.Tier C/D narrative review; source of circulating claim list, not primary evidence for levonorgestrel.
  15. Shikh EV, et al. Iatrogenic deficits of micronutrients. 2021. — PMID 34538035.Explicitly scopes B-vitamin claim to "combined oral contraceptives," an excluded cohort for this dossier.
  16. Larsson-Cohn U. Oral contraceptives and vitamins: a review. 1975. — PMID 1090167.Historical review of estrogen-containing OCs; excluded cohort for single-agent levonorgestrel.
  17. Blum M, Kitai E, Ariel Y, Schnierer M, Bograd H. Oral Contraceptive Lowers Serum Magnesium. 1991. — PMID 1752550. Pill contained ethinyl estradiol 0.03 mg and levonorgestrel 0.15 mg.Combined product; excluded cohort for single-agent levonorgestrel.
  18. Hinks LJ, Clayton BE, Lloyd RS. Zinc and Copper Concentrations in Leucocytes and Erythrocytes in Healthy Adults and the Effect of Oral Contraceptives. 1983. — PMID 6886018.Combined oral contraceptives; excluded cohort for single-agent levonorgestrel.
  19. de Moraes Jacob J, de Jesus Antunes N, Moreno R, De Nucci G. Evaluation of folic acid supplementation by concomitant administration of ethinyl estradiol + levonorgestrel in healthy female subjects. 2019. — PMID 30900980.Combined product; excluded cohort for single-agent levonorgestrel.
  20. Adams PW, et al. Influence of oral contraceptives, pyridoxine (vitamin B6), and tryptophan on carbohydrate metabolism. 1976. — PMID 56585. Combined oestrogen-progestagen pill cohort (n=46).Combined product; excluded cohort.
  21. Leklem JE, et al. Vitamin B6 requirements of women using oral contraceptives. 1975. — PMID 1130311. Combined estrogen-progestogen pill cohort (n=15) vs controls (n=9).Combined product; excluded cohort.
  22. Kretzschmar M, Giese R, Franke H, Machnik G, Klinger W. Hepatic actions of levonorgestrel: correlations between biochemical and morphological findings. 1989. — Chemico-Biological Interactions 70:157-166. PMID 2500261. Rat hepatic mechanistic study, levonorgestrel-specific (not combined), doses of 1 and 10 mg/kg body weight.Animal (rat) toxicology-range dosing; the 10 mg/kg mitochondrial-lesion finding is far above human therapeutic-equivalent exposure.
  23. Khokha R, Walton PA, Possmayer F, Wolfe B. Effects of levonorgestrel on enzymes responsible for synthesis of triacylglycerols in rat liver. 1987. — Biochimica et Biophysica Acta (BBA) - Lipids and Lipid Metabolism. PMID 3103689. DOI 10.1016/0005-2760(87)90186-x. Rat hepatic mechanistic study, levonorgestrel-specific.Animal (rat) study; measured a specific lipid-synthesis enzyme's mitochondrial activity, not general mitochondrial structure or ATP synthesis.
  24. Palan PR, Magneson AT, Castillo M, Dunne J, Mikhail MS. Effects of menstrual cycle and oral contraceptive use on serum levels of lipid-soluble antioxidants. 2006. — American Journal of Obstetrics and Gynecology. PMID 16647895. DOI 10.1016/j.ajog.2005.11.032. n=15 oral contraceptive users; formulation and progestin type not specified in the abstract.Formulation unspecified and not confirmed as levonorgestrel-containing or progestin-only; excluded cohort for this dossier's single-agent levonorgestrel scope.
  25. Palan PR, Strube F, Letko J, Sadikovic A, Mikhail MS. Effects of oral, vaginal, and transdermal hormonal contraception on serum levels of coenzyme Q10, vitamin E, and total antioxidant activity. 2010. — Obstetrics and Gynecology International. PMID 20814444. DOI 10.1155/2010/925635. n=30 hormonal contraceptive users (oral pill, vaginal ring, transdermal patch) vs n=40 controls.All three delivery methods studied are combined estrogen-progestin methods; no progestin-only or levonorgestrel-specific arm; excluded cohort for this dossier's scope.