Hydrocodone/acetaminophen
opioid analgesic combination (Series 7 pain)
Also sold as Norco.
Findings for this medication
Research about this medication, graded for how strongly each finding can be attributed to it. Nothing here describes your own levels.
This is a two-ingredient product and it is treated here as one combination, with each finding tagged to the ingredient that owns the evidence. Hydrocodone is metabolized mainly by CYP3A4 (N-demethylation to norhydrocodone) with a smaller CYP2D6 contribution (hydromorphone), and hydrocodone and its metabolites are eliminated mainly by the kidney; the label retrieved describes no nutrient mechanism for it [1]. Acetaminophen is the ingredient with a real, drug-specific metabolic mechanism that touches an endogenous antioxidant: about 90% is conjugated by sulfation and glucuronidation, about 8% is oxidized by CYP2E1 (with CYP1A2 and CYP3A4 as additional routes) to a reactive intermediate, and that intermediate is cleared by conjugation with glutathione [1][4]. The opioid ingredient's real signals are endocrine and gastrointestinal, not nutritional: constipation, suppression of ACTH, cortisol and LH, androgen deficiency with prolonged use, and adrenal insufficiency, all named in the label [1].
opioid analgesic combination (Series 7 pain) · ATC N02AJ22 hydrocodone and paracetamol (WHO ATC/DDD Index [3]) · also sold as Norco [2]; many generics · reviewed 2026-10-06. This describes research about the medication. It does not say anything about your own levels or health.
How to read the evidence grades
These colours describe how strongly a finding can be attributed to the medication in the research. They are not a severity score and they say nothing about your own health.
Grades describe how strongly a finding can be attributed to Hydrocodone/acetaminophen in the research — not how common it is, how serious it would be, and not anything about you personally.
- Red — Severe
- Two or more independent Tier A sources, this drug in the cohort, the nutrient directly measured, consistent direction, clinically meaningful magnitude, a named mechanism, no substantial contradicting Tier A evidence.
- Orange — Moderate
- At least one Tier A source with this drug in the cohort showing a real but bounded deficit: an exposure window, a subgroup, low frequency, or a functional rather than circulating deficit.
- Yellow — Low
- Mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class extrapolation (Tier C) with no drug-specific human status data; also used for context flags and interactions running the other direction.
- Not graded — disclosed evidence gap
- Nothing has been measured here, so this finding cannot be graded. That does not establish either safety or harm, and it is not the same as a White result.Source definition: Not gradeable under the rules above because nothing has been measured. Published as a documented gap, never as reassurance that there is no effect.
What the research found
Inorganic sulfate and sulfur amino acids: acetaminophen conjugation substrates, small human study
Yellow — LowSee study details
Sulfation is a main acetaminophen route and a small human study saw lower urinary sulfate output with raised plasma sulfate, but its own conclusion about depletion was retrieved inconsistently.
Full detail and limits
Inorganic sulfate and sulfur amino acids: acetaminophen conjugation substrates, small human study
Yellow — LowWhat the grade means here: Mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class extrapolation (Tier C) with no drug-specific human status data; also used for context flags and interactions running the other direction. Yellow
Limits on what this shows
- Null findings: Raised plasma sulfate argues against a measurable circulating depletion at 2 to 4 g daily [14]. The sulfate and cysteine PubMed search found only this one human record.
Ingredient
Acetaminophen. Hydrocodone: no data.
Direction
Possible diversion or consumption of sulfate (depletion pathway, mechanism class E); not shown to lower body stores.
Regulatory status
Label names sulfate conjugation as a principal pathway [1]. No nutrient warning.
Population evidence
Blackledge 1991 [14] (Tier B, tiny human study; abstract read via reconstructed OpenAlex text): 6 patients taking 2 to 4 g daily and 1 taking 12 g, plus healthy volunteers at 3 g daily; 24-hour urine and plasma samples; variable decreases in urinary inorganic sulfate output with moderately elevated plasma sulfate; glucuronidation dominated and rose with dose; methionine supplementation in one subject did not change the pattern; no subject made more than 0.6 mmol/h of paracetamol sulfate. The abstract's final sentence about amino-acid depletion risk was retrieved in two contradictory forms (one summary said no depletion risk at therapeutic doses; the reconstruction said high doses with diets over 20 g of amino acids may lead to depletion), so the conclusion is not used. Lauterburg and Mitchell 1987 [6]: title only, abstract not opened.
Mechanism
Named: sulfation consumes inorganic sulfate and, with glutathione conjugation, cysteine turnover [1][4].
Counter-evidence held on record
Counter-evidence Seven patients, no unexposed comparator, no clinical outcome. Overlaps with the glutathione entry through the shared conjugation pathway. Framing caution Not a deficiency claim. Do not recommend methionine, cysteine or sulfur supplements from this entry.
Androgen axis: low testosterone with chronic opioid use, hydrocodone in one cohort, mixed controlled evidence (hormone, not a nutrient)
Yellow — LowSee study details
The label names androgen deficiency with prolonged opioid use, hydrocodone users had dose-related low testosterone in one cohort, but no unexposed comparator exists for hydrocodone and a matched-control study of opioid users was not significant.
Full detail and limits
Androgen axis: low testosterone with chronic opioid use, hydrocodone in one cohort, mixed controlled evidence (hormone, not a nutrient)
Yellow — LowWhat the grade means here: Mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class extrapolation (Tier C) with no drug-specific human status data; also used for context flags and interactions running the other direction. Yellow
Limits on what this shows
- Null findings: Lamprecht 2018 [22] (CLASS EXTRAPOLATION, Tier C; hydrocodone not named in the abstract): 40 opioid users versus 25 age- and sex-matched controls; testosterone below 8 nmol/L in 11/24 users versus 2/14 controls (P = 0.08, not significant), and among men testosterone was inversely associated with BMI but not with opioid use.
- At-risk subgroups: Men on chronic daily therapy; higher hydrocodone daily dose [20]. Women were not assessed in the studies read.
Ingredient
Hydrocodone (opioid). Acetaminophen: none.
Direction
Hormonal disturbance (reduced testosterone). Not a nutrient and not a deficiency that supplementation should correct (Hard Rule 2 and 5).
Regulatory status
Label: "Use of opioids for an extended period of time may influence the hypothalamic-pituitary-gonadal axis, leading to androgen deficiency"; opioids inhibit secretion of ACTH, cortisol and LH [1].
Population evidence
Rubinstein 2016 [20] (Tier A for hydrocodone in cohort; abstract read via OpenAlex): retrospective cohort, 1,159 men aged 18 to 80 on one stable opioid for at least 90 days, morning total testosterone, hydrocodone as referent; compared with hydrocodone, fentanyl OR 25.7 (2.82 to 234.97), methadone OR 7.33 (3.29 to 16.33) and oxycodone OR 3.15 (1.87 to 5.33) for androgen deficiency; higher hydrocodone dose raised the odds (OR 1.18 per 10 mg increase, 95% CI 1.09 to 1.28). Rubinstein 2013 [19] (Tier C for hydrocodone, abstract read): 81 men on stable daily opioids; 53% hypogonadal overall, 74% on long-acting versus 34% on short-acting opioids; agents not named in the abstract. Daniell 2016 [21] (Tier B, single-subject within-person series): one man, serial testosterone after 0, 5 or 10 mg hydrocodone over 22 weeks; 10 mg lowered testosterone at 2, 4 and 6 hours, 5 mg did not significantly.
Mechanism
Named: opioid suppression of hypothalamic-pituitary signaling (LH inhibition) [1].
Why yellow and not orange
The hydrocodone cohort [20] has no unexposed comparator, so it shows differences between opioids and a dose gradient but not an attributable deficit versus non-use; the only matched-control cohort found [22] did not reach significance, and obesity is a confounder. Confounding by indication (chronic pain, BMI, age) is presumed (Hard Rule 6).
Counter-evidence held on record
Counter-evidence and confounding The single-subject hydrocodone series shows a transient post-dose dip, which the author frames as a possible source of misdiagnosis rather than chronic hypogonadism [21]. Total testosterone alone, without free testosterone or LH, limits interpretation. Framing caution This is a hormonal disturbance flag for a prescriber, not a nutrient finding. No vitamin, mineral or herbal "testosterone support" is recommended or implied.
Adrenal axis: opioid-induced adrenal insufficiency, label-named, class extrapolation (hormone, not a nutrient)
Yellow — LowSee study details
The label names adrenal insufficiency with opioid use, usually after more than a month, and class studies show dose-related suppression, but hydrocodone was not named in the abstracts read.
Full detail and limits
Adrenal axis: opioid-induced adrenal insufficiency, label-named, class extrapolation (hormone, not a nutrient)
Yellow — LowWhat the grade means here: Mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class extrapolation (Tier C) with no drug-specific human status data; also used for context flags and interactions running the other direction. Yellow
Limits on what this shows
- Null findings: A PubMed search for "opioid adrenal insufficiency hydrocodone" returned one unrelated tonsil-surgery review. The 20-record "opioid-induced adrenal insufficiency" listing named morphine, fentanyl, methadone and buprenorphine/naloxone cases and no hydrocodone.
Ingredient
Hydrocodone (opioid class). Acetaminophen: none.
Direction
Hormonal disturbance (reduced ACTH and cortisol output). Not a nutrient deficiency.
Regulatory status
Label sec 5.8: "Cases of adrenal insufficiency have been reported with opioid use, more often following greater than one month of use." Sec 12.2: opioids inhibit secretion of ACTH and cortisol [1].
Population evidence
CLASS EXTRAPOLATION. Li 2020 [23] (cross-sectional, 102 pain-rehabilitation patients; abstract read): opioid-induced adrenal insufficiency diagnosed in 9 (9%); higher cumulative opioid exposure was associated with it; 6 of 7 recovered adrenal function after opioid discontinuation; hydrocodone not named in the abstract. Lamprecht 2018 [22] (abstract read): secondary adrenal insufficiency in 22.5% of 40 oral or transdermal opioid users versus none of 25 matched controls (P = 0.01), with 50% above 200 mg and 0% below 60 mg morphine-equivalent daily dose.
Mechanism
Named: central suppression of the hypothalamic-pituitary-adrenal axis [1][23].
Class cohort test
Hydrocodone not documented in either cohort (abstracts only; full texts not opened). The label itself (Tier A for this product) states the class risk, which supports a yellow context flag, not orange.
Counter-evidence held on record
Counter-evidence Small, single-center cross-sectional samples; prevalence estimates differ (9% versus 22.5%); case detection depends on assay cutoffs. Framing caution A prescriber-level safety flag, not a nutrient finding. No supplement addresses it.
Vitamin D: opioid class extrapolation, association in a pain clinic population, reverse causation not excluded
Yellow — LowSee study details
Low 25-hydroxyvitamin D was more common among higher-dose, longer-duration opioid users in one pain-clinic series, but the drug was not named, there was no unexposed comparison, and no mechanism was shown.
Full detail and limits
Vitamin D: opioid class extrapolation, association in a pain clinic population, reverse causation not excluded
Yellow — LowWhat the grade means here: Mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class extrapolation (Tier C) with no drug-specific human status data; also used for context flags and interactions running the other direction. Yellow
Limits on what this shows
- Null findings: PubMed searches for opioid and vitamin D deficiency, and for opioid hypogonadism with bone density and vitamin D, returned this one directly relevant record plus two bone-health reviews that do not name hydrocodone. Low BMD or fracture is an outcome, not vitamin D deficiency (Hard Rule 2).
Ingredient
Hydrocodone (opioid class). Acetaminophen: none.
Direction
Association only; direction of effect unknown. Possibly reverse (low vitamin D and more pain needing more opioid).
Regulatory status
No vitamin D statement in the label text read [1].
Population evidence
CLASS EXTRAPOLATION. Turner 2008 [24] (Tier C; retrospective case series, 267 chronic pain patients; abstract read via OpenAlex): 26% (95% CI 20.6 to 31.1%) had 25(OH)D at or below 20 ng/mL; among opioid users the inadequate group had higher mean morphine-equivalent dose (133.5 versus 70.0 mg/day, P = 0.001) and longer opioid use (71.1 versus 43.8 months, P = 0.023). Only morphine is named in the abstract.
Mechanism
Absent in the source. Opioid-associated low testosterone has been linked to bone loss in reviews (listing titles only), but no source connected opioids to vitamin D metabolism.
Class cohort test
Hydrocodone was not documented in the cohort. Capped at yellow. Confounding by indication (chronic pain, reduced activity and sun exposure) and reverse causation are presumed (Hard Rule 6).
Counter-evidence held on record
Counter-evidence Chronic pain patients as a group are at risk of low vitamin D regardless of drug; the study has no non-opioid comparison in its reported contrasts. Framing caution Not a deficiency claim for hydrocodone/acetaminophen. A monitoring prompt at most. No vitamin D dose is recommended or appears in this dossier.
No entry is ungraded
Not graded — disclosed evidence gapEvidence: ungraded
All seven required categories and the added entries reached at least yellow because at least one Tier B or C source was opened for each; the ungraded tier is therefore empty, but several ingredient-specific limbs returned nothing and are recorded here so they are not read as reassurance.
Full detail and limits
No entry is ungraded
Not graded — disclosed evidence gapWhat the grade means here: Nothing has been measured here, so this finding cannot be graded. That does not establish either safety or harm, and it is not the same as a White result. None ungraded
Hydrocodone, mitochondria and ATP
PubMed "hydrocodone mitochondrial" returned a 404 no-match page (a broader OR phrasing was rate-limited). Genuine gap as far as one narrow PubMed phrasing could show; PMC and journal pages were blocked, so full-text mentions could not be searched.
Hydrocodone, iron, copper, hemoglobin
PubMed "hydrocodone iron OR copper OR ferritin OR anemia" returned 20 unrelated records. Genuine gap in the listing; only that single phrasing was run after earlier requests were rate-limited.
Hydrocodone, microbiome
PubMed "hydrocodone microbiota" returned one unrelated mouse study; the human opioid-microbiome listing named no hydrocodone. Genuine gap for hydrocodone-named data; full texts were not opened, so hydrocodone subgroups inside opioid studies cannot be excluded (tooling-limited).
Why no ungraded cards
The dual condition in Step 7 is not met for any entry because Tier B or C sources exist. Not a finding of safety.
The five body-system areas
Each finding is counted once, in a single area. Where a study is mentioned in a second area it is context only.
Mitochondrial Burden
Each finding below is counted once, in this area only.
Mitochondrial burden: acetaminophen overdose toxicity, no therapeutic-dose or hydrocodone data
Yellow — LowSee study details
Acetaminophen overdose damages mitochondria in humans and animals; that is the drug's own toxicity, and no study of mitochondrial effects at therapeutic dosing or of hydrocodone was found.
Full detail and limits
Mitochondrial burden: acetaminophen overdose toxicity, no therapeutic-dose or hydrocodone data
Yellow — LowWhat the grade means here: Mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class extrapolation (Tier C) with no drug-specific human status data; also used for context flags and interactions running the other direction. Yellow
Limits on what this shows
- Null findings: A PubMed listing search for "hydrocodone mitochondrial" returned a 404 page, which PubMed gives when a query has no matching records (a broader OR phrasing was rate-limited and not retried). No therapeutic-dose mitochondrial measurement for acetaminophen was found.
Ingredient
Acetaminophen (overdose). Hydrocodone: no data.
Direction
Excess toxicity (the drug's own overdose injury). Not a nutrient deficiency (Hard Rule 2).
Regulatory status
No mitochondrial statement; hepatotoxicity warning only [1].
Population evidence
McGill 2012 [8] (Tier A for the overdose population; abstract read via OpenAlex): plasma glutamate dehydrogenase (a mitochondrial damage marker) and mitochondrial DNA fragments were measured in acetaminophen-overdose patients with varying injury severity and in healthy controls, with peak levels tracking abnormal liver tests; mouse experiments agreed. The abstract's counts and magnitudes were not retrieved. Pharmacology reference [4]: reactive-metabolite protein adducts alter the mitochondrial ATP synthase alpha subunit and generate mitochondrial nitrotyrosine adducts. Two further records were seen as metadata only and not used: a HepG2 human-cell study of mitochondrial ROS and electron transport gene expression [9] and a handbook review of mechanisms of acetaminophen liver necrosis [10].
Mechanism
Named for overdose: reactive metabolite binding to mitochondrial proteins, then mitochondrial dysfunction and DNA fragmentation [4][8].
Counter-evidence held on record
Counter-evidence Evidence is from overdose, where glutathione is exhausted; it does not show mitochondrial harm at labeled doses. Hydrocodone is wholly unstudied here. Framing caution Not a deficiency claim and not an expected therapeutic effect. Do not use this entry to suggest mitochondrial supplements.
Oxidative Stress
Each finding below is counted once, in this area only.
Oxidative stress: glutathione consumption by the acetaminophen ingredient, healthy volunteers, short therapeutic exposure, whole-blood level only
Orange — ModerateSee study details
At therapeutic acetaminophen dosing, whole-blood glutathione fell in healthy volunteers over a short exposure and was prevented from falling by co-administered N-acetylcysteine; this is the expected cost of glutathione-dependent clearance, shown in one small trial, and is not a diet-correctable deficiency.
Full detail, limits and 1 references
Oxidative stress: glutathione consumption by the acetaminophen ingredient, healthy volunteers, short therapeutic exposure, whole-blood level only
Orange — ModerateWhat the grade means here: At least one Tier A source with this drug in the cohort showing a real but bounded deficit: an exposure window, a subgroup, low frequency, or a functional rather than circulating deficit. Orange
Limits on what this shows
- Null and contrary findings: Janz 2013 [7] (Tier B/C, acetaminophen alone, observational, 391 critically ill patients): in sepsis, acetaminophen use was associated with lower plasma F2-isoprostanes (18.5 versus 42 pg/mL, P = 0.009) and lower mortality odds (OR 0.48, P = 0.026), the opposite direction for a lipid peroxidation marker, in a hemoprotein-rich setting and with confounding by indication. The label-level hepatic safety of therapeutic dosing is not contradicted by a small blood GSH change.
- At-risk subgroups: From the pharmacology reference: fasting or malnutrition, chronic alcohol use, older age and low glutathione stores increase the chance that glutathione becomes limiting [4]. These are context for toxicity risk, not findings from the trial.
Ingredient
Acetaminophen. Hydrocodone was not in the cohort.
Direction
Depletion (consumption of an endogenous antioxidant by conjugation-driven loss, mechanism class E).
Regulatory status
The label states that part of acetaminophen is oxidized by the cytochrome P450 pathway "to form a reactive intermediate metabolite, which conjugates with glutathione" and that dose-dependent hepatic necrosis is the most serious adverse effect of overdosage [1]. No glutathione depletion warning at therapeutic dose appears in the text read.
Population evidence
Pickering 2018/2019 [5] (Tier A, abstract read via a reconstructed OpenAlex abstract; full text not opened): randomized, double-blind controlled trial (NCT02206178), 24 healthy volunteers. NAC or placebo for four days (1 g four times daily), then oral acetaminophen with NAC or placebo; whole-blood GSH, ASAT and ALAT measured at day 0 and day 4. GSH stayed at baseline in the acetaminophen plus NAC group and decreased in the acetaminophen plus placebo group (P = 0.033). The abstract does not give the acetaminophen dose, the arm sizes, the magnitude of the fall, or the transaminase result. Supporting title only: Lauterburg and Mitchell 1987 [6] ("Therapeutic doses of acetaminophen stimulate the turnover of cysteine and glutathione in man"); its abstract could not be retrieved, so it is not used for grading.
Mechanism
Named. Reactive-metabolite formation by CYP2E1 and related enzymes, then glutathione conjugation [1][4]. In overdose, glutathione stores are exhausted and hepatocellular necrosis follows [4]; that overdose injury is the drug's own toxicity.
Boundary
Short exposure, healthy volunteers, functional blood marker, one trial, abstract-level read, ingredient tested alone.
Counter-evidence held on record
Counter-evidence and confounding The trial is small, the clinical meaning of a modest blood GSH decrease is not shown, and no liver injury at therapeutic dose is claimed here. Glutathione is synthesized by the body and has no recommended dietary intake. Janz 2013 [7] runs the other way for a lipid peroxidation marker. Framing caution This is an acetaminophen-ingredient finding in healthy volunteers over a short window, not a claim that hydrocodone/acetaminophen depletes antioxidants in ordinary use. Do not recommend glutathione or N-acetylcysteine supplements from this entry; N-acetylcysteine is an overdose antidote used under medical care. No supplement dose is given or implied. Overdose liver injury is drug toxicity, not a nutrient deficiency (Hard Rule 2).
- Pickering G, Macian N, Papet I, Duale C, Rubat Coudert C, Pereira B. N-acetylcysteine prevents glutathione decrease and does not interfere with paracetamol antinociceptive effect at therapeutic dosage. Fundam Clin Pharmacol. — Randomized double-blind trial, 24 healthy volunteers (NCT02206178). PMID 30471141. DOI 10.1111/fcp.12437. Year 2018 on the OpenAlex record, 2019 in the PubMed listing. Abstract read via a reconstructed OpenAlex abstract; full text not opened.Acetaminophen alone; hydrocodone not in the cohort. Acetaminophen dose and arm sizes not stated in the abstract.
Copper and Iron Balance
Copper and iron are assessed separately. Nothing here is counted twice.
Iron: intracellular iron release in acetaminophen overdose models, no systemic iron-status finding
Yellow — LowSee study details
In primary mouse hepatocytes exposed to a supratherapeutic acetaminophen concentration, ferritin breakdown released iron and fed oxidative injury; no study showed that either ingredient changes iron status in people.
Full detail and limits
Iron: intracellular iron release in acetaminophen overdose models, no systemic iron-status finding
Yellow — LowWhat the grade means here: Mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class extrapolation (Tier C) with no drug-specific human status data; also used for context flags and interactions running the other direction. Yellow
Limits on what this shows
- Null findings: A PubMed search combining hydrocodone with iron, copper, ferritin and anemia returned 20 unrelated iron-diagnosis and treatment papers and none about hydrocodone. No human study of acetaminophen and serum iron or ferritin was located.
Ingredient
Acetaminophen (in vitro, mouse). Hydrocodone: no data.
Direction
Excess or redistribution of labile intracellular iron during toxicity. Not depletion. Supplementation would be the hazard, not the remedy.
Regulatory status
No iron statement in the label text read [1].
Population evidence
None in humans. Gong 2025 [12] (Tier B; abstract read via OpenAlex): primary mouse hepatocytes exposed to 20 mM acetaminophen showed GSH depletion, mitochondrial dysfunction, iron-dependent lipid peroxidation, ferritin degradation and iron release; the iron chelator deferoxamine and N-acetylcysteine reduced the toxicity. A second ferritinophagy paper (Toxicol Appl Pharmacol 2025) was seen only as metadata and is not used.
Mechanism
Named for toxicity: oxidant damage to ferritin releases iron that amplifies lipid peroxidation [12].
Counter-evidence held on record
Counter-evidence 20 mM is far above therapeutic exposure, the model is mouse cells, and redistribution of intracellular iron is not systemic iron deficiency or overload. Framing caution Not an iron deficiency claim and not a reason to take iron. Anemia is not iron deficiency (Hard Rule 2).
Copper: in vitro copper-dependent redox chemistry of acetaminophen only, no status finding
Yellow — LowSee study details
Copper(II) can drive acetaminophen to generate DNA-damaging oxidants in a test tube, though acetaminophen was among the least reactive phenols tested; no study showed either ingredient changes copper status.
Full detail and limits
Copper: in vitro copper-dependent redox chemistry of acetaminophen only, no status finding
Yellow — LowWhat the grade means here: Mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class extrapolation (Tier C) with no drug-specific human status data; also used for context flags and interactions running the other direction. Yellow
Limits on what this shows
- Null findings: A PubMed search for acetaminophen with serum iron, ferritin, serum copper or ceruloplasmin returned 20 records, none showing an acetaminophen effect on copper status; the combined hydrocodone iron or copper search found nothing for hydrocodone.
Ingredient
Acetaminophen (in vitro). Hydrocodone: no data.
Direction
Neutral for status. The documented relationship is copper affecting the drug's pro-oxidant chemistry, not the drug depleting copper (Hard Rule 4).
Regulatory status
No copper statement in the label text read [1].
Population evidence
None in humans. Li and Trush 1994 [13] (Tier B, in vitro; abstract read via OpenAlex): in the presence of micromolar Cu(II), a series of phenolic compounds including acetaminophen caused strand breaks in phi X-174 DNA; compounds with a single phenol group, such as acetaminophen, were least reactive; the damage was inhibited by a Cu(I)-specific chelator and by catalase, pointing to Cu(II)/Cu(I) redox cycling and hydrogen peroxide. Other PubMed hits (animal studies of copper modulating acetaminophen hepatotoxicity) were listing titles only and were not opened.
Mechanism
Demonstrated in vitro as copper redox cycling. No mechanism by which the drug lowers or raises body copper was found.
Counter-evidence held on record
Counter-evidence In vitro DNA cleavage in a test tube with added copper is not evidence of depletion, excess or harm in people. Framing caution Mechanistic curiosity only. Not a deficiency claim and not a reason to take or avoid copper. Kept separate from Iron (Hard Rule 7).
Gut Microbiome Risk
Each finding below is counted once, in this area only.
Gut microbiome risk: opioid class extrapolation, hydrocodone not named in the studies read
Yellow — LowSee study details
Opioids as a class are associated with altered gut microbiota, and hydrocodone causes constipation by label, but no retrieved microbiome study named hydrocodone.
Full detail and limits
Gut microbiome risk: opioid class extrapolation, hydrocodone not named in the studies read
Yellow — LowWhat the grade means here: Mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class extrapolation (Tier C) with no drug-specific human status data; also used for context flags and interactions running the other direction. Yellow
Limits on what this shows
- Null findings: PubMed searches for "hydrocodone microbiota" and "opioid gut microbiome humans hydrocodone" returned either an unrelated mouse study or no records. Most acetaminophen-microbiome records found ran the other direction (microbiota modulating acetaminophen liver injury), which is not a drug effect on the microbiome (Hard Rule 4).
Ingredient
Hydrocodone (via opioid class). Acetaminophen: marginal, prenatal only.
Direction
Composition change (neutral to adverse). Not a nutrient deficiency.
Regulatory status
Label states propulsive peristaltic waves in the colon are decreased and tone may rise to spasm, resulting in constipation; anticholinergics add risk of severe constipation [1]. No microbiome statement.
Population evidence
CLASS EXTRAPOLATION. Le Bastard 2017/2018 [15] (systematic review, abstract read; Tier C): opioids were associated with an increase in alpha diversity and, with other drug classes, with increases in Gammaproteobacteria or Enterococcaceae; individual opioids were not named in the abstract. Acharya 2016/2017 [16] (Tier C; abstract read): 200 hospitalized cirrhotic patients with or without chronic opioid use; in 72 matched participants, opioid users had reduced Bacteroidaceae and higher endotoxin and aromatic amino acid production, with elevated IL-6 and IL-17; hydrocodone was not named in the abstract, and the cirrhosis population is heavily confounded. Coluzzi 2024 [17] (narrative review, Tier C): opioid effects on microbiota are discussed in general terms with no specific opioids named. Laue 2022 [18] (Tier B/C; prenatal cohort, abstract read): fecal acetaminophen exposure showed a trend toward lower bacterial diversity and marginal phylum differences in infants, a different population and exposure window.
Mechanism
Plausible: slowed transit and altered motility (label [1]). Not demonstrated for hydrocodone.
Class cohort test
Hydrocodone was not documented in the cohort of any microbiome study opened; full texts were not opened, so a named subgroup cannot be excluded. Capped at yellow. The morphine animal literature surfaced in the listing was not used.
Counter-evidence held on record
Counter-evidence The increase in alpha diversity in the systematic review [15] is counterintuitive for "dysbiosis" and shows the direction is not settled. Cirrhosis and constipation itself are confounders. Framing caution Not a claim of dysbiosis from hydrocodone/acetaminophen. Constipation is a motility effect listed in the label, not a deficiency.
Oxygen and ATP Output
Oxygen delivery and ATP production are assessed separately. Nothing here is counted twice.
ATP production: acetaminophen overdose mechanism, same source as mitochondrial burden
Yellow — LowSee study details
The overdose mechanism of acetaminophen includes loss of mitochondrial ATP synthesis, but this is one mechanism seen from two angles with the mitochondrial entry, and nothing was found at therapeutic dose or for hydrocodone.
Full detail and limits
ATP production: acetaminophen overdose mechanism, same source as mitochondrial burden
Yellow — LowWhat the grade means here: Mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class extrapolation (Tier C) with no drug-specific human status data; also used for context flags and interactions running the other direction. Yellow
Limits on what this shows
- Null findings: No hydrocodone ATP or energy-output record located (same 404 no-match PubMed search as the mitochondrial entry). No circulating "low energy" claim specific to this product was found.
Ingredient
Acetaminophen (overdose). Hydrocodone: no data.
Direction
Excess toxicity. Not a nutrient deficiency (Hard Rule 2).
Regulatory status
No ATP or energy-metabolism statement in the label text read [1].
Population evidence
None in humans measuring ATP. The pharmacology reference [4] states that adduct-driven mitochondrial injury ends in "halting ATP synthesis" in the necrosis cascade (Tier B, mechanistic reference). A PubMed listing for acetaminophen, hepatocyte ATP depletion and mitochondria returned many animal and cell studies (including primary hepatocyte and human-cell work); these were seen only as listing titles and gists, and none was opened, so none is cited as evidence.
Mechanism
Named for overdose [4]. Not shown at therapeutic dose.
Counter-evidence held on record
Counter-evidence Cellular ATP loss in overdose models is a consequence of necrosis-pathway injury and does not imply reduced energy output in someone taking labeled doses. Framing caution Kept independent of Mitochondrial burden and Oxygen delivery/utilization (Hard Rule 7) but not independent evidence (see Overlap map). Not a fatigue explanation.
Oxygen delivery/utilization: rare acetaminophen methemoglobinemia reports; hydrocodone respiratory effect is not a deficiency
Yellow — LowSee study details
Acetaminophen has been reported, rarely, to cause methemoglobinemia that lowers oxygen-carrying capacity, and hydrocodone can depress breathing; neither is a nutrient deficiency.
Full detail and limits
Oxygen delivery/utilization: rare acetaminophen methemoglobinemia reports; hydrocodone respiratory effect is not a deficiency
Yellow — LowWhat the grade means here: Mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class extrapolation (Tier C) with no drug-specific human status data; also used for context flags and interactions running the other direction. Yellow
Limits on what this shows
- Null findings: No hemoglobin, hematocrit or red-cell-mass study of hydrocodone was found (the combined hydrocodone iron, ferritin and anemia search returned nothing on hydrocodone). Iron or B12 pathways to anemia were not found for this product.
Ingredient
Acetaminophen (case series). Hydrocodone (respiratory depression, label only).
Direction
Drug adverse effect or toxicity. Not a nutrient deficiency (Hard Rule 2).
Regulatory status
Label warns that interactions with CYP3A4 inhibitors and with benzodiazepines can cause potentially fatal respiratory depression and profound sedation [1]. No methemoglobinemia statement in the text read.
Population evidence
Sahu 2020 [11] (systematic review of case reports, 1968 to 2019; Tier B; abstract read via OpenAlex): 14 cases of acetaminophen-associated methemoglobinemia (the abstract's own sex counts, 9 female and 6 male, sum to 15); median age 59; intent therapeutic in 7 and suicidal in 5; the dose was unknown in most; other agents co-ingested included aspirin, sulfasalazine, benzocaine spray, a nitrate preservative and contaminated water; median methemoglobin 15.85%; 10 recovered and 4 died. A PubMed listing on G6PD deficiency and paracetamol hemolysis surfaced case reports of hemolysis after overdose and one prospective pediatric study and one controlled trial reporting no hemolysis at therapeutic doses; these were titles and gists only and are not used (abstract of the pediatric record could not be retrieved).
Mechanism
Not established in the abstract read. Respiratory depression by hydrocodone is the intended class pharmacology of an opioid agonist at excess exposure, and hypoventilation is not oxygen-delivery nutrient deficiency; it is written up here as a mechanism clarification only.
Counter-evidence held on record
Counter-evidence Methemoglobinemia was seen with co-ingestants and mostly with poisoning or unknown doses; it is rare. No therapeutic-dose hemoglobin effect was shown. Framing caution Not a deficiency claim. Anemia is an outcome, not a nutrient. Respiratory depression is a labeled drug risk handled by prescribers, not by supplements.
Claims checked and not supported
These circulate online for this medication. They are listed here only so they can be answered, never as findings, and they are not graded.
A claim with no supporting evidence is not necessarily disproven. Where evidence actually argues against a claim, that is stated below.
"Acetaminophen depletes glutathione only in high doses"
Where it comes from: Drugs.com glutathione monograph (Tier D): "Acetaminophen in high doses is known to deplete glutathione, especially in the liver" [25].
Why it fails: The statement is true for overdose but incomplete. A randomized trial in healthy volunteers found a whole-blood glutathione decrease at therapeutic dosing [5], so the finding is graded orange with its boundary. The monograph's liver wording also points to overdose hepatotoxicity, which is the drug's own toxicity.
Acetaminophen liver injury as a glutathione or nutrient deficiency to correct with diet or supplements
Where it comes from: A common reading of the monograph statement above [25]; no specific consumer page identified.
Why it fails: Hepatotoxicity is the drug's own dose-dependent toxicity (label sec 5 [1]); glutathione is not a dietary nutrient with an intake recommendation, and N-acetylcysteine is a medically supervised antidote. Fasting, malnutrition and chronic alcohol raise risk through nutrient-to-drug direction [4][26] (Hard Rules 2 and 4).
Food and alcohol interactions listed as "depletions"
Where it comes from: Drugs.com food-interaction page for acetaminophen/hydrocodone (Tier D) [26], which lists alcohol with acetaminophen, and alcohol and grapefruit with hydrocodone.
Why it fails: These run from the substance to the drug (alcohol raises acetaminophen hepatotoxicity risk and CNS depression; grapefruit may raise hydrocodone concentrations), not from the drug to a nutrient. They are timing and avoidance interactions, not depletions (Hard Rule 4).
B12, vitamin C, vitamin D, CoQ10 and fish oil "interactions" (not a graded claim)
Where it comes from: Drugs.com interaction page lists these as frequently checked supplements for the combination, with no interaction detail given [27].
Why it fails: A navigation list, not a claim. No label statement, study or mechanism was found for B12, vitamin C, CoQ10 or fish oil; vitamin D is covered in its own yellow entry. A broad drug-nutrient interaction review [28] does not cover acetaminophen, hydrocodone or opioids. Listed so readers see the distinction; not counted as an entry.
How the body handles this medication
- Hydrocodone: metabolism and enzymes
- CYP3A4 N-demethylation to norhydrocodone is the primary pathway, with a lower contribution from CYP2D6 O-demethylation to hydromorphone. Label warnings concern CYP3A4 inhibitors raising hydrocodone and CYP3A4 inducers lowering it. The product is a CYP substrate; no CYP induction or inhibition by the product was described in the label text read.[1] DailyMed label sec 7, 12.3 (read via summarizing fetch)
- Hydrocodone: exposure and elimination
- Peak serum level at 1.3 +/- 0.3 hours; half-life 3.8 +/- 0.3 hours. Hydrocodone and its metabolites are eliminated primarily by the kidney. Bioavailability, protein binding and volume of distribution were not given in the text retrieved.[1] sec 12.3
- Acetaminophen: metabolism
- Three pathways: glucuronide conjugation, sulfate conjugation, and CYP-dependent oxidation (principal enzyme CYP2E1, with CYP1A2 and CYP3A4) to a reactive intermediate that conjugates with glutathione. A pharmacology reference gives roughly 90% conjugation, 8% CYP oxidation and 2% unchanged in urine at therapeutic doses.[1] sec 12.1, 12.3; [4] StatPearls
- Acetaminophen: when glutathione is the limit
- At therapeutic doses the reactive intermediate is cleared by hepatic glutathione. In overdose, production rises and hepatic glutathione stores are depleted, producing centrilobular necrosis. Fasting or malnutrition reduces glucuronidation and raises reactive-metabolite production; chronic alcohol upregulates CYP2E1 and depletes glutathione.[1] sec 5; [4] StatPearls (updated 2026-03-26)
- Hepatic impairment and special populations
- Label: use a low initial dose in hepatic impairment and monitor closely for respiratory depression. Neonatal opioid withdrawal syndrome is a labeled risk of prolonged use in pregnancy. Renal dosing text was not captured in the retrieval.[1] sec 8.1, 8.7, 8.8
- Food, alcohol and endocrine pharmacodynamics
- The label text read has no food-effect statement. A drug-interaction database notes that grapefruit may raise hydrocodone concentrations and that chronic heavy alcohol raises acetaminophen hepatotoxicity risk. Pharmacodynamics: reduced colonic propulsive peristalsis with increased tone (constipation); opioids inhibit secretion of ACTH, cortisol and LH and stimulate prolactin and growth hormone.[1] sec 12.2; [26] Drugs.com food interactions (Tier D)
What the research says is worth watching
General information from the medication label and the studies above. It is not personal medical advice, and any change belongs with your prescriber.
Acetaminophen exposure
Total daily acetaminophen and liver risk
Count acetaminophen from all products against the product label limit; a pharmacology reference cites 3 g per day as the adult maximum [4]. Extra care with fasting or malnutrition, chronic alcohol use, older age and hepatic impairment [1][4]. Liver tests are a prescriber decision where risk factors exist. This is drug toxicity monitoring, not a nutrient finding.
Hormones / long-term use
Testosterone and adrenal symptoms
Men on long-term daily therapy with fatigue, low libido or related symptoms may warrant morning total testosterone with confirmation [19][20][21]. After more than a month of use, unexplained fatigue, nausea, weight loss or low blood pressure raises the question of adrenal insufficiency [1][23]. Prescriber-led; hormonal, not nutritional.
Bowel function
Constipation
Constipation is the principal labeled GI effect; anticholinergic co-use adds risk of severe constipation [1]. A management question for the prescriber; no microbiome test is indicated by this dossier.
Lab / only if risk factors
25-hydroxyvitamin D
Chronic pain populations have a high baseline prevalence of low vitamin D [24]. Reasonable to check on general risk grounds; not a finding of drug-caused deficiency. No dose is suggested.
Timing and avoidance
Alcohol, grapefruit, fasting
Alcohol with either ingredient and grapefruit with hydrocodone are avoidance interactions [26]. Prolonged fasting or poor intake raises acetaminophen toxicity risk [4]. No supplement separation interval is required by the label text read. No supplement dose appears anywhere in this dossier, so no NIH upper-limit comparison was needed.
Special populations
Pregnancy, hepatic impairment, G6PD
Prolonged use in pregnancy risks neonatal opioid withdrawal syndrome; hepatic impairment calls for a low initial dose [1]. G6PD deficiency and acetaminophen hemolysis literature was seen as titles only and was not assessed. Pediatric and renal dosing were not captured.
Re-check list
Items to revisit when access improves
Open full text of the opioid microbiome and adrenal studies to see whether hydrocodone subgroups exist; retrieve the Lauterburg 1987 and Hinson reviews; locate an acetaminophen therapeutic-dose mitochondrial or oxidative marker study in humans; and look for any hydrocodone/acetaminophen-named nutrient cohort.
Overlap map, to prevent double counting
Oxidative stress (glutathione)
Shares evidence with: Sulfur amino acids and sulfate; Mitochondrial burden; Iron
Note: All rest on the same acetaminophen reactive-metabolite and conjugation mechanism [1][4]. The mouse hepatocyte iron paper [12] also reports GSH depletion and mitochondrial dysfunction. One mechanism, not independent lines.
Mitochondrial burden
Shares evidence with: ATP production
Note: Both rest on the same pharmacology reference statement [4] and the same overdose mechanism. McGill 2012 [8] supports the mitochondrial entry only. Both are empty for hydrocodone through the same narrow PubMed search. Counted as one underlying source viewed twice.
Iron
Shares evidence with: Oxidative stress; Mitochondrial burden
Note: Gong 2025 [12] reports iron release together with GSH depletion and mitochondrial dysfunction in the same experiment.
Copper
Shares evidence with: Oxidative stress
Note: The copper entry [13] is pro-oxidant chemistry of acetaminophen with copper; it shares the redox theme but no source with the glutathione trial. Copper and Iron are graded separately (Hard Rule 7) and share no source.
Androgen axis
Shares evidence with: Adrenal axis; Vitamin D
Note: Lamprecht 2018 [22] feeds both hormone entries (one cohort, two outcomes). Label sec 12.2 [1] supports both. The vitamin D entry rests only on [24] and links to androgen deficiency only by hypothesis.
Oxygen delivery/utilization
Shares evidence with: Oxidative stress; Mitochondrial burden
Note: Methemoglobinemia [11] is an oxidant event on hemoglobin; it shares the theme of oxidative chemistry but no source with the other entries. Respiratory depression is a label statement [1] and not independent evidence.
Gut microbiome risk
Shares evidence with: None
Note: Opioid class sources [15][16][17]; not checked whether the systematic review [15] includes the cirrhosis cohort [16]. Treat as potentially overlapping.
All references used above
- Hydrocodone bitartrate and acetaminophen tablets, DailyMed prescribing information (Amneal Pharmaceuticals LLC). — Regulatory label (Tier A). Document revision date shown as October 22, 2025. Sections 5, 6, 7, 8, 12 read through a summarizing fetch tool; the page was 103,726 characters and only the first 100,000 were covered. Quotes are as relayed by that tool.
- DailyMed label listing for NORCO (hydrocodone bitartrate and acetaminophen) tablets. — Listing of three Norco labels from the DailyMed services listing; used only to confirm the brand name for this combination.
- WHO Collaborating Centre, ATC/DDD Index: N02AJ opioids in combination with non-opioid analgesics. — Reference index. N02AJ22 hydrocodone and paracetamol; N02AJ23 hydrocodone and ibuprofen.
- Schaffer DH, Murray BP, Khazaeni B. Acetaminophen Toxicity. StatPearls, NCBI Bookshelf (updated March 26, 2026). — Established pharmacology reference (Tier B), read through a summarizing fetch tool. Metabolic fractions, glutathione depletion in overdose, mitochondrial ATP synthase injury, fasting, alcohol and age risk factors, dose limits.
- Pickering G, Macian N, Papet I, Duale C, Rubat Coudert C, Pereira B. N-acetylcysteine prevents glutathione decrease and does not interfere with paracetamol antinociceptive effect at therapeutic dosage. Fundam Clin Pharmacol. — Randomized double-blind trial, 24 healthy volunteers (NCT02206178). PMID 30471141. DOI 10.1111/fcp.12437. Year 2018 on the OpenAlex record, 2019 in the PubMed listing. Abstract read via a reconstructed OpenAlex abstract; full text not opened.Acetaminophen alone; hydrocodone not in the cohort. Acetaminophen dose and arm sizes not stated in the abstract.
- Lauterburg BH, Mitchell JR. Therapeutic doses of acetaminophen stimulate the turnover of cysteine and glutathione in man. J Hepatol 1987;4(2):206-211. — PMID 3584929. DOI 10.1016/s0168-8278(87)80081-8. Title and bibliographic metadata only.Abstract not opened (OpenAlex abstract null; PubMed record page returned 429). Not used for grading.
- Janz DR, Bastarache JA, Peterson JF, et al. Association between cell-free hemoglobin, acetaminophen, and mortality in patients with sepsis: an observational study. Crit Care Med 2013. — Retrospective observational study, 391 ICU patients. PMID 23314583. DOI 10.1097/ccm.0b013e3182741a54. Abstract read via OpenAlex.Acetaminophen alone, sepsis population; confounded by indication.
- McGill MR, Sharpe MR, Williams CD, Taha M, Curry SC, Jaeschke H. The mechanism underlying acetaminophen-induced hepatotoxicity in humans and mice involves mitochondrial damage and nuclear DNA fragmentation. J Clin Invest 2012. — Human overdose patients plus mouse study. DOI 10.1172/JCI59755. Abstract read via OpenAlex.Overdose population, not therapeutic dosing; acetaminophen alone.
- Jiang JX, Briede JJ, Jennen DGJ, et al. Increased mitochondrial ROS formation by acetaminophen in human hepatic cells is associated with gene expression changes suggesting disruption of the mitochondrial electron transport chain. Toxicol Lett 2015. — PMID 25704631. DOI 10.1016/j.toxlet.2015.02.012.Title and metadata only; abstract not retrieved, not opened, not used for grading.
- Hinson JA, Roberts DW, James LP. Mechanisms of acetaminophen-induced liver necrosis. Handb Exp Pharmacol. — Review. PMID 20020268. DOI 10.1007/978-3-642-00663-0_12. Year 2009 on the OpenAlex record, 2010 in the PubMed listing.Not opened: OpenAlex abstract null and the PMC copy returned a reCAPTCHA page. Not used for grading.
- Sahu KK, George SV, Siddiqui AD. Systematic review of methemoglobinemia in acetaminophen poisoning. QJM 2020. — Systematic review of case reports, 14 cases (1968 to 2019). PMID 32428237. DOI 10.1093/qjmed/hcaa174. Abstract read via OpenAlex; the abstract's sex counts (9 and 6) do not sum to 14.
- Gong K, Liang K, Li H, et al. Oxidative ferritin destruction: a key mechanism of iron overload in acetaminophen-induced hepatocyte ferroptosis. Int J Mol Sci 2025. — In vitro, primary mouse hepatocytes, 20 mM acetaminophen. PMID 40806713. DOI 10.3390/ijms26157585. Abstract read via OpenAlex.Mouse cells at supratherapeutic concentration; not a human finding.
- Li Y, Trush MA. Reactive oxygen-dependent DNA damage resulting from the oxidation of phenolic compounds by a copper-redox cycle mechanism. Cancer Res 1994. — In vitro. PMID 8137307. Abstract read via OpenAlex.Cell-free chemistry; acetaminophen was one of many phenolics tested.
- Blackledge HM, O'Farrell J, Minton NA, McLean AEM. The effect of therapeutic doses of paracetamol on sulphur metabolism in man. Hum Exp Toxicol 1991. — Small human study. PMID 1678943. DOI 10.1177/096032719101000302. Abstract read via reconstructed OpenAlex text; two retrievals gave different statements of the conclusion.Conclusion about amino-acid depletion not used because retrievals conflicted.
- Le Bastard Q, Al-Ghalith GA, Gregoire M, et al. Systematic review: human gut dysbiosis induced by non-antibiotic prescription medications. Aliment Pharmacol Ther. — Systematic review. PMID 29205415. DOI 10.1111/apt.14451. Year 2017 on the OpenAlex record, 2018 in the PubMed listing. Abstract read via OpenAlex.Opioid class; hydrocodone and acetaminophen not named in the abstract. Tier C for this drug.
- Acharya C, Betrapally NS, Gillevet PM, et al. Chronic opioid use is associated with altered gut microbiota and predicts readmissions in patients with cirrhosis. Aliment Pharmacol Ther. — Cohort, 200 cirrhotic inpatients, microbiota in 72 matched. PMID 27868217. DOI 10.1111/apt.13858. Year 2016 on the OpenAlex record, 2017 in the PubMed listing. Abstract read via OpenAlex.Opioid class in cirrhosis; hydrocodone not named in the abstract. Tier C.
- Coluzzi F, Scerpa MS, Loffredo C, et al. Opioid use and gut dysbiosis in cancer pain patients. Int J Mol Sci 2024. — Narrative review. PMID 39063241. DOI 10.3390/ijms25147999. Abstract read via OpenAlex.No specific opioids named. Tier C.
- Laue HE, Shen Y, Bloomquist TR, et al. In utero exposure to caffeine and acetaminophen, the gut microbiome, and neurodevelopmental outcomes: a prospective birth cohort study. Int J Environ Res Public Health 2022. — Birth cohort with fecal acetaminophen measurement. PMID 35954712. DOI 10.3390/ijerph19159357. Abstract read via OpenAlex.Prenatal and infant exposure; not an adult therapeutic cohort; acetaminophen alone.
- Rubinstein AL, Carpenter DM, Minkoff JR. Hypogonadism in men with chronic pain linked to the use of long-acting rather than short-acting opioids. Clin J Pain 2013. — Retrospective cohort, 81 men. PMID 24384986. DOI 10.1097/ajp.0b013e31827c7b5d. Abstract read via OpenAlex.Agents not named in the abstract; no unexposed comparator. Tier C for hydrocodone.
- Rubinstein A, Carpenter DM, et al. Association between commonly prescribed opioids and androgen deficiency in men: a retrospective cohort analysis. Pain Med. — Retrospective cohort, 1,159 men, hydrocodone as referent. PMID 27516365. DOI 10.1093/pm/pnw182. Year 2016 on the OpenAlex record, 2017 in the PubMed listing. Abstract read via OpenAlex.Hydrocodone in cohort but no unexposed comparator.
- Daniell HW. Transient low testosterone levels after oral hydrocodone may contribute to misdiagnosis of hypogonadism. J Opioid Manag 2016. — Single-subject serial measurement. PMID 27844470. DOI 10.5055/jom.2016.0347. Abstract read via OpenAlex.n = 1.
- Lamprecht A, Sorbello J, Jang C, Torpy DJ, Inder WJ. Secondary adrenal insufficiency and pituitary dysfunction in oral/transdermal opioid users with non-cancer pain. Eur J Endocrinol 2018. — Cross-sectional, 40 opioid users and 25 matched controls. PMID 30324794. DOI 10.1530/eje-18-0530. Abstract read via OpenAlex.Opioid class; hydrocodone not named in the abstract. Tier C.
- Li T, Cunningham JL, Gilliam WP, Loukianova LL, Donegan DM, Bancos I. Prevalence of opioid-induced adrenal insufficiency in patients taking chronic opioids. J Clin Endocrinol Metab 2020. — Cross-sectional, 102 patients. PMID 32866966. DOI 10.1210/clinem/dgaa499. Abstract read via OpenAlex.Hydrocodone not named in the abstract. Tier C.
- Turner MK, Hooten WM, Schmidt JE, Kerkvliet JL, Townsend CO, Bruce BK. Prevalence and clinical correlates of vitamin D inadequacy among patients with chronic pain. Pain Med 2008. — Retrospective case series, 267 patients. PMID 18346069. DOI 10.1111/j.1526-4637.2008.00415.x. Abstract read via OpenAlex.Only morphine named in the abstract; hydrocodone not documented. Tier C; confounded.
- Drugs.com. Glutathione monograph (Natural Products). — Tier D. Used only as a circulating-claim origin.
- Drugs.com. Food and alcohol interactions with acetaminophen/hydrocodone. — Tier D. Used only for alcohol, grapefruit and acetaminophen hepatotoxicity statements and as a circulating-claim origin.
- Drugs.com. Drug interactions: acetaminophen/hydrocodone. — Tier D. A "most frequently checked" supplement list (fish oil, CoQ10, B12, vitamin C, vitamin D2 and D3) with no interaction detail.
- Mohn ES, Kern HJ, Saltzman E, Mitmesser SH, McKay DL. Evidence of drug-nutrient interactions with chronic use of commonly prescribed medications: an update. Pharmaceutics 2018. — Narrative review, MDPI. Covers PPIs, aspirin and diuretics; does not cover acetaminophen, hydrocodone or opioids (per the summarizing fetch tool).Excluded cohort: none of this drug's ingredients covered; cited only to record that no coverage exists.
