Skip to main content

Ganirelix

GnRH antagonist

Also sold as Orgalutran.

Findings for this medication

Research about this medication, graded for how strongly each finding can be attributed to it. Nothing here describes your own levels.

Ganirelix has essentially no classical pharmacokinetic depletion machinery, and the short duration of use makes even a real mechanism unlikely to matter clinically. It is a synthetic decapeptide given subcutaneously, so there is no gastrointestinal absorption step to interfere with; it undergoes peptide hydrolysis rather than CYP450 metabolism, with no cytochrome P450 induction or inhibition identified, and the label states plainly that no formal drug-drug interaction studies were needed. Roughly 75% of a dose leaves via the fecal route as peptide fragments (the 1-4 and 1-6 metabolites) and about 22% in urine, largely within 24 hours, with no documented renal tubular electrolyte-wasting effect and no food, mineral, or antacid interaction on record. A typical IVF cycle exposes a patient to ganirelix for about 5 to 10 days, far short of the exposure windows that produce most drug-nutrient depletion findings in this project's other dossiers. On pharmacokinetics and duration alone, the prior probability of a drug-induced nutrient deficiency is low, and no classical nutrient (calcium, magnesium, potassium, B-vitamins) reaches even a yellow grade in this review, because no drug-specific or class-level source tying ganirelix to any of them was found.

GnRH antagonist · ATC H01CC01 · also sold as Orgalutran and Fyremadel (Antagon and discontinued US brand) · reviewed 2026-09-28. This describes research about the medication. It does not say anything about your own levels or health.

How to read the evidence grades

These colours describe how strongly a finding can be attributed to the medication in the research. They are not a severity score and they say nothing about your own health.

Grades describe how strongly a finding can be attributed to Ganirelix in the research — not how common it is, how serious it would be, and not anything about you personally.

Red — Severe
Two or more independent Tier A sources, this drug in the cohort, the nutrient directly measured, consistent direction, clinically meaningful magnitude, a named mechanism, no substantial contradicting Tier A evidence.
Orange — Moderate
At least one Tier A source with this drug in the cohort showing a real but bounded deficit: an exposure window, a subgroup, low frequency, or a functional rather than circulating deficit.
Yellow — Low
Mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class extrapolation (Tier C) with no drug-specific human status data; also used for context flags and interactions running the other direction.
Not graded — disclosed evidence gap
Nothing has been measured here, so this finding cannot be graded. That does not establish either safety or harm, and it is not the same as a White result.Source definition: Not gradeable under the rules above because nothing has been measured. Published as a documented gap, never as reassurance that there is no effect.

The five body-system areas

Each finding is counted once, in a single area. Where a study is mentioned in a second area it is context only.

Mitochondrial Burden

Each finding below is counted once, in this area only.

Mitochondrial burden

Yellow — Low

See study details

The only Tier C class-level study that could actually be opened this session found no significant difference in granulosa-cell apoptosis between a GnRH agonist and cetrorelix, a GnRH antagonist in the same class as ganirelix but not ganirelix itself.

Full detail and limits

What the grade means here: Mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class extrapolation (Tier C) with no drug-specific human status data; also used for context flags and interactions running the other direction. yellow · Tier C, no-signal

Limits on what this shows

  • Key negative/null findings: The null result is this entry's central finding: apoptosis was statistically comparable between agonist and antagonist protocols on every method used, despite a real hormonal difference between the groups, arguing against a clinically meaningful antagonist-class mitochondrial-apoptosis burden at standard IVF dosing.
  • At-risk subgroups: None identified; this is a single small RCT (n=32) using cetrorelix, not ganirelix, and has not been replicated for either drug.

Regulatory status

Not addressed in the ganirelix label.

Population evidence

Randomized, prospective study, 32 women undergoing assisted reproduction (agonist n=15, antagonist n=17, using cetrorelix 0.25 mg/day, not ganirelix). Granulosa-cell apoptosis measured four ways (Annexin V/flow cytometry, TUNEL, flow-cytometric DNA analysis, electron microscopy): Annexin V+/PI- cells 7.87 ± 1.27% (agonist) vs. 9.92 ± 0.98% (antagonist), P>.05; TUNEL-positive nuclei 18.00 ± 3.87% vs. 20.50 ± 6.56%, P>.05. Antagonist-treated patients did show significantly lower follicular-fluid estradiol, testosterone, and progesterone.

Mechanism

Plausible by extrapolation only, and here the extrapolation runs toward reassurance rather than harm: GnRH-receptor blockade is the shared endpoint between ganirelix and cetrorelix, so a null apoptosis finding with one class member is a relevant, if unconfirmed, data point for the other. A separate rat study title suggesting cetrorelix protects granulosa-cell mitochondria from chemotherapy-induced apoptosis was identified but could not be opened this session (see Sources) and is not used as evidence here.

Counter-evidence held on record

Counter-evidence on record This is, on balance, a reassuring null finding rather than a burden signal; it is graded yellow rather than left ungraded because a real (if class-level, non-ganirelix, small) RCT directly addressed the granulosa-cell apoptosis endpoint, satisfying the yellow bar for class extrapolation under this protocol's tightened yellow/white boundary rule. Framing caution Do not present this as evidence that ganirelix damages oocyte or granulosa-cell mitochondria. The best available class-level data at standard IVF dosing shows no difference from an agonist protocol; a ganirelix-specific study could still shift this in either direction.

Oxidative Stress

Each finding below is counted once, in this area only.

Oxidative stress

Yellow — Low

See study details

Two independent studies of GnRH-antagonist IVF protocols, neither naming ganirelix specifically, found higher follicular-fluid and serum oxidative markers versus agonist cycles in one, and progressively worsening oxidative markers across repeated antagonist cycles in the other.

Full detail and limits

What the grade means here: Mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class extrapolation (Tier C) with no drug-specific human status data; also used for context flags and interactions running the other direction. yellow · Tier C

Limits on what this shows

  • Key negative/null findings: Study 1 found serum MDA lower, not higher, in the antagonist group, a partial finding running counter to a simple "antagonist protocols uniformly worsen oxidative stress" reading; both sources' overall conclusion was still net-higher oxidative burden with antagonist use or repeated antagonist cycles, and both are carried forward as the primary result rather than the partial null.
  • At-risk subgroups: Patients undergoing 3 or more consecutive antagonist-protocol IVF cycles, per Study 2's duration-linked pattern; this has not been confirmed as ganirelix-specific.

Regulatory status

Not addressed in the ganirelix label; no oxidative-stress or antioxidant marker appears anywhere in it.

Population evidence

Study 1 (cross-sectional, n=84: GnRH agonist n=39, GnRH antagonist n=45, specific antagonist drug not stated): serum GSH-Px, GSH, and MDA were lower, and SOD higher, in the antagonist group; follicular-fluid SOD, adenosine deaminase, and nitric oxide were higher in the antagonist group. IVF/ICSI outcomes were similar between groups. Study 2 (prospective, human, n=145 across 1, 2, 3, and 4-5 prior antagonist cycles, specific antagonist drug not stated): 8-OHdG and SOD significantly increased, and catalase and glutathione peroxidase significantly decreased, in the 3-5-cycle group versus the 1-2-cycle group (P<0.05 throughout); high-quality embryo rate fell from 52.2% (cycle 1) to 36.5% (cycles 4-5) and clinical pregnancy rate from 50.0% to 23.8% over the same comparison.

Mechanism

Plausible by extrapolation only: repeated follicular aspiration, supraphysiologic hormonal fluctuation, and cumulative ovarian stimulation are general mechanisms proposed for rising oxidative burden with repeated IVF cycles; neither source isolates a ganirelix-specific or GnRH-antagonist-specific pathway distinct from the stimulation process itself, and neither confirms which antagonist drug (ganirelix, cetrorelix, or another) its patients received.

Counter-evidence held on record

Counter-evidence on record Neither study named which specific antagonist drug its patients received, so ganirelix's inclusion in, or exclusion from, either cohort could not be confirmed either way; this is graded yellow (class-level) rather than orange precisely because of that gap, per this protocol's cohort test. Framing caution This does not establish that ganirelix itself raises oxidative-stress markers. No antioxidant supplement or dose is recommended from this entry; any interest in antioxidant support during a multicycle IVF course belongs to the treating fertility specialist.

Copper and Iron Balance

Copper and iron are assessed separately. Nothing here is counted twice.

Copper

Not graded — disclosed evidence gap

See study details

No ganirelix-specific, GnRH-antagonist-class, or general reproductive-endocrinology source tying gonadotropin-releasing hormone blockade to copper or ceruloplasmin status was found after a genuine, multi-channel search, repeated on a dedicated second pass.

Full detail and limits

What the grade means here: Nothing has been measured here, so this finding cannot be graded. That does not establish either safety or harm, and it is not the same as a White result. ungraded

Limits on what this shows

  • Why no grade: Original pass: searches were run for "ganirelix copper," "ganirelix ceruloplasmin," "GnRH antagonist copper status," and "GnRH antagonist trace element" across WebSearch and, where still available, direct fetches of consumer and pharmacology reference pages. Follicular-fluid trace-element literature located (e.g. baseline copper/zinc levels and IVF outcome, serum copper and implantation failure) measures copper as a predictor of outcome, not as something the drug changes, and does not compare treated versus untreated or antagonist versus agonist groups, so it does not qualify as evidence of a drug effect under this protocol. Second pass, this revision: with WebSearch confirmed still exhausted (200 of 200, session-wide), a Crossref API query for "ganirelix copper ceruloplasmin" returned only generic copper-biochemistry references (serum ceruloplasmin assay methods, cattle lactation studies, ceruloplasmin's role in iron metabolism) with no GnRH-antagonist or IVF content, and every already-opened full-text source in this dossier, including the FDA label PDF itself, was re-checked directly for the words "copper" and "ceruloplasmin" and contains neither. No study of any tier measuring copper or ceruloplasmin in GnRH-antagonist-treated patients was found on either pass. No circulating consumer claim tying ganirelix to copper status was identified across GoodRx, WebMD, Mayo Clinic, Cleveland Clinic, Drugs.com, and RxList. Both conditions for ungraded are met on real, repeated search effort.

Tooling note

On this revision's second pass, follow-up queries to Europe PMC, Semantic Scholar, and OpenAlex were rejected outright by the proxy with HTTP 403 "policy denial," DailyMed likewise returned HTTP 403, and PubMed's and NCBI Bookshelf's search-listing pages returned an empty shell or a robots.txt disallowal, confirmed via the proxy's status endpoint. This is now a reproducible, session-level access restriction across two separate research passes, not a one-time rate limit; a future revision with restored API access should still re-run this search.

Iron

Not graded — disclosed evidence gap

See study details

No study measuring iron, ferritin, or transferrin saturation specifically in GnRH-antagonist-treated patients was found on either research pass; this is distinct from the hematocrit shift graded separately above under Oxygen delivery/utilization, which is a red-cell/plasma-volume marker, not an iron-store marker.

Full detail and limits

What the grade means here: Nothing has been measured here, so this finding cannot be graded. That does not establish either safety or harm, and it is not the same as a White result. ungraded

Limits on what this shows

  • Why no grade: Original pass: searches for "ganirelix iron," "GnRH antagonist ferritin," and "GnRH antagonist hepcidin" were run via WebSearch and returned no study of any tier measuring an iron-status marker in relation to ganirelix or any GnRH antagonist. General follicular-fluid trace-element and heavy-metal studies located measure baseline levels against IVF outcome, not against drug exposure, and do not qualify as drug-effect evidence under this protocol's cohort test. Second pass, this revision: a Crossref query for "ganirelix iron ferritin" was rejected by the proxy before returning results, and every already-opened full-text source in this dossier, including the FDA label PDF, the ganirelix/cetrorelix comparative review, both oxidative-stress studies, and the cetrorelix-vs-ganirelix retrospective cohort, was re-checked directly for "iron," "ferritin," and "transferrin" and contains none of the three. The specific lead flagged in the prior version of this entry, testing whether ferritin or transferrin saturation moves alongside the label's hematocrit shift, remains untestable: no study pairs the two measurements in a GnRH-antagonist cohort. No circulating consumer claim linking ganirelix to iron depletion was found across the consumer sources checked for copper. Both conditions for ungraded are met on real, repeated search effort.

Tooling note

As with copper, on this revision's second pass Europe PMC, Semantic Scholar, OpenAlex, and DailyMed all returned HTTP 403 "policy denial," and PubMed/NCBI Bookshelf search pages were empty or robots-disallowed (see the Copper entry's tooling note). This is a reproducible restriction across two passes, not a one-time budget or rate-limit issue; the ferritin/transferrin-alongside-hematocrit lead above is the most specific unresolved item for a future revision with restored access.

Gut Microbiome Risk

Each finding below is counted once, in this area only.

Gut microbiome risk

Not graded — disclosed evidence gap

See study details

No study of any tier tying ganirelix or GnRH antagonists as a class to gut microbiome composition, diversity, or function was found, and no circulating claim exists to rebut. This category's follow-up query, cut short in the prior version of this dossier, was completed on this revision and still returned nothing.

Full detail and limits

What the grade means here: Nothing has been measured here, so this finding cannot be graded. That does not establish either safety or harm, and it is not the same as a White result. ungraded

Limits on what this shows

  • Why no grade: Original pass: searches for "ganirelix gut microbiome," "GnRH antagonist microbiome," and "ovarian stimulation gut dysbiosis" were run via WebSearch; results returned general vaginal-microbiome and gut-vaginal-crosstalk background unrelated to any specific drug exposure, not a ganirelix- or GnRH-antagonist-specific finding. This revision's dedicated, completed follow-up: four fresh WebSearch queries were attempted first ("ganirelix gut microbiome," "GnRH antagonist gut microbiome dysbiosis," "controlled ovarian stimulation gut microbiota IVF," "GnRH receptor gut microbiome estrogen axis reproductive") and confirmed blocked at the 200-of-200 session-wide budget before any could run. The research then moved to Europe PMC directly ("GnRH antagonist" AND gut microbiome/microbiota/dysbiosis) and to Crossref ("ovarian stimulation gut microbiota IVF" and, as general mechanistic background, "estrogen gut microbiome estrobolome"); the one Crossref query that returned results found ten ovarian-stimulation/GnRH-protocol papers, none addressing gut microbiota or microbiome. Every already-opened full-text source in this dossier was also re-checked directly for "microbiome," "microbiota," and "dysbiosis" and contains none of the three. No consumer nutrient-depletion or microbiome-disruption claim for ganirelix was located across the consumer sources checked for the other ungraded entries. Both conditions for ungraded are now met on a genuinely completed, not merely attempted, search.

Tooling note

Europe PMC (www.ebi.ac.uk) was rejected outright with HTTP 403 "policy denial" on every attempt this revision, both before and after a deliberate wait; Semantic Scholar and OpenAlex likewise returned HTTP 403; PubMed's and NCBI Bookshelf's search-listing pages returned an empty shell or a robots.txt disallowal; general web search engines (Bing, DuckDuckGo) were blocked by robots.txt when tried via WebFetch as a last resort. This is now confirmed, on a dedicated second attempt with a fresh tool budget, as a reproducible access restriction rather than the mid-query cutoff disclosed previously; the literature gap itself, not the tooling, is now the limiting factor for this category.

Oxygen and ATP Output

Oxygen delivery and ATP production are assessed separately. Nothing here is counted twice.

Oxygen delivery/utilization

Orange — Moderate

See study details

Ganirelix's own pivotal-trial data records a downward shift in hematocrit across the treated population, with the label stating explicitly that the clinical significance of this finding was not determined; no magnitude is quantified and no mechanism is named.

Full detail and limits

What the grade means here: At least one Tier A source with this drug in the cohort showing a real but bounded deficit: an exposure window, a subgroup, low frequency, or a functional rather than circulating deficit. orange

Limits on what this shows

  • Key negative/null findings: None located specific to ganirelix; the label itself supplies no comparator or placebo arm for this specific lab shift, and no magnitude, so the finding cannot be checked against a null result from the same trial.
  • At-risk subgroups: Not stratified in the label. The retrospective cohort above suggests OHSS risk (a related but distinct, opposite-direction hematologic phenomenon) may be somewhat higher with ganirelix than with cetrorelix; this has not been tied to the hematocrit-shift finding itself.

Regulatory status

Labeled laboratory finding: "downward shifts within the Ganirelix Acetate Injection group were observed for hematocrit and total bilirubin," alongside a neutrophil count ≥8.3 x10 9 /L in 11.9% of subjects (up to 16.8 x10 9 /L). "The clinical significance of these findings was not determined." Independently restated (not independently sourced) in Drugs.com's professional monograph, which mirrors the same label language.

Population evidence

Ganirelix-specific, Tier A: FDA label adequate-and-well-controlled trials, N=794. No comparator-arm breakdown or numeric magnitude is given beyond "downward shift." Separately, a large ganirelix-specific retrospective cohort (n=7,059 ganirelix vs. n=2,365 cetrorelix, propensity-matched) found ganirelix associated with a higher OHSS incidence than cetrorelix (1.1% vs. 0.4%, p=0.010); OHSS is the clinical scenario in which the opposite hematologic pattern, hemoconcentration from capillary leak, occurs in a minority of patients, and is carried here as context, not as evidence for this entry's own hemodilution-pattern direction.

Mechanism

Not named in the ganirelix label. A plausible, unconfirmed mechanism: controlled ovarian stimulation is a high-estrogen state, and a mid-20th-century general endocrinology study of estrogen therapy (not ganirelix, not an IVF population) found estrogen administration produced a dilutional fall in hematocrit (~15%) and hemoglobin (~8.5%) via plasma-volume expansion of up to ~20%, with total circulating red-cell volume unchanged, reversible within 5-9 days of stopping estrogen. This is offered as mechanistic plausibility only, not as proof of the pathway in ganirelix-treated patients.

Counter-evidence held on record

Counter-evidence on record The direction of this finding (hematocrit falling) is the opposite of the hemoconcentration documented in OHSS, a separate, non-nutrient clinical outcome in a minority of patients on the same drug class; the two should not be conflated. No iron, ferritin, or transferrin-saturation measurement accompanies the label's hematocrit finding, so this entry cannot be read as evidence of iron-deficiency anemia (see the separate, ungraded Iron entry below). Framing caution This is not evidence that ganirelix causes iron-deficiency anemia, and no iron or other hematinic supplement dose is recommended from this entry. The most plausible explanation available is dilutional (estrogen-driven plasma-volume expansion during ovarian stimulation), which would resolve on its own after the cycle, not a nutrient loss requiring repletion. Any unexplained or persistent hematocrit change during or after an IVF cycle should be evaluated by the prescribing clinician.

ATP production

Not graded — disclosed evidence gap

See study details

No study measuring oocyte, granulosa-cell, or systemic ATP production or energy-charge status in relation to ganirelix or any GnRH antagonist was found, on either the original or a repeated, deeper follow-up search.

Full detail and limits

What the grade means here: Nothing has been measured here, so this finding cannot be graded. That does not establish either safety or harm, and it is not the same as a White result. ungraded

Limits on what this shows

  • Why no grade: Original pass: searches for "ATP content oocyte GnRH antagonist," "oocyte mitochondrial DNA copy number GnRH antagonist protocol," and related phrasings were run via WebSearch. Results returned general oocyte-quality and stimulation-protocol comparison literature (oocyte morphology, perifollicular vascularity, embryo quality) and one unrelated bovine-oocyte ATP-measurement methodology paper not involving any GnRH antagonist. This revision's completed deeper follow-up: a Crossref query for "GnRH antagonist oocyte ATP mitochondrial DNA copy number" surfaced one candidate, a 2024 PeerJ study of peri-trigger hormone changes predicting oocyte maturation across 118 patients on GnRH-agonist and GnRH-antagonist protocols; it was opened and read in full and does not measure ATP, mitochondrial DNA, or any energy-metabolism marker (it measures progesterone fold-change as a maturation predictor) and does not name ganirelix or cetrorelix specifically, so it is not used as evidence here. Every already-opened full-text source in this dossier was also re-checked directly for "ATP," "mitochondrial DNA," and "energy metabolism" and contains none. The Mitochondrial burden entry above (yellow, null apoptosis finding) remains a related but distinct endpoint (cell death, not ATP output) and is not treated as evidence for this entry. No circulating "low energy" or ATP-depletion claim specific to ganirelix was found. Both conditions for ungraded are met on real, repeated search effort.

Tooling note

As with Copper and Iron, this revision's follow-up API queries (targeting, for example, 31P-MRS or luciferase-based ATP assays in a GnRH-antagonist-exposed cohort) were rejected outright by Europe PMC, Semantic Scholar, and OpenAlex with HTTP 403 "policy denial," and PubMed/NCBI Bookshelf search pages returned an empty shell or robots.txt disallowal; only a handful of Crossref queries completed before it, too, began returning HTTP 403. This is a genuine literature gap as far as this review's now-completed search went, compounded by a reproducible tooling restriction on the remaining API channels.

All references used above
  1. Ganirelix Acetate Injection prescribing information. — FDA label, 2014 revision (application 021057, supplement 010). Regulatory label, Tier A. Opened and reviewed in full for pharmacokinetics, elimination, adverse-reaction tables, and laboratory-abnormality data.
  2. GANIRELIX ACETATE injection, solution. DailyMed label mirror. — FDA label content republished by NLM. Regulatory label, Tier A. Opened to confirm adverse-reaction and laboratory-finding wording against the primary FDA PDF.
  3. WHO Collaborating Centre for Drug Statistics Methodology. ATC/DDD Index, code H01CC01 (ganirelix). — Regulatory classification reference, Tier A. Opened to confirm ganirelix's ATC code.
  4. WHO Collaborating Centre for Drug Statistics Methodology. ATC/DDD Index, code H01CC02 (cetrorelix). — Regulatory classification reference, Tier A. Opened to confirm that H01CC02 belongs to cetrorelix, not ganirelix, disambiguating the two sibling drugs in this batch.
  5. DrugBank. Ganirelix (DB06785). — Pharmacology reference, Tier B. Opened for mechanism-of-action confirmation; the database's full PK/interaction detail required subscription access and was not fully available.
  6. GnRH Peptide Antagonist: Comparative Analysis of Chemistry and Formulation with Implications for Clinical Safety and Efficacy. — Narrative pharmacology review comparing ganirelix and cetrorelix. Tier B. Opened in full; used for comparative half-life and histamine-release EC50 data.
  7. A comparative study on oxidative and antioxidative markers of serum and follicular fluid in GnRH agonist and antagonist cycles. — Journal of Assisted Reproduction and Genetics, 2012. Cross-sectional study, n=84 (agonist n=39, antagonist n=45). Tier C for ganirelix (antagonist drug not specified in the accessible content). Opened in full via publisher page.Cohort excluded/unconfirmed for ganirelix: the specific GnRH antagonist drug used was not named in the accessible content. Treated as class-level evidence only.
  8. Effects of multicycle gonadotropin-releasing hormone antagonist protocols on oxidative stress of follicular fluid and ovarian granulosa cells. — Human Cell, 2021 (DOI 10.1007/s13577-021-00545-9). Prospective human study, n=145 across 1 to 5 prior antagonist cycles. Tier C for ganirelix (antagonist drug not specified). Opened in full via publisher PDF.Cohort excluded/unconfirmed for ganirelix: the specific GnRH antagonist drug used was not named in the accessible content. Treated as class-level evidence only.
  9. Levels of apoptosis in human granulosa cells seem to be comparable after therapy with a gonadotropin-releasing hormone agonist or antagonist. — Fertility and Sterility, 2006 (PMID 16595220). Randomized, prospective study, n=32 (agonist n=15, cetrorelix-antagonist n=17). Tier C for ganirelix (cetrorelix specifically named, not ganirelix). Opened in full via publisher page.Cohort excluded for ganirelix: this study used cetrorelix (Cetrotide), not ganirelix. Treated as class-level evidence only, per this protocol's cohort test.
  10. GnRH antagonist cetrorelix inhibits mitochondria-dependent apoptosis triggered by chemotherapy in granulosa cells of rats. — Identified by title/search only (PMID 20417958).Blocked: the PubMed abstract page returned only page metadata (no article content) on every fetch attempt this session, and a follow-up Europe PMC lookup was rejected by the proxy (HTTP 429). Not opened; not used as evidence for any grade, per this protocol's prohibition on citing unopened sources. Noted in the Mitochondrial burden entry's mechanism field as an unconfirmed lead only.
  11. Comparison of pregnancy outcomes and safety between cetrorelix and ganirelix in IVF/ICSI antagonist protocols: a retrospective cohort study. — Frontiers in Reproductive Health, 2025. Retrospective, propensity-score-matched cohort, n=9,424 (cetrorelix n=2,365, ganirelix n=7,059). Tier A for ganirelix (drug named and confirmed in cohort). Opened in full via publisher page.
  12. Estrogen-induced hemodilution (title as indexed; exact original title truncated in the accessible scan). — Experimental Biology and Medicine, historical issue (DOI 10.3181/00379727-78-19162). General endocrinology study, n=16 women with menstrual irregularities given intramuscular estrone or estradiol dipropionate; not an IVF or GnRH-antagonist population. Tier D/general-physiology context, not counted toward any grade tier for ganirelix. Opened in full via publisher PDF.Cohort excluded for ganirelix: general estrogen-therapy population, not IVF, not GnRH-antagonist-treated. Cited only as mechanistic background in the Oxygen delivery/utilization entry, explicitly labeled as unconfirmed for ganirelix.
  13. Coexistent hemoconcentration and hypoosmolality during superovulation and in severe ovarian hyperstimulation syndrome: a volume homeostasis paradox. — Fertility and Sterility, 2000. Prospective study, n=30 (5 severe OHSS, 20 high-risk without OHSS, 5 low-risk without OHSS); superovulation with gonadotropins and GnRH-agonist suppression, not a GnRH antagonist. Tier C/context, not counted toward any grade tier for ganirelix. Opened in full via publisher page.Cohort excluded for ganirelix: used GnRH-agonist suppression, not a GnRH antagonist. Cited only as background on the OHSS hemoconcentration phenomenon, which runs in the opposite direction from this dossier's graded hematocrit finding.
  14. Ganirelix side effects (professional and consumer monographs). — Drugs.com and RxList consumer/professional drug-information pages. Tier D. Opened in full; used only for the circulating-claim audit (Fails verification) and to corroborate, not independently confirm, the FDA label's hematocrit-shift wording.
  15. Peri-trigger female reproductive hormone changes predicting oocyte maturation in GnRH-agonist and GnRH-antagonist protocols. — PeerJ, 2024 (DOI 10.7717/peerj.17706). Retrospective study, n=118 (agonist n=78, antagonist n=40, specific antagonist drug not named). Tier C at best, and not usable as evidence for ganirelix specifically. Opened in full via publisher page during this revision's ATP-production follow-up.Excluded: measures progesterone fold-change as a maturation predictor, not ATP, mitochondrial DNA, or any energy-metabolism marker; does not name ganirelix or cetrorelix specifically. Identified via Crossref, opened, read in full, and found not to bear on any grade in this dossier.