Skip to main content

Flurbiprofen

propionic acid (arylpropionic) NSAID, nonselective COX inhibitor

Findings for this medication

Research about this medication, graded for how strongly each finding can be attributed to it. Nothing here describes your own levels.

Flurbiprofen has little classical depletion machinery. Per the label text retrieved, it is metabolized mainly by CYP2C9 to 4'-hydroxy-flurbiprofen (little anti-inflammatory activity) with UGT2B7 glucuronidation, less than 3% is excreted unchanged in urine, about 70% of the dose appears in urine as flurbiprofen, the hydroxy metabolite and acylglucuronides, the half-life is about 4.7 hours (R) and 5.7 hours (S), and binding is above 99%; the label names no enzyme induction or inhibition statement, and no vitamin, mineral, iron, folate, copper or zinc anywhere in the text retrieved [1]. The signals that matter run through the drug's own toxicity: labeled GI bleeding, anemia, fluid retention and hyperkalemia. Per Hard Rule 2 these are outcomes, and per Hard Rule 5 the sodium and potassium findings are retention effects, so supplementation would be the hazard, not the remedy. The red and orange tiers are empty; 10 entries are yellow and 1 is ungraded.

propionic acid (arylpropionic) NSAID, nonselective COX inhibitor · ATC M01AE09 (WHO ATC/DDD Index [2]) · also sold as Ansaid; FlurbiPro and Lurbipr (labels); Froben and Strepfen (non-US) [1][5][6] · reviewed 2026-10-07. This describes research about the medication. It does not say anything about your own levels or health.

How to read the evidence grades

These colours describe how strongly a finding can be attributed to the medication in the research. They are not a severity score and they say nothing about your own health.

Grades describe how strongly a finding can be attributed to Flurbiprofen in the research — not how common it is, how serious it would be, and not anything about you personally.

Red — Severe
Two or more independent Tier A sources, this drug in the cohort, the nutrient directly measured, consistent direction, clinically meaningful magnitude, a named mechanism, no substantial contradicting Tier A evidence.
Orange — Moderate
At least one Tier A source with this drug in the cohort showing a real but bounded deficit: an exposure window, a subgroup, low frequency, or a functional rather than circulating deficit.
Yellow — Low
Mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class extrapolation (Tier C) with no drug-specific human status data; also used for context flags and interactions running the other direction.
Not graded — disclosed evidence gap
Nothing has been measured here, so this finding cannot be graded. That does not establish either safety or harm, and it is not the same as a White result.Source definition: Not gradeable under the rules above because nothing has been measured. Published as a documented gap, never as reassurance that there is no effect.

What the research found

Sodium: fluid retention and blunted diuretic natriuresis (direction: retention, not depletion), serum sodium not measured

Yellow — Low

See study details

The label warns of fluid retention and edema and of reduced diuretic natriuresis; no flurbiprofen sodium measurement was retrieved. This is retention, and sodium loading would not be the remedy.

Full detail and limits

What the grade means here: Mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class extrapolation (Tier C) with no drug-specific human status data; also used for context flags and interactions running the other direction. Yellow

Limits on what this shows

  • Null findings: No flurbiprofen hyponatremia report or serum sodium series was retrieved; absence of retrieval is not absence of effect.
  • At-risk subgroups: Older adults, heart failure, cirrhosis, chronic kidney disease, diuretic, ACE inhibitor or ARB users and volume-depleted patients [1]. Metabolite elimination is reduced in moderate to severe renal impairment [1].

Regulatory status

Label [1]: "Fluid retention and edema have been observed in some patients treated with NSAIDs"; NSAIDs can reduce the natriuretic effect of furosemide and thiazide diuretics; long-term administration has resulted in renal papillary necrosis and other renal injury. Edema is listed in the 1% or greater incidence group (summarizer wording).

Population evidence

None retrieved for flurbiprofen. Crossref title searches for flurbiprofen with renal function returned only monograph and news-item records or were rate-limited (see Ungraded section for channels); no renal or sodium study was opened.

Mechanism

Class-level prostaglandin inhibition reducing renal sodium and water excretion (label warning; no tubular mechanism stated for flurbiprofen in the text retrieved) [1].

Why not stronger

Only the regulatory class warning exists for this entry; there is no flurbiprofen measurement of sodium, urine sodium or weight.

Counter-evidence held on record

Counter-evidence and confounding Edema is an outcome, confounded by the underlying arthritis, age, cardiac and renal disease. Framing caution This is a retention or dilution risk. Supplementing or loading sodium is not a remedy and could worsen edema, blood pressure or heart failure. Swelling, weight gain or rising blood pressure on flurbiprofen belongs with the prescriber.

Potassium: hyperkalemia class warning (direction: retention), no flurbiprofen serum potassium measurement retrieved

Yellow — Low

See study details

The flurbiprofen label carries the NSAID hyperkalemia warning; no flurbiprofen study of serum potassium was retrieved.

Full detail and limits

What the grade means here: Mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class extrapolation (Tier C) with no drug-specific human status data; also used for context flags and interactions running the other direction. Yellow

Limits on what this shows

  • Null findings: No flurbiprofen potassium series, null or positive, was retrieved.
  • At-risk subgroups: Chronic kidney disease, diabetes, heart failure, concurrent ACE inhibitor, ARB or potassium-sparing diuretic, older age [1].

Regulatory status

Label [1]: "Increases in serum potassium concentration, including hyperkalemia, have been reported with use of NSAIDs." This is an NSAID class statement carried in the flurbiprofen label; the label also lists ACE inhibitors and ARBs among interacting drugs (possible deterioration of renal function).

Population evidence

None for flurbiprofen. Opened sources on NSAID hyperkalemia that name flurbiprofen: none. The Lafrance 2012 nested case-control study of dispensed NSAIDs and hyperkalemia was not opened (no abstract retrievable) and is not used.

Mechanism

Class-level: reduced prostaglandin-mediated renin and aldosterone and reduced renal potassium excretion; the label states the effect without a mechanism [1]. The mechanism was not shown for flurbiprofen in any source retrieved.

Why not stronger

Class warning only; no flurbiprofen measurement.

Counter-evidence held on record

Counter-evidence and confounding Hyperkalemia with NSAIDs is dominated by renal impairment and co-medications; the label states it can occur without renal impairment but gives no flurbiprofen rate. Framing caution This is a retention risk. Potassium supplements and potassium salt substitutes are the hazard, not the remedy, in at-risk people. No potassium dose is recommended here.

Folate: CLASS EXTRAPOLATION from in vitro enzyme inhibition by other NSAIDs; flurbiprofen was not tested, no folate status change shown

Yellow — Low

See study details

Several other NSAIDs competitively inhibited a folate-dependent enzyme in vitro; flurbiprofen was not among the drugs tested, and no folate, red-cell folate or homocysteine measurement in flurbiprofen users was retrieved.

Full detail and limits

What the grade means here: Mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class extrapolation (Tier C) with no drug-specific human status data; also used for context flags and interactions running the other direction. Yellow

Limits on what this shows

  • Null findings: No folate, homocysteine or anemia-type marker with flurbiprofen was found; no flurbiprofen folate claim was found in the circulating sources opened (People's Pharmacy names eight NSAIDs and not flurbiprofen [21]).

Regulatory status

The label text retrieved does not mention folate or any vitamin [1].

Population evidence

None for flurbiprofen. Baggott et al., Biochem J 1992 [12] (in vitro, abstract opened via PMC; Tier C for flurbiprofen): sulphasalazine, sulindac, indomethacin, naproxen, salicylic acid, ibuprofen, piroxicam and mefenamic acid were competitive inhibitors, with respect to folate, of avian liver phosphoribosylaminoimidazolecarboxamide formyltransferase; aspirin, acetaminophen and antipyrine were weak. CLASS EXTRAPOLATION cohort test: flurbiprofen NOT in the cohort. Flurbiprofen shares the propionic acid scaffold with ibuprofen and naproxen, which were tested, so the idea is plausible but is not flurbiprofen evidence.

Mechanism

Enzyme inhibition in vitro in an avian liver preparation; no study retrieved showed an effect on folate status in people. Named as plausible only.

Hard Rule 6 check

Class extrapolation capped at yellow, labeled as such; no flurbiprofen cohort.

Counter-evidence held on record

Counter-evidence and confounding Enzyme inhibition constants in vitro are not tissue folate depletion; rheumatic disease and methotrexate co-use (a labeled interaction [1]) are major folate confounders in the treated population. Framing caution Not a dietary folate deficiency claim. Folic acid supplementation is not implied; if methotrexate is co-prescribed, folate decisions belong with the prescriber.

Zinc: plasma zinc measured in goat inflammation models (acute-phase redistribution, not depletion), no drug-alone zinc change reported, animal Tier B only

Yellow — Low

See study details

In three dwarf goat studies from one laboratory, flurbiprofen was given and plasma zinc was measured during experimental inflammation; flurbiprofen failed to modify (1982) or delayed (1994) the cytokine-driven fall in plasma zinc. No human or drug-alone zinc finding was retrieved, and none of this shows that flurbiprofen lowers zinc.

Full detail and limits

What the grade means here: Mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class extrapolation (Tier C) with no drug-specific human status data; also used for context flags and interactions running the other direction. Yellow

Limits on what this shows

  • Null and limiting findings: The drug-alone arms report no zinc change. In the inflammation arms flurbiprofen did not prevent the zinc fall (1982) and only delayed it (1994). Intravenous animal dosing in goats is not comparable to oral human dosing, the animals were experimentally inflamed, and no human serum zinc, urinary zinc or intake study with flurbiprofen was found. A flurbiprofen zinc metal complex literature (coordination polymers, a 2026 Dalton Transactions record seen in a PubMed listing, not opened) concerns drug delivery chemistry, not nutrient status, and is not used.

Regulatory status

The label text retrieved [1] mentions no zinc, trace element or mineral interaction. The consumer label text [6] likewise.

Population evidence

Tier B (animal study using this medication; zinc directly measured; abstracts only, full texts not opened, group sizes not in the abstracts). (a) van Miert et al., Res Vet Sci 1982 [22], dwarf goats: flurbiprofen 2 mg/kg intravenous infusion followed by 1 mg/kg bolus six hours later. Flurbiprofen alone lowered plasma iron and lymphocyte counts significantly (zinc is not listed among the changed parameters). E. coli endotoxin (0.1 microgram/kg) caused hypoferraemia and hypozincaemia; "Flurbiprofen failed to modify the endotoxin-induced decrease in both plasma zinc and serum ALP activity whereas the decline in plasma iron concentration was delayed." (b) van Miert et al., Vet Q 1994 [23], dwarf goats: flurbiprofen 1 mg/kg intravenous infusion; alone, plasma iron and lymphocytes were significantly lower (zinc again not listed). Recombinant human IL-1 alpha caused hypoferraemia and hypozincaemia; "flurbiprofen delayed the decline in plasma zinc and iron concentrations." (c) van Miert et al., J Comp Pathol 1990 [24], dwarf goats: flurbiprofen 1 mg/kg intravenous prevented interferon-alpha 2a fever; the abstract does not state flurbiprofen's effect on zinc, and concludes that fever and changes in plasma zinc and iron are regulated by different mechanisms. Human data: none retrieved.

Mechanism

Absent for any flurbiprofen action on zinc absorption, excretion or stores. The measured zinc change is the acute-phase hypozincaemia driven by endotoxin, IL-1 and interferon, a redistribution that flurbiprofen did not block or only delayed; the authors conclude prostaglandin synthesis is not involved in these effects [22][23][24].

Overlap

The same goat abstracts [22][23] also report that flurbiprofen alone significantly lowered plasma iron in goats. That observation bears on the Iron entry, which was not edited in this repair and does not cite these sources; see the Overlap map.

Hard Rule 2 and 4 checks

Acute-phase hypozincaemia is a disease and cytokine response, not a drug-caused nutrient deficiency, and the drug modifying its timing is not depletion. In the one study where flurbiprofen altered the zinc course (1994) the abstract describes a delayed decline, which is the opposite of loss; the abstract gives no values. Confounding by indication applies to any human use in inflammatory disease.

Why yellow and not ungraded

Tier B evidence exists with flurbiprofen in the study and zinc directly measured, so ungraded no longer applies. Why not stronger: animal, abstract-level, inflammatory challenge model, no drug-alone zinc effect, no human data, no mechanism.

Counter-evidence held on record

Counter-evidence and confounding The studies were designed to test fever and prostaglandin involvement, not zinc status; zinc was a secondary blood chemistry parameter, and the abstracts give no group sizes or statistics for zinc. Framing caution This is not a finding that flurbiprofen lowers zinc. It is an animal observation about timing of an inflammation-driven plasma change. No zinc supplement is implied and no zinc dose is recommended here.

The five body-system areas

Each finding is counted once, in a single area. Where a study is mentioned in a second area it is context only.

Mitochondrial Burden

Each finding below is counted once, in this area only.

Mitochondrial burden: in vitro hepatic mitochondria and hepatocyte findings (direction: toxicity, not nutrient loss), no in vivo or human measurement

Yellow — Low

See study details

Flurbiprofen was tested in isolated rat liver mitochondria and rat hepatocytes alongside other NSAIDs; the retrievable text supports a plausible uncoupling or inhibition mechanism in vitro, with no human or therapeutic-concentration data.

Full detail and limits

What the grade means here: Mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class extrapolation (Tier C) with no drug-specific human status data; also used for context flags and interactions running the other direction. Yellow

Limits on what this shows

  • Null and limiting findings: Mahmud 1996 [11] reports that modified flurbiprofen derivatives and nabumetone did not uncouple while conventional NSAIDs did (summarizer wording); the relation to parent flurbiprofen was not clear from the abstract. All flurbiprofen data are rat, in vitro, and at unspecified concentrations; no comparison with human plasma concentrations (above 99% protein bound [1]) was possible. No human or in vivo mitochondrial marker (lactate, muscle biopsy, respirometry) with flurbiprofen was found.

Regulatory status

The label retrieved [1] does not discuss mitochondrial effects.

Population evidence

Tier B, flurbiprofen in the cohort. Browne et al., Biochem Pharmacol 1999 [10]: by its title, ibuprofen, flurbiprofen and ketorolac inhibit hepatic mitochondrial beta-oxidation and oxidative phosphorylation in a stereoselective and substrate-dependent way (isolated rat hepatic mitochondria). Only the title and metadata were seen; the OpenAlex abstract was null, so concentrations and magnitude are unknown. Horie et al., J Pharmacol Exp Ther 1998 [9] (rat hepatocytes, 18 acidic NSAIDs, flurbiprofen named among the cytotoxic arylpropionic acids by a summarizing fetch of the PDF abstract): the authors attribute the hepatocellular ATP fall seen with the cytotoxic NSAIDs "probably" to uncoupling of mitochondrial oxidative phosphorylation. Flurbiprofen-specific effect size was not in the text read.

Mechanism

Named in the abstracts: inhibition of beta-oxidation and oxidative phosphorylation (title [10]) and probable uncoupling of oxidative phosphorylation (abstract [9]). The class concept that acidic NSAIDs uncouple oxidative phosphorylation is stated by Mahmud 1996 [11], but that abstract (read through an index record and summarizer) names modified flurbiprofen compounds that did not uncouple, not the parent drug, so it is not counted as flurbiprofen evidence.

Hard Rule 2 check

Mitochondrial toxicity in vitro is the drug acting on a structure, not a nutrient deficiency, and no cofactor (CoQ10, carnitine, B vitamins) was measured. Do not file as a coenzyme depletion.

Counter-evidence held on record

Counter-evidence and confounding In vitro concentrations in isolated mitochondria and hepatocytes are often well above those reached in plasma, and high protein binding lowers the free fraction; the clinical significance is unestablished. Hepatotoxicity of NSAIDs is rare relative to exposure (label: ALT or AST at least 3 times the upper limit in about 1% of NSAID-treated patients [1]). Framing caution Not a reason to take CoQ10, carnitine or any antioxidant. Treat as a laboratory signal tied to rare hepatotoxicity, not a measured energy deficit in patients.

Oxidative Stress

Each finding below is counted once, in this area only.

Oxidative stress: reverse direction, in vitro radical scavenging by flurbiprofen; no pro-oxidant or antioxidant-depletion data

Yellow — Low

See study details

In a cell-free and neutrophil panel, flurbiprofen scavenged several reactive oxygen species; no study retrieved showed flurbiprofen depleting antioxidants or raising oxidative stress markers.

Full detail and limits

What the grade means here: Mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class extrapolation (Tier C) with no drug-specific human status data; also used for context flags and interactions running the other direction. Yellow

Limits on what this shows

  • Null and limiting findings: None showing pro-oxidant or antioxidant-depleting effects. All data are in vitro; direction is protective chemistry, not depletion.

Regulatory status

Not addressed in the label text retrieved [1].

Population evidence

Tier B in vitro, flurbiprofen in the cohort. Costa, Moutinho, Lima and Fernandes, Biol Pharm Bull 2006 [8] (abstract opened on J-STAGE): seven arylpropionic acid NSAIDs (ibuprofen, flurbiprofen, fenoprofen, fenbufen, ketoprofen, naproxen, indoprofen) were screened against O2-, H2O2, HO, ROO, HOCl, NO and ONOO- in non-cellular systems and in human neutrophil oxidative burst. The abstract lists flurbiprofen in the rank orders for superoxide (fenbufen < flurbiprofen < indoprofen < ketoprofen), hydrogen peroxide, hydroxyl radical, peroxynitrite and neutrophil-derived ROS (ketoprofen > indoprofen > fenbufen > flurbiprofen), meaning flurbiprofen was active, and in several rankings weaker than other drugs. Concentrations and rate constants were not in the abstract.

Mechanism

Direct chemical scavenging of reactive species; the authors state the effects "if confirmed in vivo" may contribute to anti-inflammatory activity [8]. No glutathione, MDA or antioxidant enzyme measurement in flurbiprofen users was retrieved.

Hard Rule 2 check

A drug radical scavenging activity in a test tube is not a nutrient entry and does not imply any antioxidant vitamin need or benefit.

Counter-evidence held on record

Counter-evidence and confounding In vitro screens at test concentrations that may not be reached in vivo; NSAID oxidative effects in tissue (for example mitochondrial injury above) point the other way and were not measured for flurbiprofen. Framing caution Not evidence that flurbiprofen is antioxidant in patients, and not evidence of antioxidant depletion. No antioxidant supplement is implied.

Copper and Iron Balance

Copper and iron are assessed separately. Nothing here is counted twice.

Iron: GI blood loss pathway (drug toxicity, direction: loss), flurbiprofen iron status never measured in any source retrieved

Yellow — Low

See study details

Flurbiprofen carries the NSAID warnings for GI bleeding and anemia, but no flurbiprofen study of fecal blood loss, hemoglobin or iron indices was retrieved, and the one chromium-51 blood loss systematic review opened does not list flurbiprofen in its per-drug table.

Full detail and limits

What the grade means here: Mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class extrapolation (Tier C) with no drug-specific human status data; also used for context flags and interactions running the other direction. Yellow

Limits on what this shows

  • Null and limiting findings: The Moore review states there is no direct evidence linking anemia with low-level bleeding into the bowel [7] (restated by the review as a limitation; read through a summarizer, so treat as paraphrase). The label gives anemia an incidence below 1% [1]. No flurbiprofen-specific hemoglobin series was found, and the clinical literature search channels were largely blocked (see Ungraded section and Sources).
  • At-risk subgroups: Older adults, prior ulcer or GI bleeding, and concurrent warfarin (label: synergistic bleeding effect) or aspirin (label: aspirin lowers flurbiprofen serum concentrations by about 50%, an effect on the drug, not a protection) [1].

Regulatory status

Label (summarizing fetch, revision shown as July 2025; the DailyMed search [3] returned no label) [1]: serious GI bleeding is a labeled risk, with approximately 1% of NSAID-treated patients developing ulcers or bleeding during 3 to 6 months of therapy (summarizer wording of the class statement). Anemia: "Anemia has occurred in NSAID-treated patients. This may be due to occult or gross blood loss, fluid retention, or an incompletely described effect on erythropoiesis"; monitor hemoglobin or hematocrit if signs or symptoms of anemia occur, and consider periodic CBC and chemistry profile with long-term treatment. In the adverse reaction incidence lists, GI bleeding sits in the 1% or greater group and anemia in the under 1% group (summarizer wording; the tables were not read raw). The label text retrieved does not mention iron, vitamins or minerals [1].

Population evidence

None for flurbiprofen. Moore, Derry and McQuay 2008 [7] (Tier A design, systematic review of 47 randomized trials, 1,162 participants, autologous chromium-labelled erythrocytes): a summarizing fetch of the full text found flurbiprofen is NOT listed in the weighted mean fecal blood loss table; baseline was 0.46 mL/day and placebo 0.76 mL/day; the review states about 5% of NSAID takers lose 5 mL/day or more and 1% lose 10 mL/day or more (pooled across NSAIDs, not flurbiprofen). CLASS EXTRAPOLATION cohort test: flurbiprofen NOT in the cohort per that pass, so the class numbers are context only. The SOS meta-analysis of individual NSAIDs and upper GI complications [18] (abstract-level) names 16 NSAIDs and not flurbiprofen. The Han 2025 Korean cohort of NSAID subtypes and anemia [17] analyzed aceclofenac, meloxicam, loxoprofen, celecoxib and naproxen, not flurbiprofen. A Crossref title search for flurbiprofen with faecal blood loss returned unrelated InPharma records and no flurbiprofen blood loss paper.

Mechanism

Proposed, class-level: COX-1 and COX-2 inhibition with mucosal injury and occult bleeding; the label names blood loss, fluid retention and an incompletely described effect on erythropoiesis as possible anemia causes [1]. No flurbiprofen study of ferritin, iron absorption or iron turnover was retrieved.

Hard Rule 2 and 6 checks

GI bleeding and anemia are clinical outcomes, not iron deficiency; deficiency needs measured iron indices. Confounding by indication is presumed (rheumatic disease, age, aspirin or anticoagulant co-use). Direction is loss through bleeding, a toxicity route, not an absorption defect. Circulating claim: a Lima Memorial page states "Taking nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drugs may deplete iron" and lists flurbiprofen (Ansaid, Ocufen) among 23 NSAIDs with no citation (Tier D) [20].

Counter-evidence held on record

Counter-evidence and confounding Flurbiprofen-specific bleeding magnitude is unknown here; blood loss varies widely between NSAIDs in controlled work, so numbers from other drugs cannot be assigned to flurbiprofen. Framing caution This is a toxicity pathway (blood loss), not a dietary or absorption deficiency. New iron deficiency or dark stools on flurbiprofen calls for evaluating the bleeding source and the prescription, not an iron supplement by default. No iron dose is recommended here.

Copper: no copper status data for flurbiprofen; only synthetic copper complex chemistry and a disease-model mention found

Not graded — disclosed evidence gap

See study details

No source opened measured copper, ceruloplasmin or copper handling attributable to flurbiprofen in humans or animals, and no consumer or professional page opened claims a copper effect for flurbiprofen.

Full detail and limits

What the grade means here: Nothing has been measured here, so this finding cannot be graded. That does not establish either safety or harm, and it is not the same as a White result. Ungraded

Limits on what this shows

  • Why no grade: Dual condition met after a fresh repair search. (1) No Tier B or C evidence for a copper status effect. The 1991 J Inorg Biochem paper (Oga, Taniguchi, Najjar, Souza) [19] was re-checked: a PubMed listing page showed its abstract, which reports that a synthesized copper(II) flurbiprofen complex had anti-inflammatory and analgesic properties comparable to free flurbiprofen in rats with less gastric irritation than the parent drug. This is a synthetic coordination complex made from the drug and copper: copper is the carrier in a new compound, the direction is copper acting on the drug's properties, and no copper status, absorption, excretion or ceruloplasmin measurement is involved, so it is not nutrient evidence and was not used as Tier B support. The Verheijden and van Miert 1985 ruminant mastitis review [25] (abstract reconstructed from OpenAlex) lists hypercupremia among nonspecific acute-phase responses and says flurbiprofen had a beneficial effect on experimental E. coli mastitis, but it does not state any flurbiprofen effect on copper; hypercupremia there is a disease response. The goat studies opened for zinc [22][23][24] report plasma iron and zinc, not copper. (2) No circulating claim: neither Lima Memorial [20], People's Pharmacy [21] nor the consumer label text [6] mentions copper for flurbiprofen.

Channels tried

Label text for copper, iron, zinc and minerals (none found) [1]. PubMed listing pages (format=pubmed): "flurbiprofen copper" (10 records, all irrelevant to copper status: the 1991 complex paper, a 2009 spectroscopic Cu(II) and Hg(II) flurbiprofen complex study, a 2018 flurbiprofen chalcone hybrid study with Cu(2+)-induced amyloid aggregation, a 1988 copper sulfate corneal vascularization rabbit model where flurbiprofen was an anti-inflammatory tool, a 1975 enzyme preparation note, analytical sensors and synthesis papers); "flurbiprofen plus ceruloplasmin or serum copper or trace elements or serum zinc" (one record, the 1985 mastitis review [25]); "flurbiprofen ceruloplasmin" (HTTP 404, no page returned); a NSAID plus serum copper plus rheumatoid query (HTTP 429). OpenAlex single-record lookups for PMIDs 2019832 (abstract null) and 3909626 (abstract reconstructed). Consumer pages [6][20][21]. Blocked or exhausted: WebSearch (shared per-turn budget exhausted), repeated PubMed listing 429 responses after the first few requests (retried only after waiting several minutes), Europe PMC, Semantic Scholar and OpenAlex search endpoints (not attempted again, previously 429), ScienceDirect and Springer search (robots disallowed).

Genuine gap or tooling-limited

Probably a genuine gap for copper status with flurbiprofen: the PubMed term searches that completed returned no copper status study with this drug, and the one animal disease paper lists hypercupremia without a flurbiprofen attribution. Partly tooling-limited because WebSearch was unavailable, several PubMed queries were rate-limited, and no full texts were opened (for example, whether the 1982 and 1994 goat papers measured copper is not visible in their abstracts). Re-check with working PubMed access (flurbiprofen with copper, ceruloplasmin, trace elements in humans) before treating it as closed.

Gut Microbiome Risk

Each finding below is counted once, in this area only.

Gut microbiome risk: CLASS EXTRAPOLATION; flurbiprofen not in any human or animal microbiome cohort opened

Yellow — Low

See study details

NSAID-wide microbiome studies suggest shifts in some taxa, but no study retrieved dosed or reported flurbiprofen, and the systematic review found no significant change in alpha diversity for NSAIDs as a class.

Full detail and limits

What the grade means here: Mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class extrapolation (Tier C) with no drug-specific human status data; also used for context flags and interactions running the other direction. Yellow

Limits on what this shows

  • Null and limiting findings: No significant alpha diversity change for NSAIDs as a class [15]; the ketorolac study found no significant diversity change either [13]. No flurbiprofen 16S, fecal microbiota or C. difficile outcome was retrieved.

Regulatory status

Not addressed in the label text retrieved [1].

Population evidence

All Tier C for flurbiprofen. Le Bastard et al., Aliment Pharmacol Ther 2018 [15] (systematic review, abstract reconstructed from OpenAlex): NSAIDs and metformin showed no significant alpha diversity change; beta diversity changed for all drugs studied except NSAIDs; NSAIDs, PPIs, metformin and opioids were linked to increases in Gammaproteobacteria or Enterococcaceae; flurbiprofen not named in the abstract. A 2009 Br J Nutr study [14] (16S sequencing, elderly NSAID users and non-users versus young adults; abstract reconstructed from OpenAlex) reported shifts in phyla and lower butyrate-producing taxa with age and NSAID use together; no specific NSAID named. A 4-week ketorolac rat study (Front Pharmacol 2021) [13] found no Shannon diversity change but loss of some Firmicutes families and increased Enterobacteriaceae at 3 mg/kg (n=10 per group); flurbiprofen not dosed. CLASS EXTRAPOLATION cohort test: flurbiprofen NOT in any of these.

Mechanism

Proposed: mucosal injury, altered bile acids and bacterial drug metabolism; the Maseda and Ricciotti 2020 review [16] states that NSAIDs inhibiting both COXs, including flurbiprofen, severely damage the small intestine in rodents (mucosal injury, not a microbiome measurement), and mentions microbial conversion of flurbiprofen by a fungus in a different context (summarizer wording, not relied on).

Hard Rule 6 check

Class extrapolation, capped at yellow, flurbiprofen not in the cohort of any source.

Counter-evidence held on record

Counter-evidence and confounding Age, disease, PPI co-use and diet are strong confounders in human NSAID studies, and the human study cannot attribute change to any individual NSAID. Framing caution A theoretical class signal only. No probiotic or prebiotic recommendation is implied.

Oxygen and ATP Output

Oxygen delivery and ATP production are assessed separately. Nothing here is counted twice.

Oxygen delivery/utilization: anemia and hemolytic anemia as labeled outcomes, no measured oxygen-carrying effect

Yellow — Low

See study details

The flurbiprofen label lists anemia and hemolytic anemia (each under 1% in the incidence lists) and postmarketing aplastic anemia and agranulocytosis, but no study retrieved measured hemoglobin oxygen affinity, red-cell mass, arterial oxygenation or tissue oxygen delivery in flurbiprofen users.

Full detail and limits

What the grade means here: Mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class extrapolation (Tier C) with no drug-specific human status data; also used for context flags and interactions running the other direction. Yellow

Limits on what this shows

  • Null findings: No arterial oxygenation, red-cell oxygen affinity or hemoglobin series with flurbiprofen was found.

Regulatory status

Label [1] (summarizing fetch): anemia statement and hemoglobin or hematocrit monitoring as above; hemolytic anemia listed under incidence below 1%; aplastic anemia and agranulocytosis listed among postmarketing experience (summarizer wording; frequency tables not read raw). Consumer label text lists "low red blood cells (anemia)" symptoms [6].

Population evidence

None measuring oxygen delivery. No flurbiprofen case report of hemolysis or methemoglobinemia was retrieved; the search channels tried are listed in the Ungraded section. Crossref title records titled only "Flurbiprofen" in Reactions Weekly (adverse reaction news items) exist for several years, but their text was not retrievable (OpenAlex abstracts null) and none is cited.

Mechanism

Three routes in the label and general pharmacology, none shown to lower oxygen delivery at therapeutic dosing: blood loss anemia (see Iron), fluid retention with dilution of hemoglobin concentration, and rare immune or marrow reactions listed in postmarketing experience [1].

Hard Rule 2 check

Anemia is an outcome, not a nutrient deficiency, and a drug reaction is an adverse event, not an oxygen-delivery deficiency. Flurbiprofen has no intended hemodynamic oxygen-demand effect to clarify. This entry is a context and monitoring flag only; the label basis is Tier A for the existence of the warning, not for any measured oxygen-delivery change, so the entry stays yellow.

Counter-evidence held on record

Counter-evidence and confounding Postmarketing reports have no denominator, and the label lists three possible anemia causes that are not oxygen-delivery mechanisms. Framing caution Do not read this as an oxygen-carrying deficiency that supplements can fix. Unexplained fatigue, pallor, jaundice or dark urine on flurbiprofen is a prescriber question; no iron, folate or antioxidant supplement is implied.

ATP production: lower hepatocellular ATP with cytotoxic NSAIDs as a group (flurbiprofen among the named drugs), in vitro, shared source with Mitochondrial burden

Yellow — Low

See study details

In rat hepatocytes, the NSAIDs that caused cell injury, a group in which flurbiprofen was named, lowered cellular ATP content; no flurbiprofen-specific ATP value, human tissue or in vivo energy data were retrieved.

Full detail and limits

What the grade means here: Mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class extrapolation (Tier C) with no drug-specific human status data; also used for context flags and interactions running the other direction. Yellow

Limits on what this shows

  • Null and limiting findings: No ATP, phosphocreatine or fatigue endpoint in flurbiprofen-treated humans was retrieved. In vitro cytotoxic concentration relative to plasma was not established.

Regulatory status

Not addressed in the label text retrieved [1].

Population evidence

Tier B, flurbiprofen in the cohort (group finding). Horie et al. 1998 [9], isolated rat hepatocytes, 18 acidic NSAIDs including flurbiprofen: "All of the cytotoxic NSAIDs and diphenylamine extensively decreased hepatocellular ATP content, whereas the noncytotoxic NSAID did not" (summarizer-quoted PDF abstract). Flurbiprofen was named among drugs causing LDH leakage; whether its own ATP value was reported was not visible in the text read. Concentrations and exposure time were not read.

Mechanism

Probable uncoupling of mitochondrial oxidative phosphorylation, as inferred by the authors [9]; the same body of evidence as the Mitochondrial burden entry.

Hard Rule 2 and 7 checks

Reduced ATP in injured cells is drug toxicity, not a nutrient deficiency; "low energy" is not graded as a symptom entry. This entry is separate from Mitochondrial burden and Oxygen delivery per Hard Rule 7 but is not independent evidence (see Overlap map).

Counter-evidence held on record

Counter-evidence and confounding Group-level finding from a single hepatocyte study; flurbiprofen-specific data were not extracted. Fatigue in treated patients is confounded by the underlying disease. Framing caution This is not evidence of an energy deficit that supplements can fix. No ATP, CoQ10 or carnitine recommendation is implied.

Claims checked and not supported

These circulate online for this medication. They are listed here only so they can be answered, never as findings, and they are not graded.

A claim with no supporting evidence is not necessarily disproven. Where evidence actually argues against a claim, that is stated below.

  • Sodium "depleted" by flurbiprofen or NSAIDs

    Where it comes from: Lima Memorial Health System health library page: "Taking nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drugs except diflunisal may deplete sodium"; flurbiprofen (Ansaid, Ocufen) is among 23 NSAIDs listed; no citation [20].

    Why it fails: The flurbiprofen label direction is fluid retention and edema and reduced diuretic natriuresis, not sodium loss [1]. No flurbiprofen serum sodium study was retrieved. As worded (a depletion that implies intake should rise) the claim runs opposite to the labeled direction; the Sodium entry is graded yellow as retention, with a caution against sodium loading.

  • Iron "depleted" by flurbiprofen, stated as nutrient depletion

    Where it comes from: Same Lima Memorial page: "Taking nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drugs may deplete iron," flurbiprofen listed, no citation [20].

    Why it fails: No flurbiprofen iron, ferritin or hemoglobin measurement exists in the sources retrieved. The labeled GI bleeding and anemia warnings [1] support a blood loss pathway, not an absorption or dietary deficiency; the Iron entry is graded yellow with direction stated as loss through bleeding.

  • Folic acid "depleted" by NSAIDs including flurbiprofen, as a dietary depletion claim

    Where it comes from: People's Pharmacy (2024-06-11) lists eight NSAIDs (diclofenac, etodolac, ibuprofen, indomethacin, naproxen, oxaprozin, piroxicam, sulindac) as folic acid depleting and says "aspirin, NSAIDs" can deplete folic acid in general; flurbiprofen is not named; no mechanism given [21].

    Why it fails: Flurbiprofen is not named in the claim and was not tested in the one in vitro enzyme inhibition paper behind the class idea [12]. No flurbiprofen folate or homocysteine measurement was retrieved. The folate entry is graded yellow as an in vitro class extrapolation with no status change shown.

  • Mitochondrial damage, oxidative stress or "low energy" from flurbiprofen as a consumer claim

    Where it comes from: No consumer page opened [6][20][21] made this claim for flurbiprofen. Listed because the categories are mandatory; other consumer claims may exist and should be re-checked.

    Why it fails: Not a circulating claim found. The in vitro mitochondrial and ATP findings [9][10] are graded yellow; the oxidative stress finding runs in the protective direction [8].

How the body handles this medication

Metabolism and enzymes
Metabolized mainly through CYP2C9 to the major metabolite 4'-hydroxy-flurbiprofen, which "showed little anti-inflammatory activity in animal models"; glucuronidation via UGT2B7 also occurs; metabolism of R- to S-flurbiprofen is minimal. Hepatic metabolism may account for more than 90% of elimination. Poor CYP2C9 metabolizers (genotype or history with substrates such as warfarin or phenytoin) are advised a dose reduction. No statement about inducing or inhibiting any CYP enzyme appeared in the label text retrieved.[1] flurbiprofen tablets label (summarizing fetch)
Elimination
Less than 3% is excreted unchanged in urine; about 70% of the dose is eliminated in urine as flurbiprofen, 4'-hydroxy-flurbiprofen and their acylglucuronide conjugates. Mean terminal half-lives about 4.7 hours (R) and 5.7 hours (S); pharmacokinetics are linear with minimal accumulation.[1]
Absorption and distribution
Peak plasma concentration at about 2 hours. Food or antacids "may alter the rate but not the extent" of absorption. Both enantiomers are above 99% bound to plasma proteins, primarily albumin. No named absorption transporter appeared in the text retrieved.[1]
Renal tubular and electrolyte effects
NSAID class warnings carried in the label: fluid retention and edema; "increases in serum potassium concentration, including hyperkalemia, have been reported with use of NSAIDs"; renal papillary necrosis and other renal injury with long-term use; NSAIDs can reduce the natriuretic effect of furosemide and thiazide diuretics.[1]
Impairment and interacting drugs
Elimination of flurbiprofen metabolites (4'-hydroxy-flurbiprofen) is reduced in moderate to severe renal impairment; use is not recommended in advanced renal disease. Hepatic disease may require lower doses. Interactions: aspirin (about 50% lower flurbiprofen serum concentration), ACE inhibitors and ARBs (possible deterioration of renal function), diuretics, lithium (elevated plasma lithium, reduced renal lithium clearance), methotrexate (toxicity risk), warfarin (synergistic bleeding), cimetidine (small AUC increase). Geriatric pharmacokinetics were similar to younger patients. No vitamin or mineral interaction appeared in the label text retrieved.[1] (summarizer wording; revision date shown as July 2025)
Routes and other products (scope)
WHO lists M01AE09 with oral and rectal routes, DDD 0.2 g. Other ATC codes exist for topical (M02AA19), throat (R02AX01) and ophthalmic (S01BC04) flurbiprofen. This dossier concerns systemic (oral tablet) flurbiprofen; the topical, lozenge and ophthalmic products were not reviewed.[2] WHO ATC/DDD Index; [5] Wikipedia (codes only)

What the research says is worth watching

General information from the medication label and the studies above. It is not personal medical advice, and any change belongs with your prescriber.

  • Lab / label

    Hemoglobin, hematocrit and CBC

    The label directs hemoglobin or hematocrit monitoring if signs or symptoms of anemia occur and suggests periodic CBC and chemistry profile in long-term use [1]. Add ferritin and transferrin saturation if anemia is found, because anemia alone does not show iron deficiency. New iron deficiency in an adult warrants evaluation for a bleeding source rather than assumption of a drug cause.

  • Symptoms

    GI bleeding signs

    Black or tarry stool, vomit that looks like coffee grounds, epigastric pain, and unusual tiredness or pallor should be reported promptly [1][6]. Highest concern with warfarin co-use, prior ulcer or bleeding, older age and alcohol (consumer label advises avoiding alcohol for stomach bleeding risk [6]).

  • Lab / renal

    Potassium, creatinine and blood pressure

    Worth checking potassium and kidney function when flurbiprofen is combined with an ACE inhibitor, ARB, potassium-sparing diuretic or lithium, or in chronic kidney disease, diabetes, dehydration or heart failure [1]. Retention is the risk; potassium supplements and potassium salt substitutes are the hazard. Metabolite elimination falls in moderate to severe renal impairment, and use is not recommended in advanced renal disease [1].

  • Clinical

    Sodium, swelling and weight

    Track blood pressure, weight gain and swelling, especially in older adults or people on diuretics [1]. This is a water-handling signal and is not a reason to add salt.

  • Lab / liver and genotype

    Liver enzymes and CYP2C9 status

    The label notes ALT or AST at least 3 times the upper limit in about 1% of NSAID-treated patients, and advises dose reduction in known or suspected CYP2C9 poor metabolizers and in hepatic disease [1]. This is drug safety monitoring, not a nutrient finding.

  • Timing and interactions

    Aspirin, warfarin, methotrexate, antacids

    Concurrent aspirin lowers flurbiprofen serum concentrations by about 50%, warfarin adds bleeding risk, and methotrexate toxicity risk rises [1]. Food or antacids change the rate but not the extent of flurbiprofen absorption [1]. No vitamin or mineral separation interval is stated in the label text retrieved. Pregnancy and pediatric considerations were not retrieved from the label in this review; they are not graded here.

Overlap map, to prevent double counting

  • Iron

    Shares evidence with: Oxygen delivery/utilization

    Note: Same label anemia sentence and GI bleeding warning [1]. Any anemia is mediated through the GI blood loss pathway (Iron), fluid retention or rare reactions. Treat as one body of evidence, not two confirmations.

  • Sodium

    Shares evidence with: Potassium

    Note: Same label renal and prostaglandin class framing [1]; no flurbiprofen electrolyte study. One source, two endpoints.

  • Mitochondrial burden

    Shares evidence with: ATP production

    Note: Both rest on the same rat hepatocyte study [9], and the mitochondrial entry adds only a title-level isolated-mitochondria record [10]. One body of evidence viewed as two endpoints; Hard Rule 7 keeps the entries separate, not independent.

  • Mitochondrial burden; ATP production

    Shares evidence with: Oxidative stress

    Note: Different papers ([9][10] versus [8]) and opposite directions (toxicity versus scavenging); no shared evidence.

  • Iron

    Shares evidence with: Folate; Gut microbiome risk

    Note: The Moore review [7], SOS meta-analysis [18] and Han 2025 [17] were opened for iron and do not include flurbiprofen; none supports a folate or microbiome entry.

  • Folate

    Shares evidence with: None

    Note: Rests on Baggott 1992 [12] (flurbiprofen not tested); no circulating claim names flurbiprofen for folate.

  • Gut microbiome risk

    Shares evidence with: None

    Note: Rests on class sources [13][14][15], none shared with other entries; the Maseda review [16] is mechanism context only.

  • Zinc

    Shares evidence with: Iron

    Note: The goat abstracts [22][23] report plasma zinc and plasma iron together, and flurbiprofen alone lowered plasma iron in both. The Iron entry was not edited in this repair and does not cite these sources, so an editor should review whether they add Tier B animal data to Iron. Treat zinc and iron here as one body of evidence from one laboratory, not independent confirmations.

  • Copper

    Shares evidence with: None

    Note: Ungraded independent gap. It shares only search channels with other entries; the sources opened for it [19][25] support no grade, and the goat studies [22][23][24] report no copper.

All references used above
  1. Flurbiprofen tablets, professional label (Drugs.com PRO monograph reproducing a US prescribing label). — Regulatory label (Tier A), revision date shown as July 2025 by the summarizer. Clinical pharmacology (CYP2C9, UGT2B7, elimination, half-life, protein binding, absorption), special populations, interactions, warnings (GI, renal, hematologic, hepatic), fluid retention and adverse reaction incidence lists read through two summarizing fetch passes, not as raw text; incidence-table wording is the summarizer's. The DailyMed search page for flurbiprofen tablets returned "No Drug Package Labels found", so no DailyMed label was opened.
  2. WHO Collaborating Centre, ATC/DDD Index: flurbiprofen, M01AE09 (propionic acid derivatives), DDD 0.2 g, oral and rectal. — Reference index, read via summarizing fetch.
  3. DailyMed search listing for flurbiprofen tablets. — Returned no drug package labels in the summarized page; recorded only to show the DailyMed label could not be used.
  4. ClinCalc DrugStats Database. Flurbiprofen. — Summarizer reported the most recent rank shown as 355 (2021) and no 2024 prescription data; read via summarizing fetch. Not in the Top 300 either way.
  5. Wikipedia. Flurbiprofen. — Tier D, used only for brand names (Ansaid, Ocufen, Strepfen, Froben, Strefen), other ATC codes (M02AA19, R02AX01, S01BC04) and CYP2C9 and enantiomer confirmation. No nutrient statement found.Tier D; supports no grade.
  6. Drugs.com. Flurbiprofen patient information (Mayo Clinic style monograph). — Consumer drug information, Tier D. Brand names Ansaid and Lurbipr; alcohol and stomach bleeding caution; anemia and bleeding warning signs; no vitamin, mineral, iron or folate statement. Read via summarizing fetch.Tier D; supports no grade.
  7. Moore RA, Derry S, McQuay HJ. Faecal blood loss with aspirin, nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drugs and cyclo-oxygenase-2 selective inhibitors: systematic review of randomized trials using autologous chromium-labelled erythrocytes. Arthritis Res Ther 2008 (DOI 10.1186/ar2355). — Systematic review (Tier A design; Tier C for flurbiprofen). 47 trials, 1,162 participants (OpenAlex abstract, reconstructed). A summarizing fetch of the Springer full-text page stated flurbiprofen is not listed in Table 2; baseline 0.46 and placebo 0.76 mL/day; about 5% of NSAID users lose 5 mL/day or more and 1% lose 10 mL/day or more. The table was read through one summarizer pass, not raw.Cohort test: flurbiprofen NOT listed (per summarizer); class context only.
  8. Costa D, Moutinho L, Lima JLF, Fernandes E. Antioxidant activity and inhibition of human neutrophil oxidative burst mediated by arylpropionic acid non-steroidal anti-inflammatory drugs. Biol Pharm Bull 2006;29(8):1659-1670 (DOI 10.1248/bpb.29.1659). — In vitro chemistry and cell assay (Tier B for flurbiprofen; flurbiprofen in the cohort). Abstract opened on J-STAGE and reproduced by a summarizing fetch; concentrations and rate constants not seen.
  9. Horie T, et al. Study of 18 acidic NSAIDs in isolated rat hepatocytes. J Pharmacol Exp Ther 1998;287(1):208 (title and full author list not visible in the text read; Horie T named as corresponding author). — In vitro, rat hepatocytes (Tier B for flurbiprofen; flurbiprofen named among the NSAIDs tested and among those causing LDH leakage per a summarizing fetch of the PDF abstract). Only the abstract was seen, through a summarizer; the landing page returned HTTP 403 and the PDF URL was used.Title not verified; flurbiprofen-specific ATP value not seen.
  10. Browne GS, Nelson C, Nguyen T, Ellis BA, Day RO, Williams KM. Stereoselective and substrate-dependent inhibition of hepatic mitochondrial beta-oxidation and oxidative phosphorylation by the non-steroidal anti-inflammatory drugs ibuprofen, flurbiprofen, and ketorolac. Biochem Pharmacol 1999 (DOI 10.1016/s0006-2952(98)00342-6). — Isolated rat hepatic mitochondria (Tier B; flurbiprofen in the title cohort). Only the OpenAlex title and metadata were read; the abstract was null. Direction taken from the title alone.Abstract not read; ScienceDirect disallowed by robots.txt; Crossref DOI lookup rate-limited.
  11. Mahmud T, et al. Nonsteroidal antiinflammatory drugs and uncoupling of mitochondrial oxidative phosphorylation. Arthritis Rheum 1996. — In vitro class study (Tier C for parent flurbiprofen). Abstract only, via an index record and summarizing fetch; the author list beyond the first was not seen. States uncoupling is common among anti-inflammatory agents with an ionizable group; modified flurbiprofen compounds (dimero- and nitrobutyl-flurbiprofen) and nabumetone did not uncouple.Cohort test: parent flurbiprofen not clearly named; context only.
  12. Baggott JE, Morgan SL, Ha T, Vaughn WH, Hine RJ. Inhibition of folate-dependent enzymes by non-steroidal anti-inflammatory drugs. Biochem J 1992;282:197. — In vitro (Tier C for flurbiprofen). Abstract opened via PMC and read through a summarizing fetch. Tested: sulphasalazine, sulindac, indomethacin, naproxen, salicylic acid, ibuprofen, piroxicam, mefenamic acid (inhibitors); aspirin, acetaminophen, antipyrine (weak).Cohort test: flurbiprofen NOT tested. Class extrapolation only.
  13. Ketorolac small intestinal microbiota and bile acids in the rat. Front Pharmacol 2021 (DOI 10.3389/fphar.2021.664177). — Rat study (Tier C for flurbiprofen): 40 male Wistar rats, ketorolac 1, 3 and 10 mg/kg orally for 4 weeks. Read through a summarizing fetch of the Frontiers full text; authors not captured.Cohort test: only ketorolac dosed; flurbiprofen NOT in the cohort.
  14. The effect of age and non-steroidal anti-inflammatory drugs on human intestinal microbiota composition. Br J Nutr (OpenAlex year 2009; PMID 19703328). — Human 16S study, elderly NSAID users and non-users versus young adults (Tier C). Abstract reconstructed from OpenAlex; the PubMed page returned only page metadata.Cohort test: no specific NSAID named; flurbiprofen NOT identified as in the cohort.
  15. Le Bastard Q, et al. Systematic review: human gut dysbiosis induced by non-antibiotic prescription medications. Aliment Pharmacol Ther 2018 (OpenAlex year 2017; DOI 10.1111/apt.14451). — Systematic review (Tier C for flurbiprofen). Abstract reconstructed from OpenAlex through a summarizing fetch.Cohort test: flurbiprofen not named in the abstract.
  16. Maseda D, Ricciotti E. NSAID-gut microbiota interactions. Front Pharmacol 2020 (DOI 10.3389/fphar.2020.01153). — Narrative review (Tier C, mechanism context). Summarizing fetch of the full text returned two sentences naming flurbiprofen (rodent small-intestinal damage by dual COX inhibitors; a note on microbial or fungal metabolism of flurbiprofen), the second garbled; used only as mechanism context and not as microbiome evidence.
  17. Han H, Ro DH, Han HS, Won S. Overall compilation of adverse effects of non-steroidal anti-inflammatory drugs: a hypothesis-free systematic investigation using a nationwide cohort study. Front Pharmacol 2025 (DOI 10.3389/fphar.2025.1539328). — Korean cohort, 888,909 newly diagnosed osteoarthritis patients; five NSAID subtypes (aceclofenac, meloxicam, loxoprofen, celecoxib, naproxen). Summarizing fetch of the full text.Excluded cohort: flurbiprofen NOT among the five drugs; not used as evidence.
  18. Castellsague J, Riera-Guardia N, Calingaert B, et al. Individual NSAIDs and upper gastrointestinal complications: a systematic review and meta-analysis of observational studies (the SOS project). Drug Saf 2012 (PMID 23137151). — Meta-analysis, 28 studies (Tier A design; Tier C for flurbiprofen). Abstract reconstructed from OpenAlex (16 NSAIDs named with pooled RRs); full text not opened.Excluded cohort: flurbiprofen not named in the abstract; not used as evidence.
  19. Copper flurbiprofen complex: "Synthesis, characterization, and biological screening of a copper flurbiprofen complex with anti-inflammatory effects." J Inorg Biochem 1991 (DOI 10.1016/0162-0134(91)85008-5). — Synthetic inorganic chemistry (not a nutrient status study). Authors Oga S, Taniguchi SF, Najjar R, Souza AR (PMID 2019832). The OpenAlex abstract was null; in the repair pass the abstract was read through a PubMed listing page (summarizing fetch): the copper(II) flurbiprofen complex had anti-inflammatory and analgesic activity comparable to free flurbiprofen in rats with less gastric irritation. Full text not opened.Abstract-level only; synthetic complex, not nutrient evidence; supports no grade.
  20. Lima Memorial Health System health library, NSAID nutrient depletion page. — Consumer health content, Tier D. States NSAIDs may deplete iron and sodium (except diflunisal), sulindac B9 and diflunisal vitamin C; names flurbiprofen (Ansaid, Ocufen) among 23 NSAIDs; no citations. Read via summarizing fetch.Tier D, cited only to record a circulating claim; supports no grade.
  21. People's Pharmacy. Are your medicines depriving you of folate? Article dated 2024-06-11. — Consumer health content, Tier D. Lists NSAIDs (diclofenac, etodolac, ibuprofen, indomethacin, naproxen, oxaprozin, piroxicam, sulindac) as folic acid depleting; flurbiprofen not named. Read via summarizing fetch.Tier D, cited only to record a circulating claim; supports no grade.
  22. van Miert ASJPAM, van Duin CT, Verheijden JHM, Schotman AJH. Endotoxin-induced fever and associated haematological and blood biochemical changes in the goat: the effect of repeated administration and the influence of flurbiprofen. Res Vet Sci 1982;33(2):248-255 (PMID 6755596). — Animal study, dwarf goats (Tier B for flurbiprofen; flurbiprofen administered; plasma zinc and iron measured). Abstract read in full from a PubMed listing page (format=pubmed) through a summarizing fetch; group sizes not in the abstract; full text not opened. OpenAlex abstract was null for this record.Abstract-level only; direct PubMed record page returned HTTP 429, the listing page was used.
  23. Van Miert AS, Van Duin CT, Wensing T. Effects of flurbiprofen on recombinant human IL-1 alpha-induced fever and associated clinical, haematological and blood biochemical changes in the dwarf goat. Vet Q 1994 (PMID 8009810). — Animal study, dwarf goats (Tier B for flurbiprofen; zinc and iron measured). Abstract read from the OpenAlex single-record lookup (reconstructed) and from a PubMed listing page; group sizes not in the abstract; full text not opened.Abstract-level only.
  24. Van Miert AS, Van Duin CT, Wensing T. Fever and changes in plasma zinc and iron concentrations in the goat. The effects of interferon inducers and recombinant IFN-alpha 2a. J Comp Pathol 1990 (PMID 2258467). — Animal study, dwarf goats (Tier B context; flurbiprofen 1 mg/kg used as a fever blocker; the abstract does not state flurbiprofen's effect on zinc). Abstract read from a PubMed listing page; OpenAlex abstract was null.Abstract-level only; supports no zinc effect of flurbiprofen by itself.
  25. Verheijden JH, van Miert AS. Therapeutic aspects of coli mastitis in ruminants. Vet Med Nauki (Veterinarno-meditsinski nauki) 1985 (PMID 3909626). — Narrative review in ruminants (Tier C at most). Abstract reconstructed from the OpenAlex single-record lookup: lists hypocalcaemia, hypoferraemia, hypozincaemia and hypercupremia as acute-phase responses and states a beneficial effect of "fluboprofen" (sic) on experimental E. coli mastitis. No flurbiprofen effect on copper stated.Supports no grade; full text not opened.