Skip to main content

Ethinyl estradiol/norgestimate

Combined Oral Contraceptive

Also sold as Ortho Tri-Cyclen, Ortho Cyclen, Sprintec, Tri-Sprintec, Previfem, Tri-Previfem, Mononessa, Tri-Lo-Sprintec.

Findings for this medication

Research about this medication, graded for how strongly each finding can be attributed to it. Nothing here describes your own levels.

Ethinyl estradiol/norgestimate is extensively metabolized (CYP3A4 is the principal enzyme; norgestimate undergoes first-pass conversion to norelgestromin and norgestrel), eliminated by combined renal and fecal routes rather than excreted unchanged, and its estrogen component measurably induces hepatic synthesis of several binding proteins. That gives the drug real biochemical machinery capable of touching micronutrient handling, so a flat "no mechanism" verdict would be wrong. But the regulatory label itself names no food, mineral, or vitamin interaction, and it is not primarily a renal-wasting, absorption-blocking, or enzyme-inducing drug in the way, for example, an anticonvulsant is.

Endocrine – combined hormone (combined oral contraceptive) · ATC G03AA11 (also G03AB09, phasic) · also sold as Ortho Tri-Cyclen and Ortho Cyclen and Sprintec and Tri-Sprintec and Previfem and Tri-Previfem and Mononessa and Tri-Lo-Sprintec (generic norgestimate/ethinyl estradiol class) · reviewed 2026-09-23. This describes research about the medication. It does not say anything about your own levels or health.

How to read the evidence grades

These colours describe how strongly a finding can be attributed to the medication in the research. They are not a severity score and they say nothing about your own health.

Grades describe how strongly a finding can be attributed to Ethinyl estradiol/norgestimate in the research — not how common it is, how serious it would be, and not anything about you personally.

Red — Severe
severe: ≥2 independent Tier A sources, this drug in the cohort, the nutrient directly measured, consistent direction, clinically meaningful magnitude, a named plausible mechanism, no substantial contradicting Tier A evidence.
Orange — Moderate
moderate: ≥1 Tier A source with this drug in the cohort showing a real deficit, but bounded by exposure window, subgroup, frequency, or a functional (not circulating) marker.
Yellow — Low
low/theoretical: mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class-level extrapolation (Tier C) where at least one class member has real data but this exact drug does not. Also used for context flags and reverse-direction (retention/protective) findings.
Not graded — disclosed evidence gap
Nothing has been measured here, so this finding cannot be graded. That does not establish either safety or harm, and it is not the same as a White result.Source definition: evidence gap: no Tier B/C evidence to support even a yellow grade, and no circulating consumer claim exists to rebut as white. A disclosed absence, not a safety finding.

What the research found

Vitamin B6

Yellow — Low

See study details

Combined oral contraceptive users have repeatedly shown biochemical evidence of altered B6 status (abnormal tryptophan-load tests, lower plasma pyridoxal-5-phosphate), via a named mechanism; no source confirmed norgestimate specifically.

Full detail, limits and 6 references

What the grade means here: low/theoretical: mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class-level extrapolation (Tier C) where at least one class member has real data but this exact drug does not. Also used for context flags and reverse-direction (retention/protective) findings. Yellow

Limits on what this shows

  • Key negative/null findings: Reviews note that where B6 intake is adequate, biochemical changes are often subclinical and reversible with modest supplementation; the effect size is dose-related to estrogen content and higher-dose, older-generation pills (this literature's basis) carried larger effects than modern lower-dose formulations including this one.
  • At-risk subgroups: Women with marginal baseline B6 intake, or on higher-estrogen-dose regimens; not specifically established for this exact formulation.
  • Counter-evidence: Wilson et al. 2011 (PMID 21967158, Nutrition Reviews) and Palmery et al. 2013 (PMID 23852908) are narrative reviews that repeat this finding without drug-level stratification, i.e. they cannot independently confirm the effect for norgestimate.

Regulatory status

Not addressed in the SPRINTEC label; no B6 warning or monitoring guidance.

Population evidence

Multiple human studies from the 1970s in combined-pill users (Adams et al. 1976, PMID 56585, found tissue depletion of vitamin B in 18/22 women on estrogen-progestagen OCs by tryptophan load test; Leklem et al. 1975, PMID 1130311; Brown et al. 1975, PMID 1244084; Bosse & Donald 1979, PMID 433818/433819). None specify norgestimate; norgestimate/ethinyl estradiol was not approved until 1992, after most of this literature.

Mechanism

Named: estrogen metabolites (2-hydroxyestrone conjugates) competitively inhibit kynureninase, a pyridoxal-5-phosphate-dependent enzyme in the tryptophan-niacin pathway, producing an apparent B6 deficiency signature on functional testing even when dietary intake is adequate.

Counter-evidence held on record

This is class-level (Tier C) evidence from older, mostly higher-estrogen-dose pills. It should surface only as a monitoring prompt, never as a confirmed deficiency claim for this exact product.

  • Leklem JE et al. 1975. Vitamin B6 requirements of women using oral contraceptives. PMID 1130311.PubMed article page returned a reCAPTCHA challenge on direct fetch; detail limited to search-listing snippet. Formulation/cohort not confirmed as norgestimate; predates this formulation's approval.
  • Adams PW et al. 1976. Tissue depletion of vitamin B6 in women on combined estrogen-progestagen oral contraceptives. PMID 56585.Cohort formulation not specified; predates norgestimate/EE approval (1992).
  • Bossé TR, Donald EA. 1979. Vitamin B6 status of women on oral contraceptives (two-part study). PMID 433818 / 433819.Cohort formulation not specified.
  • Brown RR et al. 1975. B6 depletion/repletion protocol in OC users vs. controls. PMID 1244084.Cohort formulation not specified.
  • Wilson SM et al. 2011. Oral contraceptive use: impact on folate, vitamin B6, and vitamin B12 status. Nutrition Reviews. PMID 21967158.Narrative review, not drug-level stratified (Tier C).
  • Palmery M, Saraceno A, Vaiarelli A, Carlomagno G. 2013. Oral contraceptives and changes in nutritional requirements. PMID 23852908.Narrative review, not drug-level stratified (Tier C).

Folate

Yellow — Low

See study details

Some combined-pill studies show lower serum folate; direction is described as "controversial" even within the cited literature, and no source confirmed norgestimate.

Full detail, limits and 3 references

What the grade means here: low/theoretical: mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class-level extrapolation (Tier C) where at least one class member has real data but this exact drug does not. Also used for context flags and reverse-direction (retention/protective) findings. Yellow

Limits on what this shows

  • Key negative/null findings: Sütterlin et al. explicitly frame the folate/B12 relationship as controversial in the literature, i.e. this source itself records conflicting prior results rather than a clean deficit.
  • At-risk subgroups: Women planning pregnancy shortly after discontinuation, where preconception folate repletion is independently recommended regardless of OC history.
  • Counter-evidence: No formulation in the studies identified was confirmed to be norgestimate/ethinyl estradiol; dose (20 mcg vs. this product's 25–35 mcg EE) differs from the studied formulations, limiting direct transfer.

Regulatory status

Not addressed in the SPRINTEC label.

Population evidence

Sütterlin et al. 2003 (PMID 12593896), a case-control study of women using 20 mcg ethinyl estradiol-containing OCs (a lower dose than norgestimate combinations, which are typically 25–35 mcg EE), describes folate/B12 effects as controversial. Steegers-Theunissen et al. 1993 (PMID 8300008) examined "sub-50" (i.e. <50 mcg EE) OCs and folate kinetics. Shikh et al. 2021 (PMID 34538035, Russian-language review) states combined OCs reduce B6/B12/B9 supply.

Mechanism

Proposed but not firmly established: altered folate absorption/catabolism under estrogen exposure; mechanism is weaker and less consistently replicated than the B6/kynureninase pathway.

Counter-evidence held on record

Conflicting/controversial by the cited authors' own description. Should not be presented to consumers as a settled deficiency risk; frame only as "some evidence, mixed direction."

  • Sütterlin MW et al. 2003. Serum folate and vitamin B12 levels in women using modern oral contraceptives containing 20 mcg ethinyl estradiol. PMID 12593896.20 mcg EE dose differs from this product's 25-35 mcg EE; progestin not confirmed as norgestimate.
  • Steegers-Theunissen RP et al. 1993. Sub-50 oral contraceptives affect folate kinetics. PMID 8300008.Cohort formulation not specified.
  • Shikh EV et al. 2021. Combined oral contraceptives and B-vitamin supply (review). PMID 34538035.Narrative review, not drug-level stratified.

Vitamin B12

Yellow — Low

See study details

Some combined-pill studies show modestly lower serum B12; functional markers (methylmalonic acid, homocysteine) were not confirmed as moved in the sources located.

Full detail, limits and 4 references

What the grade means here: low/theoretical: mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class-level extrapolation (Tier C) where at least one class member has real data but this exact drug does not. Also used for context flags and reverse-direction (retention/protective) findings. Yellow

Limits on what this shows

  • Key negative/null findings: Several reviews note that lower total serum B12 on OCs often reflects altered B12-binding-protein levels rather than true deficiency, and that functional markers commonly remain normal — this is flagged per Hard Rule 3 as a caution against over-reading a circulating-level change.
  • At-risk subgroups: Not specifically established for this formulation.
  • Counter-evidence: No source located confirmed a validated functional B12 marker (MMA, holotranscobalamin) actually moving in norgestimate or comparable-dose OC users; this keeps the entry at yellow rather than promoting it, per the unfalsifiability rule (Hard Rule 3).

Regulatory status

Not addressed in the label.

Population evidence

Sütterlin et al. 2003 (PMID 12593896); Wilson et al. 2011 review (PMID 21967158); Shikh et al. 2021 (PMID 34538035). Shojania 1982 (PMID 7037144, Can Med Assoc J) reviewed folate/B12 metabolism changes on OCs.

Mechanism

Not firmly established for B12 specifically; proposed effects on binding-protein (transcobalamin) levels rather than true tissue depletion in most reviews.

Counter-evidence held on record

Likely reflects a binding-protein artifact in part, not confirmed tissue-level depletion. Do not present as equivalent to functional B12 deficiency.

  • Wilson SM et al. 2011. Oral contraceptive use: impact on folate, vitamin B6, and vitamin B12 status. Nutrition Reviews. PMID 21967158.Narrative review, not drug-level stratified (Tier C).
  • Sütterlin MW et al. 2003. Serum folate and vitamin B12 levels in women using modern oral contraceptives containing 20 mcg ethinyl estradiol. PMID 12593896.20 mcg EE dose differs from this product's 25-35 mcg EE; progestin not confirmed as norgestimate.
  • Shikh EV et al. 2021. Combined oral contraceptives and B-vitamin supply (review). PMID 34538035.Narrative review, not drug-level stratified.
  • Shojania AM. 1982. Folate and vitamin B12 metabolism review in oral contraceptive users. PMID 7037144.Narrative review, not drug-level stratified.

Vitamin D

Yellow — Low

See study details

Multiple studies find higher, not lower, total serum 25-hydroxyvitamin D in combined-pill users, most plausibly reflecting estrogen-induced vitamin-D-binding protein rather than true vitamin D repletion.

Full detail, limits and 5 references

What the grade means here: low/theoretical: mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class-level extrapolation (Tier C) where at least one class member has real data but this exact drug does not. Also used for context flags and reverse-direction (retention/protective) findings. Yellow

Limits on what this shows

  • Key negative/null findings: None of the sources located reported a free-25(OH)D or functional calcium/PTH marker to test whether the rise reflects true repletion versus a DBP artifact; this is flagged as an unfalsifiability caution per Hard Rule 3 rather than resolved.
  • At-risk subgroups: None for deficiency by this mechanism; clinicians should not assume a "normal" or "high" total 25(OH)D on this drug rules out functional vitamin D insufficiency in a patient with other risk factors.
  • Counter-evidence: This is the opposite direction from a commonly circulated consumer claim that OCs "deplete" vitamin D; see Fails Verification.

Regulatory status

Not addressed in the label.

Population evidence

Harris & Dawson-Hughes 1998 (PMID 9627916) and García-Bailo et al. 2013 (PMID 23659482) both found hormonal contraceptive use associated with elevated 25(OH)D. Harmon et al. 2016 (PMID 27490916) found estrogen-containing contraception associated with higher levels. Stanczyk et al. 2021 (PMID 33757895) and Donangelo et al. 2024 (PMID 38417038) are more recent sources reporting the same direction. All are class-level; formulation not confirmed as norgestimate in any.

Mechanism

Proposed: estrogen increases hepatic synthesis of vitamin-D-binding protein (DBP), raising total 25(OH)D measured by standard immunoassay without necessarily raising free/bioavailable vitamin D proportionally.

Counter-evidence held on record

Do not interpret a higher 25(OH)D result on this drug as confirmed vitamin D sufficiency; the binding-protein mechanism means total 25(OH)D may not track free vitamin D. Not a basis for reducing vitamin D intake.

  • Harris SS, Dawson-Hughes B. 1998. Oral contraceptive use and 25-hydroxyvitamin D levels. PMID 9627916.Formulation not specified.
  • García-Bailo B et al. 2013. Hormonal contraceptive use associated with elevated 25(OH)D. PMID 23659482.Formulation not specified.
  • Harmon QE et al. 2016. Estrogen-containing contraception and 25(OH)D. PMID 27490916.Formulation not specified.
  • Stanczyk FZ et al. 2021. Combined oral contraceptives and vitamin D. PMID 33757895.Formulation not specified.
  • Donangelo CM et al. 2024. Combined oral contraceptives and vitamin D status. PMID 38417038.Formulation not specified.

Vitamin C

Yellow — Low

See study details

Combined-pill use is associated with lower circulating vitamin C in some human studies, with supplementation shown to mitigate a related oxidative-stress marker in one trial.

Full detail, limits and 2 references

What the grade means here: low/theoretical: mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class-level extrapolation (Tier C) where at least one class member has real data but this exact drug does not. Also used for context flags and reverse-direction (retention/protective) findings. Yellow

Limits on what this shows

  • Key negative/null findings: None located specific to this formulation.
  • At-risk subgroups: Not established for this specific drug; smokers (who have independently lower vitamin C turnover) are a plausible compounding subgroup by general nutrition science, not confirmed here for this drug.
  • Counter-evidence: Palmery et al. is a narrative review without drug-level stratification (Tier C by definition); no norgestimate-specific study located.

Regulatory status

Not addressed in the label.

Population evidence

Zal et al. 2012 (PMID 22494786) studied vitamin E and C supplementation effects on lipid peroxidation in low-dose OC users, implying a baseline antioxidant deficit large enough to be modifiable. Palmery et al. 2013 (PMID 23852908) lists vitamin C among the "key nutrient depletions" associated with OC use in its narrative review.

Mechanism

Proposed: increased oxidative turnover/utilization of ascorbate as an antioxidant under estrogen-driven oxidative stress (see Oxidative stress entry); not a described absorption or renal-wasting mechanism.

Counter-evidence held on record

Class-level, review-sourced. Should not be presented as a settled, drug-specific finding.

  • Palmery M, Saraceno A, Vaiarelli A, Carlomagno G. 2013. Oral contraceptives and changes in nutritional requirements. PMID 23852908.Narrative review, not drug-level stratified (Tier C).
  • Zal F, Mostafavi-Pour Z, Amini F, Heidari A. 2012. Vitamin E and C supplementation effects on lipid peroxidation in oral contraceptive users. PMID 22494786.Cohort described as "low-dose contraceptives"; norgestimate not confirmed. Full abstract could not be retrieved (repeated HTTP 429 on Europe PMC and PubMed).

Magnesium

Yellow — Low

See study details

Older mineral-panel studies of combined-pill users report altered serum magnesium, with direction and magnitude inconsistent across studies.

Full detail, limits and 3 references

What the grade means here: low/theoretical: mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class-level extrapolation (Tier C) where at least one class member has real data but this exact drug does not. Also used for context flags and reverse-direction (retention/protective) findings. Yellow

Limits on what this shows

  • Key negative/null findings: Direction is not consistent across these three sources at the level of detail retrievable; this is recorded honestly rather than resolved into a single direction.
  • At-risk subgroups: Not established.
  • Counter-evidence: All three mineral-panel sources are from 1972–2011, none confirmed as norgestimate/ethinyl estradiol; Prasad and Hähn predate this formulation.

Regulatory status

Not addressed in the label.

Population evidence

Hähn, Paschen & Haller 1972 (PMID 4678746) measured serum copper, iron, magnesium, calcium, and zinc across the menstrual cycle, under oral hormonal contraceptives, and in pregnancy. Prasad et al. 1975 (PMID 1119434), "Effect of oral contraceptive agents on nutrients: I. Minerals," examined mineral status in OC users. Akinloye et al. 2011 (PMID 22224344) examined serum trace elements, calcium, and phosphorus in contraceptive users.

Mechanism

Not clearly established; proposed hormonal effects on renal tubular handling or intracellular redistribution, not confirmed as a specific named pathway in the sources located.

Counter-evidence held on record

Weak, inconsistent-direction, class-level evidence. Should not anchor a confident magnesium-depletion claim for this product.

  • Hähn N, Paschen K, Haller J. 1972. Serum levels of copper, iron, magnesium, calcium and zinc in women with normal menstrual cycles, under oral hormonal contraceptives, and in pregnancy. PMID 4678746.Predates norgestimate/EE approval; formulation not specified.
  • Prasad AS et al. 1975. Effect of oral contraceptive agents on nutrients: I. Minerals. PMID 1119434.Predates norgestimate/EE approval.
  • Akinloye O et al. 2011. Effects of contraceptives on serum trace elements, calcium and phosphorus levels. PMID 22224344.Formulation not specified.

Zinc

Yellow — Low

See study details

Older mineral studies of combined-pill users, and one hair-mineral-analysis study, report lower zinc indices; no norgestimate-specific confirmation.

Full detail, limits and 2 references

What the grade means here: low/theoretical: mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class-level extrapolation (Tier C) where at least one class member has real data but this exact drug does not. Also used for context flags and reverse-direction (retention/protective) findings. Yellow

Limits on what this shows

  • Key negative/null findings: None located that specifically contradict the direction, but hair-mineral analysis (Deeming & Weber) is a lower-reliability biomarker than serum measurement and is noted as such.
  • At-risk subgroups: Not established.
  • Counter-evidence: No norgestimate-specific confirmation; hair analysis is a methodologically weaker marker than serum zinc.

Regulatory status

Not addressed in the label.

Population evidence

Prasad et al. 1975 (PMID 1119434) is the primary source for a zinc effect in this literature. Deeming & Weber 1978 (PMID 665569) used hair mineral analysis to examine effects of age, sex, and contraceptive drugs on trace mineral content.

Mechanism

Proposed redistribution or altered binding-protein handling under estrogen exposure, analogous to the better-established copper mechanism, but not independently confirmed for zinc in these sources.

Counter-evidence held on record

Older, methodologically mixed evidence (including a lower-reliability hair-analysis source). Present as a weak monitoring prompt only.

  • Prasad AS et al. 1975. Effect of oral contraceptive agents on nutrients: I. Minerals. PMID 1119434.Predates norgestimate/EE approval.
  • Deeming SB, Weber CW. 1978. Hair analysis of trace minerals as influenced by age, sex, and contraceptive drugs. PMID 665569.Hair-analysis biomarker (lower reliability than serum); formulation not specified; predates norgestimate/EE approval.

Riboflavin

Yellow — Low

See study details

Narrative reviews list riboflavin among the B-vitamins affected by combined oral contraceptive use, but no drug-specific primary study was located.

Full detail, limits and 1 references

What the grade means here: low/theoretical: mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class-level extrapolation (Tier C) where at least one class member has real data but this exact drug does not. Also used for context flags and reverse-direction (retention/protective) findings. Yellow

Limits on what this shows

  • Key negative/null findings: None located; this is the weakest-evidenced classical nutrient entry in this dossier.
  • At-risk subgroups: Not established.
  • Counter-evidence: This entry rests entirely on a Tier C narrative review without independent primary-study confirmation; it is retained at yellow (per the yellow/white boundary rule, since a real class-level source exists) rather than demoted to white, but is flagged as the thinnest entry in this dossier.

Regulatory status

Not addressed in the label.

Population evidence

Palmery et al. 2013 (PMID 23852908) names vitamin B2 among the "key nutrient depletions" associated with OC use in its narrative review. No independently located primary study measuring riboflavin status in OC users was found in this review's searches.

Mechanism

Not independently established in the sources located; presumed analogous to other B-vitamin mechanisms (increased catabolism/utilization) by the citing review, not demonstrated directly.

Counter-evidence held on record

Single-review-sourced. Should carry the lowest confidence label available on the consumer surface.

  • Palmery M, Saraceno A, Vaiarelli A, Carlomagno G. 2013. Oral contraceptives and changes in nutritional requirements. PMID 23852908.Narrative review, not drug-level stratified (Tier C).

No ungraded entries this review

Not graded — disclosed evidence gap

See study details

Every nutrient and category actually searched in this review produced either yellow-grade evidence or a white-tier rebuttal; none met the dual UNGRADED test (no Tier B/C evidence and no circulating claim).

Full detail and limits

What the grade means here: Nothing has been measured here, so this finding cannot be graded. That does not establish either safety or harm, and it is not the same as a White result. None

Limits on what this shows

  • Why no grade: This is not a claim that every conceivable nutrient was searched. Nutrients outside the classical set implicated by the mechanism screen and the seven mandatory categories (for example selenium, chromium, biotin, vitamin A, vitamin K) were not independently re-searched in this review beyond what surfaced incidentally in the queries run, given repeated tooling rate-limits (see access note below and Sources). Rather than force those into an UNGRADED label without a genuine multi-phrasing search, per Step 4's thoroughness requirement, they are simply not included as entries in this pass.

The five body-system areas

Each finding is counted once, in a single area. Where a study is mentioned in a second area it is context only.

Mitochondrial Burden

Each finding below is counted once, in this area only.

Mitochondrial burden

Yellow — Low

See study details

An ethinyl-estradiol-specific animal study found increased hepatic mitochondrial superoxide production; a human study of combined-pill users found altered liver mitochondrial activity.

Full detail, limits and 2 references

What the grade means here: low/theoretical: mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class-level extrapolation (Tier C) where at least one class member has real data but this exact drug does not. Also used for context flags and reverse-direction (retention/protective) findings. Yellow

Limits on what this shows

  • Key negative/null findings: None located; this is a thin literature and the human study's magnitude could not be independently confirmed due to a tooling block (HTTP 429 on repeated attempts).
  • At-risk subgroups: Not established in humans for this drug.
  • Counter-evidence: The animal study used ethinyl estradiol alone (the shared estrogen component), not the norgestimate/ethinyl estradiol combination, and used doses/routes not necessarily comparable to oral contraceptive dosing in humans; this is disclosed rather than smoothed over. See Overlap map: this entry shares its primary mechanistic source with the Oxidative stress entry below.

Regulatory status

Not addressed in the label.

Population evidence

Chen, Li, Lavigne, Trush & Yager 1999 (PMID 10543024): rat liver mitochondria, hepatocytes, and HepG2 cells treated with ethinyl estradiol specifically (the estrogen component of this exact drug) showed increased mitochondrial superoxide production, studied in the context of EE as a hepatocarcinogen promoter. Jonderko et al. 2013 (PMID 23937278): a human study reporting that combined oral contraceptives affect liver mitochondrial activity (formulation not confirmed as norgestimate; full quantitative detail could not be retrieved, see access note).

Mechanism

Named for the animal data: ethinyl estradiol increases mitochondrial superoxide production in hepatocytes, a direct redox/electron-transport-chain effect of the estrogen component present in this drug.

Counter-evidence held on record

Animal, hepatocyte-specific data using the estrogen component alone; not shown in humans on this exact combination. Should surface, if at all, as a low-confidence research note, not a consumer-facing mitochondrial-harm claim.

  • Chen J, Li Y, Lavigne JA, Trush MA, Yager JD. 1999. Increased mitochondrial superoxide production in rat liver mitochondria following ethinyl estradiol treatment. PMID 10543024.Animal (rat) study using ethinyl estradiol alone, not the norgestimate combination; treated as component-level mechanistic (Tier B) evidence, not combination-specific.
  • Jonderko K et al. 2013. Combined oral contraceptives affect liver mitochondrial activity. PMID 23937278.Human study; cohort formulation not confirmed as norgestimate. Full abstract/sample size could not be retrieved (HTTP 429 on repeated attempts).

Oxidative Stress

Each finding below is counted once, in this area only.

Oxidative stress

Yellow — Low

See study details

Combined-pill users show altered pro-/antioxidant markers and increased lipid peroxidation in several human studies, mitigated by vitamin E/C supplementation in one trial; an ethinyl-estradiol-specific animal study supports a redox mechanism.

Full detail, limits and 3 references

What the grade means here: low/theoretical: mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class-level extrapolation (Tier C) where at least one class member has real data but this exact drug does not. Also used for context flags and reverse-direction (retention/protective) findings. Yellow

Limits on what this shows

  • Key negative/null findings: None of the human studies located were placebo-controlled non-use comparisons in norgestimate users specifically; several used other formulations or did not report progestin type.
  • At-risk subgroups: Not established for this specific drug; athletes and smokers are the subgroups most studied in the OC-oxidative-stress literature generally.
  • Counter-evidence: No source confirmed norgestimate specifically. See Overlap map: shares its mechanistic anchor with the Mitochondrial burden entry (Chen et al. 1999).

Regulatory status

Not addressed in the label.

Population evidence

Zal et al. 2012 (PMID 22494786): human study finding low-dose oral contraceptives enhanced lipid peroxidation, with vitamin E and C supplementation mitigating the effect. Kowalska & Milnerowicz 2016 (PMID 26921793): pro-/antioxidant status altered in young healthy women using OCs. Chen et al. 1999 (PMID 10543024): ethinyl-estradiol-specific rat liver mitochondrial superoxide increase (see Mitochondrial burden entry). Quinn et al. 2021/2022 (PMID 34106325, 35674828) studied blood oxidative stress biomarkers across the menstrual cycle in contraceptive users, with N-acetylcysteine supplementation studied as a mediator.

Mechanism

Estrogen-driven increase in reactive oxygen species generation (supported at the mechanistic level by the ethinyl-estradiol-specific animal data), plausibly compounded by the lower circulating antioxidant nutrient levels (vitamin C, alpha-tocopherol, CoQ10) noted elsewhere in this dossier.

Counter-evidence held on record

Modest, class-level, mixed-quality evidence. Should not be presented as a confirmed "oxidative damage" claim for this specific product.

  • Zal F, Mostafavi-Pour Z, Amini F, Heidari A. 2012. Vitamin E and C supplementation effects on lipid peroxidation in oral contraceptive users. PMID 22494786.Cohort described as "low-dose contraceptives"; norgestimate not confirmed. Full abstract could not be retrieved (repeated HTTP 429 on Europe PMC and PubMed).
  • Kowalska K, Milnerowicz H. 2016. Pro/antioxidant status in young healthy women using oral contraceptives. PMID 26921793.Cohort formulation not specified.
  • Chen J, Li Y, Lavigne JA, Trush MA, Yager JD. 1999. Increased mitochondrial superoxide production in rat liver mitochondria following ethinyl estradiol treatment. PMID 10543024.Animal (rat) study using ethinyl estradiol alone, not the norgestimate combination; treated as component-level mechanistic (Tier B) evidence, not combination-specific.

Copper and Iron Balance

Copper and iron are assessed separately. Nothing here is counted twice.

Copper

Yellow — Low

See study details

Serum copper and ceruloplasmin rise on estrogen-containing oral contraceptives, a reproducible finding across six decades of literature; this is an excess/retention signal, and supplementation would be the hazard, not the remedy.

Full detail, limits and 5 references

What the grade means here: low/theoretical: mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class-level extrapolation (Tier C) where at least one class member has real data but this exact drug does not. Also used for context flags and reverse-direction (retention/protective) findings. Yellow

Limits on what this shows

  • Key negative/null findings: None located contradicting the direction; the finding is unusually consistent across decades, doses, and progestins, which is itself evidence the mechanism is estrogen-driven rather than progestin-specific.
  • At-risk subgroups: Patients with unexplained elevated serum copper/ceruloplasmin being worked up for Wilson disease or hepatic disease should have OC use recorded, since it is a benign confounder for this specific lab pattern.
  • Counter-evidence: No formulation-specific (norgestimate) study located; every source is class-level (Tier C) for this exact drug despite the mechanism plausibly applying to any ethinyl-estradiol-containing pill, including this one.

Regulatory status

Not addressed directly in the SPRINTEC label, but the label's own note that estrogen induces hepatic synthesis of several binding globulins (SHBG, CBG, TBG) is mechanistically consistent with induced ceruloplasmin (a copper-binding, copper-transport protein) synthesis.

Population evidence

Carruthers et al. 1966 (PMID 5919365, n=25) found a marked increase in serum copper and ceruloplasmin in OC users. Schenker et al. 1972 (PMID 4362283) and Horwitt et al. 1975 (PMID 1119436) replicated the correlation. Kamyab et al. 1980 (PMID 7391523, n=104 Iranian women, 3–108 months of combined-OC use) found duration-related variation. Garmizo & Frauens 2008 (PMID 18772711) is a case report of abnormally elevated serum copper and ceruloplasmin that normalized after stopping an estrogen-based OC.

Mechanism

Named: estrogen-driven induction of hepatic ceruloplasmin synthesis, the same class of hepatic protein-synthesis effect documented on the label for SHBG/CBG/TBG.

Counter-evidence held on record

This is a retention/excess-risk finding, not depletion. Copper supplementation should not be recommended on the basis of this drug, and this pattern should not itself trigger a Wilson disease workup without independent supporting findings.

  • Horwitt MK et al. 1975. Effect of oral contraceptive agents on nutrients (companion paper). PMID 1119436.Predates norgestimate/EE approval.
  • Carruthers ME et al. 1966. Increase in serum copper and caeruloplasmin levels in women taking oral contraceptives. PMID 5919365.Predates norgestimate/EE approval by decades.
  • Schenker JG et al. 1972. Oral contraceptives and correlation between serum copper and ceruloplasmin levels. PMID 4362283.Predates norgestimate/EE approval.
  • Kamyab S et al. 1980. Serum copper and ceruloplasmin activity by duration of combined oral contraceptive use in 104 Iranian women. PMID 7391523.Predates norgestimate/EE approval; formulation not specified.
  • Garmizo G, Frauens BJ. 2008. Case report: elevated serum copper and ceruloplasmin, resolved after discontinuing an estrogen-based oral contraceptive. PMID 18772711.Case report (Tier B); specific formulation not confirmed as norgestimate.

Iron

Yellow — Low

See study details

Combined-pill users tend to show higher serum ferritin/iron stores because menstrual blood loss is reduced, not because the drug depletes iron.

Full detail, limits and 4 references

What the grade means here: low/theoretical: mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class-level extrapolation (Tier C) where at least one class member has real data but this exact drug does not. Also used for context flags and reverse-direction (retention/protective) findings. Yellow

Limits on what this shows

  • Key negative/null findings: Frassinelli-Gunderson et al. found no major ferritin difference between users and non-users, a genuine null result recorded here per Step 5.
  • At-risk subgroups: None identified for depletion; if unexplained anemia develops on this drug, evidence favors investigating causes other than the pill first (Hard Rule 6, confounding by indication).
  • Counter-evidence: No formulation-specific (norgestimate) study located; the largest study (Milman 1992) is Danish, 1992, formulation unspecified.

Regulatory status

Not addressed in the label; reduced menstrual blood loss is a well-known secondary effect of combined OCs generally.

Population evidence

Milman, Kirchhoff & Jørgensen 1992 (PMID 1511065, n=1,359 Danish women) found OC users had higher serum ferritin and a lower frequency of iron deficiency. Larsson et al. 1992 (PMID 1486771) linked low-dose combined OC use to reduced menstrual blood loss and altered iron status. Frassinelli-Gunderson et al. 1985 (PMID 3984924, 46 users vs. 71 non-users) found no major difference in most iron-status parameters, with lower RBC count/hematocrit but hemoglobin not significantly affected. Gokkaya et al. 2025 (PMID 39738891) found paradoxically increased ferritin in PCOS patients on ethinyl estradiol/drospirenone (a different progestin) despite possible iron deficiency.

Mechanism

Indirect: combined OCs reduce endometrial proliferation and menstrual blood loss, sparing iron rather than affecting iron absorption, transport, or utilization directly. This is closer to a secondary consequence of the drug's intended pharmacologic effect than a direct nutrient-drug interaction (Hard Rule 2 caution applied: the underlying outcome, reduced menstrual bleeding, is not itself filed as a nutrient finding, only the measured ferritin/iron-status change is).

Counter-evidence held on record

This is a protective/retention direction. It is not license to add iron supplementation, and the common consumer claim that this drug class causes iron-deficiency anemia is contradicted by the direction of the evidence (see Fails Verification).

  • Milman N, Kirchhoff M, Jørgensen T. 1992. Serum ferritin and iron status in 1,359 Danish women, oral contraceptive users vs. non-users. PMID 1511065.Formulation not specified.
  • Larsson G, Milsom I, Lindstedt G, Rybo G. 1992. Low-dose combined oral contraceptives, menstrual blood loss, and iron status. PMID 1486771.Formulation not confirmed as norgestimate.
  • Frassinelli-Gunderson EP, Margen S, Brown JR. 1985. Iron status parameters in oral contraceptive users (n=46) vs. non-users (n=71). PMID 3984924.Formulation not specified.
  • Gokkaya N, Gecmez G, Ozcelik S, Biyikli M, Aydin K. 2025. Ferritin changes with ethinyl estradiol/drospirenone in PCOS. PMID 39738891.Different progestin (drospirenone), not norgestimate.

Gut Microbiome Risk

Each finding below is counted once, in this area only.

Gut microbiome risk

Yellow — Low

See study details

A longitudinal human study and an animal study both report combined-pill-associated shifts in gut microbiota composition; direction and clinical significance are not yet established.

Full detail, limits and 5 references

What the grade means here: low/theoretical: mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class-level extrapolation (Tier C) where at least one class member has real data but this exact drug does not. Also used for context flags and reverse-direction (retention/protective) findings. Yellow

Limits on what this shows

  • Key negative/null findings: Krog et al. 2022 (PMID 35553675) found menstrual cycle phase, not hormonal contraceptive use itself, was the stronger driver of microbiome changes across multiple body sites in their cohort — a genuine competing-explanation finding recorded here per Step 5.
  • At-risk subgroups: PCOS patients are the most-studied subgroup, but PCOS itself is independently associated with microbiome alterations, so confounding by indication (Hard Rule 6) applies and is not excluded by the sources located.
  • Counter-evidence: No formulation-specific (norgestimate) confirmation; the Krog et al. null/competing finding above.

Regulatory status

Not addressed in the label.

Population evidence

Hua et al. 2022 (PMID 35452382), described in search results as the first longitudinal human study of OC effects on gut microbiota. Clapp Organski et al. 2025 (PMID 40871620) found time- and intestinal-segment-dependent shifts in microbiota composition with estrogen and/or progesterone-containing contraceptives (appears to be an animal model based on "intestinal segment" sampling). Eyupoglu et al. 2020 (PMID 32860695) found altered gut microbiota, including increased Ruminococcaceae, in PCOS patients on OC therapy. Wydra et al. 2024 (PMID 39408349) is a systematic review of OC-microbiota effects in PCOS.

Mechanism

Proposed: estrogen exposure alters the "estrobolome" (gut bacterial species capable of deconjugating estrogens via beta-glucuronidase), creating a bidirectional interaction between the drug and microbiome composition; named at the class level but not confirmed mechanistically for this exact formulation.

Counter-evidence held on record

An emerging, genuinely mixed research area. Should not be presented as an established microbiome-harm claim for this product.

  • Hua X et al. 2022. Longitudinal effects of oral contraceptives on gut microbiota. PMID 35452382.Formulation not specified.
  • Clapp Organski M et al. 2025. Time- and intestinal-segment-dependent shifts in gut microbiota with estrogen/progesterone contraceptives. PMID 40871620.Appears to be an animal model; formulation/species detail not independently confirmed beyond search-listing snippet.
  • Eyupoglu ND et al. 2020. Altered gut microbiota (increased Ruminococcaceae) in PCOS patients on oral contraceptive therapy. PMID 32860695.PCOS cohort; confounding by indication not excluded. Formulation not specified.
  • Wydra K et al. 2024. Systematic review, oral contraceptives and gut microbiota in PCOS. PMID 39408349.Narrative/systematic review, not independently drug-level stratified for norgestimate.
  • Krog MC et al. 2022. Menstrual cycle phase, not hormonal contraceptive use, associated with multi-site microbiome changes. PMID 35553675.Null/competing-explanation finding for the gut microbiome entry, recorded per Step 5.

Oxygen and ATP Output

Oxygen delivery and ATP production are assessed separately. Nothing here is counted twice.

ATP production

Yellow — Low

See study details

One human study found combined-pill use significantly lowered serum coenzyme Q10 and alpha-tocopherol; an animal study found altered cardiac/vascular Na-K-ATPase activity with OC exposure.

Full detail, limits and 3 references

What the grade means here: low/theoretical: mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class-level extrapolation (Tier C) where at least one class member has real data but this exact drug does not. Also used for context flags and reverse-direction (retention/protective) findings. Yellow

Limits on what this shows

  • Key negative/null findings: None located specifically contradicting the CoQ10 finding; the Na-K-ATPase evidence is animal-only and formulation-unconfirmed.
  • At-risk subgroups: Patients also on statins (which independently lower CoQ10 synthesis) may have compounded exposure; not established as clinically significant for this drug alone.
  • Counter-evidence: No formulation-specific (norgestimate) confirmation; CoQ10 is not a classical vitamin/mineral and circulating levels are an imperfect proxy for tissue ATP-production capacity (flagged per Hard Rule 3).

Regulatory status

Not addressed in the label.

Population evidence

Palan, Magneson, Castillo, Dunne & Mikhail 2006 (PMID 16647895): human study reporting oral contraceptive use significantly decreased coenzyme Q10 and alpha-tocopherol (p<.001); full sample size and quantitative magnitude could not be retrieved due to a tooling block (HTTP 429), disclosed here rather than assumed. Palan et al. 2010 (PMID 20814444) compared EE bioavailability and related markers across oral, patch, and vaginal-ring delivery, finding oral contraceptives associated with lower EE bioavailability than the patch. Olatunji & Soladoye 2006 (PMID 17205706): rat model finding OC exposure altered cardiac and vascular Na+-K+-ATPase activity, with dietary calcium as an effect modifier.

Mechanism

Coenzyme Q10 is an obligate cofactor in mitochondrial electron transport chain complexes I-III and ATP synthesis; a significant reduction in circulating CoQ10 is mechanistically relevant to cellular ATP output, though circulating CoQ10 does not directly equal tissue CoQ10 status.

Counter-evidence held on record

Should surface only as a low-confidence monitoring prompt (e.g. for patients reporting fatigue), never as a confirmed "energy depletion" claim, and never paired with an unreviewed CoQ10 dose recommendation.

  • Palan PR, Magneson AT, Castillo M, Dunne J, Mikhail MS. 2006. Oral contraceptive use significantly decreased coenzyme Q10 and alpha-tocopherol (p<.001). PMID 16647895.Formulation not specified; full abstract (sample size, quantitative magnitude) could not be retrieved due to repeated HTTP 429 responses.
  • Palan PR, Strube F, Letko J, Sadikovic A, Mikhail MS. 2010. Comparison of ethinyl estradiol bioavailability and CoQ10-related markers across oral, patch, and vaginal-ring contraceptive delivery. PMID 20814444.Formulation not specified as norgestimate specifically.
  • Olatunji LA, Soladoye AO. 2006. Oral contraceptive effects on cardiac and vascular Na+-K+-ATPase activity in rats; dietary calcium as effect modifier. PMID 17205706.Animal (rat) model; formulation not specified.

Oxygen delivery / utilization

Yellow — Low

See study details

Hematocrit is modestly lower in some combined-pill users while hemoglobin is unaffected; ferritin tends to rise; net effect on oxygen-carrying capacity is not established as a deficit.

Full detail, limits and 3 references

What the grade means here: low/theoretical: mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class-level extrapolation (Tier C) where at least one class member has real data but this exact drug does not. Also used for context flags and reverse-direction (retention/protective) findings. Yellow

Limits on what this shows

  • Key negative/null findings: Frassinelli-Gunderson et al.'s own finding that hemoglobin was unaffected is the key null result here, recorded per Step 5 rather than omitted.
  • At-risk subgroups: Smokers (Kimelski 1986) show a different, confounded pattern (increased erythrocyte mass) not generalizable to non-smokers.
  • Counter-evidence: No formulation-specific (norgestimate) confirmation. Per Hard Rule 2, this entry does not file the drug's intended reduction in menstrual blood loss itself as a nutrient/oxygen-delivery deficiency; only the directly measured hematologic parameters are graded.

Regulatory status

Not addressed in the label.

Population evidence

Frassinelli-Gunderson et al. 1985 (PMID 3984924, 46 users vs. 71 non-users) found significantly lower RBC count and hematocrit in OC users, but hemoglobin was not significantly affected. Milman et al. 1992 (PMID 1511065, n=1,359) found higher ferritin (opposite direction on the iron-store side; see Iron entry, overlap disclosed below). Kimelski 1986 (PMID 3521099) found increased circulatory erythrocyte mass specifically in smoking OC users, an effect confounded by smoking itself.

Mechanism

Not clearly established as a direct drug-oxygen-delivery mechanism; plausibly reflects plasma volume changes rather than a true reduction in oxygen-carrying capacity, since hemoglobin (the direct oxygen-carrying measure) was not significantly affected in the largest relevant source.

Counter-evidence held on record

Net signal is weak and, if anything, reassuring (stable hemoglobin, often higher ferritin). Should not be presented as an oxygen-delivery deficit.

  • Milman N, Kirchhoff M, Jørgensen T. 1992. Serum ferritin and iron status in 1,359 Danish women, oral contraceptive users vs. non-users. PMID 1511065.Formulation not specified.
  • Frassinelli-Gunderson EP, Margen S, Brown JR. 1985. Iron status parameters in oral contraceptive users (n=46) vs. non-users (n=71). PMID 3984924.Formulation not specified.
  • Kimelski R. 1986. Increased circulatory erythrocyte mass in smoking oral contraceptive users. PMID 3521099.Confounded by smoking; formulation not specified.

Claims checked and not supported

These circulate online for this medication. They are listed here only so they can be answered, never as findings, and they are not graded.

A claim with no supporting evidence is not necessarily disproven. Where evidence actually argues against a claim, that is stated below.

  • Vitamin D

    Where it comes from: Consumer nutrient-depletion content commonly lists combined oral contraceptives as a cause of vitamin D depletion.

    Why it fails: Every study located (Harris & Dawson-Hughes 1998, PMID 9627916; García-Bailo et al. 2013, PMID 23659482; Harmon et al. 2016, PMID 27490916; Stanczyk et al. 2021, PMID 33757895; Donangelo et al. 2024, PMID 38417038) found the opposite direction: higher, not lower, total 25(OH)D in OC users. The claimed direction is factually reversed by the drug's own data.

  • Iron

    Where it comes from: Consumer content sometimes states birth control pills cause iron-deficiency anemia.

    Why it fails: The largest study located (Milman et al. 1992, PMID 1511065, n=1,359) found higher ferritin and lower iron-deficiency frequency in OC users, via reduced menstrual blood loss. Frassinelli-Gunderson et al. 1985 found no major ferritin difference. No source located supports an iron-deficiency-causing direction for combined OCs.

  • Potassium

    Where it comes from: Consumer content about "birth control pills and electrolytes" sometimes applies drospirenone-specific hyperkalemia/potassium-retention warnings to combined oral contraceptives generally, including this product.

    Why it fails: Norgestimate has no antimineralocorticoid activity, unlike drospirenone. The SPRINTEC label contains no potassium warning, unlike labels for drospirenone-containing products. The mechanism is specifically ruled out for this progestin, not merely unproven.

  • Thyroid hormone / iodine

    Where it comes from: Consumer content sometimes frames elevated thyroid-panel numbers on the pill as the drug "depleting" thyroid hormone or iodine.

    Why it fails: The label confirms the estrogen component raises thyroxine-binding globulin (TBG), which raises total T4 while free T4 typically remains normal (compensated). This is a binding-protein/lab-interpretation effect, not a thyroid hormone or iodine deficiency, and is filed as a mechanism clarification per Hard Rule 2, not a nutrient claim.

All references used above
  1. DailyMed. SPRINTEC (norgestimate and ethinyl estradiol) full prescribing information. — Teva Pharmaceuticals USA, Inc. Regulatory label, accessed via DailyMed search and drug-info pages.
  2. WHO Collaborating Centre for Drug Statistics Methodology. ATC/DDD Index, codes G03AA11 and G03AB09 (norgestimate and ethinylestradiol).
  3. Leklem JE et al. 1975. Vitamin B6 requirements of women using oral contraceptives. PMID 1130311.PubMed article page returned a reCAPTCHA challenge on direct fetch; detail limited to search-listing snippet. Formulation/cohort not confirmed as norgestimate; predates this formulation's approval.
  4. Adams PW et al. 1976. Tissue depletion of vitamin B6 in women on combined estrogen-progestagen oral contraceptives. PMID 56585.Cohort formulation not specified; predates norgestimate/EE approval (1992).
  5. Bossé TR, Donald EA. 1979. Vitamin B6 status of women on oral contraceptives (two-part study). PMID 433818 / 433819.Cohort formulation not specified.
  6. Brown RR et al. 1975. B6 depletion/repletion protocol in OC users vs. controls. PMID 1244084.Cohort formulation not specified.
  7. Wilson SM et al. 2011. Oral contraceptive use: impact on folate, vitamin B6, and vitamin B12 status. Nutrition Reviews. PMID 21967158.Narrative review, not drug-level stratified (Tier C).
  8. Palmery M, Saraceno A, Vaiarelli A, Carlomagno G. 2013. Oral contraceptives and changes in nutritional requirements. PMID 23852908.Narrative review, not drug-level stratified (Tier C).
  9. Sütterlin MW et al. 2003. Serum folate and vitamin B12 levels in women using modern oral contraceptives containing 20 mcg ethinyl estradiol. PMID 12593896.20 mcg EE dose differs from this product's 25-35 mcg EE; progestin not confirmed as norgestimate.
  10. Steegers-Theunissen RP et al. 1993. Sub-50 oral contraceptives affect folate kinetics. PMID 8300008.Cohort formulation not specified.
  11. Shikh EV et al. 2021. Combined oral contraceptives and B-vitamin supply (review). PMID 34538035.Narrative review, not drug-level stratified.
  12. Zal F, Mostafavi-Pour Z, Amini F, Heidari A. 2012. Vitamin E and C supplementation effects on lipid peroxidation in oral contraceptive users. PMID 22494786.Cohort described as "low-dose contraceptives"; norgestimate not confirmed. Full abstract could not be retrieved (repeated HTTP 429 on Europe PMC and PubMed).
  13. Kowalska K, Milnerowicz H. 2016. Pro/antioxidant status in young healthy women using oral contraceptives. PMID 26921793.Cohort formulation not specified.
  14. Chen J, Li Y, Lavigne JA, Trush MA, Yager JD. 1999. Increased mitochondrial superoxide production in rat liver mitochondria following ethinyl estradiol treatment. PMID 10543024.Animal (rat) study using ethinyl estradiol alone, not the norgestimate combination; treated as component-level mechanistic (Tier B) evidence, not combination-specific.
  15. Jonderko K et al. 2013. Combined oral contraceptives affect liver mitochondrial activity. PMID 23937278.Human study; cohort formulation not confirmed as norgestimate. Full abstract/sample size could not be retrieved (HTTP 429 on repeated attempts).
  16. Hähn N, Paschen K, Haller J. 1972. Serum levels of copper, iron, magnesium, calcium and zinc in women with normal menstrual cycles, under oral hormonal contraceptives, and in pregnancy. PMID 4678746.Predates norgestimate/EE approval; formulation not specified.
  17. Prasad AS et al. 1975. Effect of oral contraceptive agents on nutrients: I. Minerals. PMID 1119434.Predates norgestimate/EE approval.
  18. Horwitt MK et al. 1975. Effect of oral contraceptive agents on nutrients (companion paper). PMID 1119436.Predates norgestimate/EE approval.
  19. Akinloye O et al. 2011. Effects of contraceptives on serum trace elements, calcium and phosphorus levels. PMID 22224344.Formulation not specified.
  20. Deeming SB, Weber CW. 1978. Hair analysis of trace minerals as influenced by age, sex, and contraceptive drugs. PMID 665569.Hair-analysis biomarker (lower reliability than serum); formulation not specified; predates norgestimate/EE approval.
  21. Carruthers ME et al. 1966. Increase in serum copper and caeruloplasmin levels in women taking oral contraceptives. PMID 5919365.Predates norgestimate/EE approval by decades.
  22. Schenker JG et al. 1972. Oral contraceptives and correlation between serum copper and ceruloplasmin levels. PMID 4362283.Predates norgestimate/EE approval.
  23. Kamyab S et al. 1980. Serum copper and ceruloplasmin activity by duration of combined oral contraceptive use in 104 Iranian women. PMID 7391523.Predates norgestimate/EE approval; formulation not specified.
  24. Garmizo G, Frauens BJ. 2008. Case report: elevated serum copper and ceruloplasmin, resolved after discontinuing an estrogen-based oral contraceptive. PMID 18772711.Case report (Tier B); specific formulation not confirmed as norgestimate.
  25. Milman N, Kirchhoff M, Jørgensen T. 1992. Serum ferritin and iron status in 1,359 Danish women, oral contraceptive users vs. non-users. PMID 1511065.Formulation not specified.
  26. Larsson G, Milsom I, Lindstedt G, Rybo G. 1992. Low-dose combined oral contraceptives, menstrual blood loss, and iron status. PMID 1486771.Formulation not confirmed as norgestimate.
  27. Frassinelli-Gunderson EP, Margen S, Brown JR. 1985. Iron status parameters in oral contraceptive users (n=46) vs. non-users (n=71). PMID 3984924.Formulation not specified.
  28. Gokkaya N, Gecmez G, Ozcelik S, Biyikli M, Aydin K. 2025. Ferritin changes with ethinyl estradiol/drospirenone in PCOS. PMID 39738891.Different progestin (drospirenone), not norgestimate.
  29. Harris SS, Dawson-Hughes B. 1998. Oral contraceptive use and 25-hydroxyvitamin D levels. PMID 9627916.Formulation not specified.
  30. García-Bailo B et al. 2013. Hormonal contraceptive use associated with elevated 25(OH)D. PMID 23659482.Formulation not specified.
  31. Harmon QE et al. 2016. Estrogen-containing contraception and 25(OH)D. PMID 27490916.Formulation not specified.
  32. Stanczyk FZ et al. 2021. Combined oral contraceptives and vitamin D. PMID 33757895.Formulation not specified.
  33. Donangelo CM et al. 2024. Combined oral contraceptives and vitamin D status. PMID 38417038.Formulation not specified.
  34. Hua X et al. 2022. Longitudinal effects of oral contraceptives on gut microbiota. PMID 35452382.Formulation not specified.
  35. Clapp Organski M et al. 2025. Time- and intestinal-segment-dependent shifts in gut microbiota with estrogen/progesterone contraceptives. PMID 40871620.Appears to be an animal model; formulation/species detail not independently confirmed beyond search-listing snippet.
  36. Eyupoglu ND et al. 2020. Altered gut microbiota (increased Ruminococcaceae) in PCOS patients on oral contraceptive therapy. PMID 32860695.PCOS cohort; confounding by indication not excluded. Formulation not specified.
  37. Wydra K et al. 2024. Systematic review, oral contraceptives and gut microbiota in PCOS. PMID 39408349.Narrative/systematic review, not independently drug-level stratified for norgestimate.
  38. Krog MC et al. 2022. Menstrual cycle phase, not hormonal contraceptive use, associated with multi-site microbiome changes. PMID 35553675.Null/competing-explanation finding for the gut microbiome entry, recorded per Step 5.
  39. Palan PR, Magneson AT, Castillo M, Dunne J, Mikhail MS. 2006. Oral contraceptive use significantly decreased coenzyme Q10 and alpha-tocopherol (p<.001). PMID 16647895.Formulation not specified; full abstract (sample size, quantitative magnitude) could not be retrieved due to repeated HTTP 429 responses.
  40. Palan PR, Strube F, Letko J, Sadikovic A, Mikhail MS. 2010. Comparison of ethinyl estradiol bioavailability and CoQ10-related markers across oral, patch, and vaginal-ring contraceptive delivery. PMID 20814444.Formulation not specified as norgestimate specifically.
  41. Olatunji LA, Soladoye AO. 2006. Oral contraceptive effects on cardiac and vascular Na+-K+-ATPase activity in rats; dietary calcium as effect modifier. PMID 17205706.Animal (rat) model; formulation not specified.
  42. Shojania AM. 1982. Folate and vitamin B12 metabolism review in oral contraceptive users. PMID 7037144.Narrative review, not drug-level stratified.
  43. Kimelski R. 1986. Increased circulatory erythrocyte mass in smoking oral contraceptive users. PMID 3521099.Confounded by smoking; formulation not specified.