Dexmethylphenidate
CNS stimulant, single-enantiomer NDRI
Also sold as Focalin, Focalin XR.
Findings for this medication
Research about this medication, graded for how strongly each finding can be attributed to it. Nothing here describes your own levels.
Dexmethylphenidate shares methylphenidate's lack of classical pharmacokinetic depletion machinery. It is de-esterified primarily by nonmicrosomal hydrolytic esterases to the largely inactive metabolite d-ritalinic acid, is not metabolized by cytochrome P450 to a clinically relevant extent, does not induce or inhibit CYP1A2, 2C8, 2C9, 2C19, 2D6, 2E1, or 3A, and renal clearance of unchanged parent drug is minimal. One pharmacokinetic detail is disclosed here rather than silently inherited: the label's own elimination mass-balance figures (about 90% of dose recovered in urine, roughly 80% as ritalinic acid, 0.5% of an intravenous dose unchanged) come from a radiolabeled study of racemic methylphenidate, not a dexmethylphenidate-specific radiolabel study. The label itself relies on the racemate's PK data for this figure, and this dossier carries that inheritance forward explicitly rather than presenting it as dexmethylphenidate-specific measurement.
CNS stimulant, single-enantiomer NDRI · ATC N06BA11 · also sold as Focalin and Focalin XR and Azstarys (d-MPH component) · reviewed 2026-09-29. This describes research about the medication. It does not say anything about your own levels or health.
How to read the evidence grades
These colours describe how strongly a finding can be attributed to the medication in the research. They are not a severity score and they say nothing about your own health.
Grades describe how strongly a finding can be attributed to Dexmethylphenidate in the research — not how common it is, how serious it would be, and not anything about you personally.
- Red — Severe
- Two or more independent Tier A sources, this drug in the cohort, the nutrient directly measured, consistent direction, clinically meaningful magnitude, a named mechanism, no substantial contradicting Tier A evidence.
- Orange — Moderate
- At least one Tier A source with this drug in the cohort showing a real but bounded deficit: an exposure window, a subgroup, low frequency, or a functional rather than circulating deficit.
- Yellow — Low
- Mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class extrapolation (Tier C) with no drug-specific human status data; also used for context flags and interactions running the other direction.
- Not graded — disclosed evidence gap
- Nothing has been measured here, so this finding cannot be graded. That does not establish either safety or harm, and it is not the same as a White result.Source definition: Not gradeable under the rules above because nothing has been measured. Published as a documented gap, never as reassurance that there is no effect.
What the research found
Appetite suppression and reduced growth, confirmed in dexmethylphenidate-specific trials
Orange — ModerateSee study details
Dexmethylphenidate's own placebo-controlled trial data and a 12-month growth study of its active-moiety combination product show a real, statistically detectable but clinically sub-threshold reduction in weight and height gain, confirming this signal is not merely inherited from racemic methylphenidate.
Full detail and limits
Appetite suppression and reduced growth, confirmed in dexmethylphenidate-specific trials
Orange — ModerateWhat the grade means here: At least one Tier A source with this drug in the cohort showing a real but bounded deficit: an exposure window, a subgroup, low frequency, or a functional rather than circulating deficit. orange
Limits on what this shows
- Key null/negative findings: In the 12-month Azstarys study, both weight and height Z-score changes fell below the prespecified clinical-significance threshold and the weight deficit plateaued after the first few months rather than progressing; investigators concluded no clinically significant impact on growth rate.
- At-risk subgroups: Children on continuous daily dosing, prepubertal growth window, patients with baseline low body weight.
Regulatory status
FDA Focalin/Focalin XR labeling lists decreased appetite and weight loss as common adverse reactions and requires monitoring height and weight at appropriate intervals in pediatric patients (Section 5.7).
Population evidence
(a) Focalin XR's own 7-week, placebo-controlled pediatric trial: mean weight change +0.4 kg on placebo versus -0.5 kg on Focalin XR, a roughly 0.9 kg between-arm difference directly attributable to this drug. (b) A 12-month open-label safety study of serdexmethylphenidate/dexmethylphenidate (Azstarys), n=238 children age 6-12 (60.9% male, mean age 9.1): weight Z-score change -0.20 and height Z-score change -0.21 over 12 months, both below the pre-specified 0.5 SD clinical-significance threshold; 8.7% of subjects had greater than 7% weight loss by 30 days, peaking at 14.5% incidence by month 4 before stabilizing; height percentile declined from 64.9 to 57.0 over the year. (c) The label also cites the broader 36-month naturalistic methylphenidate-class growth data (about 2 cm/2.7 kg less growth over 3 years in continuously dosed children); this figure originates from generic methylphenidate cohorts, not a dexmethylphenidate-specific trial, and is disclosed as label-adopted class data rather than as an independent confirmation at that same magnitude.
Mechanism
Mechanism H, changed intake: CNS stimulant appetite suppression reduces caloric and micronutrient intake. This is an intake effect, not a pharmacokinetic depletion mechanism; Step 1 found no chelation, no CYP induction, and minimal renal excretion of unchanged drug.
Counter-evidence held on record
Both dexmethylphenidate-specific studies describe the effect as statistically detectable but below the threshold used to call it clinically significant, a milder picture than the racemic-methylphenidate 36-month naturalistic figure quoted in the same label. This is a whole-diet, quantity-of-intake effect, not a single-nutrient deficiency. No supplement corrects appetite suppression; management is growth monitoring, dietary quality, and discussing dosing schedule or drug holidays with the prescriber.
Potassium, mild sympathomimetic redistribution, class-extrapolated from a brand-only cohort
Yellow — LowSee study details
A retrospective cohort found a roughly 18 percent fall in serum potassium after 3 months of methylphenidate prescribed under the "Ritalin" brand with no isomer detail; the beta-adrenergic redistribution mechanism is expected to apply to dexmethylphenidate's own pharmacology, but no dexmethylphenidate-specific potassium measurement was located.
Full detail and limits
Potassium, mild sympathomimetic redistribution, class-extrapolated from a brand-only cohort
Yellow — LowWhat the grade means here: Mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class extrapolation (Tier C) with no drug-specific human status data; also used for context flags and interactions running the other direction. yellow
Limits on what this shows
- Key null/negative findings: Absolute potassium values in the source study mostly remained within the normal reference range despite the statistically significant relative change.
- At-risk subgroups: Patients with baseline low-normal potassium, cardiac arrhythmia risk, or concurrent QT-prolonging or potassium-altering drugs.
Regulatory status
Not a labeled monitoring parameter for Focalin or Focalin XR.
Population evidence
Retrospective cohort, Tel Aviv Sourasky Medical Center adolescent psychiatry clinic, n=64, paired blood draws before starting and after 3 months of "methylphenidate (Ritalin)," with no formulation or isomer detail beyond the brand name. Mean serum potassium fell 18% (P<.0001); logistic regression confirmed the drug independently predicted the change (P<.001).
Mechanism
Tier B for dexmethylphenidate specifically: beta-adrenergic/sympathomimetic stimulation of Na+/K+-ATPase is a direct consequence of increased synaptic catecholamine signaling, dexmethylphenidate's own primary pharmacodynamic effect, so the mechanism transfers with reasonable confidence even though the measured cohort's isomer is unconfirmed.
Counter-evidence held on record
Single-center, single-cohort, no untreated comparator arm, and the brand named ("Ritalin") is not confirmed as dexmethylphenidate; the same study also found mild hyperglycemia and increased leukocyte/neutrophil counts, consistent with a general sympathetic/stress-response pattern. This is a redistribution/shift effect, not a dietary potassium deficiency. Supplementation is not automatically indicated and should follow a confirmed lab value; describing this as the drug "depleting" potassium is inaccurate framing.
Vitamin C
Yellow — LowSee study details
Ascorbate is a required cofactor for dopamine beta-hydroxylase alongside copper; the same theoretical catecholamine-turnover argument applies to dexmethylphenidate specifically, with no drug-specific human data measuring vitamin C status in dexmethylphenidate-treated patients.
Full detail and limits
Vitamin C
Yellow — LowWhat the grade means here: Mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class extrapolation (Tier C) with no drug-specific human status data; also used for context flags and interactions running the other direction. yellow
Limits on what this shows
- Key null/negative findings: None available.
- At-risk subgroups: None established.
Regulatory status
Not addressed in the label.
Population evidence
None drug-specific located.
Mechanism
Tier B, established pharmacology: dopamine beta-hydroxylase uses dopamine, ascorbate, and O2 as substrates, producing norepinephrine, dehydroascorbate, and water. Class-level plausibility that applies directly to dexmethylphenidate's own reuptake-inhibition mechanism.
Counter-evidence held on record
This entry is distinct from the separate, and separately rebutted, consumer claim that oral vitamin C "neutralizes" or blocks the medication's effect; that claim concerns vitamin C affecting the drug via urinary pH, the reverse direction, and is addressed under Fails verification. Theoretical only. No dosing recommendation follows from this entry.
No entries met the ungraded dual-condition test
Not graded — disclosed evidence gapSee study details
Every classical nutrient and every one of the seven mandatory physiological categories evaluated for dexmethylphenidate either found at least Tier B/C evidence sufficient for a yellow grade, or had a circulating consumer claim to rebut as white; none met the dual condition (no Tier B/C evidence AND no circulating claim) required for ungraded.
Full detail and limits
No entries met the ungraded dual-condition test
Not graded — disclosed evidence gapWhat the grade means here: Nothing has been measured here, so this finding cannot be graded. That does not establish either safety or harm, and it is not the same as a White result. none
Limits on what this shows
- Why no grade: This is a disclosed outcome of a thorough search, not a shortcut. All seven mandatory categories returned at least class-level (methylphenidate-cohort) drug data or a title-only citation, and the classical nutrients implicated by the mechanism screen (iron, copper, vitamin C, zinc, magnesium, vitamin D, B-complex) all returned either evidence or an identifiable, if generically worded, consumer claim during this review. If a future revision identifies a mandatory category or implicated nutrient with genuinely no evidence at any tier and no circulating claim, it belongs here.
Tooling disclosure
Search channels tried across categories, each with more than one query phrasing before any category was accepted as yellow rather than pursued further: WebSearch (general web and PubMed-indexed results), WebFetch against PubMed and PubMed Central (bot-verification blocked on every direct attempt, including for the dexmethylphenidate-specific IgA-vasculitis case report and the WHO Raynaud's disproportionality paper), the Europe PMC REST API (rate-limited), the Semantic Scholar Graph API (rate-limited, one successful generic-term query returned no dexmethylphenidate-specific hits), the OpenAlex API (rate-limited), FDA/DailyMed regulatory PDFs (succeeded), the WHO ATC/DDD Index (succeeded), and publisher pages at ScienceDirect, SAGE/Liebert, Nature, and Springer (succeeded for most, blocked for two, both flagged individually). No category was marked ungraded after only a single blocked or empty attempt.
The five body-system areas
Each finding is counted once, in a single area. Where a study is mentioned in a second area it is context only.
Mitochondrial Burden
Each finding below is counted once, in this area only.
Mitochondrial burden, class-extrapolated animal evidence, isomer unconfirmed
Yellow — LowSee study details
The rodent studies behind this category describe their drug only as "methylphenidate HCl" without specifying racemic versus d-isomer form, so any mitochondrial signal is class-level plausibility, not confirmed dexmethylphenidate-specific data, and the direction is inconsistent between the two studies located even at the class level.
Full detail and limits
Mitochondrial burden, class-extrapolated animal evidence, isomer unconfirmed
Yellow — LowWhat the grade means here: Mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class extrapolation (Tier C) with no drug-specific human status data; also used for context flags and interactions running the other direction. yellow
Limits on what this shows
- Key null/negative findings: Hippocampus and cortex Complex II activity unaffected in the confirmed-direction study despite changes elsewhere.
- At-risk subgroups: None established in humans; developmental window specific to the animal models studied.
Regulatory status
Not addressed in the label.
Population evidence
(a) Male Wistar rats, postnatal day 25-53, "Methylphenidate HCl (1, 2, 5, 10 or 20 mg/kg, intraperitoneal)"; isomer not specified in the methods available. Succinate dehydrogenase and Complex II activity were significantly increased in cerebellum and prefrontal cortex; Complex IV activity was increased across several brain regions; hippocampus and cortex Complex II activity were unaffected. (b) A separately titled rat study, "Inhibition of mitochondrial respiratory chain in the brain of adult rats after acute and chronic administration of methylphenidate," could not be opened for full-text detail after a rate-limited attempt; its direction is taken from the title only and flagged as unverified beyond that.
Mechanism
Tier B/C, animal only, isomer unconfirmed; age- and dose-dependent; net direction across even the class-level literature is unresolved.
Counter-evidence held on record
The contradictory direction between the two cited animal studies is itself counter-evidence at the class level; neither confirms dexmethylphenidate as the tested form. Animal-only; intraperitoneal dose ranges are not directly comparable to human therapeutic oral dosing, and the isomer studied could not be confirmed. No human clinical action follows from this entry.
Oxidative Stress
Each finding below is counted once, in this area only.
Oxidative stress, class-extrapolated; human signal favors improvement
Yellow — LowSee study details
A prospective human cohort found systemic oxidative stress markers fell over 3 months of "conventional methylphenidate," a formulation description that does not confirm dexmethylphenidate, so this human signal is graded class-level for this drug; a title-only animal study reports tissue-specific oxidative stress with its drug form also unconfirmed.
Full detail and limits
Oxidative stress, class-extrapolated; human signal favors improvement
Yellow — LowWhat the grade means here: Mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class extrapolation (Tier C) with no drug-specific human status data; also used for context flags and interactions running the other direction. yellow
Limits on what this shows
- Key null/negative findings: Total antioxidant status also fell alongside the oxidant markers, consistent with a reduced compensatory antioxidant response as oxidant burden fell, not a depletion signal.
- At-risk subgroups: None established.
Regulatory status
Not addressed in the label.
Population evidence
(a) Prospective single-center observational cohort, medication-naive children age 6-11 with ADHD, n=39 completers, "3 months of conventional methylphenidate," a description implying standard immediate-release generic product rather than a confirmed dexmethylphenidate cohort: total oxidant status, total antioxidant status, superoxide dismutase, malondialdehyde, and oxidized LDL all decreased significantly; the composite oxidative stress index trended down but was not significant (P=.066). (b) An animal study titled "Methylphenidate triggers retinal oxidative stress and mitochondrial dysfunction under physiological conditions but has beneficial effects in inflammatory settings" could not be opened for full-text detail (bot-verification blocked); cited by title only, isomer unconfirmed, and flagged as unverified beyond that.
Mechanism
Not firmly established for the human finding; reduced systemic oxidative burden may track with symptom improvement rather than reflecting a direct antioxidant drug effect. Applies at class level only for dexmethylphenidate.
Counter-evidence held on record
The animal tissue-specific finding (title-only, unverified, isomer unconfirmed) suggests a possible local or supraphysiological-exposure exception; disclosed, not resolved, here. The net human clinical signal favors improvement, not burden, even before the cohort-identity discount for dexmethylphenidate is applied. Do not market this entry as "dexmethylphenidate depletes antioxidants."
Copper and Iron Balance
Copper and iron are assessed separately. Nothing here is counted twice.
Iron, a baseline-status and response-prediction context flag, class-extrapolated from an unconfirmed-isomer cohort
Yellow — LowSee study details
Baseline ferritin predicts stimulant response, and the one direct test of depletion found continuing methylphenidate associated with more stable ferritin than stopping it; the underlying trial dosed generic extended-release methylphenidate at 36-54 mg, a range consistent with the racemate rather than dexmethylphenidate, so this is graded as class-level plausibility, not confirmed dexmethylphenidate-specific data.
Full detail and limits
Iron, a baseline-status and response-prediction context flag, class-extrapolated from an unconfirmed-isomer cohort
Yellow — LowWhat the grade means here: Mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class extrapolation (Tier C) with no drug-specific human status data; also used for context flags and interactions running the other direction. yellow
Limits on what this shows
- Key null/negative findings: The discontinuation trial is the direct test of "does this drug deplete iron," and it found the opposite of a depletion signal (ferritin more stable on treatment than off), though again this is an unconfirmed-isomer cohort for dexmethylphenidate specifically.
- At-risk subgroups: The ADHD population overall has an elevated baseline prevalence of iron deficiency independent of treatment, a condition-linked feature per Hard Rule 6, and applies to dexmethylphenidate-treated patients regardless of which stimulant's cohort was directly studied.
Regulatory status
Not addressed in the Focalin/Focalin XR label.
Population evidence
(a) Randomized discontinuation trial, n=63 long-term (2+ years) methylphenidate users age 8-18: "seven weeks of continued treatment with 36 to 54 mg of extended-release methylphenidate or...stepwise dosage reduction to placebo," no brand or isomer specified in the methods beyond the dosing range, which is consistent with racemic extended-release methylphenidate (comparable to Concerta-range dosing) rather than Focalin XR's typical 5-40 mg dexmethylphenidate-base range; treated here as an unconfirmed-cohort, Tier C source for dexmethylphenidate specifically. Ferritin fell significantly in the discontinuation arm (55.1 to 37.6 µg/L) while remaining comparatively stable in the continuation arm (46.6 to 42.3 µg/L, P=.0057). (b) A randomized add-on ferrous-sulfate trial in n=52 iron-deficient ADHD children already on methylphenidate (isomer unspecified) found improved parent-rated symptoms with iron added versus placebo added (P=.037); same cohort-identity caveat applies.
Mechanism
Tier B, applies directly to dexmethylphenidate's own pharmacology regardless of the measured cohort's isomer: iron is the rate-limiting cofactor for tyrosine hydroxylase, the first enzyme in dopamine/norepinephrine synthesis, and baseline iron status affects response to any catecholamine-reuptake-inhibiting drug, including this one.
Counter-evidence held on record
No source located in this review measured iron or ferritin status specifically in dexmethylphenidate-treated patients; every located source is class-level for this drug. Do not supplement iron in a person taking dexmethylphenidate without a confirmed ferritin/CBC-documented deficiency. Iron overload carries its own risk; see Safety review and Monitoring panel.
Copper, theoretical cofactor-demand mechanism, directly applicable to this drug's own pharmacology
Yellow — LowSee study details
Dopamine beta-hydroxylase, the copper-dependent enzyme converting dopamine to norepinephrine, is a theoretical copper-cofactor-demand target for dexmethylphenidate's own catecholamine-reuptake-inhibition mechanism, but no study measured copper status in dexmethylphenidate-treated patients.
Full detail and limits
Copper, theoretical cofactor-demand mechanism, directly applicable to this drug's own pharmacology
Yellow — LowWhat the grade means here: Mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class extrapolation (Tier C) with no drug-specific human status data; also used for context flags and interactions running the other direction. yellow
Limits on what this shows
- Key null/negative findings: None available; no study measuring copper status with this drug, in either direction, was located.
- At-risk subgroups: None established.
Regulatory status
Not addressed in the label.
Population evidence
None drug-specific located. A human ADHD copper/ceruloplasmin auditory-event-potential study identified via search could not be opened for full-text detail after repeated attempts (bot-verification blocked); it is not relied upon here.
Mechanism
Tier B, established pharmacology: dopamine beta-hydroxylase (DBH) is a 290-kDa copper-containing oxygenase. Dexmethylphenidate is the enantiomer principally responsible for methylphenidate's catecholamine-reuptake inhibition, so this theoretical cofactor-demand argument applies at least as directly to dexmethylphenidate as to the racemate, independent of any specific study cohort.
Counter-evidence held on record
None available. Theoretical only. No dosing recommendation follows from this entry; do not supplement copper on this basis alone.
Gut Microbiome Risk
Each finding below is counted once, in this area only.
Gut microbiome risk, class-extrapolated; dexmethylphenidate explicitly absent from the studied drug list
Yellow — LowSee study details
The only located gut-microbiome study of ADHD patients on psychostimulant medication names methylphenidate, lisdexamfetamine, and dexamfetamine as the drugs its cohort took, and does not include dexmethylphenidate by name, a stricter cohort gap than for most entries in this dossier; the finding is carried forward as class-level plausibility only.
Full detail and limits
Gut microbiome risk, class-extrapolated; dexmethylphenidate explicitly absent from the studied drug list
Yellow — LowWhat the grade means here: Mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class extrapolation (Tier C) with no drug-specific human status data; also used for context flags and interactions running the other direction. yellow
Limits on what this shows
- Key null/negative findings: Authors report no significant medicated-versus-unmedicated difference in the adult cohort; the pediatric signal cannot be attributed to any one of the two named pediatric drugs individually, let alone to dexmethylphenidate, which was not among them.
- At-risk subgroups: None established beyond the pediatric psychostimulant-treated population studied, which did not include dexmethylphenidate.
Regulatory status
Not addressed in the label.
Population evidence
Gut-microbiome study of ADHD adults and children on psychostimulant medication (n=84 adults, 59 medicated; n=63 children, 33 medicated), whose methods state: "Psychostimulants for children include Methylphenidate and Lisdexamphetamine. For adults psychostimulants include Methylphenidate, Lisdexamphetamine and Dexamphetamine," with no mention of dexmethylphenidate or Focalin. Medicated children showed significantly different bacterial beta-diversity (Aitchison/Bray-Curtis distances, P=.004/P=.047), lower taxonomic and functional evenness (P=.034/P=.007), lower abundance of Bacteroides stercoris and of vitamin B12-synthesis genes, and higher plasma vascular-inflammation markers sICAM-1 and sVCAM-1 (pFDR=.004/.005).
Mechanism
Mechanism G, not fully elucidated; proposed routes include intake-driven dietary shifts and catecholaminergic gut-brain-axis signaling, both plausible for dexmethylphenidate's own pharmacology even though this drug was not itself in the studied cohort.
Counter-evidence held on record
Cross-sectional design cannot establish causation, and the drug under review here was not in the studied cohort at all, a materially weaker evidentiary position than the same category receives in the companion methylphenidate dossier. No validated probiotic or prebiotic dose is established to address this. Do not self-treat with high-dose probiotics; discuss GI symptoms and dietary fiber variety with the prescriber if relevant.
Oxygen and ATP Output
Oxygen delivery and ATP production are assessed separately. Nothing here is counted twice.
Oxygen delivery/utilization
Orange — ModerateSee study details
FDA labeling for Focalin and Focalin XR carries a drug-specific warning for peripheral vasculopathy, including Raynaud's phenomenon, reducing peripheral tissue oxygen delivery through adrenergic vasoconstriction; a separately reported dexmethylphenidate-specific case of a different vasculopathic process, hemorrhagic bullous IgA vasculitis, adds a second, mechanistically distinct drug-specific signal not pooled with the labeled effect.
Full detail and limits
Oxygen delivery/utilization
Orange — ModerateWhat the grade means here: At least one Tier A source with this drug in the cohort showing a real but bounded deficit: an exposure window, a subgroup, low frequency, or a functional rather than circulating deficit. orange
Limits on what this shows
- Key null/negative findings: Label states vasculopathy symptoms are generally reversible with dose reduction or discontinuation. This entry addresses peripheral/local blood flow specifically; no systemic oxygen-carrying-capacity (hemoglobin/hematocrit) deficit is claimed, per Hard Rule 2's mechanism-clarification requirement.
- At-risk subgroups: Patients with pre-existing Raynaud's or vasospastic disease, or concurrent vasoconstrictive drugs (for the labeled effect); no subgroup established from the single IgA vasculitis case.
Regulatory status
FDA label, Focalin and Focalin XR, Warnings and Precautions 5.6: "CNS stimulants, including Focalin XR, used to treat ADHD are associated with peripheral vasculopathy, including Raynaud's phenomenon." Sequelae can rarely include digital ulceration or soft-tissue breakdown; "careful observation for digital changes is necessary."
Population evidence
(a) Drug-specific FDA labeling as above, present in both Focalin (IR) and Focalin XR full prescribing information. (b) A single case report, "Dexmethylphenidate-associated hemorrhagic bullous IgA vasculitis," identified via PubMed/PMC search; full text could not be opened this session (bot-verification challenge on every attempt), so patient-level detail (dose, age, lab values, outcome) could not be confirmed beyond the title, and it is not used to support more than its own existence as a distinct drug-specific vasculopathic signal. (c) A large FDA FAERS disproportionality study of drug-related Raynaud's phenomenon found methylphenidate a positive signal (70 cases, reporting odds ratio 8.28, 95% CI 6.54-10.49) but did not list dexmethylphenidate as a separately analyzed drug in its results; this is cited as class-level corroboration only, not as direct dexmethylphenidate evidence.
Mechanism
Named for the labeled effect: peripheral alpha-adrenergic vasoconstriction from increased synaptic norepinephrine, dexmethylphenidate's own reuptake-inhibition mechanism and, as the pharmacologically active enantiomer, the isomer principally responsible for this effect in racemic methylphenidate as well. The IgA vasculitis case report's proposed mechanism (immune-complex-mediated small-vessel inflammation) is a distinct pathway and is not assumed to share the adrenergic mechanism.
Counter-evidence held on record
A dedicated WHO pharmacovigilance disproportionality paper on drug-induced Raynaud's phenomenon (Hlavaty et al, Arthritis & Rheumatology) could not be opened this session (403 error on every attempt) to check whether it separately lists dexmethylphenidate; flagged as inaccessible rather than silently omitted. No supplement, diet change, or oxygen-support product addresses either mechanism here. Management is dose adjustment or discontinuation with the prescriber, plus standard cold-avoidance measures for Raynaud's symptoms; any new bullous or purpuric skin finding on this drug warrants prompt clinical evaluation given the case-report signal.
ATP production, class-extrapolated animal functional bioenergetic signal, isomer unconfirmed
Yellow — LowSee study details
Chronic dosing with "MPH" of unspecified isomer decreased hippocampal ATP levels and impaired ATP-dependent glutamate uptake and Na+/K+-ATPase activity in juvenile rats without changing transporter or pump protein expression; because the isomer is unconfirmed, this is class-level plausibility, not confirmed dexmethylphenidate-specific data, and no human ATP or energy-metabolite data for this drug were located.
Full detail and limits
ATP production, class-extrapolated animal functional bioenergetic signal, isomer unconfirmed
Yellow — LowWhat the grade means here: Mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class extrapolation (Tier C) with no drug-specific human status data; also used for context flags and interactions running the other direction. yellow
Limits on what this shows
- Key null/negative findings: Protein expression of the relevant transporters and pump subunits was itself unchanged.
- At-risk subgroups: None established in humans; developmental window specific to the animal model studied.
Regulatory status
Not addressed in the label.
Population evidence
Male Wistar rats, postnatal day 15-45, "MPH (2.0 mg/kg/day)" intraperitoneal, isomer not specified in the methods available: hippocampal ATP levels decreased; glutamate uptake and Na+/K+-ATPase activity decreased after chronic exposure; immunocontent of glutamate transporters (GLAST, GLT-1) and Na+/K+-ATPase catalytic subunits was unchanged, indicating a functional rather than expression-level effect.
Mechanism
Authors propose impaired glutamate uptake and Na+/K+-ATPase activity are downstream of the ATP decline. Class-level only for dexmethylphenidate given the unconfirmed isomer.
Counter-evidence held on record
Contrasts in direction with the mitochondrial-burden entry's finding of chronic respiratory-chain enzyme activation, though the two studies used different dosing paradigms and endpoints, so this is not a strict contradiction; see Overlap map. Neither study's drug form is confirmed as dexmethylphenidate. Animal-only, developmental-window-specific, isomer unconfirmed. No human clinical action follows from this entry.
Claims checked and not supported
These circulate online for this medication. They are listed here only so they can be answered, never as findings, and they are not graded.
A claim with no supporting evidence is not necessarily disproven. Where evidence actually argues against a claim, that is stated below.
Zinc
Where it comes from: Consumer ADHD-nutrition content naming Ritalin, Concerta, Adderall, and Vyvanse, and speaking of "ADHD medications, particularly stimulants" generally; Focalin/dexmethylphenidate is not named in the source located, though the content surfaces in searches for it
Why it fails: No study located measured zinc status before and after dexmethylphenidate treatment. The only direct drug-family test (a randomized discontinuation trial of generic extended-release methylphenidate) found no significant between-group zinc difference, and even that source's isomer is unconfirmed as dexmethylphenidate.
Magnesium
Where it comes from: Same consumer content, describing magnesium as depleted by "stimulant-induced metabolic stress," without naming Focalin specifically
Why it fails: No study located measured magnesium status before and after dexmethylphenidate treatment. The one related trial found tested magnesium plus zinc plus calcium as a symptom-augmentation add-on to methylphenidate (isomer unspecified), not a depletion measurement, and does not establish that this drug lowers magnesium.
Vitamin D
Where it comes from: Same consumer content, linking appetite suppression to worsened vitamin D deficiency, without naming Focalin specifically
Why it fails: Vitamin D status is driven primarily by sun exposure. No study measuring a vitamin D decline caused by dexmethylphenidate specifically, or by methylphenidate generally, was located; the ADHD literature studies it mainly as a baseline/comorbid association.
B-complex vitamins (B6, B12)
Where it comes from: Same consumer content, citing "increased metabolic demand and reduced intake," without naming Focalin specifically
Why it fails: No drug-specific study measuring B6 or B12 status with dexmethylphenidate was located. The gut-microbiome study above found lower abundance of B12-synthesis genes in medicated children, but its drug list explicitly excludes dexmethylphenidate; this is not evidence of B12 status change in this drug's patients.
Vitamin C (reverse-direction interaction claim)
Where it comes from: Popular ADHD-medication forums claiming vitamin C should be avoided near dosing because it "neutralizes" or blocks the drug, extrapolated from the amphetamine/urinary-acidification interaction and applied loosely to methylphenidate-family drugs including, by implication, Focalin
Why it fails: Dexmethylphenidate is eliminated almost entirely via nonmicrosomal esterase hydrolysis, with under 1% of an intravenous dose excreted unchanged in urine, so the pH-dependent renal-reabsorption mechanism relevant to amphetamines does not meaningfully apply. A direct interaction check for dexmethylphenidate and vitamin C found no documented interaction (the checker's own dexmethylphenidate entry notes only its enantiomer relationship to methylphenidate, without running a separate analysis, itself disclosed above). Per Hard Rule 4, this is a nutrient-affecting-drug claim, the reverse of a depletion claim, and is filed here as a debunked timing/interaction myth.
Omega-3 fatty acids
Where it comes from: Same consumer content, citing reduced intake "due to appetite loss," without naming Focalin specifically
Why it fails: Omega-3 status in ADHD is studied almost entirely as a baseline dietary/supplementation-efficacy question, not as a dexmethylphenidate-induced depletion outcome. No study measuring an omega-3 decline attributable to this drug was located.
How the body handles this medication
- Metabolism
- De-esterified primarily by nonmicrosomal hydrolytic esterases to d-alpha-phenyl-piperidine acetic acid (d-ritalinic acid), a metabolite with minimal pharmacological activity; little or no in vivo interconversion to the l-threo-enantiomer. Not metabolized by cytochrome P450 (CYP) isoenzymes to a clinically relevant extent.FDA Focalin XR label, Section 12.3, 2023
- CYP450 induction/inhibition
- The d- and l-enantiomers of methylphenidate did not relevantly inhibit CYP1A2, 2C8, 2C9, 2C19, 2D6, 2E1, or 3A in vitro; inducers or inhibitors of these CYPs are not expected to meaningfully affect dexmethylphenidate pharmacokinetics.FDA Focalin XR label, Section 12.3, 2023
- Elimination (figure inherited from the racemate)
- About 90% of a radiolabeled dose was recovered in urine, roughly 80% as ritalinic acid; unchanged parent compound accounted for 0.5% of an intravenous dose. This mass-balance figure derives from a radiolabeled study of racemic methylphenidate, not a dexmethylphenidate-specific radiolabel study; the Focalin XR label itself presents it this way rather than as isomer-specific data.FDA Focalin XR label, Section 12.3, 2023
- Absorption and formulation
- Focalin (immediate release) peaks about 1-1.5 hours postdose; a high-fat breakfast does not significantly change Cmax or AUC but delays Tmax to about 2.9 hours. Focalin XR gives a bimodal profile with peaks around 1.5 and 6.5 hours, via a pH-dependent bead-release mechanism (a formulation effect, not classical nutrient-absorption interference).FDA Focalin and Focalin XR labels, Section 12.3
- Renal/hepatic impairment
- Not formally studied in either population for Focalin or Focalin XR; minimal effect anticipated because renal clearance is not an important route of methylphenidate elimination.FDA Focalin XR label, Section 8.6-8.7, 2023
- Drug-nutrient and food interactions
- No documented chelation, mineral, or antacid interaction beyond the food-delayed Tmax above. A direct interaction check for dexmethylphenidate and vitamin C returned no findings; the checker's entry for dexmethylphenidate itself notes only that it is "the more pharmacologically active d-enantiomer" of methylphenidate, without a separately run interaction analysis.Drugs.com interaction checker, methylphenidate/dexmethylphenidate entries
All references used above
- Focalin (dexmethylphenidate hydrochloride) tablets, full prescribing information — FDA/accessdata.fda.gov, label revision 2021 (021278s029lbl). Clinical Pharmacology, metabolism, CYP450, elimination, absorption/food effects, peripheral vasculopathy, growth suppression.
- Focalin XR (dexmethylphenidate hydrochloride) extended-release capsules, full prescribing information — FDA/accessdata.fda.gov, label 2023 (021802s038s041lbl). Section 12.3 pharmacokinetics, Section 5.6 peripheral vasculopathy, Section 5.7 growth suppression with the 7-week placebo-controlled weight-change data, Section 8.6/8.7 renal/hepatic impairment.
- DailyMed - FOCALIN (dexmethylphenidate hydrochloride) tablet — DailyMed (setid=7c552f11-e24a-4d9b-bb8d-be10c928eca8). Section 6.2 postmarketing hematologic events (leukopenia, thrombocytopenia, anemia, pancytopenia), Section 7 drug interactions, Section 8 use in specific populations.
- WHO ATC/DDD Index, N06BA — Norwegian Institute of Public Health (atcddd.fhi.no). Confirms ATC code N06BA11 for dexmethylphenidate, 15 mg oral defined daily dose.
- Dexmethylphenidate, drug infobox (brand names, class, ATC code) — Wikipedia, cross-checked against the WHO ATC/DDD Index above. Used for identity fields only, not for any graded claim.
- Analysis of Growth Velocity in Children with Attention-Deficit/Hyperactivity Disorder Treated for up to 12 Months with Serdexmethylphenidate/Dexmethylphenidate — Journal of Child and Adolescent Psychopharmacology (SAGE/Liebert), Childress AC, Cutler AJ, Patel M, Oh C, 2023. Open-label, n=238 children age 6-12, 12 months, doses equivalent to 20-40 mg total dexmethylphenidate HCl. Weight Z-score change -0.20, height Z-score change -0.21, both below the 0.5 SD clinical-significance threshold; 8.7% with >7% weight loss at 30 days, peaking 14.5% at month 4.
- Corium's Novel ADHD Medication AZSTARYS (Serdexmethylphenidate and Dexmethylphenidate) Had No Clinically Significant Impact on Children's Weight and Height Growth Rate — PRNewswire press release corroborating the same 238-child, 12-month trial data as the Childress et al. 2023 study above, with additional baseline and per-visit figures (predicted vs. actual weight/height at 90 and 360 days).
- Dexmethylphenidate-associated hemorrhagic bullous IgA vasculitis — Identified via PubMed (PMID 42088927) and PMC search listing, 2026, dermatology case report. PubMed and PMC both returned bot-verification challenges on every direct-fetch attempt this session.Inaccessible this session (PubMed/PMC bot-verification blocked on repeated attempts). Cited by title only under the Oxygen delivery/utilization entry as a distinct drug-specific case signal; patient-level detail not used to support more than the case's existence.
- Drug-Induced Raynaud's Phenomenon and Underlying Mechanism: A Disproportionality Analysis From the World Health Organization Pharmacovigilance Database — Hlavaty A, et al., Arthritis & Rheumatology (Wiley), 2026 (PMID 41261736, DOI 10.1002/art.43442). Publisher page returned a 403 error on the only attempt this session.Inaccessible this session (403 from acrjournals.onlinelibrary.wiley.com). Could not confirm whether dexmethylphenidate is analyzed separately from methylphenidate; disclosed as a gap rather than assumed either way.
- A comprehensive study on drug-related Raynaud's phenomenon based on the FDA adverse event reporting system — Scientific Reports (Nature), 2025. FAERS disproportionality analysis; methylphenidate identified as a positive signal (70 cases, reporting odds ratio 8.28, 95% CI 6.54-10.49). Dexmethylphenidate does not appear as a separately analyzed drug in the tables or main results.
- Withdrawing methylphenidate in relation to serum levels of ferritin and zinc in children and adolescents with ADHD — Journal of Psychosomatic Research (ScienceDirect), 2022. Randomized discontinuation study, n=63, long-term users age 8-18, dosed 36-54 mg extended-release methylphenidate (isomer not specified; dosing range consistent with the racemate). Ferritin: discontinuation 55.1 to 37.6 µg/L vs continuation 46.6 to 42.3 µg/L (P=.0057). Zinc: no significant between-group difference.Cohort's methylphenidate isomer not specified in the methods; dosing range (36-54 mg) is consistent with racemic extended-release product rather than dexmethylphenidate's typical range, so treated as an unconfirmed, class-level (Tier C) source for this drug.
- Effect of Iron Supplementation in Children with ADHD and Iron Deficiency: a Randomized Controlled Trial — Journal of Developmental and Behavioral Pediatrics (summarized via Mindd Foundation research page). RCT, n=52 iron-deficient children on methylphenidate (isomer unspecified), 12 weeks. Parent-rated symptoms improved more with iron (P=.037); teacher ratings not significant.Isomer not specified; treated as class-level for dexmethylphenidate.
- Methylphenidate has mild hyperglycemic and hypokalemia effects and increases leukocyte and neutrophil counts — Nagar N, et al., Medicine (Baltimore), 2020, read via an accessible mirror (primary journals.lww.com page returned a 402 paywall error). Retrospective cohort, n=64, "methylphenidate (Ritalin)" with no isomer detail. Potassium -18% (P<.0001).Brand "Ritalin" named but isomer not specified; treated as class-level, unconfirmed-cohort source for dexmethylphenidate.
- Bacterial gut microbiome differences in adults with ADHD and in children with ADHD on psychostimulant medication — ScienceDirect (Psychoneuroendocrinology-family journal), 2023. n=84 adults (59 medicated), n=63 children (33 medicated). Methods explicitly list methylphenidate, lisdexamfetamine, and dexamfetamine as the psychostimulants studied; dexmethylphenidate is not named. Lower diversity/evenness, lower Bacteroides stercoris and B12-synthesis-gene abundance, higher vascular inflammation markers in medicated children.Cohort explicitly excludes dexmethylphenidate by name (only methylphenidate, lisdexamfetamine, and dexamfetamine are listed); treated as class-level only for this drug.
- Chronic administration of methylphenidate activates mitochondrial respiratory chain in brain of young rats — Progress in Neuro-Psychopharmacology and Biological Psychiatry (ScienceDirect abstract), 2006. Male Wistar rats, postnatal day 25-53, "Methylphenidate HCl" 1-20 mg/kg/day IP, 28 days, isomer not specified. Succinate dehydrogenase, Complex II, and Complex IV activity increased in several brain regions.Isomer not specified in the available methods text; treated as class-level for dexmethylphenidate.
- Inhibition of mitochondrial respiratory chain in the brain of adult rats after acute and chronic administration of methylphenidate — Title identified via PubMed search listing (PMID 19777344); PubMed returned bot-verification errors on every attempt this session.Inaccessible this session (PubMed bot-verification blocked). Direction and isomer both unverified beyond the title; not used alone to support a grade.
- Methylphenidate Decreases ATP Levels and Impairs Glutamate Uptake and Na+,K+-ATPase Activity in Juvenile Rat Hippocampus — Molecular Neurobiology (Springer), 2016. Male Wistar rats, postnatal day 15-45, "MPH" 2.0 mg/kg/day IP, isomer not specified. ATP, glutamate uptake, and Na+/K+-ATPase activity decreased; transporter/pump protein expression unchanged.Isomer not specified in the available methods text; treated as class-level for dexmethylphenidate.
- Methylphenidate triggers retinal oxidative stress and mitochondrial dysfunction under physiological conditions but has beneficial effects in inflammatory settings — Title identified via PubMed search listing (PMID 40752585); PubMed returned a bot-verification page on the only attempt this session.Inaccessible this session (PubMed bot-verification blocked). Cited by title only, isomer unverified; not used alone to support a grade.
- The Effect of Methylphenidate Treatment on Oxidative Stress Levels in Children Diagnosed with ADHD: an Observational Study — SAGE journal, 2026. Prospective cohort, medication-naive children 6-11, n=39 completers, "3 months of conventional methylphenidate" (isomer not specified; "conventional" implies standard generic product). TOS, TAS, SOD, MDA, Ox-LDL decreased significantly.Formulation described as "conventional methylphenidate"; not confirmed as dexmethylphenidate, treated as class-level for this drug.
- Dopamine beta-hydroxylase, copper- and ascorbate-dependence — Wikipedia, summarizing established enzymology: DBH is a copper-containing oxygenase using dopamine, ascorbate, and O2 as substrates. Used as a Tier B established-pharmacology reference for the Copper and Vitamin C entries, applicable to dexmethylphenidate's own reuptake-inhibition mechanism.
- Methylphenidate and Vitamin C, drug-interaction check — Drugs.com interaction checker. "No interactions found between methylphenidate and Vitamin C"; the checker's own dexmethylphenidate listing describes it only as "the more pharmacologically active d-enantiomer" of methylphenidate without a separately run vitamin C analysis, a gap disclosed in the PK basis above.
- How ADHD medication can deplete nutrients and what to do about it — Growing Minds Nutrition (consumer blog, Tier D). Names Ritalin, Concerta, Adderall, and Vyvanse specifically and "ADHD medications, particularly stimulants" generally; does not name Focalin or dexmethylphenidate. Source of the zinc, iron, B-vitamin, magnesium, vitamin D, and omega-3 depletion claims addressed in Fails verification; surfaced in this session's search results for a Focalin-specific nutrient-depletion query, confirming it reaches this drug's audience despite not naming it.
- PubMed search listing for "dexmethylphenidate" (132 results) and targeted phrase searches for "dexmethylphenidate" plus mitochondria, oxidative stress, iron/ferritin, and gut microbiome — Used to confirm the drug-specific literature landscape and the absence of dexmethylphenidate-specific mitochondrial, oxidative-stress, or trace-mineral studies beyond those cited above. Direct PubMed fetches for the mitochondria and oxidative-stress phrase searches were rate-limited (429) on this session's attempts; the plain-term listing (10 of 132 results, none nutrient-related) was successfully retrieved and reviewed.
- Semantic Scholar Graph API search for "dexmethylphenidate oxidative stress" and "dexmethylphenidate mitochondrial" — Returned no dexmethylphenidate-specific results (only generic oxidative-stress literature unrelated to this drug, plus the same class-level methylphenidate redox review cited above); the second query was rate-limited (429). Used to corroborate the genuine absence of dexmethylphenidate-specific mitochondrial/oxidative-stress literature, feeding the headline finding's cohort-identity discussion.
