Skip to main content

Dapsone

sulfone; antileprotic, also dermatology

Findings for this medication

Research about this medication, graded for how strongly each finding can be attributed to it. Nothing here describes your own levels.

Dapsone has no classical depletion machinery in the label text that was retrieved. It is rapidly and almost completely absorbed, about 85% of a daily dose is recovered in urine mainly as water-soluble metabolites, and the label does not mention vitamin E, vitamin B12, iron or folate. It names only "folic acid antagonists" (pyrimethamine) as co-drugs that raise the risk of hematologic reactions [1]. The dominant, label-universal signal is oxidative hematologic toxicity: nearly all patients lose 1 to 2 g of hemoglobin, with a reticulocyte rise, shortened red-cell survival and raised methemoglobin, and the effect is dose-related and exaggerated in G6PD and methemoglobin reductase deficiency [1].

sulfone; antileprotic, also dermatology ยท ATC J04BA02 (WHO ATC/DDD Index [2]) ยท reviewed 2026-10-09. This describes research about the medication. It does not say anything about your own levels or health.

How to read the evidence grades

These colours describe how strongly a finding can be attributed to the medication in the research. They are not a severity score and they say nothing about your own health.

Grades describe how strongly a finding can be attributed to Dapsone in the research โ€” not how common it is, how serious it would be, and not anything about you personally.

Red โ€” Severe
Two or more independent Tier A sources, this drug in the cohort, the nutrient directly measured, consistent direction, clinically meaningful magnitude, a named mechanism, no substantial contradicting Tier A evidence.
Orange โ€” Moderate
At least one Tier A source with this drug in the cohort showing a real but bounded deficit: an exposure window, a subgroup, low frequency, or a functional rather than circulating deficit.
Yellow โ€” Low
Mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class extrapolation (Tier C) with no drug-specific human status data; also used for context flags and interactions running the other direction.
Not graded โ€” disclosed evidence gap
Nothing has been measured here, so this finding cannot be graded. That does not establish either safety or harm, and it is not the same as a White result.Source definition: Not gradeable under the rules above because nothing has been measured. Published as a documented gap, never as reassurance that there is no effect.

What the research found

Vitamin E: nutrient-to-drug direction; high-dose vitamin E did not improve hemoglobin or reticulocytes in dapsone patients

Yellow โ€” Low

See study details

The documented relationship runs from the nutrient to the drug's toxicity, not from the drug to vitamin E status. In 16 patients on dapsone 100 mg/day, vitamin E raised serum vitamin E but did not significantly change hemoglobin, reticulocyte count or haptoglobin (direction: nutrient affecting drug effect; Hard Rule 4 timing and interaction, not a depletion).

Full detail and limits

What the grade means here: Mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class extrapolation (Tier C) with no drug-specific human status data; also used for context flags and interactions running the other direction. Yellow

Limits on what this shows

  • Null findings: The hemoglobin, reticulocyte, haptoglobin and red-cell survival endpoints were null [6]. No second vitamin E trial was opened.

Regulatory status

Vitamin E is not mentioned in the dapsone label [1].

Population evidence

Kelly 1984 [6]: 16 patients on dapsone 100 mg/day were studied for hemolysis, then given dl-alpha-tocopherol acetate 800 mg/day for up to 3 months and continued at that dose. At the end: no substantial change in hemoglobin, reticulocyte count or haptoglobin despite a significant rise in serum vitamin E; red-cell survival in 4 patients unchanged; Heinz body count fell in 9 of 15 patients studied and rose in none. The authors concluded vitamin E does not substantially ameliorate dapsone hemolysis. Design appears to be an uncontrolled before-after comparison (no placebo arm described in the abstract). The NIH tolerable upper intake level for adults is 1,000 mg/day of supplemental alpha-tocopherol (any form) [9]; the study dose is below it and is reported here only as a study fact, not a recommendation. Abstract read as an OpenAlex reconstruction; full text not opened.

Mechanism

Proposed antioxidant protection of the red-cell membrane; the Heinz-body fall is consistent with it but hemoglobin, the clinical endpoint, did not move.

Counter-evidence held on record

Counter-evidence and gaps A single small uncontrolled study. A vitamin C case report on dapsone methemoglobinemia (2013) was seen as a title only and its abstract was unavailable, so it is not used [11]. Framing caution This is not evidence that dapsone depletes vitamin E and not a reason to take vitamin E. Do not recommend any antioxidant dose from this entry; no separation interval is stated in the label.

Folate: possible utilization demand and antagonist co-therapy; folate never measured

Yellow โ€” Low

See study details

Folate has mechanistic plausibility only: hemolysis drives red-cell production, and the label warns that folic acid antagonists given with dapsone raise hematologic reaction risk; no source opened measured folate in dapsone users. Direction: possible increased utilization, not a measured depletion.

Full detail and limits

What the grade means here: Mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class extrapolation (Tier C) with no drug-specific human status data; also used for context flags and interactions running the other direction. Yellow

Limits on what this shows

  • Null findings: None located. A rise in mean cell volume from reticulocytosis is not folate deficiency (Hard Rule 2).

Regulatory status

The label does not mention folate as a nutrient. It states that folic acid antagonists (for example pyrimethamine) may increase the risk of hematologic reactions, with agranulocytosis reported in the second and third month of weekly pyrimethamine plus dapsone [1].

Population evidence

None measuring folate. The label's reticulocyte rise of 2 to 12% [1] documents increased red-cell turnover; that folate demand rises with it is an inference stated here as such, not a finding from a source opened. A 1989 report titled as megaloblastic pancytopenia with dapsone and trimethoprim for Pneumocystis pneumonia in AIDS was seen as title and metadata only (no abstract) and was not opened [12]; trimethoprim is a co-drug and a competing explanation.

Mechanism

Present as an inference only (increased utilization, mechanism class I). Dapsone's bacterial dihydropteroate synthase inhibition is a Tier D statement [10] and no human folate effect from it was found.

Counter-evidence held on record

Counter-evidence No folate or macrocytosis data for dapsone alone were retrieved; the hematologic risk with antagonists is a drug-drug interaction. Framing caution Monitoring prompt only. This is not a finding that dapsone causes folate deficiency, and no folate dose is recommended.

Vitamin B12

Not graded โ€” disclosed evidence gap

See study details

No evidence that dapsone changes vitamin B12 absorption, status or function was retrieved.

Full detail and limits

What the grade means here: Nothing has been measured here, so this finding cannot be graded. That does not establish either safety or harm, and it is not the same as a White result. Ungraded

Limits on what this shows

  • Why no grade: Dual condition met: no opened Tier B or C source and no circulating B12 claim for dapsone found. Peripheral motor neuropathy appears in the label as an adverse reaction [1]; neuropathy is an outcome and is not filed as B12 deficiency (Hard Rule 2).

What was searched

The label [1] explicitly does not mention B12. Crossref title search "dapsone vitamin B12 cobalamin deficiency": 15 records, none with dapsone in the title. A megaloblastic pancytopenia report with dapsone and trimethoprim exists by title only [12] and its abstract could not be opened; it does not name B12. Repair pass: Crossref bibliographic search "dapsone megaloblastic folate cobalamin" completed (20 records, all generic megaloblastic anemia and cobalamin papers, none naming dapsone); a longer phrasing ("dapsone vitamin B12 folate serum levels deficiency") hit a fetch error and a 429. The 1989 report [12] was not re-opened because no new channel for its abstract was available.

Channel outcomes

Two clean zeros on completed title searches; web search, PubMed and Europe PMC unavailable. Tooling-limited, with no dapsone and B12 lead found. The megaloblastic case report [12] remains the only lead and it names a co-drug (trimethoprim).

The five body-system areas

Each finding is counted once, in a single area. Where a study is mentioned in a second area it is context only.

Mitochondrial Burden

Each finding below is counted once, in this area only.

Mitochondrial burden

Not graded โ€” disclosed evidence gap

See study details

No dapsone-specific or defensible class-level evidence on mitochondrial structure, electron transport or biogenesis was retrieved.

Full detail and limits

What the grade means here: Nothing has been measured here, so this finding cannot be graded. That does not establish either safety or harm, and it is not the same as a White result. Ungraded

Limits on what this shows

  • Why no grade: Dual condition met: no Tier B or C source was opened to support even a yellow grade, and no circulating consumer claim of dapsone mitochondrial damage was found to rebut. This is a disclosed gap, not a finding of safety. Re-check when PubMed and Europe PMC access is available.

What was searched

Crossref title search for "dapsone oxidative stress mitochondria": 15 records returned, none with dapsone in the title (all generic mitochondria and oxidative stress papers). Further Crossref title searches phrased around "dapsone mitochondrial", "dapsone mitochondria respiration", "dapsone mitochondrial membrane potential ATP" and "dapsone mitochondrial toxicity" were rate-limited (429) or returned fetch errors. One web search was refused because the shared search budget was exhausted. PubMed listing pages returned 429 and the tool asked not to retry them. Repair pass: WebSearch retried for "dapsone mitochondria hydroxylamine mitochondrial function respiration" and refused again (budget used up). Crossref bibliographic search "dapsone hydroxylamine mitochondrial toxicity" completed (20 records, all dapsone or hydroxylamine records on methemoglobin, hemolysis, procoagulant red cells, cytotoxicity and neutrophil chemotaxis; no title mentioning mitochondria). Crossref search "dapsone mitochondrial membrane potential ATP cells" completed (20 records, all generic mitochondrial papers, none naming dapsone). Europe PMC REST search (dapsone with copper terms) was refused by the proxy (429) twice. One caveat: Crossref returns titles only, so a mitochondrial finding inside the abstract of a dapsone paper would not be visible.

Channel outcomes

Label [1]: no mitochondrial content in the sections retrieved. OpenAlex list and search endpoints returned fetch errors; single-DOI lookups worked but only for records already identified. Repair pass: three completed Crossref searches with no mitochondrial dapsone title, plus the red-cell chapter on dapsone hydroxylamine [16] (see Sources) whose full text could not be read. Red cells have no mitochondria, so the hydroxylamine red-cell work in [8] is not mitochondrial evidence. Partly tooling-limited (no PubMed, Europe PMC or web search), but no lead was found.

Oxidative Stress

Each finding below is counted once, in this area only.

Oxidative stress: erythrocyte oxidant injury from the hydroxylamine metabolite; human markers mixed and regimen-confounded

Yellow โ€” Low

See study details

Dapsone's oxidized metabolite injures red cells, and one human multidrug-therapy cohort that included dapsone showed lower catalase activity but higher glutathione and no change in lipid peroxidation, so no consistent antioxidant depletion is shown.

Full detail and limits

What the grade means here: Mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class extrapolation (Tier C) with no drug-specific human status data; also used for context flags and interactions running the other direction. Yellow

Limits on what this shows

  • Null findings: No change in lipid peroxidation, nitric oxide, SOD or total antioxidant capacity, and glutathione rose [7].

Regulatory status

The label describes Heinz body formation and hemolysis but no antioxidant-nutrient effect [1].

Population evidence

Clinical oxidative stress during leprosy multidrug therapy [7]: 23 leprosy patients (dapsone, clofazimine, rifampicin) and 20 healthy people in the Brazilian Amazon, sampled before treatment and through month 3. Methemoglobin and Heinz body counts rose significantly after the third supervised dose; catalase activity fell significantly; glutathione content rose; lipid peroxidation, nitric oxide, superoxide dismutase and total antioxidant capacity did not change significantly. Plasma dapsone was 0.518 +/- 0.029 ug/mL (multibacillary) and 0.662 +/- 0.123 ug/mL (paucibacillary). Read as an OpenAlex abstract paraphrased by a summarizing fetch tool; p-values, correlations with dapsone level and full text were not retrieved. Dapsone is in the cohort only as one component of a three-drug regimen. In vitro, the hydroxylamine metabolite triggered band 3 aggregation and antibody binding in human red cells [8].

Mechanism

Present: the N-hydroxylated metabolite is the species linked to methemoglobin formation and red-cell damage [7][8]; the authors of [7] also examined redox mechanisms of the metabolite and modeled dapsone binding to CYP2C19, which is not interpreted here. A 1995 report on the metabolite and red-cell sulfhydryl status was seen as a title only (abstract not available) and is not used [13].

Class cohort test

Not a class extrapolation. Dapsone was in the cohort [7], but with rifampicin and clofazimine, so attribution to dapsone alone is not established. No other-class borrowing was used.

Counter-evidence held on record

Counter-evidence The only human marker study is mixed and confounded by two co-drugs and by leprosy itself. A Tier D page states dapsone inhibits myeloperoxidase [10], an anti-inflammatory enzyme effect that was not verified in a primary source here. Framing caution Redox injury is a drug toxicity mechanism, not an antioxidant-vitamin deficiency. Do not use this entry to recommend antioxidant supplements; see the vitamin E entry for the one trial.

Copper and Iron Balance

Copper and iron are assessed separately. Nothing here is counted twice.

Copper

Not graded โ€” disclosed evidence gap

See study details

No evidence on dapsone and copper status was retrieved.

Full detail and limits

What the grade means here: Nothing has been measured here, so this finding cannot be graded. That does not establish either safety or harm, and it is not the same as a White result. Ungraded

Limits on what this shows

  • Why no grade: Dual condition met: no Tier B or C source opened and no circulating copper claim for dapsone found. Disclosed gap, not reassurance. Kept independent of the Iron entry (Hard Rule 7). Re-check recommended.

What was searched

The label text [1] has no copper statement. A copper-specific Crossref title search could not be completed in this review because of rate limiting (429); no copper phrasing was returned by any other opened record. Web search was unavailable. Repair pass, completed Crossref searches: "dapsone copper ceruloplasmin" (15 records, all generic copper and ceruloplasmin papers, none naming dapsone); "dapsone serum copper" run as a title search (15 records, all titled only "Dapsone", i.e. drug monograph digests with no copper content in the title); "leprosy serum copper zinc ceruloplasmin" (15 generic trace element papers, none about leprosy); "dapsone copper zinc trace elements leprosy serum" (20 records, none about dapsone or leprosy); "leprosy patients serum copper zinc" (20 records, two about leprosy: a 1993 serum lactoferrin study in lepromatous leprosy and a 2021 serum zinc study in leprosy patients, DOI 10.9734/bpi/nfmmr/v1/11351d; neither was opened, neither is a copper study, and neither isolates dapsone). A PubMed "dapsone copper" listing and a PubChem pug_view fetch were refused (429); the OpenAlex search endpoint returned a fetch error; WebSearch was refused (budget used up).

Channel outcomes

Searched across five completed Crossref queries with several phrasings (copper, ceruloplasmin, trace elements, leprosy), none returning a dapsone and copper record. Because Crossref gives titles only and PubMed, Europe PMC and web search were blocked, this remains partly tooling-limited, but it is no longer an unsearched entry: no title-level lead exists in the channel that did work.

Iron

Not graded โ€” disclosed evidence gap

See study details

No evidence on dapsone and iron absorption, stores or status was opened; anemia from hemolysis is not iron deficiency.

Full detail, limits and 1 references

What the grade means here: Nothing has been measured here, so this finding cannot be graded. That does not establish either safety or harm, and it is not the same as a White result. Ungraded

Limits on what this shows

  • Why no grade: Dual condition met: no opened Tier B or C source supports even yellow, and no circulating iron claim for dapsone was found. The hemoglobin fall is covered in the Oxygen delivery entry and is not re-counted here. Not reassurance. Kept independent of Copper (Hard Rule 7).

What was searched

Crossref title search "dapsone iron deficiency anaemia": 15 records returned, none with dapsone in the title. A Reactions Weekly record titled "Dapsone/ferrous oxalate" (2011) appeared in a Crossref listing; OpenAlex held no abstract and the Springer page fetched for its DOI showed an unrelated daptomycin case, so the content was not opened and is not used [15]. The Naik and Byrd cohorts report hemoglobin but not ferritin or iron indices [3][4]. A plain "dapsone iron" title search was rate-limited. Repair pass: the Crossref search "dapsone iron ferritin anemia" completed (20 records); the only dapsone records were "Hemolysis and Anemia Induced by Dapsone Hydroxylamine" (2012, IntechOpen chapter by Dona, Ragazzi, Clari and Bordin, DOI 10.5772/30462) and a 2024 preprint "Dapsone-Induced Heinz Body Hemolytic Anemia" (DOI 10.22541/au.172678249.96489126/v1). The chapter page on IntechOpen was opened but showed only the title and metadata, with no iron, ferritin or other nutrient text and no mechanism text (the body is in a PDF that was not retrieved) [16]. The preprint was not opened. An earlier "dapsone iron deficiency anaemia" search also returned nothing dapsone-titled. A second phrasing, "dapsone ferritin serum iron anaemia leprosy", hit a fetch error.

Channel outcomes

Mixed: two completed title searches without an iron-and-dapsone study, an unopened interaction record [15], and two unopened hemolysis records; web search and PubMed were unavailable. Tooling-limited, with the interaction record and the hemolysis chapter full text as the leads to re-check.

Gut Microbiome Risk

Each finding below is counted once, in this area only.

Gut microbiome risk

Not graded โ€” disclosed evidence gap

See study details

No study of dapsone and gut microbiome composition, diversity or function was retrieved.

Full detail and limits

What the grade means here: Nothing has been measured here, so this finding cannot be graded. That does not establish either safety or harm, and it is not the same as a White result. Ungraded

Limits on what this shows

  • Why no grade: Dual condition met: no Tier B or C source and no circulating claim found. A leprosy multidrug microbiome study, had one been found, would be regimen-confounded and capped at yellow. Not reassurance.

What was searched

Crossref title search "dapsone gut microbiota OR microbiome OR intestinal flora": 15 records, none dapsone-related. Crossref title search "gut microbiome leprosy patients multidrug therapy dapsone rifampicin": returned dapsone-leprosy papers (pharmacokinetics, adverse reactions, an oxidative stress study) but no microbiome study. The label text retrieved [1] did not report a microbiome or C. difficile statement, though the request did not ask for it specifically. Repair pass: Crossref bibliographic search "leprosy gut microbiota multidrug therapy" completed (20 records, all Leprosy Review articles on multidrug therapy outcomes, none on microbiota); "gut microbiome leprosy patients 16S rRNA" completed (20 records, generic 16S gut microbiome papers in insects, eels, dogs and humans, none on leprosy); title search "gut microbiota leprosy" completed (20 generic gut microbiota titles, none on leprosy). A title search "leprosy microbiome" hit a fetch error. WebSearch for "leprosy multidrug therapy gut microbiome dapsone 16S" was refused (budget used up).

Channel outcomes

Five completed title-level searches, none with a leprosy or dapsone microbiome study; PubMed, Europe PMC and web search unavailable. Plausibly a true gap for this drug, but unconfirmed because Crossref ranking is noisy and shows no abstracts.

Oxygen and ATP Output

Oxygen delivery and ATP production are assessed separately. Nothing here is counted twice.

Oxygen delivery/utilization: dose-related hemolysis, hemoglobin fall and methemoglobinemia, bounded to dose, G6PD or methemoglobin reductase deficiency, and older age (drug toxicity, not a nutrient deficiency)

Orange โ€” Moderate

See study details

Dapsone lowers hemoglobin in most patients (about 1 to 2 g/dL) and raises methemoglobin through an oxidizing metabolite; the fall is larger with higher dose, older age and G6PD deficiency. This is an adverse drug reaction written up as an oxygen-carrying outcome, direction: toxicity (reduced red-cell mass and functional hemoglobin), not nutrient depletion.

Full detail and limits

What the grade means here: At least one Tier A source with this drug in the cohort showing a real but bounded deficit: an exposure window, a subgroup, low frequency, or a functional rather than circulating deficit. Orange

Limits on what this shows

  • Null findings: None found for the hemoglobin fall itself. A human trial of vitamin E in 16 dapsone patients showed no significant hemoglobin, reticulocyte or haptoglobin change from the vitamin, so the fall was not reversed by it [6]. In the malaria trial the comparator regimen (amodiaquine plus sulfadoxine-pyrimethamine) also dropped hematocrit by 1.3% per day regardless of G6PD status, so some of that trial's decline is attributable to malaria and the comparator, not only dapsone [5].
  • At-risk subgroups: G6PD deficiency and methemoglobin reductase deficiency [1][5]; older age and higher daily dose [3]; pre-existing anemia, malnutrition, malaria or intestinal parasitism (the Byrd and Gelber authors flag these as compromising baseline hemoglobin) [3]; severe cardiopulmonary disease [1]; neonates via breast milk [1].

Regulatory status

Label [1]: "Dose-related hemolysis is the most common adverse effect"; nearly all patients show a loss of 1 to 2 g of hemoglobin, a reticulocyte rise of 2 to 12%, shortened red-cell lifespan and elevated methemoglobin; G6PD-deficient patients respond more strongly. Severe anemia should be treated before starting; frequent complete blood counts are advised (the FDA Dermatology Advisory Committee suggestion quoted in the label is weekly for the first month, monthly for six months, then semi-annually). Hemolysis and methemoglobin may be poorly tolerated in severe cardiopulmonary disease.

Population evidence

(a) Byrd and Gelber 1991 [3]: retrospective analysis of 100 leprosy patients starting daily dapsone (generally 100 mg/day); mean hemoglobin fell from 14.25 +/- 1.27 to a nadir of 12.31 +/- 1.61 g/dL (P below 0.001); 83% fell by 1 g/dL or more and 16% by 3 g/dL or more; larger fall with older age (P 0.004 or lower) and with higher daily dose (P below 0.001). (b) Naik 2024 [4]: retrospective hospital series, 36 leprosy patients on multidrug therapy; 83.3% had a hemoglobin fall; mean 13.05 +/- 1.8 to 11.8 +/- 1.9 g/dL (P below 0.05); dapsone was stopped in 33.3% and 25% met the authors' definition of confirmed dapsone hemolysis. (c) Secondary analysis of an open-label randomized trial in 702 children with uncomplicated P. falciparum malaria [5] (those followed for 28 days were genotyped for G6PD A-): in the arm given chlorproguanil-dapsone plus artesunate (dapsone is a fixed-combination component), hematocrit fell 1.94% per day (95% CI 1.54 to 2.33) in G6PD A- deficient children versus 1.05% per day (95% CI 0.95 to 1.15) in G6PD-normal children over the first 4 days; severe anemia relative risk 10.2 (95% CI 1.8 to 59.3) for G6PD-deficient children given that regimen (the comparator group was not stated in the summary read; it is presumably G6PD-normal children). Sample sizes by genotype were not retrieved. An audit of dapsone-associated methemoglobinemia in renal transplant recipients exists but its abstract was unavailable and it is not used [14]. Abstracts were read through OpenAlex reconstructions and a summarizing fetch tool; full texts were not opened.

Mechanism

Present and named. The N-hydroxylated metabolite (dapsone hydroxylamine), not the parent sulfone, altered red-cell membrane band 3 (tyrosine phosphorylation, aggregation) and increased autologous IgG binding in red cells from healthy donors, and the same changes appeared in red cells from two patients on dapsone, which may shorten red-cell lifespan [8]. The same metabolite drives methemoglobin formation [1][7][8].

Hard Rule 2 justification for orange

This entry is graded above yellow on purpose and against the usual caution that a drug toxicity outcome should not exceed yellow unless a nutrient is measured. The justification: the Oxygen delivery/utilization category is defined by hemoglobin, hematocrit, red-cell mass and functional hemoglobin, and those variables were measured directly (hemoglobin in [3][4]; hematocrit in [5]; methemoglobin and hemolysis markers in [1]). The entry makes no iron, folate or B12 deficiency claim and no supplementation claim; anemia is explicitly not filed as a nutrient deficiency; iron, folate and B12 are separate entries. Orange (bounded) rather than red because the exposure is conditional on dose, G6PD status and age, no nutrient is measured, and the multidrug and combination cohorts [4][5] do not isolate dapsone. This matches how other drug-toxicity oxygen-delivery entries in this series have been handled.

Counter-evidence held on record

Counter-evidence and confounding Cohort [4] used multidrug therapy (rifampicin and clofazimine accompany dapsone), [5] used a fixed dapsone combination with artesunate in children with acute malaria (malaria itself lowers hemoglobin), and [3] and [4] are retrospective with no unexposed comparator, so baseline-to-nadir change is the exposure contrast. A Tier D page states hemolysis occurs in about 20% of patients [10]; that figure is not reconciled here with the 83% hemoglobin-fall rates and may refer to clinically overt hemolysis under a stricter definition. Framing caution This is a drug toxicity monitoring signal, not an iron, folate or B12 deficiency and not a reason to supplement anything. Anemia is an outcome (Hard Rule 2). Do not infer an oxygen-carrying nutrient gap from this entry.

ATP production

Not graded โ€” disclosed evidence gap

See study details

No evidence on dapsone and cellular ATP synthesis or energy output was retrieved.

Full detail and limits

What the grade means here: Nothing has been measured here, so this finding cannot be graded. That does not establish either safety or harm, and it is not the same as a White result. Ungraded

Limits on what this shows

  • Why no grade: Dual condition met: no Tier B or C evidence and no circulating "low energy" claim for dapsone found. Not a finding of safety. Kept independent of Mitochondrial burden and Oxygen delivery/utilization (Hard Rule 7); the reduced oxygen-carrying capacity from methemoglobin is a separate, graded entry and is not converted into an ATP claim here.

What was searched

The same Crossref title searches as Mitochondrial burden, including the ATP and membrane potential phrasing (rate-limited). No ATP, respiration or oxidative phosphorylation study of dapsone was found in any opened source. Repair pass: the Crossref search "dapsone mitochondrial membrane potential ATP cells" completed and returned 20 generic ATP and membrane potential papers, none naming dapsone; WebSearch was refused again (budget used up).

Channel outcomes

As above: two completed title searches in the repair pass with no dapsone-titled ATP hit, on top of the earlier partial searches. Mostly tooling-limited (title-only search, no abstract search), with no lead found.

Claims checked and not supported

These circulate online for this medication. They are listed here only so they can be answered, never as findings, and they are not graded.

A claim with no supporting evidence is not necessarily disproven. Where evidence actually argues against a claim, that is stated below.

  • Hemolysis "in about 20%" as the extent of oxygen-carrying impact

    Where it comes from: Wikipedia dapsone page (Tier D) [10], which also states methemoglobinemia in about 15% of long-term users at 100 mg/day.

    Why it fails: As a description of hemoglobin fall it understates the label ("nearly all patients" lose 1 to 2 g of hemoglobin) [1] and cohort data (83% with a fall of 1 g/dL or more [3]; 83.3% with a fall [4]). The figure may refer to clinically overt hemolysis; the sources opened do not reconcile it. Not a nutrient claim; listed because it touches the oxygen delivery category.

  • Vitamin E prevents or reverses dapsone hemolysis

    Where it comes from: No consumer page making this claim was opened; it is listed because a published trial tested the idea [6].

    Why it fails: The one trial opened found no substantial change in hemoglobin, reticulocytes, haptoglobin or red-cell survival on vitamin E, with only the Heinz body count falling in 9 of 15 patients [6]. Small and uncontrolled, so it does not prove no benefit, but it does not support the claim. Direction: nutrient affecting the drug effect, a timing and interaction question (Hard Rule 4), filed separately as the Vitamin E yellow entry.

  • Vitamin C reverses dapsone methemoglobinemia (provisional, tooling-limited)

    Where it comes from: A 2013 emergency-medicine case report titled "High-dose vitamin C management in dapsone-induced methemoglobinemia" [11], plus a similarly titled 2025 report seen only in a Crossref listing.

    Why it fails: Only titles and metadata were seen; OpenAlex held no abstract for [11], so no outcome was read. A case report cannot establish efficacy in any case. Held out as a claim pending a re-check; not rebutted on the merits and not graded white.

How the body handles this medication

Absorption and exposure
"Rapidly and almost completely absorbed." Peak concentration at 4 to 8 hours; a plateau needs at least 8 days of daily dosing. At 200 mg/day the average concentration was 2.3 ug/mL (range 0.1 to 7.0). Leprosy doses of 50 to 100 mg/day give levels above the usual minimum inhibitory concentration. Bioavailability and protein binding are not given in the label text retrieved.[1] label, Clinical Pharmacology
Elimination
About 85% of the daily intake is recoverable in urine, mainly as water-soluble metabolites. Half-life 10 to 50 hours, averaging 28 hours. Dapsone levels are influenced by acetylation rate (stated under Dosage).[1] label, Clinical Pharmacology and Dosage
Metabolism and enzymes
The label text retrieved does not describe CYP or NAT2 metabolism and does not state enzyme induction or inhibition by dapsone. The toxic species is the N-hydroxylated metabolite (dapsone hydroxylamine) [8]. A Tier D page names several CYP isoforms inconsistently and is not used for any grade.[1][8][10]
Drug interactions that change exposure
Rifampin lowers dapsone levels 7 to 10 fold; no dose change was needed in leprosy. Trimethoprim (100 mg dapsone with 5 mg/kg every 6 hours): dapsone 2.1 +/- 1.0 versus 1.5 +/- 0.5 ug/mL, trimethoprim 18.4 +/- 5.2 versus 12.4 +/- 4.5 ug/mL, a mutual rise of about 1.5 times. Folic acid antagonists (pyrimethamine) may increase hematologic reaction risk, with agranulocytosis in months 2 and 3 on weekly pyrimethamine.[1] label, Precautions
Hemolysis and G6PD
Hemolysis and Heinz body formation "may be exaggerated" in G6PD and methemoglobin reductase deficiency and are often dose-related. Hemolysis and methemoglobin may be poorly tolerated in severe cardiopulmonary disease. Methylene blue is the overdose treatment of choice for methemoglobinemia but is not to be given to fully expressed G6PD deficiency.[1] label, Warnings, Precautions, Overdosage
Food, antacid and special populations
The label text retrieved does not address food, antacid or didanosine interactions. A 1994 study of altered gastric pH and dapsone absorption was seen as a title only and was not opened. Pregnancy Category C; dapsone is excreted in breast milk and neonatal hemolysis can occur. Toxic hepatitis and cholestatic jaundice are reported early in therapy.[1] label, Precautions

What the research says is worth watching

General information from the medication label and the studies above. It is not personal medical advice, and any change belongs with your prescriber.

  • Lab / label schedule

    Complete blood count and hemoglobin

    The label calls for frequent complete blood counts and quotes a suggested schedule of weekly for the first month, monthly for six months, then semi-annually. Severe anemia should be treated before therapy and hemoglobin followed [1]. A hemoglobin fall of about 1 to 2 g/dL is expected [1][3]; a fall of 3 g/dL or more occurred in 16% in one cohort [3].

  • Lab / symptoms

    Methemoglobin

    Worth measuring by co-oximetry if there is cyanosis, breathlessness, headache or an oxygen saturation that does not match symptoms, especially with cardiopulmonary disease [1]. A Tier D page notes pulse oximetry can mislead in methemoglobinemia [10].

  • Before therapy

    G6PD status

    Hemolysis is exaggerated in G6PD and methemoglobin reductase deficiency [1][5]. Methylene blue is not to be given to fully expressed G6PD deficiency [1].

  • Lab / only if needed

    Folate, B12 and ferritin

    Consider only if macrocytosis or anemia persists beyond what reticulocytosis explains, or when a folate antagonist (pyrimethamine, trimethoprim) is co-prescribed [1]. This is a monitoring prompt, not a finding that dapsone depletes these nutrients.

  • Timing

    Supplements and drug interactions

    No supplement separation interval is given in the label [1]. High-dose vitamin E did not improve hemoglobin in the one trial opened [6]; the NIH upper limit for supplemental vitamin E is 1,000 mg/day [9], and no vitamin dose is recommended here. Rifampin lowers dapsone levels 7 to 10 fold and trimethoprim raises them about 1.5 times [1].

  • Special populations

    Pregnancy, neonates, liver, age

    Pregnancy Category C; dapsone passes into breast milk and neonatal hemolysis can occur. Liver function checks are suggested early in therapy [1]. Older age predicted a larger hemoglobin fall [3]. Renal and pediatric dosing were not addressed in the label sections retrieved.

Overlap map, to prevent double counting

  • Oxygen delivery/utilization

    Shares evidence with: Oxidative stress

    Note: Both rest on the same mechanism (the hydroxylamine metabolite oxidizing hemoglobin and damaging red cells [7][8]) and the same methemoglobin and Heinz body data from the multidrug cohort [7]. Treat as one mechanism and one dataset, not two independent confirmations.

  • Oxygen delivery/utilization

    Shares evidence with: Vitamin E

    Note: The vitamin E trial's endpoints (hemoglobin, reticulocytes, haptoglobin, red-cell survival) are the same oxygen-delivery measures, read in the nutrient-to-drug direction [6]. Not a second oxygen-delivery cohort.

  • Oxygen delivery/utilization

    Shares evidence with: Folate

    Note: The reticulocyte rise from hemolysis in the label [1] is the only support for a folate utilization inference. One label statement used twice, for different purposes.

  • Oxygen delivery/utilization

    Shares evidence with: Iron; Vitamin B12; Folate

    Note: Any anemia from nutrient deficiency would be mediated by those entries and is not counted in the oxygen delivery entry. The hemoglobin fall documented here is drug toxicity, not a nutrient deficiency (Hard Rule 2).

  • Mitochondrial burden

    Shares evidence with: ATP production

    Note: Both ungraded for the same reason: the same completed and rate-limited title searches. One gap viewed twice.

  • Copper

    Shares evidence with: Iron

    Note: No shared source. Graded separately per Hard Rule 7; copper's search was weaker than iron's.

  • Gut microbiome risk

    Shares evidence with: None

    Note: No shared evidence with any other entry.

All references used above
  1. Dapsone tablets USP 25 mg and 100 mg, DailyMed label (Everest Life Sciences, LLC), set ID 1d026bb6-05da-e9cf-e063-6394a90a2485. โ€” Regulatory label (Tier A). Unnumbered sections read through a summarizing fetch tool: Indications, Warnings, Precautions, Adverse Reactions, Clinical Pharmacology, Overdosage. The retrieved text was marked revised 9/2024; the DailyMed listing shows two versions (v1 September 2, 2024; v2 January 8, 2026), so the text read may not be the current version.
  2. WHO Collaborating Centre, ATC/DDD Index: dapsone, J04BA02, DDD 50 mg oral. โ€” Reference index; group J04BA "Drugs for treatment of lepra".
  3. Byrd SR, Gelber RH. Effect of dapsone on haemoglobin concentration in patients with leprosy. Lepr Rev 1991;62(2). โ€” Retrospective cohort, 100 leprosy patients on dapsone (generally 100 mg/day). PMID 1870379. DOI 10.5935/0305-7518.19910020. Abstract only, read as an OpenAlex reconstruction; the full-text PDF was blocked by robots rules and not opened. Dapsone is the studied drug (Tier A).
  4. Naik KP, Ganguly S, Shukla AK, Chhabra N, Prabha N, Ahmed G. Dapsone-induced haemolysis among leprosy patients on MDT from an endemic area of central India. J Family Med Prim Care 2024;13(9):3887-3891. โ€” Retrospective hospital analysis, 36 leprosy patients on multidrug therapy. PMID 39464957. DOI 10.4103/jfmpc.jfmpc_338_24. Abstract only via OpenAlex reconstruction.Multidrug therapy: dapsone is in the cohort but with rifampicin and clofazimine, so attribution is not isolated.
  5. High Risk of Severe Anaemia after Chlorproguanil-Dapsone+Artesunate Antimalarial Treatment in Patients with G6PD (A-) Deficiency. PLoS ONE 2008. โ€” Secondary analysis of an open-label randomized trial, 702 children. PMID 19112496. DOI 10.1371/journal.pone.0004031. Authors not captured. Abstract read as an OpenAlex reconstruction paraphrased by a summarizing fetch tool; the PLoS article page returned 429 and was not opened.Dapsone is a component of a fixed combination (chlorproguanil-dapsone) given with artesunate; the comparator regimen also lowered hematocrit. Attribution to dapsone alone is not isolated.
  6. Kelly JW. Vitamin E and dapsone-induced hemolysis. Arch Dermatol 1984;120(12):1582. โ€” Clinical study (record type), 16 patients on dapsone 100 mg/day given vitamin E for up to 3 months. PMID 6508329. DOI 10.1001/archderm.1984.01650480044015. Abstract only via OpenAlex reconstruction (one word inferred by the tool); full text paywalled and not opened.
  7. Clinical Oxidative Stress during Leprosy Multidrug Therapy: Impact of Dapsone Oxidation. PLoS ONE 2014. โ€” Prospective-style cohort, 23 leprosy patients and 20 healthy controls (Brazilian Amazon). PMID 24465659. DOI 10.1371/journal.pone.0085712. Authors not captured. Abstract paraphrased by a summarizing fetch tool from an OpenAlex record; the PLoS full text returned 429 and was not opened.Multidrug therapy with rifampicin and clofazimine; dapsone not isolated.
  8. Dapsone hydroxylamine induces premature removal of human erythrocytes by membrane reorganization and antibody binding. Br J Pharmacol 2010. โ€” In vitro study with red cells from healthy donors and from two dapsone-treated patients. PMID 20662842. DOI 10.1111/j.1476-5381.2010.00962.x. Abstract summarized by the fetch tool, not quoted; full text not opened. Tier B (mechanism, dapsone metabolite).
  9. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements. Vitamin E: Fact Sheet for Health Professionals. โ€” Adult UL 1,000 mg/day of supplemental alpha-tocopherol, any form; page marked updated March 26, 2021. Used for the upper-limit check only.
  10. Wikipedia. Dapsone. โ€” Tier D for evidence purposes. Used only as a circulating-claim origin (hemolysis in about 20%, methemoglobinemia in about 15%, myeloperoxidase inhibition, bacterial dihydrofolate synthesis, inconsistent CYP isoforms).
  11. Park SY, Lee KW, Kang TS. High-dose vitamin C management in dapsone-induced methemoglobinemia. Am J Emerg Med 2014;32(6):684.e1-684.e3. โ€” Case report. PMID 24439259. DOI 10.1016/j.ajem.2013.11.036.Not opened: OpenAlex held no abstract. Title and metadata only; no result is used.
  12. Megaloblastic pancytopenia associated with dapsone and trimethoprim treatment of Pneumocystis carinii pneumonia in the acquired immunodeficiency syndrome. Arch Intern Med 1989. โ€” Case report by title. DOI 10.1001/archinte.1989.00390040157038.Not opened: title and metadata only. Trimethoprim is a co-drug.
  13. Dapsone-induced hemolytic anemia: effect of dapsone hydroxylamine on sulfhydryl status, membrane skeletal proteins and morphology of human and rat erythrocytes. J Pharmacol Exp Ther 1995. โ€” In vitro. PMID 7616443.Not opened: OpenAlex held no abstract. Title only; no result is used.
  14. An audit of dapsone-associated methaemoglobinaemia in renal transplant recipients. Nephrology 2014. โ€” Audit. PMID 25156437. DOI 10.1111/nep.12291.Not opened: OpenAlex held no abstract. Title and metadata only; not used for any grade.
  15. Dapsone/ferrous oxalate. Reactions Weekly 2011;1382:17. โ€” Case-report digest by title. DOI 10.2165/00128415-201113820-00058.Not opened: no abstract at OpenAlex; the Springer page for the DOI showed an unrelated record. Not used.
  16. Dona G, Ragazzi E, Clari G, Bordin L. Hemolysis and Anemia Induced by Dapsone Hydroxylamine. In: Anemia (IntechOpen), 2012. โ€” Book chapter, mechanistic review of the dapsone hydroxylamine metabolite. DOI 10.5772/30462.Page opened but only the title and metadata were visible; the chapter text is in a PDF that was not retrieved. No result is used for any grade.