Skip to main content

Clonazepam

benzodiazepine derivative, antiepileptic/anxiolytic

Also sold as Klonopin.

Findings for this medication

Research about this medication, graded for how strongly each finding can be attributed to it. Nothing here describes your own levels.

Clonazepam has no classical depletion machinery in the way phenytoin, carbamazepine, and phenobarbital do. Its own FDA label names those three drugs, plus lamotrigine, as cytochrome P450 inducers that lower clonazepam's own plasma levels by about 38 percent, and it names fluconazole and other CYP3A4 inhibitors as raising them. The direction runs into clonazepam, not out of it: clonazepam itself is not listed as an enzyme inducer, is not shown to chelate minerals, alter gastric pH, or waste electrolytes renally, and is more than 98 percent hepatically metabolized with well under 2 percent excreted unchanged. That single fact rules out the induction-driven vitamin D and folate catabolism pathway that is well established for the older, enzyme-inducing anticonvulsants, and this dossier could not find any clonazepam-specific literature, positive or negative, testing whether that pathway operates anyway. Despite its dual FDA-approved seizure and panic-disorder indications, clonazepam does not appear to share the classical antiepileptic drug depletion signature seen with the inducing agents.

benzodiazepine derivative, antiepileptic/anxiolytic · ATC N03AE01 · also sold as Klonopin and generics · reviewed 2026-09-29. This describes research about the medication. It does not say anything about your own levels or health.

How to read the evidence grades

These colours describe how strongly a finding can be attributed to the medication in the research. They are not a severity score and they say nothing about your own health.

Grades describe how strongly a finding can be attributed to Clonazepam in the research — not how common it is, how serious it would be, and not anything about you personally.

Red — Severe
Two or more independent Tier A sources, this drug in the cohort, the nutrient directly measured, consistent direction, clinically meaningful magnitude, a named mechanism, no substantial contradicting Tier A evidence.
Orange — Moderate
At least one Tier A source with this drug in the cohort showing a real but bounded deficit: an exposure window, a subgroup, low frequency, or a functional rather than circulating deficit.
Yellow — Low
Mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class extrapolation (Tier C) with no drug-specific human status data; also used for context flags and interactions running the other direction.
Not graded — disclosed evidence gap
Nothing has been measured here, so this finding cannot be graded. That does not establish either safety or harm, and it is not the same as a White result.Source definition: Not gradeable under the rules above because nothing has been measured. Published as a documented gap, never as reassurance that there is no effect.

What the research found

Vitamin D

Not graded — disclosed evidence gap

See study details

The mechanism that causes vitamin D depletion with classical enzyme-inducing anticonvulsants does not apply to clonazepam, and a completed, multi-source follow-up found no clonazepam-specific literature confirming a vitamin D effect, plus two sources that reviewed clonazepam directly and did not attribute vitamin D or bone risk to it.

Full detail, limits and 2 references

What the grade means here: Nothing has been measured here, so this finding cannot be graded. That does not establish either safety or harm, and it is not the same as a White result. ungraded

Limits on what this shows

  • Why no grade: The dual condition for ungraded is met: no Tier B or C evidence supporting even a yellow grade for clonazepam specifically, and no circulating claim specific to clonazepam to rebut as white.

Channels tried

Mechanism screen: clonazepam's own FDA label names phenytoin, carbamazepine, lamotrigine, and phenobarbital as inducers of clonazepam's metabolism, the reverse direction from clonazepam inducing anything; clonazepam itself is not listed as an inducer anywhere in its label, which is the pathway responsible for accelerated vitamin D catabolism in those other drugs. Crossref bibliographic search ("clonazepam vitamin D bone mineral density"): returned eight substantive, unrelated results, none naming clonazepam or benzodiazepines. The previously incomplete PubMed follow-up on benzodiazepine plus fracture or bone-mineral-density was re-run and completed in this review: it returned Schousboe et al 2023, which studied liver-enzyme-inducing anticonvulsants specifically (carbamazepine, phenobarbital, phenytoin, valproic acid) and prevalent vertebral fracture, with clonazepam not in that cohort, consistent with the mechanism screen. A further PubMed search for "clonazepam bone mineral density" surfaced Farhat et al 2002 (Neurology 58(9):1348-1353, DOI 10.1212/wnl.58.9.1348), a cross-sectional study of 71 ambulatory epilepsy patients that explicitly classified clonazepam among the non-enzyme-inducing AEDs (with valproic acid, lamotrigine, gabapentin, topiramate, ethosuximide), separate from the enzyme-inducing group (phenytoin, phenobarbital, carbamazepine, primidone), and found enzyme-inducers had lower bone mineral density than non-inducers, especially at cortical sites. A direct PubMed search for "clonazepam vitamin D" surfaced Keränen and Sivenius 1983 (Acta Neurologica Scandinavica 68:69-80, PMID 6424398), a long-term treatment side-effect review covering carbamazepine, valproate, and clonazepam together, which attributes "disturbances of vitamin D metabolism" specifically to carbamazepine among its listed reactions and does not attribute this effect to clonazepam, whose own listed side effects in that same paper are ataxia and behavioral changes.

Assessment

This is now a thoroughly searched, well-evidenced gap rather than an unresolved tooling gap. Farhat et al 2002 does show that antiepileptic drug therapy overall, including the non-inducing group clonazepam belongs to, was associated with somewhat reduced bone mineral density across the full cohort irrespective of vitamin D level; per this dossier's own rules, bone mineral density is a clinical outcome, not a measured vitamin D level, and the same study attributes the larger, enzyme-induction-linked deficit to a different drug subgroup, so this finding is disclosed here as context and is not filed as vitamin D evidence for clonazepam. No source located in this review measured clonazepam-specific serum vitamin D, 25-hydroxyvitamin D, or PTH, in either direction, and the one source found that reviewed clonazepam's side-effect profile directly did not name vitamin D among them, while naming it for carbamazepine in the same sentence. That convergence, not a blocked search, is the basis for keeping this entry ungraded.

Folate

Not graded — disclosed evidence gap

See study details

No mechanism screen category applied and no clonazepam-specific literature on folate or homocysteine was found.

Full detail and limits

What the grade means here: Nothing has been measured here, so this finding cannot be graded. That does not establish either safety or harm, and it is not the same as a White result. ungraded

Limits on what this shows

  • Why no grade: The dual condition for ungraded is met: no Tier B or C evidence and no circulating claim.

Channels tried

Mechanism screen: absorption interference, enzyme induction, renal wasting, and cofactor antagonism were all assessed as absent for clonazepam (see Pharmacokinetic basis and Headline finding). Crossref bibliographic search ("clonazepam folate folic acid homocysteine"): returned substantive, unrelated folate and homocysteine literature (fortification, supplementation regimens, postmenopausal status), none naming clonazepam or benzodiazepines. PubMed search for clonazepam plus carnitine, run for the related anticonvulsant-carnitine question, incidentally returned no folate-relevant results either (see Carnitine note below).

Assessment

Treated as a genuine literature gap. Both channels used returned clean, substantive, on-topic results for other searches in this review, so the absence of any clonazepam-folate hit here is meaningful rather than a blocked search.

The five body-system areas

Each finding is counted once, in a single area. Where a study is mentioned in a second area it is context only.

Mitochondrial Burden

Each finding below is counted once, in this area only.

Mitochondrial burden

Yellow — Low

See study details

Cellular and ex vivo animal evidence links clonazepam to disrupted mitochondrial calcium handling, but the one available oral, therapeutic-dose, whole-brain study found no significant reduction in respiratory chain complex activity from clonazepam alone.

Full detail and limits

What the grade means here: Mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class extrapolation (Tier C) with no drug-specific human status data; also used for context flags and interactions running the other direction. yellow, low/theoretical

Limits on what this shows

  • Key negative findings: In the Mohamed et al rat study, therapeutic-dose and abuse-dose clonazepam given alone were not reported to significantly reduce complex I, II, III, or IV activity; a significant decrease in complexes I, III, and IV was seen only with tramadol (therapeutic and abuse dose) and with the tramadol-clonazepam abuse-dose combination, at doses exceeding the maximum recommended human daily dose.
  • At-risk subgroups: None established for humans; the cardiomyocyte finding raises a theoretical question for patients with pre-existing cardiac mitochondrial vulnerability, not established in this review.
  • Counter-evidence on record: See key negative findings: therapeutic-dose clonazepam alone did not impair brain ETC complexes in the one rat study that tested it directly.

Regulatory status

Not addressed in the FDA label.

Population evidence

No human study. Ex vivo: isolated rat ventricular cardiomyocytes (Griffiths et al, 1997) showed clonazepam sustains elevated mitochondrial calcium after stimulation. In vivo animal: 70 male Wistar rats given oral therapeutic or abuse-range clonazepam, alone or with tramadol (Mohamed et al, 2013); brain electron transport chain complexes I to IV were assayed.

Mechanism

Named: inhibition of the mitochondrial Na+/Ca2+ exchanger, holding mitochondrial calcium elevated after a stimulus that would normally clear it.

Counter-evidence held on record

The cardiomyocyte finding used pharmacological tool concentrations in an isolated-cell cardiac preparation, not oral human dosing, and did not measure ATP or mitochondrial mass directly. This is not evidence that oral clonazepam impairs mitochondrial function in humans, and it is not a basis for mitochondrial-support supplementation.

Oxidative Stress

Each finding below is counted once, in this area only.

Oxidative stress

Yellow — Low

See study details

In a cluster of studies from one research group, clonazepam, mostly combined with insulin, reduced oxidative damage markers and restored antioxidant enzyme activity in diabetic, depression-model rats, a protective signal, not a depletion signal.

Full detail and limits

What the grade means here: Mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class extrapolation (Tier C) with no drug-specific human status data; also used for context flags and interactions running the other direction. yellow, low/theoretical

Limits on what this shows

  • Key negative findings: All located studies come from the same research group and the same diabetes-plus-forced-swim disease model, mostly with clonazepam combined with insulin rather than alone; no independent replication in a different lab, a different disease model, or healthy (non-diabetic) animals was found.
  • At-risk subgroups: None established in humans; the model is specific to comorbid diabetes and depression in rats.
  • Counter-evidence on record: This is itself a form of counter-evidence against a depletion narrative: every drug-specific oxidative-stress study located in this review reports clonazepam moving markers toward less oxidative damage, not more.

Regulatory status

Not addressed in the FDA label.

Population evidence

Male Wistar rats with streptozotocin-induced diabetes and forced-swim-test-induced depressive behavior. Wayhs et al, 2013 (liver): insulin plus clonazepam reversed elevated protein carbonyl content and restored superoxide dismutase, catalase, and glyoxalase I activity. Wayhs et al, 2014 (brain, cortex/hippocampus/striatum): insulin plus clonazepam restored total radical-trapping antioxidant potential and reduced protein carbonyl content and reactive-oxygen-species formation (DCF oxidation). da Silva Haeser et al, 2007, and Wayhs et al, 2010 (titles only, abstracts not independently retrievable this review, see Sources) describe a parallel clonazepam-specific oxidative-stress effect in the same diabetic forced-swim model.

Mechanism

Not fully named; the authors frame it as an antioxidant-restorative effect within a disease model, not a defined biochemical pathway.

Counter-evidence held on record

This is a reverse-direction, protective-appearing finding, not a depletion signal, and it must not be marketed as reassurance or as license to skip antioxidant-relevant nutrient monitoring. It comes from one lab's disease-model rats, mostly on combination therapy with insulin, and does not establish a protective effect in healthy humans on clonazepam alone.

Copper and Iron Balance

Copper and iron are assessed separately. Nothing here is counted twice.

Copper

Yellow — Low

See study details

The only clonazepam-specific copper data is a zebrafish aquatic co-exposure study finding reduced brain copper, a route and species far removed from human oral dosing.

Full detail, limits and 1 references

What the grade means here: Mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class extrapolation (Tier C) with no drug-specific human status data; also used for context flags and interactions running the other direction. yellow, low/theoretical

Limits on what this shows

  • Key negative findings: No human or mammalian oral-dosing study of clonazepam and copper status was located; Crossref and PubMed searches for clonazepam or benzodiazepine plus copper or trace-element terms returned no drug-specific results.
  • At-risk subgroups: None established in humans.
  • Counter-evidence on record: The effect was reported for the combined carbamazepine-plus-clonazepam exposure group; the paper's brain-metal finding cannot be cleanly attributed to clonazepam alone from the data available in this review.

Regulatory status

Not addressed in the FDA label.

Population evidence

Gomes et al, 2019, Ecotoxicology and Environmental Safety 171:781-789: zebrafish (Danio rerio) exposed to environmentally relevant waterborne concentrations of carbamazepine and clonazepam, alone and combined. In brain tissue, the combined-exposure group showed decreased baseline levels of magnesium, aluminum, potassium, iron, cobalt, nickel, and copper, alongside altered glutathione S-transferase and catalase activity.

Mechanism

Not named; the paper frames this as generalized metal dyshomeostasis accompanying oxidative-enzyme disruption in exposed fish tissue, not a specific copper-handling pathway.

Counter-evidence held on record

This is an aquatic environmental-exposure model in a non-mammalian species, at waterborne concentrations meant to mimic pharmaceutical water contamination, not therapeutic oral dosing in humans. It should not be used to justify copper supplementation or avoidance in patients taking clonazepam.

Iron

Yellow — Low

See study details

The same zebrafish co-exposure study found reduced brain iron, and a separate 2026 rat gene-expression study found clonazepam altered heme oxygenase-2 expression across several brain regions; neither measured human iron status.

Full detail and limits

What the grade means here: Mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class extrapolation (Tier C) with no drug-specific human status data; also used for context flags and interactions running the other direction. yellow, low/theoretical

Limits on what this shows

  • Key negative findings: Neither study measured a functional iron marker (ferritin, transferrin saturation, hemoglobin); the gene-expression study did not isolate clonazepam's effect from escitalopram's, since both drugs were given.
  • At-risk subgroups: None established in humans.
  • Counter-evidence on record: The two sources point to different endpoints (a measured brain-tissue iron decrease in an aquatic co-exposure model versus a heme-processing enzyme's gene expression increase in an oral rat combination-therapy model) and do not reinforce each other mechanistically.

Regulatory status

Not addressed in the FDA label.

Population evidence

Gomes et al, 2019 (see Copper): combined carbamazepine-plus-clonazepam waterborne exposure decreased brain iron in zebrafish, among other metals. Pałasz et al, 2026: chronic clonazepam (and escitalopram) in Sprague-Dawley rats produced region-specific changes in heme oxygenase-2 gene and protein expression (increased across multiple brain regions), assessed by immunohistochemistry and quantitative PCR, alongside region-specific changes in neuronal nitric oxide synthase and cystathionine-beta-synthase.

Mechanism

Theoretical only: heme oxygenase-2 catabolizes heme and releases iron; altered expression is a plausible but unconfirmed link to iron handling. No copper/iron transporter or absorption mechanism is named for clonazepam specifically.

Counter-evidence held on record

Gene expression is not a nutrient level, and the zebrafish finding is not an oral mammalian dosing study. Neither source supports an iron supplementation or avoidance recommendation for patients on clonazepam.

Gut Microbiome Risk

Each finding below is counted once, in this area only.

Gut microbiome risk

Yellow — Low

See study details

An in vitro study found clonazepam has direct antibacterial activity against several bacterial species, including gut-relevant pathogens, and synergizes with ciprofloxacin, but no study measured actual gut microbiome composition change in an animal or human.

Full detail, limits and 2 references

What the grade means here: Mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class extrapolation (Tier C) with no drug-specific human status data; also used for context flags and interactions running the other direction. yellow, low/theoretical

Limits on what this shows

  • Key negative findings: No study, in this or any other search this review located, measured actual gut microbiome composition, diversity, or fecal community structure in an animal or human given clonazepam. Separately, a 2019 Science paper (Zimmermann et al, PMID 30733391, DOI 10.1126/science.aat9931) used a gnotobiotic mouse model and found the reverse direction operating as well: gut-bacterial genes participate in clonazepam's own metabolism (nitroreduction, glucuronidation, and enterohepatic cycling contribute to its serum metabolite profile), meaning this is a bidirectional drug-microbiome relationship, not evidence that clonazepam itself reshapes microbiome composition.
  • At-risk subgroups: None established in humans.
  • Counter-evidence on record: Clonazepam is more than 98 percent hepatically metabolized with under 2 percent excreted unchanged (see Pharmacokinetic basis), which bounds how much unmetabolized drug reaches the distal gut lumen at antibacterially active concentrations after oral therapeutic dosing, a limitation the in vitro susceptibility study does not address.

Regulatory status

Not addressed in the FDA label.

Population evidence

A 2023 in vitro susceptibility study (Current Microbiology, PMID 37004588, DOI 10.1007/s00284-023-03242-y; individual author names could not be retrieved in this review due to repeated rate-limiting on the bibliographic APIs) tested clonazepam and diazepam, alone and combined with ciprofloxacin, against seven ATCC reference strains and 64 clinical isolates of the six ESKAPE pathogens (Enterococcus faecium, Staphylococcus aureus, Klebsiella pneumoniae, Acinetobacter baumannii, Pseudomonas aeruginosa, Enterobacter spp). Minimum inhibitory and minimum bactericidal concentrations were determined for clonazepam against these strains, and checkerboard/FICI testing showed a synergistic effect with ciprofloxacin against almost all tested isolates. The specific numeric MIC/MBC values for clonazepam alone, separate from diazepam's, could not be extracted from the abstract-level access available in this review.

Mechanism

Not named in the accessible abstract; the paper frames this as a drug-repositioning/repurposing candidate finding (direct antibacterial activity plus antibiotic synergy), not a defined molecular mechanism.

Counter-evidence held on record

This is in vitro susceptibility testing against isolated pathogen strains at laboratory-determined concentrations, not a whole-microbiome ecology study and not a measure of dysbiosis, diarrhea, or any GI symptom in animals or humans on clonazepam. It is not a basis for probiotic supplementation or avoidance advice.

Oxygen and ATP Output

Oxygen delivery and ATP production are assessed separately. Nothing here is counted twice.

ATP production

Yellow — Low

See study details

A single ex vivo rat cardiomyocyte study found clonazepam blocks the normal post-stimulation recovery of NADH, an upstream substrate for mitochondrial ATP synthesis, at pharmacological tool concentrations.

Full detail and limits

What the grade means here: Mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class extrapolation (Tier C) with no drug-specific human status data; also used for context flags and interactions running the other direction. yellow, low/theoretical

Limits on what this shows

  • Key negative findings: The related Mohamed et al 2013 rat study found no significant reduction in electron transport chain complex I to IV activity from therapeutic or abuse-dose clonazepam given alone (see Mitochondrial burden), which bounds how far the cardiomyocyte NADH finding can be generalized to whole-brain ATP output.
  • At-risk subgroups: None established in humans.
  • Counter-evidence on record: ATP itself was not directly measured in either source; NADH recovery kinetics and ETC complex activity are both proxies, and they point in different directions across the two studies (impaired recovery in cardiomyocytes versus no measured complex-activity change in brain at therapeutic dose).

Regulatory status

Not addressed in the FDA label.

Population evidence

Griffiths et al, 1997, Cell Calcium 21(4):321-329: intact single rat ventricular cardiomyocytes, mitochondrial calcium measured by Indo-1 fluorescence, NADH by autofluorescence. With norepinephrine plus 3 Hz pacing, mitochondrial calcium rose to 517 plus or minus 115 nM and recovered on stimulus withdrawal; with clonazepam present, calcium rose further, to 937 plus or minus 192 nM, and remained elevated at 652 plus or minus 131 nM after the stimulus stopped, and NADH failed to recover during the washout period.

Mechanism

Named: clonazepam-mediated inhibition of the mitochondrial Na+/Ca2+ exchanger prevents calcium efflux, which in turn prevents the normal recovery of NADH, a substrate that feeds the electron transport chain.

Counter-evidence held on record

This is a single ex vivo cardiac electrophysiology study, not a measure of ATP itself, and not an oral human dosing study. It should not be read as evidence that clonazepam causes clinical fatigue or low cellular energy, and it is not a basis for any ATP-support supplement claim.

Oxygen delivery/utilization

Yellow — Low

See study details

The FDA label lists anemia among hematopoietic adverse reactions in seizure-disorder patients, with no incidence rate, comparator, or mechanism, so this is reported as a labeled adverse-event listing, not a demonstrated iron or B12 deficiency.

Full detail and limits

What the grade means here: Mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class extrapolation (Tier C) with no drug-specific human status data; also used for context flags and interactions running the other direction. yellow, low/theoretical

Limits on what this shows

  • Key negative findings: No clonazepam-specific human study quantifying hemoglobin, hematocrit, or oxygen-carrying capacity change was located despite a direct, clean-zero-result search.
  • At-risk subgroups: The listed adverse reactions were recorded in the seizure-disorder (epilepsy) indication population, which carries its own confounding factors (comorbidity, polypharmacy with other antiepileptics); this was not separated out in the label.
  • Counter-evidence on record: Anemia, leukopenia, and thrombocytopenia are clinical outcomes, not measurements of iron, B12, or copper status; per this dossier's own standards, an outcome cannot be filed as a specific nutrient's deficiency without a directly measured nutrient level, which does not exist here.

Regulatory status

FDA label, Adverse Reactions section: "Hematopoietic: Anemia, leukopenia, thrombocytopenia, eosinophilia," listed among adverse experiences in seizure-disorder patients, frequency not reported. The label separately advises periodic blood counts during long-term therapy.

Population evidence

No incidence rate, denominator, or comparator group is given in the label. A direct PubMed search for clonazepam plus hemoglobin or hematocrit returned zero results.

Mechanism

Not named. StatPearls separately notes rare thrombocytopenia warranting platelet monitoring, also without a mechanism.

Counter-evidence held on record

Anemia on a bare adverse-event list is not the same as an iron, B12, or copper deficiency, and it is not evidence that clonazepam impairs oxygen delivery through a nutrient-mediated pathway. This entry exists to disclose the label listing honestly, not to suggest a supplement response.

All references used above
  1. Clonazepam Tablet, prescribing information (Advagen Pharma Ltd). — FDA-approved labeling, DailyMed SPL, setid 30d674f9-f1b3-4c2d-a8e9-3bc8e476f1ec. Clinical Pharmacology, Drug Interactions, Use in Specific Populations, and Adverse Reactions sections.
  2. Clonazepam, StatPearls [Internet]. — NCBI Bookshelf, NBK556010. Pharmacokinetics, mechanism of action, and adverse-effect reference; confirms CYP3A-mediated metabolism and notes rare thrombocytopenia; contains no nutrient, mineral, mitochondrial, or oxidative-stress content.
  3. Griffiths EJ, Wei SK, Haigney MC, et al. Inhibition of mitochondrial calcium efflux by clonazepam in intact single rat cardiomyocytes and effects on NADH production. — Cell Calcium. 1997;21(4):321-329. PMID 9160168. Ex vivo rat ventricular cardiomyocytes, pharmacological tool concentration.
  4. Mohamed TM, Abdel Ghaffar HM, El Husseiny RM. Effects of tramadol, clonazepam, and their combination on brain mitochondrial complexes. — Toxicology and Industrial Health. 2013. PMID 23843224. 70 male Wistar rats, oral therapeutic and abuse-range dosing, brain ETC complexes I-IV.Direct PubMed abstract page returned no renderable content in this review; abstract retrieved via OpenAlex per-PMID lookup instead.
  5. Finsterer J, Scorza FA. Effects of antiepileptic drugs on mitochondrial functions, morphology, kinetics, biogenesis, and survival. — Epilepsy Research. 2017. PMID 28732239. Reviewed drugs: lamotrigine, valproic acid, carbamazepine, levetiracetam.Clonazepam was not among the drugs reviewed. Cited only as general antiepileptic-drug mitochondrial context in the text above, never as clonazepam-specific evidence.
  6. Wayhs CA, Tortato C, Mescka CP, et al. The association effect of insulin and clonazepam on oxidative stress in liver of an experimental animal model of diabetes and depression. — 2013. PMID 23368939. Male Wistar rats, streptozotocin diabetes plus forced swimming test; hepatic protein carbonyl, SOD, catalase, glyoxalase I.
  7. da Silva Haeser A, Sitta A, Barschak AG, et al. Oxidative stress parameters in diabetic rats submitted to forced swimming test: the clonazepam effect. — 2007. PMID 17490624. Same research group and disease model as source 6.Full abstract could not be retrieved in this review: the PubMed article page returned a Google reCAPTCHA challenge instead of content, and the OpenAlex record for this PMID had no stored abstract. Cited only by title and the search-listing metadata (authors, year, journal), consistent with the same research cluster as sources 6, 8, and 9.
  8. Wayhs CA, Manfredini V, Sitta A, et al. Protein and lipid oxidative damage in streptozotocin-induced diabetic rats submitted to forced swimming test: the insulin and clonazepam effect. — 2010. PMID 20838862. Same research group and disease model as source 6.Seen only in PubMed search-listing metadata (title, authors, year) in this review; full abstract not independently opened due to rate-limiting late in the session. Cited only by title as corroborating the same research cluster, not for any specific quantitative claim.
  9. Wayhs CA, Mescka CP, Guerreiro G, et al. Diabetic encephalopathy-related depression: experimental evidence that insulin and clonazepam restore antioxidant status in rat brain. — 2014. PMID 25431174. Wistar rats; cortex, hippocampus, striatum; carbonyl content, DCF oxidation, catalase, SOD, glutathione peroxidase, TRAP.
  10. Gomes TB, Fernandes Sales Junior S, Saint'Pierre TD, Correia FV, Hauser-Davis RA, Saggioro EM. Sublethal psychotropic pharmaceutical effects on the model organism Danio rerio: oxidative stress and metal dishomeostasis. — Ecotoxicology and Environmental Safety. 2019;171:781-789. PMID 30660971. Zebrafish, waterborne carbamazepine and clonazepam, alone and combined; brain, liver, kidney metal panel and oxidative enzymes.
  11. Pałasz A, Sygidus M, Pinna A, et al. Escitalopram and Clonazepam Affect Gasotransmitter-related Enzyme (nNOS, HO-2, CBS) Gene Expression in the Rat Brain. — 2026. PMID 41921679. Male Sprague-Dawley rats, chronic combination dosing; immunohistochemistry and quantitative PCR across brain regions.Escitalopram and clonazepam were co-administered; the abstract does not separately quantify clonazepam's isolated effect.
  12. Pinquier JL, Varastet M, Meyers D, et al. A Colon-Targeted Adsorbent (DAV132) Does Not Affect the Pharmacokinetics of Warfarin or Clonazepam in Healthy Subjects. — Clin Pharmacol Drug Dev. 2021. PMID 33434399. Human PK study; cited only to show a microbiome-protective colonic adsorbent does not alter clonazepam absorption, the reverse direction from a gut-microbiome-risk claim.
  13. Drugs.com. Clonazepam side effects. — Consumer reference cross-check for circulating nutrient-depletion claims and hematologic adverse-effect listings; none found beyond standard labeled adverse events.
  14. RxList. Klonopin (clonazepam) drug information. — Consumer/prescriber reference cross-check; confirms labeled hematopoietic adverse events and periodic blood-count recommendation; no nutrient-depletion claims found.
  15. DrugBank. Clonazepam (DB01068). — Public preview checked for metabolism, CYP enzyme, and nutrient-interaction listings; public page contained mechanism of action only, no nutrient data, full interaction database is login-gated.
  16. WHO Collaborating Centre for Drug Statistics Methodology. ATC/DDD Index, N03AE01 clonazepam. — Confirms ATC code N03AE01 and defined daily dose of 8 mg (oral and parenteral).
  17. Repositioning of Benzodiazepine Drugs and Synergistic Effect with Ciprofloxacin Against ESKAPE Pathogens. — Current Microbiology. 2023. PMID 37004588. In vitro susceptibility study, clonazepam and diazepam alone and combined with ciprofloxacin against 7 ATCC reference strains and 64 clinical isolates of the six ESKAPE pathogens.Individual author names could not be retrieved in this review: the PubMed article page and Springer landing page both returned reCAPTCHA or blocked responses to direct fetch, and the Crossref/OpenAlex API records accessed did not surface the author field before rate-limiting set in. Cited by title, journal, year, and PMID only.
  18. Zimmermann MB, Zimmermann-Kogadeeva M, Wegmann R, Goodman AL. Separating host and microbiome contributions to drug pharmacokinetics and toxicity. — Science. 2019;363(6427). PMID 30733391. Gnotobiotic mouse model; quantified microbiome versus host contributions to serum clonazepam metabolites formed by nitroreduction, glucuronidation, and enterohepatic cycling.This is the reverse direction from a gut-microbiome-risk claim, the microbiome's effect on the drug's own metabolism, not the drug's effect on microbiome composition. Cited only for that context in the Gut microbiome risk entry.
  19. Farhat G, Yamout B, Mikati MA, Demirjian S, Sawaya R, El-Hajj Fuleihan G. Effect of antiepileptic drugs on bone density in ambulatory patients. — Neurology. 2002;58(9):1348-1353. DOI 10.1212/wnl.58.9.1348. Cross-sectional study, 71 ambulatory epilepsy patients (42 adults, 29 children/adolescents); classified clonazepam among non-enzyme-inducing AEDs; enzyme-inducing AEDs showed lower bone mineral density than non-inducers, especially cortical bone.PMID could not be confirmed in this review due to rate-limiting on PubMed at the time of lookup; cited by DOI, which was independently confirmed via Crossref and OpenAlex.
  20. Keränen T, Sivenius J. Side effects of carbamazepine, valproate and clonazepam during long-term treatment of epilepsy. — Acta Neurologica Scandinavica. 1983;68:69-80. PMID 6424398. Long-term treatment side-effect review of all three drugs; attributes disturbances of vitamin D metabolism specifically to carbamazepine, not to clonazepam, whose own listed side effects in the same paper are ataxia and behavioral changes.