Skip to main content

Celecoxib

selective COX-2 inhibitor (coxib), NSAID

Also sold as Celebrex, Elyxyb, Celebra.

Findings for this medication

Research about this medication, graded for how strongly each finding can be attributed to it. Nothing here describes your own levels.

Celecoxib has little classical depletion machinery. It is cleared almost entirely by hepatic metabolism, mainly CYP2C9, with less than 3% recovered unchanged; it inhibits CYP2D6 but induces no enzyme described in the label text retrieved; and the label sections read contain no mention of folate, iron, vitamin, zinc or copper [1][2]. Its one real nutrient-relevant action runs the opposite way from depletion: through renal COX-2 inhibition it promotes sodium and fluid retention, and the label warns of edema, hyperkalemia and reduced diuretic effect [1]. That is the only finding strong enough for a color above yellow, and it is an excess/retention signal, not a deficiency.

selective COX-2 inhibitor (coxib), NSAID · ATC M01AH01 (WHO ATC/DDD Index [3]) · also sold as Celebrex and Elyxyb and Celebra; many generics [4] · reviewed 2026-10-06. This describes research about the medication. It does not say anything about your own levels or health.

How to read the evidence grades

These colours describe how strongly a finding can be attributed to the medication in the research. They are not a severity score and they say nothing about your own health.

Grades describe how strongly a finding can be attributed to Celecoxib in the research — not how common it is, how serious it would be, and not anything about you personally.

Red — Severe
Two or more independent Tier A sources, this drug in the cohort, the nutrient directly measured, consistent direction, clinically meaningful magnitude, a named mechanism, no substantial contradicting Tier A evidence.
Orange — Moderate
At least one Tier A source with this drug in the cohort showing a real but bounded deficit: an exposure window, a subgroup, low frequency, or a functional rather than circulating deficit.
Yellow — Low
Mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class extrapolation (Tier C) with no drug-specific human status data; also used for context flags and interactions running the other direction.
Not graded — disclosed evidence gap
Nothing has been measured here, so this finding cannot be graded. That does not establish either safety or harm, and it is not the same as a White result.Source definition: Not gradeable under the rules above because nothing has been measured. Published as a documented gap, never as reassurance that there is no effect.

What the research found

Sodium and fluid retention: excess/retention, elderly 28-day trial data, functional effect

Orange — Moderate

See study details

Celecoxib lowers renal sodium excretion in older adults on a normal-salt diet, and the label warns of edema; this is a retention effect, not a deficiency, and gives no reason to raise sodium intake.

Full detail and limits

What the grade means here: At least one Tier A source with this drug in the cohort showing a real but bounded deficit: an exposure window, a subgroup, low frequency, or a functional rather than circulating deficit. Orange

Limits on what this shows

  • Null findings: No change in body weight, creatinine clearance or urinary potassium in the 28-day trial [16]. The urinary sodium effect on celecoxib was numerically smaller than on naproxen or rofecoxib.
  • At-risk subgroups: Heart failure, chronic kidney disease, cirrhosis, older age, and use of diuretics or renin-angiotensin blockers [1][17].

Direction

Excess/retention (Hard Rule 5). Not depletion. Not a dietary-intake signal.

Regulatory status

Label 5.5: fluid retention and edema observed with NSAIDs; CLASS 9-month cumulative peripheral edema 4.5% (celecoxib 400 mg twice daily), 6.9% (ibuprofen 800 mg three times daily), 4.7% (diclofenac 75 mg twice daily). NSAIDs blunt the natriuretic effect of diuretics. Hyponatremia is listed under postmarketing reports with no frequency [1].

Population evidence

Schwartz 2002 [16]: randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled, 67 elderly subjects on a 200-mEq sodium diet, 28 days (14 days inpatient). Celecoxib 200 mg twice daily (n=17) reduced 72-hour urinary sodium excretion by 27.1 mEq/day from baseline, versus 39.5 (rofecoxib 25 mg, n=17) and 40.6 (naproxen 500 mg twice daily, n=17); placebo n=16. Systolic blood pressure rose 3.1 to 4.3 mm Hg on all active drugs. Creatinine clearance, body weight and urinary potassium were similar across groups. Serum sodium is not reported in the abstract.

Mechanism

Present. Selective COX-2 inhibitors affect renal water transport, electrolyte handling and blood pressure, with renal effects comparable to nonselective NSAIDs in the comparison trial [16][17]. Mechanism detail beyond the review abstract was not retrieved.

Boundary

Older adults, 28 days, functional (urinary excretion) rather than circulating deficit; clinical edema about 4.5% over 9 months at high dose.

Counter-evidence held on record

Counter-evidence and confounding The trial reported change from baseline for each arm; comparison of the celecoxib arm against placebo for sodium excretion is not stated in the abstract (reconstructed abstract only, full text not opened). Edema rates are from a label summary that compares celecoxib with two NSAIDs, not with non-use. Hyponatremia is a postmarketing label listing with no denominator and was not measured in the cohorts retrieved. Framing caution for the consumer surface This is a retention effect. It does not mean sodium or fluid intake should be increased, and no supplement is implied. Changes to salt or fluid intake in heart, kidney or liver disease belong with the prescriber.

Potassium: excess/retention, uncontrolled data and a class label warning

Yellow — Low

See study details

Serum potassium rose slightly in an uncontrolled celecoxib cohort and the label warns of NSAID-associated hyperkalemia, but no controlled celecoxib comparison with a clinically meaningful change was retrieved.

Full detail and limits

What the grade means here: Mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class extrapolation (Tier C) with no drug-specific human status data; also used for context flags and interactions running the other direction. Yellow

Limits on what this shows

  • Null findings: Urinary potassium unchanged [16]. Mean rise of 0.14 mmol/L [18] is small. Lafrance 2012 [19], a nested case-control on selective and nonselective NSAIDs and hyperkalemia, could not be read (no abstract in OpenAlex, PubMed page bot-blocked) and is not used. A 2002 case report titled "Hyperkalemia and celecoxib" [20] was seen as a title only and is not used.
  • At-risk subgroups: CKD, diabetes, and co-use of ACE inhibitors, ARBs or potassium-sparing diuretics (label interaction rows were read only in summary); older adults.

Direction

Excess/retention (Hard Rule 5). Supplementation would be the hazard, not the remedy.

Regulatory status

Label 5.6: "Increases in serum potassium concentration, including hyperkalemia, have been reported with use of NSAIDs, even in some patients without renal impairment." The sentence names NSAIDs as a class [1].

Population evidence

Benson 2012 [18]: prospective, uncontrolled, 44 men (mean 74.5 years) with hormone-resistant prostate cancer on celecoxib 400 mg twice daily, median 6 months. Serum potassium 4.25 to 4.39 mmol/L (p=0.03), bicarbonate 28.16 to 26.18 mmol/L (p < 0.01), eGFR stable (78.1 to 76 mL/min), hyperkalemia in 9%, acute kidney injury 15% overall with similar pre-treatment (9%) and on-treatment (13%) rates. Schwartz 2002 [16]: urinary potassium unchanged on celecoxib 200 mg twice daily over 28 days.

Mechanism

Present but not directly demonstrated in the retrieved sources: reduced renal prostaglandin-mediated electrolyte handling is the general explanation for NSAID hyperkalemia; the review abstract opened [17] gives no potassium-specific statement.

Class cohort test

Label statement is NSAID class-level, celecoxib not individually quantified. Benson [18] had celecoxib in the cohort, so the grade rests on a celecoxib study, capped at yellow because it has no comparator.

Counter-evidence held on record

Counter-evidence and confounding Benson [18] has no control group, a cancer population with high baseline kidney-injury rates, and the dose (800 mg/day) is above the usual arthritis dose. Confounding by indication and cancer therapy cannot be excluded. Framing caution for the consumer surface Retention signal only. It does not support potassium supplementation or salt substitutes; levels are a monitoring question for kidney disease or renin-angiotensin blocker users.

Zinc: celecoxib binds the catalytic zinc of carbonic anhydrase in vitro; no effect on zinc status shown

Yellow — Low

See study details

The sulfonamide group of celecoxib inhibits zinc-containing carbonic anhydrase isoenzymes at nanomolar potency in vitro; this is enzyme-site inhibition, not zinc depletion.

Full detail and limits

What the grade means here: Mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class extrapolation (Tier C) with no drug-specific human status data; also used for context flags and interactions running the other direction. Yellow

Limits on what this shows

  • Null findings: PubMed listing for "celecoxib zinc" returned no study of zinc status on celecoxib. Yin 2021 [27] runs the other way: in zinc-deficient mice celecoxib reduced inflammation-driven colon tumorigenesis (nutrient state modifying the drug benefit, not the drug lowering zinc).
  • At-risk subgroups: None established.

Direction

Neutral for zinc status (enzyme cofactor-site binding, mechanism class D). Zinc itself is not lost or retained in any source retrieved.

Regulatory status

Zinc not mentioned in the label sections retrieved [1][2]. The label CYP2C9 content concerns genotype and inhibitor or inducer interactions, not zinc.

Population evidence

Weber 2004 [26]: enzyme kinetics and X-ray crystallography showed celecoxib and valdecoxib (but not sulfone-containing rofecoxib) inhibit carbonic anhydrase isoenzymes I, II, IV and IX at nanomolar affinity by sulfonamide interaction with the catalytic zinc; oral celecoxib lowered intraocular pressure in glaucomatous rabbits. No human zinc, serum zinc or urinary zinc measurement was retrieved.

Mechanism

Named: sulfonamide coordination to the active-site zinc [26]. No source retrieved links zinc to CYP2C9 handling of celecoxib.

Counter-evidence held on record

Counter-evidence and confounding Pharmacologic enzyme binding is not a nutrient effect on body zinc. A second CA-II abstract (Knudsen 2004) appeared in the listing but its abstract could not be retrieved and it is not used. Framing caution for the consumer surface Not a claim of zinc depletion; zinc supplementation is not implied.

No ungraded entries

Not graded — disclosed evidence gap

Evidence: ungraded

Every required category and every nutrient angle in the brief reached either a yellow grade or a white rebuttal.

Full detail and limits

What the grade means here: Nothing has been measured here, so this finding cannot be graded. That does not establish either safety or harm, and it is not the same as a White result. None ungraded

Why none

Each of the seven required categories had Tier B evidence using celecoxib itself (Mitochondrial burden, ATP production, Oxidative stress, Copper, Gut microbiome risk) or a Tier A hematologic outcome with the dependent nutrient unmeasured (Iron, Oxygen delivery/utilization), so the Step 7 dual condition for ungraded was not met. Folate and vitamin C have a circulating consumer claim [28][29] with no supporting evidence found, so they are white, not ungraded.

Tooling disclosure

Several categories rest on OpenAlex-reconstructed abstracts and a limited claim audit because WebSearch was unavailable and PubMed was intermittently rate-limited. Folate, vitamin C, copper (human data), iron indices and human microbiome data should be re-checked when full database access is available.

The five body-system areas

Each finding is counted once, in a single area. Where a study is mentioned in a second area it is context only.

Mitochondrial Burden

Each finding below is counted once, in this area only.

Mitochondrial burden: in vitro and animal findings with celecoxib, no human data

Yellow — Low

See study details

Celecoxib damages mitochondrial integrity and lowers respiration in isolated rat liver mitochondria and human myoblasts, partly independent of COX-2; clinical relevance at plasma concentrations is unestablished.

Full detail and limits

What the grade means here: Mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class extrapolation (Tier C) with no drug-specific human status data; also used for context flags and interactions running the other direction. Yellow

Limits on what this shows

  • Null findings: Lal 2009 [8] compared celecoxib, diclofenac, ketorolac, bromfenac and nepafenac in isolated rat liver mitochondria under tert-butyl hydroperoxide stress and reported drug-specific protective or detrimental effects; the direction for celecoxib is not stated in the reconstructed abstract. Concentrations used were not retrieved, so no comparison with human plasma levels was possible. Protein binding of about 97% [1] lowers free drug.
  • At-risk subgroups: None established. Hepatic impairment raises exposure (label dose reduction) [1].

Direction

Direct mitochondrial toxicity of the drug (not a nutrient deficiency).

Regulatory status

Not mentioned in the label sections retrieved [1][2].

Population evidence

No human study. Tatematsu 2018 [7]: isolated rat liver mitochondria showed dose-dependent swelling not reversed by cyclosporine A, release of matrix proteins (ALDH2, HMGCS2) and cytochrome c, and increased membrane permeability in human erythrocytes and liposomes (reconstructed abstract). Matheny 2022 [5]: primary human myoblasts and myotubes; celecoxib, but not the COX-2 inhibitor NS-398, reduced mitochondrial membrane potential and cellular respiration, indicating COX-2-independent action. Syed 2016 [6]: celecoxib among five coxibs tested for mitochondrial toxicity in rat liver. Guo 2026 [9]: high-dose celecoxib (above the 20 micromolar or lower range that was anti-inflammatory) caused mitochondrial stress in nucleus pulposus cells.

Mechanism

Named: membrane-permeabilizing swelling distinct from classical permeability-transition-pore opening [7]; loss of membrane potential [5].

Counter-evidence held on record

Counter-evidence and confounding All sources are Tier B in vitro or animal work that used celecoxib itself, so no class extrapolation is involved. Test concentrations may exceed free plasma levels. Abstracts were reconstructed by OpenAlex; full texts were not opened. Framing caution for the consumer surface Mechanistic signal only. It is not evidence of mitochondrial damage in people taking celecoxib.

Oxidative Stress

Each finding below is counted once, in this area only.

Oxidative stress: mixed direction, pro-oxidant in rodent toxicity, lower oxidized LDL in one human crossover trial

Yellow — Low

See study details

Rodent studies report lipid peroxidation and lower antioxidant enzymes after celecoxib, while a small human crossover trial and endothelial cell work point toward antioxidant or neutral effects; no consistent direction exists.

Full detail and limits

What the grade means here: Mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class extrapolation (Tier C) with no drug-specific human status data; also used for context flags and interactions running the other direction. Yellow

Limits on what this shows

  • Null findings: Lal 2009 [8]: effect of celecoxib on mitochondrial dysfunction during oxidative stress was drug-specific; direction not stated in the abstract reconstruction. No human serum MDA, isoprostane or glutathione measurement on celecoxib was retrieved.
  • At-risk subgroups: None established; the rat work involved renal, hepatic and gastric tissue and juvenile animals [10].

Direction

Mixed. Pro-oxidant toxicity in rats; reverse direction (protective) in a human trial and endothelial cells.

Regulatory status

Not mentioned in the label sections retrieved [1][2].

Population evidence

Sozer 2011 [10]: young Wistar rats on celecoxib showed histopathologic changes with raised MDA and lower GSH, SOD and catalase (reconstructed abstract; doses not retrieved). Gupta 2007 [11]: male Wistar rats, chronic celecoxib, interstitial nephritis, higher lipid peroxidation and nitrite, lower antioxidant enzymes, higher urea and creatinine. Chenevard 2003 [12]: double-blind placebo-controlled crossover, 14 men with severe CAD, celecoxib 200 mg twice daily for 2 weeks; oxidized LDL 43.6 vs 47.6 U/L (P=0.028), hs-CRP lower, flow-mediated dilation higher. Hamdulay 2010 [13]: in endothelial cells celecoxib activated PI-3K/Akt and mitochondrial redox signaling, inducing heme oxygenase-1 via Nrf2.

Mechanism

Named on both sides: oxidative injury in tissue toxicity models [10][11]; Nrf2/HO-1 induction through mitochondrial ROS signaling [13].

Counter-evidence held on record

Counter-evidence and confounding Rodent doses are not in the retrieved abstracts and may exceed human exposure. Chenevard [12] is small (n=14), 2 weeks, in a CAD population, and oxidized LDL is a vascular marker, not systemic antioxidant capacity. Circulating consumer lists say NSAIDs deplete glutathione [28][29]; the only celecoxib-specific glutathione data are rat tissue values [10]. Framing caution for the consumer surface Neither a pro-oxidant nor an antioxidant label is supported for people taking celecoxib. No antioxidant supplement is implied.

Copper and Iron Balance

Copper and iron are assessed separately. Nothing here is counted twice.

Iron: GI blood-loss pathway, iron not measured, less loss than nonselective comparators

Yellow — Low

See study details

NSAID anemia may reflect occult GI blood loss, and celecoxib is associated with smaller hemoglobin falls than nonselective NSAID plus PPI regimens, but no source retrieved measured iron, ferritin or transferrin saturation on celecoxib.

Full detail and limits

What the grade means here: Mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class extrapolation (Tier C) with no drug-specific human status data; also used for context flags and interactions running the other direction. Yellow

Limits on what this shows

  • Null findings: No ferritin, serum iron, TIBC or transferrin saturation was reported in any retrieved abstract. PubMed listing searches aimed at celecoxib and iron indices (iron/ferritin/hepcidin, serum iron) were rate-limited (429) and never completed, so this is a tooling-limited null, not a confirmed absence of data.
  • At-risk subgroups: Older age, prior gastritis, H. pylori infection, high CRP, anticoagulant, antiplatelet, SSRI or SNRI co-use [1][23].

Direction

Blood loss (possible iron loss through the GI tract). Not an absorption or acid-suppression effect. Celecoxib does not suppress gastric acid. Anemia itself is an outcome, not iron deficiency (Hard Rule 2).

Regulatory status

Label 5.12: anemia has occurred in NSAID-treated patients, "may be due to occult or gross blood loss, fluid retention, or an incompletely described effect on erythropoiesis"; incidence 0.6% celecoxib vs 0.4% placebo; NSAIDs including celecoxib may increase bleeding risk. The sections read do not state a lower blood-loss claim for celecoxib; comparative direction comes from trials below [1].

Population evidence

CONDOR elderly subgroup [22]: 6-month, double-blind, 2,446 patients aged 65 or older with OA/RA at elevated GI risk; hemoglobin fall of 2 g/dL or more in 23 of 1,219 (1.9%) on celecoxib 200 mg twice daily vs 76 of 1,227 (6.2%) on diclofenac SR 75 mg plus omeprazole 20 mg. CONDOR post-hoc [23]: 3,774 OA patients, 64 (1.7%) had Hb fall of 2 g/dL or more and/or hematocrit fall of 10% or more; risk factors were higher CRP, gastritis history, H. pylori positivity, age and BMI. Fujimori 2015 [24]: 14-day double-blind RCT, 150 healthy volunteers; hemoglobin fell 2.1% on celecoxib 200 mg/day vs 5.1% on loxoprofen plus lansoprazole (P=0.006). CLASS [21]: 8,059 patients, 6 months; fewer chronic GI blood loss events on celecoxib 400 mg twice daily than on ibuprofen or diclofenac.

Mechanism

Present: GI mucosal injury and occult bleeding, less with COX-2 selectivity (small-bowel mucosal breaks in 10% on celecoxib vs 49% on loxoprofen plus lansoprazole [24]).

Counter-evidence held on record

Counter-evidence and confounding Every comparison above is against an active nonselective NSAID plus PPI, which tests relative GI safety, not celecoxib against non-use; a hemoglobin fall on celecoxib is present in both arms and cannot be attributed to the drug without a placebo arm. The pooled 51-trial analysis [25] included placebo arms but its abstract does not stratify by arm. Underlying arthritis (anemia of inflammation) is a competing explanation. Framing caution for the consumer surface A hemoglobin fall is not iron deficiency and does not mean iron should be taken. New anemia on any NSAID warrants a bleeding work-up, not self-supplementation.

Copper: intracellular accumulation at high concentration in cells and rats, not systemic copper status

Yellow — Low

See study details

One 2026 study reports that high-dose celecoxib drives copper accumulation and cuproptosis in intervertebral disc cells; no serum copper, ceruloplasmin or human data were retrieved.

Full detail and limits

What the grade means here: Mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class extrapolation (Tier C) with no drug-specific human status data; also used for context flags and interactions running the other direction. Yellow

Limits on what this shows

  • Null findings: PubMed listing for "celecoxib copper" (about 19 records) returned no study of serum copper, ceruloplasmin or copper absorption in treated people; other hits were chemical-synthesis papers and cancer cell work. Cisplatin-uptake papers in the listing concern platinum, not copper.
  • At-risk subgroups: None established.

Direction

Excess/accumulation, intracellular, cell-type specific. Not depletion.

Regulatory status

Copper not mentioned in the label sections retrieved [1][2].

Population evidence

Guo 2026 [9] (Advanced Science): in nucleus pulposus cells and rat models, low-dose celecoxib (20 micromolar or less) suppressed inflammation and preserved matrix, while high-dose celecoxib upregulated HSP90, stabilized RBX1, promoted degradation of the copper exporters ATP7B and COMMD1, and led to copper accumulation, mitochondrial stress and cuproptosis (reconstructed abstract).

Mechanism

Named: HSP90/RBX1-mediated degradation of ATP7B and COMMD1 [9].

Counter-evidence held on record

Counter-evidence and confounding A single recent preclinical report, concentration-dependent and tissue-specific, and the same mitochondrial-stress observation overlaps with the Mitochondrial burden entry. It was not independently replicated in any source retrieved. Framing caution for the consumer surface This is not evidence of copper deficiency or toxicity in patients, and no copper supplement or restriction is implied.

Gut Microbiome Risk

Each finding below is counted once, in this area only.

Gut microbiome risk: simulated-gut data only, with a rofecoxib rat counterpoint

Yellow — Low

See study details

Celecoxib halved butyrate production and shifted community composition in a donor-dependent human fecal culture model; no in vivo or human microbiome study with celecoxib was retrieved.

Full detail and limits

What the grade means here: Mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class extrapolation (Tier C) with no drug-specific human status data; also used for context flags and interactions running the other direction. Yellow

Limits on what this shows

  • Null findings: CLASS EXTRAPOLATION, cohort test: Lazar 2019 [15] tested rofecoxib only in rats (4 weeks, 16S rRNA) and found no significant change in jejunal microbiota composition or diversity. Celecoxib was NOT in that cohort, so this is Tier C, capped at yellow, and reverse or null in direction. Listing for "celecoxib microbiome 16S" otherwise returned an HCC study of the non-COX derivative 2,5-dimethylcelecoxib and other models, none a human celecoxib microbiome study.
  • At-risk subgroups: None established.

Direction

Altered microbial function (butyrate down, acetate up) in vitro. Net clinical direction unknown.

Regulatory status

Not mentioned in the label sections retrieved [1][2].

Population evidence

Hernandez-Sanabria 2020 [14]: batch culture of human fecal samples in a simulated gut ecosystem model; celecoxib decreased butyrate production by 50%, shifted community composition (donor-dependent), increased acetate, and the treated microbiota preserved epithelial barrier function and lowered IL-8 and CXCL16 in a co-culture inflammation model; microbiota explained about 5% of variance in the epithelial response.

Mechanism

Named in outline: drug-microbe interaction altering short-chain fatty acid output [14].

Class cohort test

Rofecoxib (not celecoxib) in [15]; mechanism relevance limited because rofecoxib was chosen as a non-acidic, non-mucosal-injury COX-2 inhibitor and the authors note other coxib-specific properties may matter. Used only as a counterpoint to dysbiosis claims.

Counter-evidence held on record

Counter-evidence and confounding The in vitro model lacks host, bile and diet; one donor-dependent culture study with no replication. The authors describe the treated community effect on the epithelial cells as anti-inflammatory, not harmful. Framing caution for the consumer surface Not a claim of dysbiosis in celecoxib users; a prompt for future human 16S work only.

Oxygen and ATP Output

Oxygen delivery and ATP production are assessed separately. Nothing here is counted twice.

Oxygen delivery/utilization: hemoglobin decline, outcome entry, bounded and not attributed to non-use

Yellow — Low

See study details

Hemoglobin falls of 2 g/dL or more occur in under 2% of celecoxib-treated arthritis patients and the label rate of anemia is close to placebo; this is a hematologic outcome, not a nutrient deficiency.

Full detail and limits

What the grade means here: Mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class extrapolation (Tier C) with no drug-specific human status data; also used for context flags and interactions running the other direction. Yellow

Limits on what this shows

  • Null findings: Searches for celecoxib hemolytic anemia and methemoglobinemia returned no celecoxib case or study (the methemoglobinemia query returned only generic and other-drug papers). No measurement of arterial oxygenation, red-cell mass or tissue oxygen delivery was retrieved.
  • At-risk subgroups: As in the Iron entry; also anyone with a history of blood dyscrasia, since the label postmarketing list includes agranulocytosis, aplastic anemia and pancytopenia [1].

Direction

Reduction in hemoglobin (blood loss, with fluid retention named as a possible contributor in the label). Outcome entry (Hard Rule 2). Distinct from the Iron entry, which concerns the iron nutrient.

Regulatory status

Label 5.12: anemia incidence 0.6% vs 0.4% placebo; monitor hemoglobin or hematocrit if signs or symptoms of anemia. Postmarketing: agranulocytosis, aplastic anemia, pancytopenia, leucopenia (frequency not given) [1].

Population evidence

Sands 2012 [25]: pooled analysis of 51 blinded controlled celecoxib trials of 4 weeks or longer, 51,048 participants, 932 (1.8%) with Hb fall of 2 g/dL or more and/or Hct fall of 10% or more across celecoxib, NSAID and placebo arms; affected patients had more GI events, withdrawals (16.7% vs 10.4%) and cardiac events. Per-arm rates are not in the abstract. CONDOR [22][23] and Fujimori [24] rates as in the Iron entry.

Mechanism

Present, shared with the Iron entry (GI blood loss) plus possible hemodilution from fluid retention named by the label [1].

Counter-evidence held on record

Counter-evidence and confounding No placebo-stratified Hb estimate was retrieved, so a causal excess over non-use is not established; the label anemia difference (0.6% vs 0.4%) is small. Disease-related anemia and aspirin or anticoagulant co-use are competing explanations. Framing caution for the consumer surface This is a monitoring prompt about blood count, not a claim that celecoxib impairs oxygen delivery or that any nutrient is deficient.

ATP production: inhibition of oxidative phosphorylation in vitro, no in vivo or human measurement

Yellow — Low

See study details

Celecoxib inhibits ATP synthesis in isolated rat liver mitochondria and lowers respiration and Krebs-cycle intermediates in human myotubes; whether this reduces tissue ATP in treated patients is unknown.

Full detail and limits

What the grade means here: Mechanistic plausibility only (Tier B), or class extrapolation (Tier C) with no drug-specific human status data; also used for context flags and interactions running the other direction. Yellow

Limits on what this shows

  • Null findings: No measurement of cellular ATP content, lactate or exercise energetics in people or intact animals was retrieved. The reconstructed Tatematsu abstract also reports increased oxygen consumption, which the authors read as uncoupling.
  • At-risk subgroups: None established.

Direction

Direct inhibition of mitochondrial ATP synthesis by the drug (not a nutrient deficiency).

Regulatory status

Not mentioned in the label sections retrieved [1][2].

Population evidence

No human data. Syed 2016 [6]: celecoxib, etoricoxib, rofecoxib, valdecoxib and lumiracoxib inhibited oxidative phosphorylation (ATP synthesis) in rat liver mitochondria; IC50 values were compared in the paper but are not in the reconstructed abstract. Tatematsu 2018 [7]: State 3 (ADP-stimulated) respiration reduced. Matheny 2022 [5]: lower respiration and lower cis-aconitate, alpha-ketoglutarate, succinate, malate, pyruvate and fumarate in myotubes.

Mechanism

Named: inhibition of electron transport and ATP synthesis in isolated mitochondria; metabolite formation and lipophilicity were proposed modifiers [6].

Counter-evidence held on record

Counter-evidence and confounding Shares its underlying studies with the Mitochondrial burden entry (see Overlap map), so the two are not independent confirmation. Hepatotoxicity from selective COX-2 inhibitors is discussed in [6] as a possible mitochondrial outcome, but that is an organ toxicity outcome rather than an energy-nutrient finding. Framing caution for the consumer surface Not a claim of low energy or fatigue caused by celecoxib.

Claims checked and not supported

These circulate online for this medication. They are listed here only so they can be answered, never as findings, and they are not graded.

A claim with no supporting evidence is not necessarily disproven. Where evidence actually argues against a claim, that is stated below.

  • Folate (folic acid) depletion

    Where it comes from: Tier D consumer lists that file "NSAIDs: aspirin, acetaminophen, ibuprofen, naproxen" under "Depletes: folic acid, iron, potassium, sodium, vitamin C, glutathione" [28], and a table row "NSAID ibuprofen, naproxen: folic acid, iron, vitamin C" [29]. Celecoxib is not named on either page; no primary citation is given. A third consumer-oriented pharmacist article [30] does not mention NSAIDs or celecoxib at all.

    Why it fails: Celecoxib is absent from both lists. The label sections read do not mention folate [1][2]. PubMed listings for "celecoxib folate" (17 records) and "celecoxib homocysteine folate" returned no study measuring folate or homocysteine on celecoxib, and a class-level "NSAID folate status" listing (10 records) returned nothing relevant. Folic acid appeared only as a rat co-treatment (title-only, not opened) and as a targeting ligand. Provisional, tooling-limited: re-check if class-level NSAID folate data surface.

  • Vitamin C depletion

    Where it comes from: Same Tier D lists [28][29].

    Why it fails: No celecoxib or coxib study of vitamin C was found in any channel tried; not in the label [1][2]. Unsupported at any tier.

  • Potassium and sodium "depletion"

    Where it comes from: Same Tier D list [28], which says NSAIDs deplete potassium and sodium.

    Why it fails: Direction reversed by celecoxib's own data. Celecoxib lowers urinary sodium excretion [16] and the label warns of hyperkalemia, fluid retention and edema [1]; urinary potassium was unchanged [16]. The real findings are graded as retention entries (Sodium and fluid retention, Potassium), not depletion. Label-listed postmarketing hyponatremia has no frequency and was not measured in the cohorts read.

How the body handles this medication

Metabolism and enzymes
Metabolized predominantly by CYP2C9, with minor CYP3A4 involvement; three inactive metabolites (alcohol, carboxylic acid, glucuronide). Celecoxib is not a CYP2D6 substrate but inhibits CYP2D6. Fluconazole and other CYP2C9 inhibitors raise exposure; known or suspected CYP2C9 poor metabolizers start at half the lowest dose. No enzyme induction by celecoxib appears in the retrieved text.[1][2] DailyMed Celebrex and generic labels, sec 7, 12.3 (read via summarizing fetch)
Elimination
Hepatic metabolism with under 3% unchanged drug in urine and feces; about 57% of the dose recovered in feces and 27% in urine as metabolites. Effective half-life about 11 hours (fasted).[1] sec 12.3
Absorption and distribution
Peak plasma level about 3 hours after an oral dose. A high-fat meal delays the peak 1 to 2 hours and raises AUC 10 to 20%. About 97% protein bound, mainly albumin; Vss/F about 400 L. No named absorption transporter appears in the text retrieved.[1] sec 12.3
Antacid and mineral interactions (direction: nutrient or mineral affects drug)
Aluminum/magnesium antacids reduce celecoxib Cmax by 37% and AUC by 10%. This is a timing interaction, not a depletion; the text retrieved gives no separation interval. No iron, zinc, copper, folate or vitamin interaction is listed.[1] sec 12.3; label nutrient-term check
Hepatic and renal handling
Moderate hepatic impairment (Child-Pugh B): reduce dose by 50%. No dose adjustment in mild to moderate renal impairment; avoid in advanced renal disease unless benefit outweighs risk. Label warns that NSAIDs raise lithium levels and blunt the natriuretic effect of diuretics.[1][2] sec 2, 5, 7
Water and electrolyte effects
Label warnings: fluid retention and edema; increases in serum potassium including hyperkalemia "even in some patients without renal impairment"; postmarketing hyponatremia. In CLASS, 9-month cumulative peripheral edema was 4.5% on celecoxib 400 mg twice daily, 6.9% on ibuprofen and 4.7% on diclofenac.[1] sec 5.5, 5.6, 6.2

What the research says is worth watching

General information from the medication label and the studies above. It is not personal medical advice, and any change belongs with your prescriber.

  • Blood pressure, weight, edema

    Fluid and sodium retention

    Watch blood pressure, weight gain and ankle swelling, especially in heart failure, kidney or liver disease, older adults, and people on diuretics, ACE inhibitors or ARBs. The label notes reduced diuretic effect [1][16]. This is a retention effect; it does not call for added sodium.

  • Lab / kidney or RAAS drug users

    Serum potassium and creatinine

    Worth checking in chronic kidney disease, diabetes, advanced age, and co-use of renin-angiotensin blockers or potassium-sparing diuretics, particularly after dose changes. Evidence is a label class warning and one uncontrolled cohort [1][18].

  • Lab / symptoms

    Hemoglobin or hematocrit

    Per the label, check if signs or symptoms of anemia or blood loss appear on long-term therapy; higher watch priority with age, gastritis, H. pylori, high CRP, and anticoagulant, antiplatelet, SSRI or SNRI co-use [1][23]. Iron studies only if anemia is found, and new iron deficiency warrants a bleeding work-up.

  • Pharmacogenetics / interactions

    CYP2C9 and drug interactions

    Known CYP2C9 poor metabolizers start at half the lowest dose; fluconazole and other CYP2C9 inhibitors raise exposure; moderate hepatic impairment halves the dose; lithium levels can rise [1][2]. Not a nutrient finding.

  • Timing

    Aluminum/magnesium antacids

    Antacids lowered celecoxib Cmax 37% and AUC 10% in the label pharmacology [1]. The text retrieved gives no separation interval, so none is stated here; ask a pharmacist.

  • No routine test

    Folate, zinc, copper, vitamin C, B12

    No source retrieved supports testing these because of celecoxib. Test on usual clinical grounds only. Mitochondrial, ATP, oxidative stress and microbiome signals are preclinical and have no monitoring marker.

  • Special groups

    Renal, pregnancy, pediatric

    Avoid in advanced renal disease unless benefit outweighs risk [1]. Pregnancy and pediatric sections of the label were not retrieved and are not assessed here.

Overlap map, to prevent double counting

Entries resting on the same underlying source or mechanism. Do not count these as independent confirmation.

  • Mitochondrial burden

    Shares evidence with: ATP production

    Note: Same studies: Syed 2016 [6], Tatematsu 2018 [7], Matheny 2022 [5]. Structural integrity findings go in Mitochondrial burden; ATP synthesis and respiration readouts go in ATP production. One body of in vitro work, not two.

  • Mitochondrial burden

    Shares evidence with: Copper

    Note: Guo 2026 [9] reports mitochondrial stress alongside copper accumulation in the same cells.

  • Mitochondrial burden

    Shares evidence with: Oxidative stress

    Note: Lal 2009 [8] (mitochondria under oxidative challenge) and Hamdulay 2010 [13] (mitochondrial redox signaling) bear on both.

  • Iron

    Shares evidence with: Oxygen delivery/utilization

    Note: Same hemoglobin and GI blood-loss evidence: label 5.12 [1], CONDOR [22][23], Fujimori [24], Sands [25]. The anemia outcome is counted once; the iron nutrient was never measured.

  • Oxygen delivery/utilization

    Shares evidence with: Sodium and fluid retention

    Note: The label names fluid retention as a possible contributor to anemia (hemodilution) [1]; same mechanism class as the sodium entry.

  • Sodium and fluid retention

    Shares evidence with: Potassium

    Note: Same trial [16] and the same renal COX-2 mechanism; the potassium grade adds Benson [18] and the label sentence only.

  • Zinc

    Shares evidence with: None

    Note: Rests on one in vitro enzyme study [26]; independent of the other entries.

  • Gut microbiome risk

    Shares evidence with: None

    Note: Rests on one in vitro culture study [14] plus a rofecoxib counterpoint [15].

All references used above
  1. CELEBREX (celecoxib) capsule, DailyMed label, Viatris Specialty LLC. — Regulatory label (Tier A). Sections 5.5, 5.6, 5.12, 6.2, 7, 12.3 as returned by a summarizing fetch tool of the DailyMed display page; revision date not seen. Used for PK, anemia, edema, hyperkalemia, antacid and CYP2C9 facts. A first fetch of the other page layout returned PK numbers the tool later said were absent from its retrieved text; those figures were used only after the display-format page returned them.Read via summarizing fetch tool; final ~7,000 characters of the page were not read.
  2. Celecoxib capsules, DailyMed generic label (Lupin Pharmaceuticals). — Regulatory label (Tier A). Revision date shown as December 8, 2023. Used for hepatic and renal impairment dosing, CYP2C9 poor metabolizer dosing, CYP2D6 inhibition, interaction list.Read via summarizing fetch tool; final ~8,000 characters not read.
  3. WHO Collaborating Centre, ATC/DDD Index: celecoxib, M01AH01, DDD 0.2 g. — Reference index, opened.
  4. Wikipedia: Celecoxib. — Tier D, used only for brand names and class labeling. No nutrient statement beyond the anemia monitoring line.
  5. Matheny RW Jr, et al. Celecoxib impairs primary human myoblast proliferation and differentiation independent of cyclooxygenase 2 inhibition. Physiol Rep 2022. PMID 36325583. — Tier B in vitro, celecoxib studied. OpenAlex reconstructed abstract only.
  6. Syed M, et al. Mitochondrial toxicity of selective COX-2 inhibitors via inhibition of oxidative phosphorylation (ATP synthesis) in rat liver mitochondria. Toxicol In Vitro 2016 (online 2015). PMID 26689325. — Tier B in vitro, celecoxib among five coxibs. OpenAlex reconstructed abstract only; IC50 values not seen.
  7. Tatematsu M, et al. Effects of the nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drug celecoxib on mitochondrial function. Biol Pharm Bull 2018. PMID 29491208. — Tier B in vitro, rat liver mitochondria. OpenAlex reconstructed abstract only.
  8. Lal N, et al. Differential effects of non-steroidal anti-inflammatory drugs on mitochondrial dysfunction during oxidative stress. Arch Biochem Biophys 2009. PMID 19810214. — Tier B, celecoxib among five NSAIDs; direction for celecoxib not stated in the reconstructed abstract. OpenAlex reconstruction only.
  9. Guo Y, et al. Drug-induced cuproptosis defines the therapeutic window of celecoxib in intervertebral disc degeneration via the HSP90-RBX1 axis. Adv Sci 2026. PMID 42080393. — Tier B, cell and rat models. OpenAlex reconstructed abstract only.
  10. Sozer S, et al. Effects of celecoxib in young rats: histopathological changes in tissues and alterations of oxidative stress/antioxidant defense system. Arch Pharm Res 2011. PMID 21380809. — Tier B animal. OpenAlex reconstructed abstract; doses and magnitudes not seen.
  11. Gupta A, et al. Role of oxidative stress in celecoxib-induced renal damage in Wistar rats. Dig Dis Sci 2007. PMID 17401685. — Tier B animal. OpenAlex reconstructed abstract; doses not seen.
  12. Chenevard R, et al. Selective COX-2 inhibition improves endothelial function in coronary artery disease. Circulation 2003. PMID 12551863. — Tier A design (double-blind placebo-controlled crossover, n=14, celecoxib 200 mg twice daily, 2 weeks). OpenAlex reconstructed abstract only.
  13. Hamdulay SS, et al. Celecoxib activates PI-3K/Akt and mitochondrial redox signaling to enhance heme oxygenase-1-mediated anti-inflammatory activity in vascular endothelium. Free Radic Biol Med 2010. PMID 20083195. — Tier B in vitro. OpenAlex reconstructed abstract only.
  14. Hernandez-Sanabria E, et al. Short-term supplementation of celecoxib-shifted butyrate production on a simulated model of the gut microbial ecosystem and ameliorated in vitro inflammation. npj Biofilms Microbiomes 2020. PMID 32075981. — Tier B in vitro, human fecal batch culture. OpenAlex reconstructed abstract only.
  15. Lazar V, et al. Lack of small intestinal dysbiosis following long-term selective inhibition of cyclooxygenase-2 by rofecoxib in the rat. Cells 2019. PMID 30884758. — Tier C, rat, 16S rRNA.Cohort excluded celecoxib (rofecoxib only). Class extrapolation, counterpoint only. OpenAlex reconstructed abstract only.
  16. Schwartz JI, et al. Comparison of rofecoxib, celecoxib, and naproxen on renal function in elderly subjects receiving a normal-salt diet. Clin Pharmacol Ther 2002. PMID 12152004. — Tier A, randomized double-blind placebo-controlled, n=67, celecoxib 200 mg twice daily n=17, 28 days. OpenAlex reconstructed abstract only.
  17. Horl WH. Nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drugs and the kidney. Pharmaceuticals (Basel) 2010. PMID 27713354. — Tier C narrative review; abstract only, no celecoxib-specific electrolyte statement. OpenAlex reconstruction.
  18. Benson P, et al. Renal effects of high-dose celecoxib in elderly men with stage D2 prostate carcinoma. Clin Nephrol 2012. PMID 22735362. — Tier A design but uncontrolled prospective cohort, n=44, celecoxib 400 mg twice daily. OpenAlex reconstructed abstract only.
  19. Lafrance JP, Miller DR. Dispensed selective and nonselective NSAIDs and the risk of moderate to severe hyperkalemia: a nested case-control study. Am J Kidney Dis 2012. PMID 22503390. — Not opened. OpenAlex had no abstract and the PubMed page returned a bot-verification challenge. Not used for any grade.Could not be opened (no abstract; bot-verification).
  20. Rego MJ, et al. Hyperkalemia and celecoxib. Med Clin (Barc) 2002. PMID 12062005. — Case report listed in PubMed; title and metadata only (OpenAlex had no abstract). Not opened and not used for any grade.Not opened (metadata only).
  21. Silverstein FE, et al. Gastrointestinal toxicity with celecoxib vs NSAIDs for osteoarthritis and rheumatoid arthritis: the CLASS study. JAMA 2000. — Tier A, randomized double-blind, n=8,059, 6 months. OpenAlex reconstructed abstract only.
  22. Kellner HL, et al. Efficacy and safety of celecoxib versus diclofenac and omeprazole in elderly arthritis patients: a subgroup analysis of the CONDOR trial. Curr Med Res Opin 2012. PMID 22852870. — Tier A, randomized double-blind, n=2,446. Active comparator (diclofenac SR plus omeprazole); no non-use arm. OpenAlex reconstructed abstract only.
  23. Lanas A, et al. Risk factors associated with a decrease of 2 g/dL or more in haemoglobin and/or 10% or more haematocrit in osteoarthritis patients taking celecoxib or a nonselective NSAID plus a PPI in a large randomised controlled trial (CONDOR). Aliment Pharmacol Ther 2012. PMID 22804104. — Tier A post-hoc analysis, n=3,774. OpenAlex reconstructed abstract only.
  24. Fujimori S, et al. Celecoxib monotherapy maintained small intestinal mucosa better compared with loxoprofen plus lansoprazole treatment: a double-blind randomized controlled trial. J Clin Gastroenterol 2016 (online 2015). PMID 26166140. — Tier A, randomized double-blind, n=150 healthy volunteers, 14 days. Active comparator; no placebo arm. OpenAlex reconstructed abstract only.
  25. Sands G, et al. Adverse events in patients with blood loss: a pooled analysis of 51 clinical studies from the celecoxib clinical trial database. Open Rheumatol J 2012. PMID 22629288. — Tier A pooled analysis, 51,048 participants; abstract does not stratify by arm. OpenAlex reconstructed abstract only.
  26. Weber A, et al. Unexpected nanomolar inhibition of carbonic anhydrase by COX-2-selective celecoxib: new pharmacological opportunities due to related binding site recognition. J Med Chem 2004 (online 2003). PMID 14736236. — Tier B in vitro and crystallography. OpenAlex reconstructed abstract only.
  27. Yin X, et al. Celecoxib alleviates zinc deficiency-promoted colon tumorigenesis through suppressing inflammation. Aging (Albany NY) 2021. PMID 33686969. — Tier B mouse; nutrient state modifies drug effect. OpenAlex reconstructed abstract is a single sentence only.
  28. Kasdorf C. Nutrient depletions caused by prescription drugs (web page, 2012). — Tier D consumer list; opened. Names aspirin, acetaminophen, ibuprofen, naproxen; celecoxib not named; no primary citations. Used only for the circulating-claim audit.
  29. Riordan Clinic. Medication-induced nutrient depletion (PDF). — Tier D consumer table; opened via summarizing fetch. Names ibuprofen and naproxen; celecoxib not named; no primary citations. Used only for the circulating-claim audit.
  30. US Pharmacist. Drug-induced nutrient depletions: what pharmacists need to know. — Tier D, opened via summarizing fetch; reported no mention of celecoxib, COX-2 inhibitors or NSAIDs. Used only to record a null in the claim audit.